Guns running the country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,375 ✭✭✭source

Legalising drugs is not a solution, all you get from that is drugs tourism, like in holland, where idiots come from all over the world to get high legally, it pretty much ruins the traditional tourism trade as the country becomes associated with drugs tourism and all the regular tourists decide not to come as they don't want to be associated with it.

i don't know what would be the best solution, but i definately think that legalisation will only bring more trouble than it'll stop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

sunnyjim wrote: »
    The following is proof to the above statement.

Idealists?! Yeah, good one mate. You have a clue(!)

Arm the Gardai now.

lol I did warn you. Thats not to say they didnt use pipebombs and that they were'nt in direct opposition to military prescence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Just read an article on Indo this morning with headline

"Gardai avert gun carnage at funeral"

]

It was the Sunday Indo ffs.

This never happened. Never. The Sindo is a rag.

I'm not that crazy about the idea of armed Guards. If Guards have guns then the criminals are more likely to shoot at them. Whole thing escalates.

They should be getting search warrants and seizing more weapons. There are just too many of them in circulation.

Thats a bit of a silly comment. The cops get shot at regardless of them having weapons or not. At least being armed gives them a better chance of survival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭elpresdentde

Bullet Proof Hoodies now the choice of the skangers with guns says is all really

Bullet Proof Hoodies

it might stop a bullet but it wouldent stop the balistic force ie broken ribs cracked skull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

whats needed is cops who give a fcuk, not cops who dont give a fcuk,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭Gurgle

foinse wrote: »
    Legalising drugs is not a solution, all you get from that is drugs tourism, like in holland, where idiots come from all over the world to get high legally, it pretty much ruins the traditional tourism trade as the country becomes associated with drugs tourism and all the regular tourists decide not to come as they don't want to be associated with it.
    Just not true.
    Sure, it looks that way if you go to Amsterdam and never leave the red light district, but you only have to go half a mile to find one of the most beautifull & interesting medievil cities in europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

foinse wrote: »

i don't know what would be the best solution, but i definately think that legalisation will only bring more trouble than it'll stop

so we get tourism AND get rid of the gangs. i fail to see the bad side. and as gurgle said, it's only a few streets in amsterdam that are as you describe.

I'm not that crazy about the idea of armed Guards. If Guards have guns then the criminals are more likely to shoot at them. Whole thing escalates.
    whereas currently the criminals don't shoot at them? do these scum bags have some sort of a sense of fair play that i don't know about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,043 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

We need Robocop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?PageNbr=1&MemberId=4091362500&PhotoAlbumId=4413108193&PhotoId=4414657477

check out these limerick rappers posing on bebo with there guns, cant the gardai do anything about this?