Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What makes you get teary/emotional?

• 20-05-2008 9:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭

For me its seeing really old people take pleasure in something simple, the way they seem to almost revert back to childhood. Saw an old man holding onto a teddy one day and bawled for about an hour.

Also kids being robbed of innocence, on a bad day a little kid being abused in the street by other sh!ts of kids can have me in floods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

The Eurovision (sorry had to be done) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Someone close dying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I saw a line of ducks crossing the road yesterday, and all the traffic was stopped. Wonderful sight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

A kick in the nuts?

-Funk

funk-you wrote: »
    A kick in the nuts?

-Funk
    +1 on that! It ain't good :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭Seonad

Pretty much everything:(

zero19 wrote: »
    The Eurovision (sorry had to be done) :D
    Tears of joy cause he didn't get in I take it?!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

The last episode of band of brothers - "points"
    Poor Shifty!:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

kmart6 wrote: »
    Tears of joy cause he didn't get in I take it?!;)
    Lol tears because i was forced to watch it :pac:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Peared wrote: »
    Saw an old man holding onto a teddy one day

Gary Glitter on the prowl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Aw nasty cushion! Leave the poor innocent teddy holding old man alone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

People trying their best, but getting it wrong.

People who are hurting because they don't think they're good enough. (In combination with trying their best.)

Both of these groups of people bring out a very fatherly and kind part of me. Not sure why really.

zero19 wrote: »
    Lol tears because i was forced to watch it :pac:
    Jesus,you ok?! Do you need a drink?!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Also when Optimus Prime died.

-Funk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

onions... or when I have forgotten I was eating a chilli pizza and rub my eyes :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Dlite

Cool_CM wrote: »
    The last episode of band of brothers - "points"
    Poor Shifty!:(

Last episode of MASH...i'll never forget it.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

When I really want one more drink and the bar is closed..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

All deeply emotional folk here I see, tv, beer, onions...

But I forgot, boys dont cry :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Affable

Peared wrote: »
    For me its seeing really old people take pleasure in something simple, the way they seem to almost revert back to childhood. Saw an old man holding onto a teddy one day and bawled for about an hour.

Also kids being robbed of innocence, on a bad day a little kid being abused in the street by other sh!ts of kids can have me in floods.

That's touching.

dublindude wrote: »
    People trying their best, but getting it wrong.

People who are hurting because they don't think they're good enough. (In combination with trying their best.)

Both of these groups of people bring out a very fatherly and kind part of me. Not sure why really.

Any examples?

When I really want one more drink and the bar is closed..

ah, one of the joys of not living in Ireland :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

the movie "i am sam".

A lot of songs by Bruce Springsteen.

Affable wrote: »
    Any examples?

Sure. Here's a really simple silly one.

Girls who have clearly made a huge effort to dress up and look pretty, but they've totally gotten it wrong, and look a bit silly.

Other girls will be sniggering at them in private.

She has tried her best, but made a fool of herself...

I dunno. That kind of thing makes me sad. I always make an effort to tell the people I am with, if they are making nasty comments, to cop the **** on.

Laughing at people who have tried their best... so mean.

EDIT: Re-reading this I can see I'm not making much sense. Sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

What makes me Teary?

Seeing a dog in pain.

or if i take a dump in the jacks only to find out im out of bog roll... that makes me blur up too.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

funk-you wrote: »
    Also when Optimus Prime died.

-Funk

When rellys or pets die, too.

Last episode of BlackAdder goes fourth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

jester77 wrote: »
    ah, one of the joys of not living in Ireland :D
    The thought of having to come back to Ireland next year where the drink is expensive and the bar will more often than not be closed

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

snyper wrote: »

Seeing a dog in pain.

There is something about the innocence of dogs which really makes me want to defend them. I think it's because they offer unrequited love to anyone who is nice to them.

Sure. Here's a really simple silly one.

Girls who have clearly made a huge effort to dress up and look pretty, but they've totally gotten it wrong, and look a bit silly.

Other girls will be sniggering at them in private.

She has tried her best, but made a fool of herself...

I dunno. That kind of thing makes me sad. I always make an effort to tell the people I am with, if they are making nasty comments, to cop the **** on.

Laughing at people who have tried their best... so mean.

EDIT: Re-reading this I can see I'm not making much sense. Sorry!

Very considerate of you. I'm usually too self-absorbed to notice such stuff.

Cool_CM wrote: »
    The thought of having to come back to Ireland next year where the drink is expensive and the bar will more often than not be closed

It's tough to go back when your used to it. Just polished off a €2.99 6 pack of bier, helped to get through the Eurovision :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭Havermeyer

Affable wrote: »
    A lot of songs by Bruce Springsteen.

Being forced to listen to 'the boss'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭ballybay_eh

SDooM wrote: »
    There is something about the innocence of dogs which really makes me want to defend them. I think it's because they offer unrequited love to anyone who is nice to them.
    snyper wrote: »
    Seeing a dog in pain.

I'm going slightly off topic here but did you ever see that ad for homeless dogs? I think it has a dog "talking" to you. "I've been a good dog. I don't wanna die" kind of stuff. Heartbreaking. I could watch a hundred of those ads for Concern and Trocaire but they wouldn't have the same effect on me as one of those ads for dogs that are going to be put down.

Now, back to the topic...

The last episode of Band of Brothers. Such an amazing show throughout. And a fantastic happy ending.
    The Allied forces won. The Nazi's lost :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I was sure this thread was "What makes you get Terry emotional?". Now that would have been a great thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭princess-sprkle

little old people always make me tear up. They're just so damn cute! :o

Dam you ballybay eh was too tempted by the spoilers and you ruined WWII for me:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Todoquetengo

Everything makes me teary, I'm a super emotional person, I even cried when I resigned from my job :p

I used to go out with a girl like you... :p

It used to be very embarrassing in restaurants when she'd be sitting there crying (for no reason) and everyone would be looking at me thinking what a prick...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

nummnutts wrote: »
    Being forced to listen to 'the boss'.
    Really?

Adds to ignore list LOL :D

Edit: Just had a look at this thread. Sad now :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

The final scene after Ian Curtis hung himself in the film 'Control'. That was rough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Things that make me teary in a sad way - animals (especially dogs) and old people sad/hurt.

Things that make me teary in a good way - animals (especially dogs) and old people happy.

My weaknesses are dogs and old people obviously. Actually got teary today when I saw an old man sitting on a bench talking to his dog, happy out. I'm getting teary even now thinking about it...the cute bastids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Magicians Assistant by Scroobius Pip did a damn fine job of ****ing me over yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭Beau x1

Ballymun Pun.3gp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭princess-sprkle

Clare Bear wrote: »
    Things that make me teary in a sad way - animals (especially dogs) and old people sad/hurt.

Things that make me teary in a good way - animals (especially dogs) and old people happy.

My weaknesses are dogs and old people obviously. Actually got teary today when I saw an old man sitting on a bench talking to his dog, happy out. I'm getting teary even now thinking about it...the cute bastids.

aww, thats so cute. I honestly think i'm a sap but my love of little old people is matched only by little old people and their pets. aww :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

Gary Glitter on the prowl.

:D ac you cunny funt.

on topic, cruelty to dogs, that thread in cool pics and links really shook me up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

My bank statement.

F**k Ian Curtis btw.

Joy Division is a load of miserable sh1te. New Order were fantastic. Just a load of tools on the "he died to young" bandwagon. He did die too young, but his passing was certainly no loss to the music industry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Cruelty to animals makes me more angry than tery eyed tbh.

Now I did have tears i mo shuile when City beat United at Old Trafford for the first time in over 30 years back in February. That was an emotional night, especially considering the slating our fans got in the build up to the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

Getting deducted 6 points, fighting to the bitter end, winning your final match only to be relegated, getting to the cup final only to be beaten, standing in the p!ssing rain and wind watching, for the last time, your team who will all be gone come next season :(
    But we move on in hope of better times.

Time for uplifting song to mark this poignant moment:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Cruelty to animals makes me more angry than tery eyed tbh.

Now I did have tears i mo shuile when City beat United at Old Trafford for the first time in over 30 years back in February. That was an emotional night, especially considering the slating our fans got in the build up to the game.

I've been in a corporate box at Eastlands. What made me teary was the fact that fridge was full of bloody Fosters and nothing else. Sure it was free but I had thought that a more refined tipple was on the cards.

It was Man City v Norwich the last season there before Norwich got relegated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Todoquetengo

I used to go out with a girl like you... :p

It used to be very embarrassing in restaurants when she'd be sitting there crying (for no reason) and everyone would be looking at me thinking what a prick...

Ha ha, yep been in those situations! Although I'm more likely to be happy emotional than sad!

Other things that really make me teary are watching marathon runners finish a race and quite bizzarely when other drivers thank you with their hazards....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭JethroC

Ring sting after a Vindaloo...