Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

just got broken into

• 04-05-2008 11:22pm
    Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭

apartment broken into,
    only living there about 4 days,
    obviously something odd going on,
    this is down in cork,
    just in case anyone is flukey enough to notice anything, PS3 and laptop gone not sure of what else at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

My commiserations mayordenis. I imagine your'e well pissed off right now. I presume you;ve called the gardaí and reported it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Defenestrate

I blame the travellers and/or Roma Gypsies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Oh that is a pain in the butt. Where in Cork is the apartment? Just the general area. (I'm being nosey in case it's where mine is).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

Dudess wrote: »
    Oh that is a pain in the butt. Where in Cork is the apartment? Just the general area. (I'm being nosey in case it's where mine is).

Anyone interested in a cheap PS3/laptop??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭haveabadday

God, Sxxxx heads!!! what make is laptop!! did u report to Guards?? horrible thing, happened to me twice while living in Spain!! Horrible!! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

Sorry to hear it MD.

/dons detective hat

Have you checked around to see how they broke in exactly?

Windows, doors etc. If there is nothing obvious, Id look into the fact that an ex-tenant still had a key. You are only there a very short time..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Did you have any sort of insurance? Sorry to hear the bad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Hanging is too good for those scumbags:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

sorry to hear that man

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

no insurance just moved in like,
    no signs of being broken into,
    garda are there now(i'm not),
    i know no-one is going to see this item but it's a really rare-ish game in europe at the moment is the ps3 version of Rock band at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Defenestrate

On a serious note, did you register the laptop online? The Guards might be able to trace it's number.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

mayordenis wrote: »
    this is down in cork,
    Theres your problem...

Sorry to hear about the theft :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭joeybloggs

i know no-one is going to see this item but it's a really rare-ish game in europe at the moment is the ps3 version of Rock band at the moment.

Please tell me you have/have planned to change the locks so that previous tenants with spare keys don't have the option of returning for a laugh......boy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭ShellBell1

Sorry 2 hear of your predicament mayordenis. Were you out when it happened? Would it be possible that someone may have been watching your movements, letting them know when was best to strike?

Yeah, I wouldn't trust those Gypsy-type Romanians - I've heard bad stories about them. Stealing from charity shops, biting into the arm of an employee.. They'd steal yourself!

Dunno where your apt is mayordenis, but those Romanians all seem to congregate around Nth Main St and most of them live in either the Shandon area or Blackpool. Of course, we can't verify it was them..

If there's ccTV around the apt, that should allow the Guards 2 identify who may have nicked your stuff.

Anyway, I can only imagine how disappointed you are right now. It's awful when boundaries are breached like that - not to mention valuable possessions being taken. Wanker(s)!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

They even took rockband!?! Disc or the guitar and stuff?

Thats horrible. Never been broken into but a lad work had it happen to him recently while he was sleeping.

Are you really a mayor?

the worst part is i am . . . my house it city hall.

but no to the locks but i guess i'm naive enough to think thats the landlords job.

pretty much a city centre area, upper john st. or some such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

ShellBell1 wrote: »
    Sorry 2 hear of your predicament mayordenis. Were you out when it happened? Would it be possible that someone may have been watching your movements, letting them know when was best to strike?

Yeah, I wouldn't trust those Gypsy-type Romanians - I've heard bad stories about them. Stealing from charity shops, biting into the arm of an employee.. They'd steal yourself!

Dunno where your apt is mayordenis, but those Romanians all seem to congregate around Nth Main St and most of them live in either the Shandon area or Blackpool. Of course, we can't verify it was them..

If there's ccTV around the apt, that should allow the Guards 2 identify who may have nicked your stuff.

Anyway, I can only imagine how disappointed you are right now. It's awful when boundaries are breached like that - not to mention valuable possessions being taken. Wanker(s)!! :mad:

oh dear god!

kdjac

Oh yeah, the caretaker in Cork City Hall lived on the top floor with his family. Didn't know any of his kids but I know a girl who hung out with his daughter, she said it was the coolest place ever to visit! And they could get into concerts etc for free. Class!

Upper John Street - exceptionally dodgy. My mate lives there and her car has been broken into numerous times. Any time I call to her (which is usually a Saturday evening before heading out) the place is teeming with scumbags. I would not walk down that street alone at night.

Dunno where your apt is mayordenis, but those Romanians all seem to congregate around Nth Main St and most of them live in either the Shandon area or Blackpool. Of course, we can't verify it was them.
    Indeed we can't, so why the suggestion? Also, they are Roma gypsies. And they hail from various parts of Europe, not just Romania.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stevecrow74

its not good to get broken into.. happened twice where i live now, if you are renting get the landlord to install an alarm (it is in there interest to do so) change locks to all accessible doors, get keys to all the rooms and lock them when you leave (pain in the hole, but it stops them entering individual rooms, i.e. if they break into a bedroom window, they are locked into that room and cant access any other room)

if you can get a dummy security camera and attach it to the front of the house or near the main entrance to the building is, dont get one with a flashing led (no real security cameras have flashing led's)

make a note of serial numbers of all expensive appliances..

you always hear about break ins, but you can never prepare for it when it happens to you.
    third time victim to break ins and twice in the current house i live in :mad:

hope the fe-ckers get caught soon:eek: hung drawn and quartered is too good for them too

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

ul mate

University of Limerick? What use is that to him? :p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

one o them did it. ul!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭AdrianII

Anyone interested in a cheap PS3/laptop??

thats not even funny

as said before, the apartment should have cctv footage

were the doors kicked in or a window broken, a friend of mines apartment got broken into and there was no sign of forced entry, the cops said it was probably an old tenent with a spare key

Indeed we can't, so why the suggestion? Also, they are Roma gypsies. And they hail from various parts of Europe, not just Romania.

FYI, I never actually suggested that it was that ethnic minority who were responsible 4 breaking into mayordenis' place.

I was merely speaking about their notoriety that has been related to me, and the reasons for that notoriety. How the hell should I know whether they break into people's apartments?? But, like a lot of things, anything is possible. I can only speculate like the next person, but I never directly lay the blame at the gypsies' door.

I didn't know they came from different parts of Europe. The word "Romanians" tends to be an umbrella word that those who dealt with their crap had used in speech to me. I never claimed to be an expert on each and every one's origins, but the negative incidents involving them of which I was told are all true anyway.

As for the culprit in mayordenis' case.. I have no idea. That's one for the cops to figure out.

The word "Romanians" tends to be an umbrella word that those who dealt with their crap had used in speech to me.
    Well they're wrong. And ignorant. Romanian people must get so pissed off. It would be like Irish people in the UK being tarred with the same brush as any Irish travellers causing problems over there. Except worse, because at least Irish travellers are, well, Irish. Roma gypsies come from various countries in Eastern Europe and into Eurasia.

according to the discovery channel wild boars are known to brake into homes,
    i'm suspicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 OoSKYLINEoO

No signs of break in? Hope the landlord isn't the shady type...

according to the discovery channel wild boars are known to brake into homes,
    i'm suspicious.
    You could be onto something. I saw a hog-type creature on Grand Parade the other day...

Actually, they have acknowledged that not all of them are bad. They have learned to identify who is honest and who isn't, based on their actions. So, their views are informed by repeated cases of certain Romany individuals stealing items. Again, these employees don't claim to be experts on the origins of these Romany sort of people.

They are not tarring them all with the same brush. They work closely with Anglesea St who have built up a profile of the repeated offenders. There is no discrimination involved. If you steal, you're a thief. If you don't, you're okay. Simple as that.

... upper john st. or some such.

Where exactly is John St?

Near Heineken/Firkin Crane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

Know how you feel mate, been broken into twice here in London (2 different flats) first time they got my laptop, digital camera, and iMac second time they got my Gamecube (I had nowt else worth stealing after the first time)

Oh right. Yeah, I wouldn't fancy walking around there on my own late at night. :eek:

Irish Halo wrote: »
    Know how you feel mate, been broken into twice here in London (2 different flats) first time they got my laptop, digital camera, and iMac second time they got my Gamecube (I had nowt else worth stealing after the first time)

Sorry 2 hear that, Irish Halo. Who would have thought? 2 different flats. Were u living in a rough or a respectable area on each occasion? Were burglaries common there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Irish Halo

First one was an OK enough area (OK it was Brixton but Brixton isn't actually that bad) second time was in a fecking kip(let's not mention the rape outside the apartment block, the boarded up flats, the scum living in the area or the fact it was somehow 20 minutes walk from some of the most expensive real estate in London, Canary Wharf), glad I'm outta there.

I learned a lesson though, I don't deserve pretty/valuable things :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Losing a PS3? Ouch.
    Do you have the serial number?

i got broken into in waterford not too long ago aswell, nothing was taken though.
    was very un-nerving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

sorry for anyone thats been broke into..... touch wood ive never been through that experience, an ex of mine once was and i remember her sayin the worst thing was just the thought that some scumbag was in the place, it wasnt that important what objects were stolen, just the fact some bastard had been through her personal stuff. an invasion.

(edit... it didnt help that the dirty skangers had done a sh1t on her bed)!

flanum wrote: »
    sorry for anyone thats been broke into..... it wasnt that important what objects were stolen, just the fact some bastard had been through her personal stuff. an invasion.

(edit... it didnt help that the dirty skangers had done a sh1t on her bed)!

Oh for Jesus sake! Sick..

First one was an OK enough area (OK it was Brixton but Brixton isn't actually that bad) second time was in a fecking kip(let's not mention the rape outside the apartment block, the boarded up flats, the scum living in the area or the fact it was somehow 20 minutes walk from some of the most expensive real estate in London, Canary Wharf), glad I'm outta there.

I heard Brixton had a bad rep, but more so back in the 80s. Anyway, you were just unlucky in that place, unfortunately.

The second flat had justifiable reasons for being broken into when you list all of those things above. That's awful. Weird that Canary Wharf was only 20mins away, tho..

My friend is living in a high rise block of flats in Wester Hales, Edinburgh. There was a guy stabbed to death (presumably drugs related), on the same floor as hers last December. There was blood sprayed all over the walls in the hall from where he had been trying to crawl away for help. My friend couldn't leave the flat for 2 days afterwards on the advice of the cops, who hadn't yet found the perpetrator. Not a pretty area anyway..

Oh for Jesus sake! Sick..

thats a common thing! its like a calling card, the adrenilin is going overtime on a housebreaker that the bowels just give!

flanum wrote: »
    thats a common thing! its like a calling card, the adrenilin is going overtime on a housebreaker that the bowels just give!

For real? I thought I had heard it all..! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭ModeSkeletor

second time was in a fecking kip(let's not mention the rape outside the apartment block, the boarded up flats, the scum living in the area or the fact it was somehow 20 minutes walk from some of the most expensive real estate in London, Canary Wharf), glad I'm outta there.

Southwark?

For real? I thought I had heard it all..! :pac:

you serious? you havent heard of people finding sh1t on the middle of the floors etc of their house after a break in?
    read "The Scatological Rites of Burglars", by Albert B. Friedmaan © 1968

i just googled "burglars defecating" and theres tons of stuff (scuse the pun).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

i got broken into in waterford not too long ago aswell, nothing was taken though.
    was very un-nerving.

In waterford?? sorry to be nosey here, i live in waterford like, but where in waterford was this??

anyways, since you said there were no signs of a break in it doesnt look great but its good to see you still keep your humour, tough break bud, hope you get a bit of luck in the near future

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,969 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

You sure it's not an ex-tenant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Did ShellBell1 mention blacks yet? Brixton was mentioned? Good stuff! It were them that did it! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Well they're wrong. And ignorant. Romanian people must get so pissed off. It would be like Irish people in the UK being tarred with the same brush as any Irish travellers causing problems over there. Except worse, because at least Irish travellers are, well, Irish. Roma gypsies come from various countries in Eastern Europe and into Eurasia.
    Two things. Firstly, the Romanians (any of whom I've talked to) extremely hate the Romas. Secondly, in Norway, the knackers are Irish, and thus Irish seems to equal knacker over there (2nd hand info, from a mate who worked over there).

=-=

I'd ask the landlord for a list of ex-tenants, so that you can run the names past the cops, in case one of them moved from the area as they was known to the local plod.