Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Wigertoods wrote: »
    kinda figured that.Was only taking the piss.Anyway have to agree with you about Dave.Didn't know he had never qualified.He has been at more matchplay finals then I've had hot dinners (I don't eat that much anyway).It would be great to see him play in one,Especiallly in Dublin.No offense to paddy but it's not the hardest game of the night.

have to agree there. Thought I might get over to have a look before heading back down but work calls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

National Matchplay Final Night Matches

Dave Redmond v Paddy Lowry
    Gavin Carty v Frank Ryan
    Frank Connolly v Sean Harkins
    Derek Courtney v Darren Thonrberry
    Philip Byrne v Darren Kane
    Tom o Reilly v Stephen Keegan
    Aaron Cuddihy v Gary Healy
    Anthony Malone v Andy Lowe
    Junior Smith v Fred McMahon

Paddy Lowry won 34th
    Gavin Garty won 36th
    Sean Harkins won mon the 4th tie hole
    Darren Thornberry won 35th
    Darren Kane won 35th
    Tom o Reilly won 36th
    Gary Healy won 35th
    A Malone won 30th
    Fred McMahon won 35th

Just one match was one sided, but the rest of the games were great games, i played a hell of the game against arron and fair play to him he has the coolest tempermant for a young man and he has a bright future in the game. Only Paddy Lowry from Glenville left so will be an interested draw when its done.

North Side Qualifiers

Paul Nolan
    Jason Larkin
    John Hoey
    Brendan O Shea
    David Poole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Kingdom wrote: »
    Howya Ger, I know he's decent, I just thought Ste would kick after beating Darren, I heard he was playing well in Old County. What happened to you>?

Well done to you. Ah i wasnt meself against Phil.Got off to a bad start was chasing after that.Very dissapointed, thought it was a great chance seen as tho i play Glenville well, and only up the road from me.Thought i could even go close up there if i qualified.Playing out of my skin at de mo.Ah well ders always Dub matchplay in CPM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Macker1

Just a quick question guys. I used to play P&P quite a lot when younger which is a good while ago. It has crossed my mind on a number of occasions to take the game up again and I'm just wondering how does the process work in relation to your handicap. Back in the days I was playing off 2 in the senior section but have not played in many years. Is it a case that you resume playing at the former handicap or do you re-submit cards to reflect your current playing ability. I'm not trying to fool anyone and would just like to be given the appropriate handicap based on what would be my current playing level.

The gap since playing at my original level would be 15 years approx. Its amazing what family and career will do to your game :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

Macker1 wrote: »
    Just a quick question guys. I used to play P&P quite a lot when younger which is a good while ago. It has crossed my mind on a number of occasions to take the game up again and I'm just wondering how does the process work in relation to your handicap. Back in the days I was playing off 2 in the senior section but have not played in many years. Is it a case that you resume playing at the former handicap or do you re-submit cards to reflect your current playing ability. I'm not trying to fool anyone and would just like to be given the appropriate handicap based on what would be my current playing level.

The gap since playing at my original level would be 15 years approx. Its amazing what family and career will do to your game :(
    once you renew your membership at your own club and i sudjest you go the next meeting or if you know either club captains,one of the members of the board and the chairsperson of the club.
    I think as not playing for so many years you do get shots back on your handicap as ye are or was of two id say you may go to about max 8 handicap.

Once u join back ur handicap will be reviewed by ur club they wil then resomment an appropiate handicap for u then get it signed off by county board and ppui. what club did u play for

Used to play out of CPM in Clondalkin. Used to play a lot when younger with no commitments but work and family put paid to that. Now living down in Ballivor, Co Meath so re-joining CPM would not appeal to me as I would like to consider somewhere a bit closer to home.

It would be nice to get back playing if only for a bit of craic and exercise. Having said that I would be intent on getting back to a decent standard.

quote=Macker1;55896538
    It would be nice to get back playing if only for a bit of craic and exercise. Having said that I would be intent on getting back to a decent standard.
    trying to trim up macker?:p

davey180 wrote: »
    trying to trim up macker?:p

You had better believe it :p

Used to play out of CPM in Clondalkin. Used to play a lot when younger with no commitments but work and family put paid to that. Now living down in Ballivor, Co Meath so re-joining CPM would not appeal to me as I would like to consider somewhere a bit closer to home.

Macker come back to us.D O Reilly said u wer a decent player

GerCPM wrote: »
    Macker come back to us.D O Reilly said u wer a decent player

Pass on my thanks to Darren for that. How is the club doing these days. Is it in good condition with decent membership and who is running the show. I work in the area and still have family there so I may drop by sometime to have a look.

will do. Club has very small membership.Darren runs the show now, greens, competitions everything, with a family and a job hes some man.He won a National in 2003 incase you didnt know. Alot of young blood has came in recently, like me and a few others who have represented Dublin at Junior level and gone on to be good seniors.Theres stil all the old crowd like, Thornberry, Derek Healy, John O Keefe and Gary McDonald altho hes not playing much these days.I tink im from ur old estate, lived on the close.Sheehy doesnt play anymore.So yea drop in to say hello to Darren and 4 a game.Course is as challenging as ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Dromcill

St Stephens Scratch Cup:
    Winner over 54 holes, J Cahill (Fermoy) 133 gross, 29 under par; 2. R Murphy (Templebreedy) 138; 3. M Cuthbert (St Stephens) 140; best final 18 holes gross B Delaney (ESB) 45; best 36 holes gross Senior L O’Brien (Douglas) 95

quote=Dromcill;55908755] St Stephens Scratch Cup:
    Winner over 54 holes, J Cahill (Fermoy) 133 gross, 29 under par;
    well done to john cahill 29 under! I was playing with him on saturday morning in our club competion (stableford) and wasnt playing well with me and now 29 under unbelivable!
    I played much better this weekend as of 11 i got 46 net and was beaten by 2 shots damn!
    49.5 won the overall and hes off 1 !
    And R Murphy second well done lads.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Wigertoods

well done to john cahill 29 under! I was playing with him on saturday morning in our club competion (stableford) and wasnt playing well with me and now 29 under unbelivable!
    I played much better this weekend as of 11 i got 46 net and was beaten by 2 shots damn!
    49.5 won the overall and hes off 1 !
    And R Murphy second well done lads.:)

Yeah 29 under is a fine score.Well done to John,won by a good few shots as well.
    Unlucky davey.Stick with it and you'll get there.

Good draw in the Leinster s/p kingdom !

Anyone play in the National scramble over the weekend and any views on how it went.
    Seems like 77 was a very low cut off score for the top 18 teams and shows that a team made up of all seniors players really have no chance of winning no matter how well they play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 clare rd.

Hey Dromcill, the draws are up for the munster s/p, we are teeing of very early, suppose alot of players playing. what club u play for?

Yeah 29 under is a fine score.Well done to John,won by a good few shots as well.
    Unlucky davey.Stick with it and you'll get there.
    thanks wigertoods as for me one day at a time.To hot to play today as im getting a suntan in me garden!

well for some !!
    Unfortuneatly for me it's work.

shhh dont tell anyone ye at work:)

Anyone play in the National scramble over the weekend and any views on how it went.
    Seems like 77 was a very low cut off score for the top 18 teams and shows that a team made up of all seniors players really have no chance of winning no matter how well they play.

Alright Wiger, i played in it with JR and Eoin, we struggled a bit to be honest, lucan was playing really well slick greens but we missed a few putts due to be on the wrong side of the hole made it really difficult, we had 13 in Lucan and 14 in RGSC to finish 78, i heard the gross was 42 under for the winner, if we had made the cut surely we would have beat that hands down, scoring was very low the cut after one round on at was 38 - which to me was to low

Am I right in thinking that the gross prize was for the 4 rounds over the 2 days.
    In which case it was your original NETT score on the first day that qualifies you to play on the second day.Seems quite ridiculous to have a gross prize based on your original nett score.Defeats the purpose really.
    Am i missing something here :confused::confused:

Am I right in thinking that the gross prize was for the 4 rounds over the 2 days.
    In which case it was your original NETT score on the first day that qualifies you to play on the second day.Seems quite ridiculous to have a gross prize based on your original nett score.Defeats the purpose really.
    Am i missing something here :confused::confused:

It does defeat the purpose alright, they said it was a great success so leave it to them dont think ill play it again to be honest, only suits high handicap players.

The draw for the National Matchplay will be live on the internet to access the draw go to

www.mogulus.com/ppui

The draw will be live from Glenville at 8.00pm on thursday

Should be good to watch live, hopefuly the draw brings some interesting games

Our team shot 77 1/3 in the scramble so failed to qualify by a 1/3rd of a shot to make the 77 mark. We were a bit disappointed but had a lot of near misses (I had two pitches that hit the pin and both times the ball went off the green). Our main problem was that none of us had played either course previously so were playing blind. Would have liked to have made the cut as we would have been used to the courses then. The greens on Lucan were very slick and were the fasted P&P greens that I played on. I enjoyed the experience and it was nice to meet do many new players from other clubs. Great credit to the Lucan and R.G.S.C clubs for having their courses in great condition.

clare rd. wrote: »
    Hey Dromcill, the draws are up for the munster s/p, we are teeing of very early, suppose alot of players playing. what club u play for?
    Hi Clare rd, I am teeing off just before you so I will be club house leader just before you bring in the winning score (ha ha !!!!). I play for the St.Stephens club and will be wearing a St. Stephens top (weather permitting). Make sure you say hello after the round. Hopefully we will have a good day and will play well.

Yeah I'm happy with it, If I keep to a shot or two of him I'd be happy. We're out at 12.30 the rest of yis start at 1.30 :D . In all seriousness it could be a long day for some ofyis. I hear he is in a bit of form too from what I've been told. He got the first 14, then finished 1,2 for rd 1 then got the next 7 in his match in the matchplay qual. Missed his first putt on the 8th hole in the 2nd round!
    Anyway I'm heading to Bridgets this evening, I'll let ye know what its like tomorrow.

Kingdom wrote: »
    Yeah I'm happy with it, If I keep to a shot or two of him I'd be happy. We're out at 12.30 the rest of yis start at 1.30 :D . In all seriousness it could be a long day for some ofyis. I hear he is in a bit of form too from what I've been told. He got the first 14, then finished 1,2 for rd 1 then got the next 7 in his match in the matchplay qual. Missed his first putt on the 8th hole in the 2nd round!
    Anyway I'm heading to Bridgets this evening, I'll let ye know what its like tomorrow.

who we talking about here kingdom

Have a look at the draw. He's not a dub. Don't mention his name.

LAds,
    Congrats to all who took part in the scramble. I heard the two courses were brilliant.
    Now, would anyone who played in it like to offer their assessment of the competition?
    Should it be retained?
    Should it be on at the same time in the calendar?
    Should the format change?
    Was there any cheating?