What makes you get teary/emotional?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Mace. The latest formula is really strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Sangre wrote: »
    Mace. The latest formula is really strong.

You must be in america.

I was reading in "The rapers weekly digest" that the americans beefed up the formula, wasnt legal in europe though.. something about.. human rights.. pffft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Tell me about it.

I hate when I'm the one who ends up on the floor screaming and crying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Sherifu wrote: »
    I was sure this thread was "What makes you get Terry emotional?". Now that would have been a great thread.
    Me too.
    Narcissism rules.
    Bobby09 wrote: »
    The film P.S. I love you

Im not normally an emotional bloke but id a lot going on in my life when I was watching it and literally wept from start to finish...
    Why?
    Because it's partly the work of the progeny of the former Taoiseach?
    Blisterman wrote: »
    Dogs dying.
    Somehow much sadder than people dying. It's their innocence and friendlyness. Gets me every time.

Don't give a crap about cats though.
    I killed a cat two days ago. I used my bare hands. It was funny.
    Pics on Friday if the guy I'm currently doing a job for hasn't disposed of it.

snyper wrote: »
    Thinking about my ex.

Its been nearly a year since we split .. buy yesterday would av been our 8th year.. still love her.. she still loves me too

Wept myself too sleep.

So ghey :o
    Fag.

As for me; this song:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

LOL

"Ugh, you kissed a girl! That is so gay!"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

dublindude wrote: »
    Sure. Here's a really simple silly one.

Girls who have clearly made a huge effort to dress up and look pretty, but they've totally gotten it wrong, and look a bit silly.

Other girls will be sniggering at them in private.

She has tried her best, but made a fool of herself...

I dunno. That kind of thing makes me sad. I always make an effort to tell the people I am with, if they are making nasty comments, to cop the **** on.

Laughing at people who have tried their best... so mean.

EDIT: Re-reading this I can see I'm not making much sense. Sorry!
    Clare Bear wrote: »
    Things that make me teary in a sad way - animals (especially dogs) and old people sad/hurt.

Things that make me teary in a good way - animals (especially dogs) and old people happy.

My weaknesses are dogs and old people obviously. Actually got teary today when I saw an old man sitting on a bench talking to his dog, happy out. I'm getting teary even now thinking about it...the cute bastids.
    jessie1 wrote: »
    Old people eating on their own in a restaurant or pub always gets me. They could be completely happy and have loads of people around them at home but i always think that they're on their own in life otherwise they wouldn't be eating alone. Makes me well up everytime :(

As above. I understand that most people eating alone are perfectly content, but I project my feelings onto them.

Other people crying makes me upset, but old people crying makes me start bawling. Particularly on TV, where their partner is dying or something. It's so much worse for old people in my mind.

Apart from those things, weddings make me cry from start to finish. I just have to see a white dress and it sets me off. Also the movies Armageddon and the Notebook. And loads more than I'm not going to detail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Sob stories make me sad.

I don't cry from bereavement or pain but human misery REALLY gets to me.

Old people and children have special places in my heart.

Thing I love about Galway is old people randomly coming up to talk to me. They're so friendly and insist on talking in Irish.

God bless them.

Weddings bore me to tears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

Although I'm not generally a fan, Amy Winehouse singing 'Love is a Losing Game' made me cry the first time I heard it. The final scene in 'Casablanca', the scene where 'Bambi's' mother dies, and the end part of 'Brokeback Mountain' when Ennis mourns the passing of the love of his life, all alone. The movie 'The Notebook', when they both die together after a lifetime of love. Cheesy I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I cried like a newborn when I saw Darby O'Gill and the LIttle people when I was young.

"But daddy! I don;t want the coachman to take Darby away, I like Darby"

Last time I cried was a few weeks ago when my grandad died. Was absolutely grand when I heard about and all through the funeral but my ma had been looking after him when he died and she was later telling me about how he was always asking about how I was doing in the reserves and how he had a big photo of me in my medic uniform in pride of place.

That just really got to me.

If i dont take my Anti depressants - i'l cry like a gutted pig at the thought of tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭DD

Message in a bottle brought me tears in my eyes.....
    and also when I saw that the new thing I wanted to buy got few hundred cheaper, but these were happiness tears

joking.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭hunter164

Ah you know in Forrest Gump when Ginny dies That's quite emotional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 318 ✭✭Simplicity

I don't know why :(

If i dont take my Anti depressants - i'l cry like a gutted pig at the thought of tomorrow.
    That happens me too.
    Efexor rules.

Terry wrote: »
    That happens me too.
    Efexor rules.

Cymbalta 120mgs

so much happiness in 2 little pills, im suprised they aint illegal :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

Passing by Bru Caoibhin and looking at a really old man sitting on the grass vacantly looking out at the street.

Some how I never feel as sorry for old women.

I think it was all that Kavanagh poety in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

The 9/11 version of "Heaven".

I bawled for a solid twenty minutes.

Also "Concrete Angel" by Martine McBride. Video is so sad.

I cry when people die in films/tv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Todoquetengo

watching the chelsea players right now, something about a grown man crying that makes me want to cry too ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

watching the chelsea players right now, something about a grown man crying that makes me want to cry too ;)

John Terry is making me cwy!!:(:(:(:(

Cymbalta 120mgs

so much happiness in 2 little pills, im suprised they aint illegal :D
    Taking a load of xanax and wondering why crows don't fly across the N2 instead of walking across it and getting squashed by cars is lots of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

The Documentary "The Bridge". If you've seen it, you'd know why.

The trailer is nothing compared to the film itself, but I'll post it here anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

This makes me sneer.

Hate to see them if something important happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

Peared wrote: »
    This makes me sneer.

Hate to see them if something important happened.

You're dead right. This is also why men don't have babies. They'd spend the rest of their lives crying.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭ballybay_eh

Sherifu wrote: »
    I was sure this thread was "What makes you get Terry emotional?". Now that would have been a great thread.

Eh... Missing a penalty in the Champions League final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,921 ✭✭✭ongarite

Gallstones will make any man cry. No pain like it in this world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

ongarite wrote: »
    Gallstones will make any man cry. No pain like it in this world.

Amen. Even the thought of them is giving me a headache.

I've got stupidly emotional over the last year, I get teary eyed over everything. Scenes of jubilation or the opposite really get me, United winning the champions league tonight and the slow-mo replays of the players reactions when anelka missed got me all welled up!

I'm still hard as f*ck though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

What about the scene in Futurama with Fry's dog waiting for him to return, Fry never does and the dog dies alone. This is after Fry decides not to bring him back because he thought the dog moved on and forgot him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Beerlao

Man Utd winning the Champions League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

The truth hurts...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭nataliehun

usually children doing the cutest/funnest things ever!

watching me daughter doing things for the first time..ie..saying mama or walking etc

watching old people who are totally in love after 70 yrs of marriage and still show affection...

my daughters, great grandad welling up every time he sees her out of joy!

feeling like i can connect to certain songs due to the lyrics relating to me in some way!

feeling like im not good enough...or a bit of a disappointed to family!!!

or cause sumtimes everything works out great and life is great!

lol!! im usually quite a happy person tho!!! these thing happen quite rarely!!:D:D:D