just got broken into

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭ShellBell1

Actually, they have acknowledged that not all of them are bad. They have learned to identify who is honest and who isn't, based on their actions. So, their views are informed by repeated cases of certain Romany individuals stealing items. Again, these employees don't claim to be experts on the origins of these Romany sort of people.

They are not tarring them all with the same brush. They work closely with Anglesea St who have built up a profile of the repeated offenders. There is no discrimination involved. If you steal, you're a thief. If you don't, you're okay. Simple as that.

mayordenis wrote: »
    ... upper john st. or some such.

Where exactly is John St?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Near Heineken/Firkin Crane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Know how you feel mate, been broken into twice here in London (2 different flats) first time they got my laptop, digital camera, and iMac second time they got my Gamecube (I had nowt else worth stealing after the first time)

Oh right. Yeah, I wouldn't fancy walking around there on my own late at night. :eek:

Irish Halo wrote: »
    Know how you feel mate, been broken into twice here in London (2 different flats) first time they got my laptop, digital camera, and iMac second time they got my Gamecube (I had nowt else worth stealing after the first time)

Sorry 2 hear that, Irish Halo. Who would have thought? 2 different flats. Were u living in a rough or a respectable area on each occasion? Were burglaries common there?

First one was an OK enough area (OK it was Brixton but Brixton isn't actually that bad) second time was in a fecking kip(let's not mention the rape outside the apartment block, the boarded up flats, the scum living in the area or the fact it was somehow 20 minutes walk from some of the most expensive real estate in London, Canary Wharf), glad I'm outta there.

I learned a lesson though, I don't deserve pretty/valuable things :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Losing a PS3? Ouch.
    Do you have the serial number?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

i got broken into in waterford not too long ago aswell, nothing was taken though.
    was very un-nerving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

sorry for anyone thats been broke into..... touch wood ive never been through that experience, an ex of mine once was and i remember her sayin the worst thing was just the thought that some scumbag was in the place, it wasnt that important what objects were stolen, just the fact some bastard had been through her personal stuff. an invasion.

(edit... it didnt help that the dirty skangers had done a sh1t on her bed)!

flanum wrote: »
    sorry for anyone thats been broke into..... it wasnt that important what objects were stolen, just the fact some bastard had been through her personal stuff. an invasion.

(edit... it didnt help that the dirty skangers had done a sh1t on her bed)!

Oh for Jesus sake! Sick..

First one was an OK enough area (OK it was Brixton but Brixton isn't actually that bad) second time was in a fecking kip(let's not mention the rape outside the apartment block, the boarded up flats, the scum living in the area or the fact it was somehow 20 minutes walk from some of the most expensive real estate in London, Canary Wharf), glad I'm outta there.

I heard Brixton had a bad rep, but more so back in the 80s. Anyway, you were just unlucky in that place, unfortunately.

The second flat had justifiable reasons for being broken into when you list all of those things above. That's awful. Weird that Canary Wharf was only 20mins away, tho..

My friend is living in a high rise block of flats in Wester Hales, Edinburgh. There was a guy stabbed to death (presumably drugs related), on the same floor as hers last December. There was blood sprayed all over the walls in the hall from where he had been trying to crawl away for help. My friend couldn't leave the flat for 2 days afterwards on the advice of the cops, who hadn't yet found the perpetrator. Not a pretty area anyway..

ShellBell1 wrote: »
    Oh for Jesus sake! Sick..

thats a common thing! its like a calling card, the adrenilin is going overtime on a housebreaker that the bowels just give!

For real? I thought I had heard it all..! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭ModeSkeletor

second time was in a fecking kip(let's not mention the rape outside the apartment block, the boarded up flats, the scum living in the area or the fact it was somehow 20 minutes walk from some of the most expensive real estate in London, Canary Wharf), glad I'm outta there.

Southwark?

For real? I thought I had heard it all..! :pac:

you serious? you havent heard of people finding sh1t on the middle of the floors etc of their house after a break in?
    read "The Scatological Rites of Burglars", by Albert B. Friedmaan © 1968

i just googled "burglars defecating" and theres tons of stuff (scuse the pun).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

i got broken into in waterford not too long ago aswell, nothing was taken though.
    was very un-nerving.

In waterford?? sorry to be nosey here, i live in waterford like, but where in waterford was this??

anyways, since you said there were no signs of a break in it doesnt look great but its good to see you still keep your humour, tough break bud, hope you get a bit of luck in the near future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,967 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

no insurance just moved in like,
    no signs of being broken into,
    garda are there now(i'm not),

You sure it's not an ex-tenant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Did ShellBell1 mention blacks yet? Brixton was mentioned? Good stuff! It were them that did it! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Dudess wrote: »
    Well they're wrong. And ignorant. Romanian people must get so pissed off. It would be like Irish people in the UK being tarred with the same brush as any Irish travellers causing problems over there. Except worse, because at least Irish travellers are, well, Irish. Roma gypsies come from various countries in Eastern Europe and into Eurasia.
    Two things. Firstly, the Romanians (any of whom I've talked to) extremely hate the Romas. Secondly, in Norway, the knackers are Irish, and thus Irish seems to equal knacker over there (2nd hand info, from a mate who worked over there).

=-=

I'd ask the landlord for a list of ex-tenants, so that you can run the names past the cops, in case one of them moved from the area as they was known to the local plod.

kryogen wrote: »
    In waterford?? sorry to be nosey here, i live in waterford like, but where in waterford was this??

anyways, since you said there were no signs of a break in it doesnt look great but its good to see you still keep your humour, tough break bud, hope you get a bit of luck in the near future

In waterford i was living up around bridge st. the apartment block was called the terrace, if you're going up bridge street and you take your second right just across from the tax office.

And just to say yea, right now the assumption we would make is that it was an ex-tenant or something like that.

Southwark?
    South Bromley, out Canning Town way, it is in Tower Hamlets, **** hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Sorry to hear about the break-in. Maybe you might set up an unobtrusive webcam with motion detector, sending pictures to a webmail address in case anyone comes back?

I get the impression that as there's less work at the cheaper end of the jobs market, burglaries are becoming more common.

My neighbour was robbed recently; the gardai showed her a tiny mark on the inside of the door and said the robbers had put in a looped wire through the letterbox and snaked it up to open the Yale lock from the inside; she'd got so used to living without fear of burglary that no one bothered to lock the Chubb lock when they went out.

It could have been Roma; it could have been Irish lads. Both groups have been known to rob.

It would certainly be worth talking to your landlord about changing the locks and putting a Chubb on the door as well as a Yale, OP.

Does your or his insurance cover you against robbery?

(Incidentally, hanging has never been shown to have a deterrent effect on robbers; in fact highwaymen in the 18th century commonly hung around (as it were) under the gibbet and stopped coaches there to relieve the passengers of their loose change and bling.)

Sherifu wrote: »
    Did ShellBell1 mention blacks yet? Brixton was mentioned? Good stuff! It were them that did it! :pac:

Those were your words - not mine.

you serious? you havent heard of people finding sh1t on the middle of the floors etc of their house after a break in?
    read "The Scatological Rites of Burglars", by Albert B. Friedmaan © 1968

i just googled "burglars defecating" and theres tons of stuff (scuse the pun).

Nope. Unlike you, I don't actively seek out reading material on burglars sh*tting all over people's gaffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

I don't actively seek out reading material on burglars sh*tting all over people's gaffs.
    You're missing out. There's a fascinating genre of erotica dedicated to it; it's even better than Iraqi Prison Porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,217 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

This sounds quite sinister mayordenis. You've only moved in 4 days ago and there are no signs of forced entry. I reckon it's most likely a previous tenant or else someone was keeping an eye on the place during the move in and decided they liked your stuff. Hopefully the Gards find spot something to catch whoever did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭pebbles21

i know a guy from cavan who got broken into recently,they even **** in his stew he had on at the time!

poor ****er had to throw half it out!!!!

found out that the lock on our door was basically a wate of time that can easily be opened with a credit card by just mashing it in,
    got a new one today a proper double lock, so should be ok going forward.

Still raging though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

pebbles21 wrote: »
    i know a guy from cavan who got broken into recently,they even **** in his stew he had on at the time!

poor ****er had to throw half it out!!!!
    :eek::eek::eek:
    o_0
    Only half?