Own Up! Who did this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,326 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Xavi6 wrote: »
    What are 'these parts'? Go into Dublin city on a Saturday afternoon you will see a heap of Celtic jerseys. There's a reason why they are the only club to have a store in Dublin. It's because they ARE the 'in thing'. There's money to be made and fair play to them for doing it.

I honestly have heard people claim Celtic are an Irish club, many times in fact. And it annoys me. I'm not one for Celtic bashing because I have a lot of respect for the club and its supporters, the same way I do for any other club. I will, however, air my views on the Sell Thick brigade who give the club and it's proper supporters a bad name.

It's very rare you will hear someone say they 'hate' Celtic. If there is any ill feeling towards them it is directed towards those who claim they are fans because Celtic are an Irish club.

Your use of 'Sell Thick' is childish and is disparaging to Celtic and Celtic supporters. That is one example of Celtic bashing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,149 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

eirebhoy wrote: »
    They're not Celtic fans. Seriously. Maybe many people don't actually know that. They couldn't tell you who Mark Wilson was. They certainly couldn't name the team. They don't watch games. They obviously don't go to games. It might be hard to believe but these guys don't sit in their houses on a Tuesday night watching Celtic v Barcelona. It's frustrating trying to get that across. It's incredible the amount of Liverpool fans in this country compared to Celtic fans. I watched the last Glasgow derby in a packed local pub and there was about 3 of us who cheered for the goals. The odd oul' lad would say "What's the score? Ah lovely". Please, please, please separate all these people that wear Celtic jerseys from the Celtic fans. They go into Champions Sports and are as likely to buy a Celtic jersey as they are a pair of Nike runners but they don't support Celtic.

But that's exactly what I'm trying to do. Hence why I posted this -
    I'm not one for Celtic bashing because I have a lot of respect for the club and its supporters, the same way I do for any other club. I will, however, air my views on the Sell Thick brigade who give the club and it's proper supporters a bad name.

Your use of 'Sell Thick' is childish and is disparaging to Celtic and Celtic supporters. That is one example of Celtic bashing.

Ah now come on. It's a commonly used term to distinguish the skangers from the true Celtic supporter like yourself.

Jesus, here's me trying to keep you seperate like Eirebhoy requested and now I'm slated by someone else for doing so. I guess there's no winning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

But the point here Xavi is why pick on Celtic's bandwagon support?

Why not Manure, Liverpool, or the easiest target of all, Sunderland? There are arséholes running round Dublin in all sorts of jersies.

It amuses me that Cetic get abused for actually having Irish connections and a strong Irish fanbase, while this is to be encouraged (manufactured?) in Sunderland. Why the distinction?

Sorry mate but there's only one person here that's come even close to criticising Sunderland as much as I have and it's DesF. Flick through some old threads if you don't believe me. One comment even got me a banned.

As for United, Liverpool etc, I'll refer you to this comment I posted earlier in the thread -
    Unfortunately once again it has been brought back to Celtic but I would put them in the same category as United, Liverpool, Milan, Barcelona etc etc when it comes to an Ireland game.

No picking on Celtic from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Xavi6 wrote: »
    But that's exactly what I'm trying to do. Hence why I posted this -
    But you're still using words like "proper supporters" and "true supporters". They're the only supporters. I'm not trying to deny these Celtic wearing youngfella's their right to support Celtic. I'm just saying they don't actually support Celtic. Supporting a club is caring for that club, being hurt when they lose. These people don't and they simply aren't Celtic fans.

I was just thinking as I was sunbathing outside. You'll find loads of fans of Liverpool/Man Utd in Ireland that do support them and follow their progress but have never been to watch them play. It's very rare to find someone in Ireland who follows Celtic that hasn't been to Celtic Park. So just ask them have they ever been to Celtic Park and you'll know who the fans are. ;)

It's strange because I can't emphasise enough how rare it is to find someone in this country that actually claims to be a Celtic fan (it's also obvious by the reaction of people when I say I'm a Celtic fan that it's rare for them to hear it too). I really don't even think the Celtic wearing skangers would claim to be Celtic fans. I know a few people with Celtic jerseys that wouldn't care less about Celtic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Good post Eirebhoy.

And for wat its worth, I, and most people i think, are able to differentiate those types of fans from the "proper" Celtic fans.

ps. you dont here often enough anymore-has you love of little Naka cooled somewhat? :)

But you're still using words like "proper supporters" and "true supporters". They're the only supporters. I'm not trying to deny these Celtic wearing youngfella's their right to support Celtic. I'm just saying they don't actually support Celtic. Supporting a club is caring for that club, being hurt when they lose. These people don't and they simply aren't Celtic fans.

I was just thinking as I was sunbathing outside. You'll find loads of fans of Liverpool/Man Utd in Ireland that do support them and follow their progress but have never been to watch them play. It's very rare to find someone in Ireland who follows Celtic that hasn't been to Celtic Park. So just ask them have they ever been to Celtic Park and you'll know who the fans are. ;)

It's strange because I can't emphasise enough how rare it is to find someone in this country that actually claims to be a Celtic fan (it's also obvious by the reaction of people when I say I'm a Celtic fan that it's rare for them to hear it too). I really don't even think the Celtic wearing skangers would claim to be Celtic fans. I know a few people with Celtic jerseys that wouldn't care less about Celtic.

Fair enough. I was just trying to keep you guys seperated from them because I know how easy you can all be lumped in together. No offence meant by it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Task - Get a tape recorder and video camera for proof that these people exist. I can't stand people who dislike Celtic supporters because they think they support Celtic because they're "Irish".

The "no to foreign games" fella? Of course they exist, Liverpool and United fans make the same claims, ah sure Liverpool is more Irish than it is English etc.

didnt see your last reply, fair enough. Of course if an el fan said that thered be murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

bohsman wrote: »
    Of course if an el fan said that thered be murder.

Eirebhoy is an EL fan :eek:

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭gaf1983

Mr Alan wrote: »
    Wearing no jersey is the way forward.

You could take a leaf from this Leicester City's supporter's book. (Though from the looks of him he doesn't really look like the bookworm type. That's just me being prejudiced - not the first time prejudiced opinions have been expressed in this thread and it won't be the last.)
    But the point here Xavi is why pick on Celtic's bandwagon support?

Why not Manure, Liverpool, or the easiest target of all, Sunderland? There are arséholes running round Dublin in all sorts of jersies.

Why limit the abuse to people who "support" bandwagon-prone teams? Why not pick on the holier than thou brigade who hunt through the racks of The Soccer Shop on South Great George's St looking for the jersey of the most obscure team they can, not that they have any connection whatsoever to Deportivo Wanka or Walsall United, they just want to show they are a somewhat more sophisticated football fan than the rest...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

This thread is hilarious, it truly is.

EVERY thread i have started involving this seasons UEFA cup and Rangers has led to all out attacks from certain parties on Rangers and their fans.

In the last thread a few people had the gall to say that they might be happy for us getting to the final and they were given the how can an Irishman do this treatment.

So seriously lads, there are a few Celtic supporters on here who i respect the opinions of and i think those guys know who they are without me spelling it out, but please, "Celtic Bashing"? not at all.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Eirebear wrote: »
    This thread is hilarious, it truly is.

EVERY thread i have started involving this seasons UEFA cup and Rangers has led to all out attacks from certain parties on Rangers and their fans.

In the last thread a few people had the gall to say that they might be happy for us getting to the final and they were given the how can an Irishman do this treatment.

So seriously lads, there are a few Celtic supporters on here who i respect the opinions of and i think those guys know who they are without me spelling it out, but please, "Celtic Bashing"? not at all.

Eirebear, I won't argue that there's a couple of posters who'll have a go at Rangers at every opportunity. What usually happens though is one or two posters do that, then the Eircom League boys start giving it the "I want Rangers to win the quad 'cause Celtic are a bunch of knackers" bit. Don't kid yourself that it's not Celtic bashing, open your eyes and read the posts on here and every other thread with the word "Rangers" in it.

It's nothing to do with some disbelief that an Irishman could possibly support Rangers. Not at all. It's to do with people showing some sort of false support for them just because of some twisted belief that Celtic fans are republican bigots that believe Celtic are Irish. It would be like me supporting Liverpool just to spite Man Utd fans on here because I believed that Utd fans are just scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

PauloMN wrote: »
    Eircom League boys start giving it the "I want Rangers to win the quad 'cause Celtic are a bunch of knackers" bit. Don't kid yourself that it's not Celtic bashing, open your eyes and read the posts on here and every other thread with the word "Rangers" in it.

Precisely.

DesF wrote: »

:confused: ?!!?

They were founded by Irish people. For the benefit of the Irish in Scotland. Their fans sing Irish songs and fly the tricolour, and are largely of Irish descent. Would you still deny they have a strong Irish link?

And I ask again, would you rather the skangers were going to EL games? You cant blame people who do not live in an area with an EL club and have no exposure to EL football via tv or otherwise picking Celtic games on tv over some EL club 70 miles away that they hold no interest in.

It would be like me supporting Liverpool just to spite Man Utd fans on here because I believed that Utd fans are just scumbags.

meh. tbh I like Liverpool more because I despise utd than anything :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

I wear a Yankees cap....I don't care for the Yankees.

If I act like a scumbag, I'm not giving the NY Yankees a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭vote4pedro

Originally Posted by shane86 View Post
    Celtic is, as Billy McNeill said, an Irish club that plays in Scotland.

What a completely ridiculous thing to say.
    Are Genoa an English club? Founded by James Richard Spensley for British ex-pats in Italy at the turn of the last century. How about Athletic Bilbao?
    Are Panathinaikos an Irish club as they have an Irish emblem on their crest?
    Ah but sure there's this famous Irish link which currently consists of a reserve centre back and a winger who had hardly been to Ireland before he played for us. Would you not laugh at someone in Seoul claiming Man Utd to be their team, owing to the strong South Korean link what with Park Ji Sung playing for United, numerous friendlies being played in that part of the world and even an official site in Korean?

There is no way Celtic can be considered an Irish club, they're a British club, and personally I find their use of the Irish flag to a be a horrible use of our nationality. For me Irish fans claiming Celtic as their own are no better than the Asian fans who come out in force to cheer on "their" team when an EPL side goes on a money spinning tour of Asia, and who sometimes make daytrips to Man Utd, Chelsea et al.

So yeah, I'm signing the petition because of the embarassment I feel when I see so many Celtic jerseys at an Ireland game. Put it this way...would you not laugh at other countries if you saw half of the Japan national crowd wearing Chelsea jerseys as a sign of supporting their national team, or Latvia's crowd decked out in Man Utd replica kits in order to cheer on the Latvians??!

Take a deep breath... and breathe slowly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,935 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

vote4pedro wrote: »

There is no way Celtic can be considered an Irish club, they're a British club, and personally I find their use of the Irish flag to a be a horrible use of our nationality.

Saint Patrick can go frig himself aswell, Welsh Git!!! :pac::pac:

Boggles wrote: »

Sweet Jesus, I just found out De Valera was a fecking Spaniard!!!!

Good man, add another cringeworthy post why not, but you can't actually argue that Celtic are an Irish team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

hahaha.

I have a feeling some of the anti-celtic jersey brigade are also some of those who don't even go to matches. If it's green and white then wtf, who cares.
    Will the FAI be better off to enforce a rule now that you can't go in with anything else apart from official FAI merchandise. If your there and you make noise and get behind the team then you can wear a f***ing boiler suit for all I care.
    Cork fans go to GAA matches with flags that have any red and white in them like Japan and USA. We started chanting, "USA, USA, USA" every time one eejit lifted his flag, he stopped putting it up.

Some really stupid comments here about the type of scumbags that wear celtic jersey's. Theres scum everywhere in the world wearing every kind of jersey.

Good man, add another cringeworthy post why not, but you can't actually argue that Celtic are an Irish team.

Just one more cringeworthy post so.

There is no way Celtic can be considered an Irish club, they're a British club, and personally I find their use of the Irish flag to a be a horrible use of our nationality. For me Irish fans claiming Celtic as their own are no better than the Asian fans who come out in force to cheer on "their" team when an EPL side goes on a money spinning tour of Asia, and who sometimes make daytrips to Man Utd, Chelsea et al.

Ok Boggles, again let me ask; what makes Celtic an Irish club?
    It's completely ridiculous that anyone could claim they are Irish. I'm not saying you shouldn't or couldn't support them, but you are quite obviously supporting a British club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

Ok Boggles, again let me ask; what makes Celtic an Irish club?
    It's completely ridiculous that anyone could claim they are Irish. I'm not saying you shouldn't or couldn't support them, but you are quite obviously supporting a British club.

I never said Celtic are an Irish Club, I couldn't give 2 fúcks if they were from Argentina and their emblem was the Queen holding up a blow up shamrock.

My problem is with you suggesting you need some link to support something or else your "No better than the Asians" Who gives a shít what club someone supports and for whatever reasons, It's ENTERTAINMENT!!

My Nephew watches WWE, Am I suppose to be embarrased by him that his favourite wrestler the Undertaker isn't from Limerick?

If your embarrased by some guy wearing a jersey they worked hard for to buy and choose to wear it where ever they like then you must embarrase very easily my friend. Personally I like to save my embarrasement for something that really matters, like Staunton, he embarrased the shít out of me!!!

So go sign your stupid meaningless online petitions, if you have to reply, I want it in Latin or Gaelic, because at the end of the day the English language is British and I'm embarrased some people have borrowed it!!

Well there you have it.
    I'd imagine most real football fans would baulk at the idea that supporting a football club is mere entertainment, but rather think that there's some degree of attachement to a club that you don't get with "sports entertainment" such as WWE.

Well there you have it.
    I'd imagine most real football fans would baulk at the idea that supporting a football club is mere entertainment, but rather think that there's some degree of attachement to a club that you don't get with "sports entertainment" such as WWE.

Like what mate?, if your from Manchester born and bred and they win the double in the next fornight? What happens you? Do you ascend to another plain, do you reach a new spirtual high, do you become a millionaire. No mate you get up Monday morning and go to work like normal.

Watching Football is entertainment, don't give me that shít about real football fans, real, virutal, I can't believe it's not butter, what difference does it make???

Do you play centre forward for the team you support? Or do you go in and pay your money like nearly everybody else on the planet???

Like what mate?, if your from Manchester born and bred and they win the double in the next fornight? What happens you? Do you ascend to another plain, do you reach a new spirtual high, do you become a millionaire. No mate you get up Monday morning and go to work like normal.

Watching Football is entertainment, don't give me that shít about real football fans, real, virutal, I can't believe it's not butter, what difference does it make???

Do you play centre forward for the team you support? Or do you go in and pay your money like nearly everybody else on the planet???

There is a difference between real fans and others.
    If I watch Toulous play Stade Francais I couldn't give a fiddlers about either team, I could be excited as it gets down to the last minute with one team looking to win it, but what I'm experiencing isn't the same as the fans with their hearts in their mouths, singing on the terraces, who'll be thinking about the game and result for days or weeks.

Football is so much more than a trip to the cinema, which is pure entertainment, and I get the impression you don't attend too many football games if you're unaware of that.
    And yes, I do pay my money at the gate every week to follow my team, and am quite happy to sit through a 0-0 draw if its a result we need despite it not being the most entertaining of games. Because I'm a supporter, like.

There is a difference between real fans and others.
    If I watch Toulous play Stade Francais I couldn't give a fiddlers about either team, I could be excited as it gets down to the last minute with one team looking to win it, but what I'm experiencing isn't the same as the fans with their hearts in their mouths, singing on the terraces, who'll be thinking about the game and result for days or weeks.

Football is so much more than a trip to the cinema, which is pure entertainment, and I get the impression you don't attend too many football games if you're unaware of that.
    And yes, I do pay my money at the gate every week to follow my team, and am quite happy to sit through a 0-0 draw if its a result we need despite it not being the most entertaining of games. Because I'm a supporter, like.

So WTF has somebodies choice of attire got to do with it?