Civil Servants

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Carrigart Exile

caoibhin wrote: »
    Okey Dokey.
    I'm going to get this off my chest.
    In my job I have to deal with a number of government departments on a daily basis. Now, i find time and time again that 9 out of ten of the people working in these departments are;
    Lazy
    Borderline incompetent.
    Clock Watchers.
    Full of a self-entitlement.

I'm not talking about the manual laborers either but most in administration and management.
    Now, does anyone else fine this? are these qualities a requirement to work in the civil service or is it a contagious condition?

It once was the case that a job with the civil service was a poorly paid job but a secure job with a good pension but now they have the best of both worlds.

I've worked in the public sector and the private sector, both had their share of hard workers, lazy bams and incompetents. I tend to find those that come out with rubbish like this have not worked in the public sector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Lads.... Focus.
    This is an issue that affects us all. it needs to be addressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭kwinabeeste

I used to work in the service for 3.5 years and experienced some interesting times dealing with many departments and offices and from Clerical Officers (min entry) to Secretary Generals (highest in Department) but i left as it wasn't for me for IT area.

Some of the management APs and PO's were a bit lazy etc but the vast majority were really hard working and were not afraid of hard work.

AO's, HEO's and EOs were mostly very hard working, helpful and very knowledgeable.

Some CO's that i dealt with were unfriendly and uncaring and yeah lazy. These would probably be the people that you deal with as they are often the 1st point of contact if i was looking for some material.

Don't know what area you were looking at but its like anything i think. I was in the passport office recently and the person on the "security" was doing the Irish Times crossword that was photocopied so obviously there was some kind of competition and was more interested in that than answering my question. But then i had to go to the Births, Deaths and marraiges on Westland Row and they were really helpful. Some bad eggs in every job i suppose. I noticed that the unhelpful ones were older than average (50's) and may not be qualified as the more recent entrants.

Possible contraversial statement... AFAIK there was some "policy" in the 1970's that married women had to leave the service which was obviously cancelled recently and many of these women have been recently returning... maybe some of these are the people you are dealing with...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Gah. did you even read the article in front of you.

Thats actually a well known cliche by now. Leave it out and look at the facts. You can argue with that report if you like.

I can argue with the report indeed and I will. I was a union rep for 4 out of my 7 years in the service. Still in the service and doing other peoples work.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=55611932&postcount=21

A CO's start off salary is 22,609 a year.

Thats 434.79 a week before tax. The average you posted is nearly double that!!

Have you ever worked in the service??

I have worked in 3 different departments and when I have had work assigned to me its done straight away. Where I am now there are numerous amounts of helpful staff and others that don't seem to be bothered but you get that in the private sector aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

jonny24ie wrote: »
    A CO's start off salary is 22,609 a year.

Thats 434.79 a week before tax. The average you posted is nearly double that!!
    So you went from 22k per year to 36k per year in 7 years, a growth of 2k per year? It was probably more since just-in-the-door salaries seven years ago were likely lower; still it represents a 10% wage rise in your first year.

You have my sympathies. :rolleyes:

On the plus side, according to the papers, Cowen isn't taking any crap this time round. Looks like the free ride is over.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

So you went from 22k per year to 36k per year in 7 years, a growth of 2k per year? It was probably more since just-in-the-door salaries seven years ago were likely lower; still it represents a 10% wage rise in your first year.

You have my sympathies. :rolleyes:

On the plus side, according to the papers, Cowen isn't taking any crap this time round. Looks like the free ride is over.

That also took me 2 promotions in the 7 years to get that salary which I worked hard to get.

I like the way you didn't answer the question, so I'll take that as you haven't worked in the service. As I said earlier the higher ups earn top money but the lower downs do most of the work for the little they get!!

jonny24ie wrote: »
    As I said earlier the higher ups earn top money but the lower downs do most of the work for the little they get!!
    Which is flatly denied by the report I linked to, weighed against which we have your little anecdote. Like for like, the public sector earns far more than than private sector employees, and in addition have jobs for life and sweet pension plans.

You being a union rep, I wouldn't expect anything less than die hard toeing of the party line, so that will about do it I guess.

Him being a Unon rep, I would expect the exact opposite as he obviously has to deal with management who, by and large, are the lazy, heel-dragging element that the service is famous for. I'd be willing to bet that he is doing anything but "toeing the line". (also, what do you mean by party? Is that political party?)

I'm a public servant (like civil servant but without the option of inter-deparmental transfers) and, due to the timing of my appointment, this May will see the first opportunity for promotion to the next grade. I'm in my 5th year of employment and am currently on €27.5k. Out of interest I'd like to compare that with someone in a similar situation in the private sector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Nice one!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭snorlax

a lot of people working for the HSE (new people..eg.therapist, nurses etc) are on contracts as they're temporary staff..some don't even have written contracts...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Carrigart Exile

Which is flatly denied by the report I linked to, weighed against which we have your little anecdote. Like for like, the public sector earns far more than than private sector employees, and in addition have jobs for life and sweet pension plans.

Utter rubbish, about 25% of civil servants usually earn a wage that qualifies them for state benefits, the average civil service pension is a wonderful index linked €10k a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

All new staff in the HSE are given contracts, but its true that many are on temporary contracts. Its quite difficult to get a permanent position in the HSE in the current climate.

The only people who I've come across with no contracts are temps taken in between 6 and 3 years ago. Many support grades (domestics, attendants) didnt seem to have any nor clerical officers who were taken in to cover short term absences. I've yet to come across any therapist or nursing grade staff without a contract.

And just an aside, I earn 25k working for the HSE. I dont understand where people get the idea that we're paid well. The higher up grades are but clerical staff arent. In fact I earned more p.a. when I was working in retail. Not complaining at all, just stating what I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Nightwish wrote: »
    A

And just an aside, I earn 25k working for the HSE. I dont understand where people get the idea that we're paid well

People dont, the public opinion is however of the opinion there are too many non essential staff in the HSE and that it leaks money.

Example #435554. a friend who is a student works as a part time A&E receptionist type person.

she is 21 and earns in and around 700-1000 euro a month (i know this as she is paid once a month and is rather glleful when it comes about)

the kicker? she is only called in when needed and works on average 10 days a month (and does **** all when on the job as she admits herself)

is it a coincidence that both her parents work in the same hospital in similar type jobs, higher up, obviously.

I wish i had her job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭branners69

SimpleSam06 that report you are quoting is a joke, even Homer knows that "people can come up with statistics to prove anything. 14% of people know that." :D

A Secrectary General earns roughly €4,000 a week(after tax)!! A C.O. starting in the service earns maybe €400(before tax)!! The average of these two civil servants is €2,200 so the report you quoted is using figures which suits the tone of the article!

You also accuse jonny24ie of "die hard toeing of the party line", whats your excuse for the Civil Service negativity, fail the exam???

branners69 wrote: »
    You also accuse jonny24ie of "die hard toeing of the party line", whats your excuse for the Civil Service negativity, fail the exam???

Plus he didn't notice that I said I was a union rep. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

It's possibly contagious.

If you are a hard enthusiastic dilligent worker in the civil service, you will suddenly realise that ...
    (a)the structures are totally prohibitive in allowing you to do your job.
    (b) you can scream and shout all you want and nothing will change.
    (c) you will wear yourself down with stress trying to change anything
    (d) unions should be taken out and beaten to within an inch of their lives.
    (e) everyone over 40 in the civil service should conform to industry standards or be forced to retire

I've seen the hardest workers in the world burn themselves out by banging their head off a brick wall.
    That's why some find it easier to keep the head down and not get involved whilst doing the bear minimum. The more taken on, the more dumped on.

I've worked in industry and I've worked in the civil service.
    Competitive industry even at it's most arduous is not as stressful as working in a public service environment. It's about as depressing as working in an abbatoir.

People dont, the public opinion is however of the opinion there are too many non essential staff in the HSE and that it leaks money.

Example #435554. a friend who is a student works as a part time A&E receptionist type person.

she is 21 and earns in and around 700-1000 euro a month (i know this as she is paid once a month and is rather glleful when it comes about)

the kicker? she is only called in when needed and works on average 10 days a month (and does **** all when on the job as she admits herself)

is it a coincidence that both her parents work in the same hospital in similar type jobs, higher up, obviously.

I wish i had her job.

There are approx 600 staff at Grade VIII level, which is more than there were under the old Health Board system, which is ridiculous. The system is management top heavy. In the region where I work I could name at least 20 Grade VIII's who do sweet fu<k all. Their positions were eliminated when the HSE came into effect, so they were given a fancy title but dont really seem to do a whole lot.

I live with a girl who works in A&E as a receptionist. She seems to work very little but she's on a 7 week rota which involves a mix of 9-5 work, 12 hour shifts and night shifts. To us it appears she's never in work but in fact over the 7 week period it works out on average a 35 hour week. A&E admin staff, due to shiftwork get night shift allowances which is why they bring in a lot more than the rest of the clerical grades.

Both my parents work in the HSE too, but I can assure you I got in on my own merits. I dont recall either of my parents doing the interview for me. I do know of people in the past (as in 10+ years ago) who were just given jobs by parents, family friends or the odd politician who sat on the health board. It was that type of behaviour which allowed incompetent idiots into the system (not that interviewing is a failsafe measure against it either).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

I do know of people in the past (as in 10+ years ago) who were just given jobs by parents, family friends or the odd politician who sat on the health board. It was that type of behaviour which allowed incompetent idiots into the system (not that interviewing is a failsafe measure against it either).

So how does one cut off the dead wood?
    Is there an actual feasible way around this.. that question is directed at anyone by the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

is there a difference between working FOR the civil service and being a civil servant?? im stupid i havent a clue.. i worked up until last year for 5 years for a certain government financial institute based in sandyford that manufactured currency(yes the mint) as a maintenance spark. i never quite knew then and still dont know now. was i a civil servant or did i work for the civil service, or is there a difference?? my pay cheque used to have the whole harp/new fangled stupid weird gold globe thing ye can see on dame st.
    so was i one of them??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,219 ✭✭✭invincibleirish

Great news, Galway University Hospital to close for a month in August (except its A&E)

http://www.galwaynews.ie/3535-university-hospital-close-august

again costs are the reason. the HSE is a shambles, the problem?

Greedy Consultant's
    Greedy Pharmacist's
    Incompetent & greedy Bureaucrat's
    Abysmal me feiner Politicians
    prioritising of Private Healthcare

Everyone has their fingers in the pie for themselves.

Sorry folks, my work in the private sector means I can't be sitting around all day posting on bulletin boards like public sector types.

Just a quick response to the lot of you, prove the report wrong, not with your own personal experiences, but with actual statistics. Bitching about 22k starting salaries isn't a selling point, by the way.

You won't be able to of course, since the only thing many public servants are remotely capable of doing properly is complaining to the union, so this thread is filled with fail.

And when you are through with a lifetime of whining, complaining, passive aggression, and settling into being a burden on the nation for as long as the health services that you helped warp can keep you clinging to whatever value once was in your lives, think back to this thread, and compare and contrast the taste of fail to most of your life.

I don't think you'll find much of a difference.

Edit: Note that this does not apply to all public sector workers, in case anyone thought it did. There are many invaluable and hard working people in government employ. As for the rest, you know who I'm talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

caoibhin wrote: »
    Okey Dokey.
    I'm going to get this off my chest.
    In my job I have to deal with a number of government departments on a daily basis. Now, i find time and time again that 9 out of ten of the people working in these departments are;
    Lazy
    Borderline incompetent.
    Clock Watchers.
    Full of a self-entitlement.

I'm not talking about the manual laborers either but most in administration and management.
    Now, does anyone else fine this? are these qualities a requirement to work in the civil service or is it a contagious condition?

It once was the case that a job with the civil service was a poorly paid job but a secure job with a good pension but now they have the best of both worlds.

i absolutely - i work 2 jobs - both of which have to give/get paperwork from civil servants and co. co.........
    And i have to say they are the most ignorant - stupid - have'nt a clue how things actually work outside of their text books..

i mean two people in the council who work toghether at the same job weren't able to agree on anything - if they were both standing beside eachother looking at a tyre, one would say its rubber while the other said something else...
    I think i should apply for a job there - im a qualified hairdresser, so i'm as equipped as tthey are ;) actually, i reacon i'd do it better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭branners69

Sorry folks, my work in the private sector means I can't be sitting around all day posting on bulletin boards like public sector types.

How come your posts yesterday were at 9.13 and 9.43?? What sort of cushie private sector job do you have that you a) either start work after 9.43am because obviously you would not be posting during your work hours!! b) you were on a day off, so obviously your not as important as you think you are to the private sector!! c) you are contradicting the above and are "sitting around all day posting on bulletin boards"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

Gah. did you even read the article in front of you.

Thats actually a well known cliche by now. Leave it out and look at the facts. You can argue with that report if you like.

Well, i must get one of these jobs - all of which aren't far off double my wage - us grafters - always paid less :(

branners69 wrote: »
    How come your posts yesterday were at 9.13 and 9.43?? What sort of cushie private sector job do you have that you a) either start work after 9.43am because obviously you would not be posting during your work hours!! b) you were on a day off, so obviously your not as important as you think you are to the private sector!! c) you are contradicting the above and are "sitting around all day posting on bulletin boards"...
    I own several businesses and have the good sense to delegate responsibility to the capable people I employ to manage them. Thanks for trying though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,382 ✭✭✭snorlax

The only people who I've come across with no contracts are temps taken in between 6 and 3 years ago. Many support grades (domestics, attendants) didnt seem to have any nor clerical officers who were taken in to cover short term absences. I've yet to come across any therapist or nursing grade staff without a contract.
    now you know one.. I am a therapist...I had one that only ran for 3 months when I started work there but Im there over 8 months now and no written contract..same for some of my peers working up in Tallaght they got intial contracts for a few months and haven't got an extended contract. The only safe people are those that are there donkeys years (permanent staff)..one's just gone on maternity leave on doesn't know if the HSE will let her back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

bug wrote: »
    It's possibly contagious.

If you are a hard enthusiastic dilligent worker in the civil service, you will suddenly realise that ...
    (a)the structures are totally prohibitive in allowing you to do your job.
    (b) you can scream and shout all you want and nothing will change.
    (c) you will wear etc...

Well what you described is no different from the private sector is what I have experienced. I have worked with new private companies, old private companies, state agencies and semi state. A good friend of mine has worked for a new state body too.

Anybody who stays in an organisation for too long becomes complacent and generally ineffective no matter what the industry and who they work for. This generally means that state bodies have people who don't work very hard as most are full of people who have been there a long time.
    State related agencies have management that are affiliated with some political party or other association. This doesn't mean all management but enough to mean certain people rise through the ranks quicker than others. Not much different from friends getting friends jobs but there is a closer to corruption when it isn't a friend and somebody you don't know suggests you give the person the job:o I know one agency has a lot of ex army people there and there is nothing military like about the job.
    Most people think their management are idiots mostly because they have never done the job. Decisions generally come down to the lesser of two evils but people don't like to look at the reality of this.
    Older organisations state or private often have very protectionist work practices which limit organisational changes. Which basically means the workers stop change. Somebody new comes in and they try to change everything which is basically a waste of time because you need to change the people on the floor first and then get the management to agree or reverse. This is institutional organisations for you, I have watched new companies start out and decide a new way of doing things but they all change and don't keep anything new.

In state bodies' benefits are better plain and simple. These benefits are also widely abused. For example
    1) Flexitime
    2) Holidays
    3) Study leave
    4) Study allowances
    5) Break times
    6) Sick days

Things I have seen in state bodies
    1) Clocking in for people
    2) Clocking in dropping kids to school then coming in, collecting kids dropping them home coming in and then clocking out and going home
    3) Movie days (Conference equipment used to watch a rental DVD)
    4) Running a private business from the office
    5) Taking a course more than once due to non completion of required work without penalty
    6) Warnings that a person would not be in the next day as they would be "sick" (in another country on holiday)
    7) Hour long breakfast breaks
    8) Sitting doing nothing for months

Kipperhell wrote: »
    Older organisations state or private often have very protectionist work practices which limit organisational changes. Which basically means the workers stop change.
    The difference between private and public sector in this case is that private sector companies which don't change to meet the times get eaten by other companies.

snorlax wrote: »
    now you know one.. I am a therapist...I had one that only ran for 3 months when I started work there but Im there over 8 months now and no written contract..same for some of my peers working up in Tallaght they got intial contracts for a few months and haven't got an extended contract. The only safe people are those that are there donkeys years (permanent staff)..one's just gone on maternity leave on doesn't know if the HSE will let her back...

Permanent staff by virtue of being permanent have job security. A permanent memeber of staff by law cannot be discriminated against by going on mat leave so the HSE would leave themselves wide open to all sorts of trouble if they didnt allow her back. However if this person is temporary (especially if on a specified purpose contract) the HSE may not allow them back. I've seen this happen in the HSE area where I work.

I'm not in the Dublin area so I havent come across any non contracted temp therapists. I would advise you to contact your local personnel dept asap to have your contract renewed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭mydarkstar

Kipperhell wrote: »

Things I have seen in state bodies
    1) Clocking in for people
    2) Clocking in dropping kids to school then coming in, collecting kids dropping them home coming in and then clocking out and going home
    3) Movie days (Conference equipment used to watch a rental DVD)
    4) Running a private business from the office
    5) Taking a course more than once due to non completion of required work without penalty
    6) Warnings that a person would not be in the next day as they would be "sick" (in another country on holiday)
    7) Hour long breakfast breaks
    8) Sitting doing nothing for months

I've been working in the Civil Service for 8 years now and I've seen a lot of the above but I have friends in the public service who have/have seen their fair share of screwing around on the non-Civil Service job too.

At the moment I do my job and the job of the guy next to me. He is one of the fe'ckless wasters that some people are refering to, virtually unsackable too because of the contract he is employed under. Since he turns up rarely and works inefficiently I get to do his work too after I get through all mine. I (and most of our section) am quite easy to sack if I start messing around and get lazy on the job. Personally I think that's fair enough and wish it was across the board. In 8 years (of hard work) my pay has risen to a whopping 30k, lucky for me the mortgage takes care of lots of that.