Best City in ireland to go on the lash!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭2-ShortDa5foot5

Galllllllllllllllllllllllwayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!

Tbh though, I stumbled into the GPO mistakenly one night and it was like Beirut! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

For me it's Galway.

Serious amount of craic can be had down there, plus you don't pay Dublin prices nor have the amount of scum you do up here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭brick tamland

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    The countryside doesn't sound that boring now? I've heard Time is the best club in Ireland, but its a bit out of the way for me.

really dont agree with that

dont like the place at all. wouldnt go if you paid me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

really dont agree with that

dont like the place at all. wouldnt go if you paid me

I've just heard people saying that its 'The Best', What would you say personally is the best club in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

have spent too much time in taxis travelling from one place to the next in dublin so kilkenny gets my vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

galway galway galway.never had a bad night and ive a 100% scoring record there-very important! plus everyone down there is sound.

ive been to time a few times.for a person whos never been its does have the wow factor with its sheer size and the acrobat shows and all that, but after a few times you'll see its nothin special-you lose your mates all the time, cant find the jacks and queue forever to get your coat back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

{Me + YMates + 14YBeer + (Y/4) GIN}*anywhere= Good Time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I love the pubs in Galway, but the clubs there are rubbish. (Except Twirleys obviously.)

My favourite place in the whole of Ireland to go out is the Brog in Cork.

Galway fo sho'! And Twirleys. On Shop Street. Man, the time's I've had in there. Best nights EVER.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Awesomo-4000

Had good nights out in Limerick, Cork and Belfast but Galway is still the best by far!! Summer time in the spanish arch cant be beaten!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

janeybabe wrote: »

My favourite place in the whole of Ireland to go out is the Brog in Cork.

Pity the pints are sh*te and some of the staff are c*cks, but at the end of the night I generally find myself there.

Passion was (it's since closed, thank christ) without a shadow of a doubt one of the biggest sh*tholes I have ever been to in my life, had the misfortune of being brought there one bank holiday weekend. The place was way too big, in the middle of nowhere, even had the giant gold statues holding up globes(like the ones in Bevis and Butthead do America) and was full to the brim with every type of scum you could imagine.

Best place to go in Ireland is to get some friends, a few slabs, food and rent a cottage in the middle of nowhere, fun times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,723 ✭✭✭elmolesto

Deffo Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

race week is savage in galway love it ,here for the last 5 years it gets very samey after awhile ! I ll throw in Belmullet since no one else has!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

belmullet :D
    why....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,382 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

More like why not!
    Because the beer is colder the women are hotter and every job pays more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

chuci wrote: »
    galway ftw never been disappointed when iv gone out there and neither has anyone i know who has gone up there on the lash.

It is bafflingly popular, though I have two mates who wouldnt go back either. The weather is nearly always crap, and the journey to it takes you through some of the most derelict towns and desolate countryside in Ireland. I just find something very artificial and cheesy about the way they try to portray themselves as some sort of beacon of culture and bohemianism and whatnot. And the cost?!!? Paying 50 euro for a train out when for roundabouts the same price you can go to Liverpool, Newcastle or Glasgow yet make a saving in these cities on drink, accomadation, proper nightclubs and easier women.

• Site Banned Posts: 28 QueenB

galway for sure, gpo and cuba are great spots specially around race week

trinnity rooms in limerick is very good aswell.. but i wouldnt go there for *just* that like..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 uskidsgo

Went to Galway few days after my 18th a few months back - very, very messy nights. Got thrown out of Roisin Dubhs for generel inebriation, by some divine miracle got into CP/CPs? for free and in my ridiculously drunken state was highly impressed by the big flashing wall thingy they have there. Can't remember much about Galway at night but it was good for as much as I can remember. It's a great city to wander about hungover though, nice cafés, a few good shops and Ayre Square to sit down and relax when you feel like your legs can't take much more standing:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

yeah weather is crap all over ireland full-stop

don't go to west donegal or achill so if you think westmeath and kildare are desolate :D

galway has ever right to portray itself as a beacon of culture and bohemianism, it doesn't have english landmarks at every turn :) It has an identity all of its own, thats why world travellers rank it so highly, 14th best place to visit in Europe and 42nd overall on planet earth on tripadvisor (a website with over 15 million traveller reviews); glasgow, liverpool or newcastle didn't make the list funnily enough http://cdn.tripadvisor.com/pdfs/tca/TCDestinationsAwards2008-v2.pdf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Dublin is easily the best place in Ireland to go on the lash. Nowhere else has the range you can get in Dublin.

In Galway, the pubs are great but the clubs are rubbish.

In Cork, better clubs than Galway, better live music, worse pubs than Galway.

Limerick, has some decent pubs but not as many Galway or Cork, better nightclubs than Galway, worse clubs than Cork.

Everywhere else, depends who you are with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

So name me a 5 bar pub crawl in Galway that is damn good. I ask because I might go there during July to take drink and would like to be in the know.

Jigsaw wrote: »
    So name me a 5 bar pub crawl in Galway that is damn good. I ask because I might go there during July to take drink and would like to be in the know.

Bierhaus,Living room,Kings head,the skeff,Bar 903

Thank you sir. I shall investigate those hostelries and imbibe therein with aplomb.

Bierhaus? Sounds like the sort of place that would sell me an Erdinger or Franziskaner, no?

Jigsaw wrote: »
    Thank you sir. I shall investigate those hostelries and imbibe therein with aplomb.

Bierhaus? Sounds like the sort of place that would sell me an Erdinger or Franziskaner, no?

They would have the largest selection of alcohol of any of the pubs in Galway.Good fun there.I would start off there and make the way back to Eyre Square.After Cuba/Bar 903-the legendary vivo roll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Any boardsies go out in Belfast? Absolutely immense night life up here, the best Ive had tbh.

Archimedes wrote: »
    Any boardsies go out in Belfast? Absolutely immense night life up here, the best Ive had tbh.

Well Archimedes, I live in Belfast and drink here regularly. What would be your perfect night out in Belfast? Tell me yours and I'll tell you mine.

Night life is certainly good but I am not sure it would compare favourably with Dublin. Not been out in the lash in Galway or Cork but have got full in Killarney a few times. Twas good!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Dellboy2007

Galway or Claremorris (joke! never ever go there)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭DD

I have never seen so many drunk people in one single place ... till I went to Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,311 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Another vote for Galway here... I've never had a bad night out there and I don't expect to ever have one. I want to move there :)

Should have made this a poll, but something tells me it'd be a wee bit one-sided!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

Dunboyne :D

on a more serious note: i heard great things about both galway and cork. road trip is already planned to both of these this summer with a few friends.