Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

Kingdom wrote: »
    LAds,
    Congrats to all who took part in the scramble. I heard the two courses were brilliant.
    Now, would anyone who played in it like to offer their assessment of the competition?
    Should it be retained?
    Should it be on at the same time in the calendar?
    Should the format change?
    Was there any cheating?

I see who ur talking about now.

I think the competition will be retained as there were alot of people prasing the competition it does suit the high handicap teams by a mile, it is a great competition and i look forward to it every year in kildare and dublin.
    It will the same time next year i say no point of changing it as its before all the championships and makes sense.
    The format will stay the same, i had an idea about senior/inter/junior playing together dont think there many into that when i spoke to a few on the saturday after the game.
    Thats one thing we will never know - didnt see many people walking around taking count of scores so u would nt know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

I see who ur talking about now.

I think the competition will be retained as there were alot of people prasing the competition it does suit the high handicap teams by a mile, it is a great competition and i look forward to it every year in kildare and dublin.
    It will the same time next year i say no point of changing it as its before all the championships and makes sense.
    The format will stay the same, i had an idea about senior/inter/junior playing together dont think there many into that when i spoke to a few on the saturday after the game.
    Thats one thing we will never know - didnt see many people walking around taking count of scores so u would nt know

Thanks Hitman good response.
    About the qualifiers from Dublin. Some strange ones there! I wonder will Derek be doing a book now that he's not in it? I think its going to be a very open championship. This Sunday is a big deal too, there are quite a few players around coming into a bit of good form. Can't wait for the draw now!

Did Egor turn up at the weekend lads? Did anyone head over to the Old county open, I heard the place was looking well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Dromcill

Cork County Qualifiers for the All Ireland Men’s Matchplay Championship final:

Qualifiers at Newcestown,
    K Dunscombe (St Annes)
    F Dineen (St Annes)
    G O’Sullivan (Majestic)
    M Herlihy (ESB)
    G O’Mahony (Riverside)
    E Hackett (Collins).

Qualifiers at Collins
    J Walsh (Collins)
    J Quinn (Fermoy)
    D Burke (Fermoy)
    F O’Donoghue (Templebreedy)
    M Dawe (ESB)
    N Kiely (Kilmichael)
    F Looney (Collins).

Thanks Hitman good response.
    About the qualifiers from Dublin. Some strange ones there! I wonder will Derek be doing a book now that he's not in it? I think its going to be a very open championship. This Sunday is a big deal too, there are quite a few players around coming into a bit of good form. Can't wait for the draw now!

the draw will interesting alright - could be hitman v kingdom lol

Ye looking for a nice draw alright i like to stay away from the cork boys in the first few rounds i play that course well and won the 36 gross there last year in the open - 14/11 should have done course record missed a putt on the last.

Ill watch it on the net on thursday night - wil u be watching it

Derek wil run a book i say some interesting qualifiers alright its the first time i have made it been beaten twice on the last qualifying nights, i heard its only 1 game on Saturday and 3 on sunday that will be a long day, do u know of all the qualifiers onder is there a way on finding out

Dromcill wrote: »

K Dunscombe (St Annes)
    F Dineen (St Annes)
    G O’Sullivan (Majestic)
    M Herlihy (ESB)
    G O’Mahony (Riverside)
    E Hackett (Collins).

Qualifiers at Collins
    J Walsh (Collins)
    J Quinn (Fermoy)
    D Burke (Fermoy)
    M Dawe (ESB)
    N Kiely (Kilmichael)
    F Looney (Collins).

Some new names there mate - whos the automatic qualifiers anyone know

K Dunscombe (St Annes)
    F Dineen (St Annes)
    G O’Sullivan (Majestic)
    M Herlihy (ESB)
    G O’Mahony (Riverside)
    E Hackett (Collins).

Qualifiers at Collins
    J Walsh (Collins)
    J Quinn (Fermoy)
    D Burke (Fermoy)
    M Dawe (ESB)
    N Kiely (Kilmichael)
    F Looney (Collins).

Dromcill what do you make of the qualifiers. I only recognise Frank and john John from collins. Did Doyler08 get knocked out in the end? I heard there was some ahem, arguing going on in Collins?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Yeah I'm happy with it, If I keep to a shot or two of him I'd be happy. We're out at 12.30 the rest of yis start at 1.30 :D . In all seriousness it could be a long day for some ofyis. I hear he is in a bit of form too from what I've been told. He got the first 14, then finished 1,2 for rd 1 then got the next 7 in his match in the matchplay qual. Missed his first putt on the 8th hole in the 2nd round!
    Anyway I'm heading to Bridgets this evening, I'll let ye know what its like tomorrow.

Yeah Kingdom, that man is a genius.If the whole world played pitch and putt hed stil be the best.You should hav to pay to watch him. AND no Derek wownt be coz hes the chairman of Glenville(woudnt be right) so the other fela frm Cork is doing it.

Ye looking for a nice draw alright i like to stay away from the cork boys in the first few rounds i play that course well and won the 36 gross there last year in the open - 14/11 should have done course record missed a putt on the last.

Derek wil run a book i say some interesting qualifiers alright its the first time i have made it been beaten twice on the last qualifying nights, i heard its only 1 game on Saturday and 3 on sunday that will be a long day, do u know of all the qualifiers onder is there a way on finding out

Kingdom's happy to have qualified and blesses himself regularily in the hope of getting thru Saturday and hopefully into a 2nd game on Sunday. :) I've been lucky this is my 4th time in it, I've had one tough first round one average first round and a very handy one. It really is luck of the draw. There are that many good players in it though, have to see what happens.
    Does anyone have an idea for practising Glenville? I'd only be able to practice in the a.m. with working in the evenings.
    1 game Sat, 3 Sun and 2 on Monday if you're good enough! It should be a great championship though a superb course with great facilities. Hopefully the weather will be decent.
    I was thinking of going up to Glenville to watch the draw Hitman, I heard it was excellently produced in Stackallen last year, it really is a positive step by the union.
    When is the draw for the Leinster matchplay on? Sure thats on next week.

Some new names there mate - whos the automatic qualifiers anyone know

Cmon do you really have to ask that question?
    Step up

#1 seed - Ray Murphy!
    #2 Billy Buckley Jnr Erry
    #3 Sean Downes Stackallen
    #4 Paul O'Brien Lakeside

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 DugOut

Did Egor turn up at the weekend lads? Did anyone head over to the Old county open, I heard the place was looking well.

I met Egor on Sunday, top lad. He is really interested in getting into the game. Never stopped with the questions!!

The draw for the Leinster is out and should be up in all clubs.

GerCPM wrote: »
    Yeah Kingdom, that man is a genius.If the whole world played pitch and putt hed stil be the best.You should hav to pay to watch him. AND no Derek wownt be coz hes the chairman of Glenville(woudnt be right) so the other fela frm Cork is doing it.

Ger you have a nice one. Have you played with Ju before? He can be hard to play with, particularily if he's doing well. Anything that is perceived as slow play he will mention. Just block him out. Having said that he's great crack and superb to have a jar with,.

So thats Cahill doing the book then, which will mean good odds for us Leinsterites in the individual matches.

DugOut wrote: »
    I met Egor on Sunday, top lad. He is really interested in getting into the game. Never stopped with the questions!!

The draw for the Leinster is out and should be up in all clubs.

Good stuff, so he's not a loon then! Snap him up! Is he of these waters?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

Qualifiers at Collins
    J Quinn (Fermoy)
    D Burke (Fermoy)
    Ah jimmy quinn qualified,ive seen him around alright praticing hard!
    But on form yes the D burke(new putter) got 14 under par this weekend! He will be the one to watch imo.
    As for the others well done!

davey180 wrote: »

Ah jimmy quinn qualified,ive seen him around alright praticing hard!
    But on form yes the D burke(new putter) got 14 under par this weekend! He will be the one to watch imo.
    As for the others well done!
    Strong enough Cork contingent. Some new comers who would not have qualified before. Most of the big guns got through and they are all hitting form now going by the local scratch cups. John Walsh beating Chris Scannell on the last night was always going to be a toss of the coin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Eegorbishcan

LAds,
    Congrats to all who took part in the scramble. I heard the two courses were brilliant.
    Now, would anyone who played in it like to offer their assessment of the competition?
    Should it be retained?
    Was there any cheating?

I have to say I wasn't impressed with it... there's not a lot for spectators to do is there?? and not a windmill in site!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

John Walsh beating Chris Scannell on the last night was always going to be a toss of the coin.
    was john walsh expected to beat chris?

davey180 wrote: »

was john walsh expected to beat chris?
    The week before they both shot 30 under at the Collins Open so it was always going to be close. Both are top players so they were unlucky that they came out in the same groupings for the matchplay qualifiers.

I have to say I wasn't impressed with it... there's not a lot for spectators to do is there?? and not a windmill in site!

I'll assume you're joking, but with the lack of a funny smiley I fear the worst.

Kingdom's happy to have qualified and blesses himself regularily in the hope of getting thru Saturday and hopefully into a 2nd game on Sunday. :) I've been lucky this is my 4th time in it, I've had one tough first round one average first round and a very handy one. It really is luck of the draw. There are that many good players in it though, have to see what happens.
    Does anyone have an idea for practising Glenville? I'd only be able to practice in the a.m. with working in the evenings.
    1 game Sat, 3 Sun and 2 on Monday if you're good enough! It should be a great championship though a superb course with great facilities. Hopefully the weather will be decent.
    I was thinking of going up to Glenville to watch the draw Hitman, I heard it was excellently produced in Stackallen last year, it really is a positive step by the union.
    When is the draw for the Leinster matchplay on? Sure thats on next week.

Probably watch the net mate to be honest.

There announcing the practice times shortly i heard.

The draw was done poor entrance from dublin 7 to qulify from 37, i got Joe donoghue in the first winner plays tom bolger (lucan) and then i play the winner of colm brown aiden clarke (inters loughlinstown) or terry mc morrow i should get throught those playing pretty well lately, ill put the draw up tomorrow the final night is the champions league final dont think they will change it tough

Ger you have a nice one. Have you played with Ju before? He can be hard to play with, particularily if he's doing well. Anything that is perceived as slow play he will mention. Just block him out. Having said that he's great crack and superb to have a jar with,.

So thats Cahill doing the book then, which will mean good odds for us Leinsterites in the individual matches.

He doesnt really know me so get ur hard cash on me to win ha ha 150 million to 1

Kingdom i dont have a problem with Junior.Every1 seems to dislike the chap hes only ever been sound 2 me.He played against Fred during the week, and there was no hassle bout slow play there, and im definetly not slower than him lol.Im only slow when its cumin down to the business end of tournaments anyway(keeping concentration) apart from that im not too bad.Who else am I out with??wat time?

Ger ur out at 12.38 third group out - playing with Ian Dillion Bridgets good 3 ball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Eegorbishcan

I'll assume you're joking, but with the lack of a funny smiley I fear the worst.

Not at all, Mr Kingdom if I was jokin' I would've said A blonde goes into the dry cleaners to have her sweater cleaned. She asks the clerk, “How much?”
    He doesn’t hear her correctly and says “Come again?”
    She giggles and says “No…it’s just mustard this time.” :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

LAds,
    Should it be retained?
    Was there any cheating?

Howya kingdom, as hitman was sayin me,him and trigger(LOL) had no chance with our handicap thats my only complaint! It was well organised and on time unlike some comps:p i cant see the senior/inter/junior idea working as clubs such as ours would prob only get about 3/4 teams entered never mind qualified! But all in all i enjoyed it and cant wait to give it another go next yr(witout da other 2:D)

Ger wats up with ya bud, you aint got a bad 3-ball there with dillon and junior just take your own time, play your own game and dont mind wat anyone says to ya! Have ya played bridgets before think it should suit you fairly well. Lookin forward to it anybody can win it its just who turns up on the day!

Hitman lose the defeatist attitude towards these cork players that the whole country seems to have. At the end of the day there all there to be beaten and on a glenville course you've played well over the yrs you shud'nt be fearing anybody ill well be havin a few squid on ya for the wknd(no pressure:p)

mr.jingle wrote: »
    Ger wats up with ya bud, you aint got a bad 3-ball there with dillon and junior just take your own time, play your own game and dont mind wat anyone says to ya! Have ya played bridgets before think it should suit you fairly well. Lookin forward to it anybody can win it its just who turns up on the day!

Alri Mr Jiingle! Yea im happy with it.Good to be out with a homeplayer...i like the course, big greens i love putting ha.Only had 101 in scratch cup there tho, but playing better now.It does suit my game alri.Only realised tonight that theres a playoff.Thatl make tings alot more interesting.You qualified aswell didnt ya?

Ger ur out at 12.38 third group out - playing with Ian Dillion Bridgets good 3 ball

Cheers Hitman. Any League results? we were beaten 5 - 4 at home to Lucan.3-0 down after doubles tut tut!

Probably watch the net mate to be honest.

There announcing the practice times shortly i heard.

The draw was done poor entrance from dublin 7 to qulify from 37, i got Joe donoghue in the first winner plays tom bolger (lucan) and then i play the winner of colm brown aiden clarke (inters loughlinstown) or terry mc morrow i should get throught those playing pretty well lately, ill put the draw up tomorrow the final night is the champions league final dont think they will change it tough

Yeah we have club matches on that night so I can't head over either. Fair play to the NEC too it is a good development for the biggest competition of the year.
    I think we have a good entry maybe 7 to qualify too, I've a tough group from what I hear.
    Don't worry bout the Champions league final, sure there's no Irish team playing in it as far as I know?;)