Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guns running the country

• 21-04-2008 9:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭

Just read an article on Indo this morning with headline

"Gardai avert gun carnage at funeral"

It makes for scary reading... obviously it has gone too far and something needs to be done... Is it time to call in the army to certain areas to patrol the streets?

Now the authorities fear further murders and gangland shootings in Dublin and Limerick in the coming weeks. Up to nine serious feuds are causing unprecedented levels of violence in the two cities.

According to gardai, there are now more guns and dangerous weapons in circulation than there were at the height of the IRA's campaign of violence during the Troubles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Yes... lets bring in soldiers with armor piercing rifles; because that wont encourage escalation at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭Just The One

Overheal wrote: »
    Yes... lets bring in soldiers with armor piercing rifles; because that wont encourage escalation at all.

is your opinion of army patrolling the street that they will have a shoot to kill policy? They would be there to protect and keep the peace and a high visibility on the street should diminish the number of gun related deaths.

Do you have a better solution?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Bullet Proof Hoodies now the choice of the skangers with guns says is all really

Bullet Proof Hoodies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Have we learned nothing?

Sherifu wrote: »

We have just learned that the News & Observer need some new subs....

Headline: 17 remain dead.... as opposed to.... not dead anymore???

is your opinion of army patrolling the street that they will have a shoot to kill policy? They would be there to protect and keep the peace and a high visibility on the street should diminish the number of gun related deaths.

I'm gonna quote Batman Begins here:
    Jim Gordon: And what about escalation?
    Batman: Escalation?
    Jim Gordon: We start carrying semi-automatic weapons, they get automatics. We get Kevlar, they buy armor-piercing rounds.

I confess I never looked into the whole N.I. thing. At all. But I get the inkling that military prescence there wasn't always that helpful: didn't idealists then move on to using pipebombs and the like?

Again, I'd try and oppose escalation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Sherifu wrote: »

Lollers! :pac:

Death jokes ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

maybe..... just maybe someday they might have the sense to introduce reco and other laws that can deal with the problem. what goods all the guards and guns in the world when the law is designed to protect the criminal elements.

Oh yeah, and maybe prison shouldnt be so eas on them. god bless the do-gooders out there, with all their concerns about human rights. they should be waved once a person is seen to not have any for anyone else in the first place.

I presume everyones heard about that poor chap in limerick who drove the getaway car in a murder and cried after and got himself shot for his roubles. f*ck him i say. you lie with dogs you rise with flees.

Overheal wrote: »
    I'm gonna quote Batman Begins here:

I confess I never looked into the whole N.I. thing. At all. But I get the inkling that military prescence there wasn't always that helpful: didn't idealists then move on to using pipebombs and the like?

so do you have a solution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

give the gardai guns. patroling the streets is not what the army is for, unless you happen to live in afghanistan

Sam Vimes wrote: »
    give the gardai guns. patroling the streets is not what the army is for, unless you happen to live in afghanistan

at least the have started using stun guns/tasers

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Arm the Gardai to the hilt and lets see what the skangers do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Sam Vimes wrote: »

What is the army for?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Kold wrote: »
    What is the army for?

I'm thinking repelling foreign invades and peace keeping.

Now I know Limerick is having some trouble but it's hardley Iraq...

The army are not the police the only effect it will have is that instead of someone being shot walking down the road he will be kidnapped and shot in a field somewhere, the killing will still happen it will just happen away from the army.

I think putting some more armed cops there on a consistent basis and having some more detective work done is whats needed IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

The fact remains that we have one of the lowest instances of violent crime (including assault, aggravated assault, manslaughter, murder etc) in Europe.

This, however, isn't really a useful statistic if you want to sell newspapers, and those bastards at the Independent know this all too well.

Buy a real newspaper for a change, you'd be surprised how much better you'll feel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

the eru are in limerick.. they carry machine guns and are armed to the nines...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

Overheal wrote:
    I confess I never looked into the whole N.I. thing. At all.

The following is proof to the above statement.
    But I get the inkling that military prescence there wasn't always that helpful: didn't idealists then move on to using pipebombs and the like?

Idealists?! Yeah, good one mate. You have a clue(!)

Arm the Gardai now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 sosulio

The fact remains that we have one of the lowest instances of violent crime (including assault, aggravated assault, manslaughter, murder etc) in Europe.

This, however, isn't really a useful statistic if you want to sell newspapers, and those bastards at the Independent know this all too well.

Buy a real newspaper for a change, you'd be surprised how much better you'll feel

This indo sensationalism is crazy! Their leading headline is about an incident that happened 9 days previously on the 11th! talk about dragging the a*se out of it! get a new story!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

stevoman wrote: »
    what goods all the guards and guns in the world when the law is designed to protect the criminal elements...

and maybe prison shouldnt be so eas on them. god bless the do-gooders out there, with all their concerns about human rights.
    The law doesn't so much protect the criminals, the law is fine.
    The gardai are catching them:
    The DPP, the judges and the prisons are failing miserably.

They get caught, prosecuted, convicted, sent home, caught, prosecuted, convicted, sent home, caught... eventually sentenced to 3 years and released after 9 months, caught, prosecuted, convicted, sentenced to 12 years and they sneak off home on a trip to the cinema.

Its not a question of prison being too easy on them, they don't spend enough time there to make any difference.

It shouldn't be physically possible for someone to live long enough to clock up 60-70 convictions.

ffs, we have TDs writing to Judges because a rapist comes from a 'good family'.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/?c=IRELAND&jp=mhojideysnid&d=2008-04-20

Gurgle wrote: »
    The law doesn't so much protect the criminals, the law is fine.
    The gardai are catching them:
    The DPP, the judges and the prisons are failing miserably.

They get caught, prosecuted, convicted, sent home, caught, prosecuted, convicted, sent home, caught... eventually sentenced to 3 years and released after 9 months, caught, prosecuted, convicted, sentenced to 12 years and they sneak off home on a trip to the cinema.

Its not a question of prison being too easy on them, they don't spend enough time there to make any difference.

It shouldn't be physically possible for someone to live long enough to clock up 60-70 convictions.

ffs, we have TDs writing to Judges because a rapist comes from a 'good family'.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/archives/?c=IRELAND&jp=mhojideysnid&d=2008-04-20
    Couldn't have put it any better.

That TD is a disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

I'm not that crazy about the idea of armed Guards. If Guards have guns then the criminals are more likely to shoot at them. Whole thing escalates.

They should be getting search warrants and seizing more weapons. There are just too many of them in circulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

The thing i find scary is that we are over 20 posts and no-one has commented on the title of the thread being "Guns running the country"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

The thing i find scary is that we are over 20 posts and no-one has commented on the title of the thread being "Guns running the country"

Guns don't kill you. Death does, ask any doctor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I decided to ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

I thought it said "girls running the country" oh how I laughed then i re read it and laughed more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

The reason there are so many illegal guns in the country is because there is so much illegally gained money in the country, most of this is earned through the trade in illegal drugs. Legallise and regulate the trade in these drugs and you remove that source of income. If they don't have the money they can't buy the guns or pay people to use them. Sure some of these people will resort to armed robbery for instance but things like armed robbery don't produce anywhere near the same levels of income and they also hold a much greater chance of being caught and arrested and also are far less conductive to inter gang warfare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

Nobody over 25 is going to be pro legalising drugs though. You'd never get a politician to push it. Even if it did go through one person would die somewhere due to a bad reaction (or from taking a stupid coctail of ****), there would be public outcry and the drugs would all get banned again because cigarettes and alcohol have never killed anybody of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

I want one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

slipss wrote: »
    The reason there are so many illegal guns in the country is because there is so much illegally gained money in the country, most of this is earned through the trade in illegal drugs. Legallise and regulate the trade in these drugs and you remove that source of income. If they don't have the money they can't buy the guns or pay people to use them. Sure some of these people will resort to armed robbery for instance but things like armed robbery don't produce anywhere near the same levels of income and they also hold a much greater chance of being caught and arrested and also are far less conductive to inter gang warfare.

That's an actual solution, so I don't think it'll happen. :/ No, much better to cry out for more guns for the police and more cells for prisoners!

Nobody over 25 is going to be pro legalising drugs though.
    I think you may need to push that bar up at least a decade, if not two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Legalising drugs is not a solution, all you get from that is drugs tourism, like in holland, where idiots come from all over the world to get high legally, it pretty much ruins the traditional tourism trade as the country becomes associated with drugs tourism and all the regular tourists decide not to come as they don't want to be associated with it.

i don't know what would be the best solution, but i definately think that legalisation will only bring more trouble than it'll stop

sunnyjim wrote: »
    The following is proof to the above statement.

Idealists?! Yeah, good one mate. You have a clue(!)

Arm the Gardai now.

lol I did warn you. Thats not to say they didnt use pipebombs and that they were'nt in direct opposition to military prescence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

]

It was the Sunday Indo ffs.

This never happened. Never. The Sindo is a rag.

I'm not that crazy about the idea of armed Guards. If Guards have guns then the criminals are more likely to shoot at them. Whole thing escalates.

They should be getting search warrants and seizing more weapons. There are just too many of them in circulation.

Thats a bit of a silly comment. The cops get shot at regardless of them having weapons or not. At least being armed gives them a better chance of survival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭elpresdentde

Bullet Proof Hoodies now the choice of the skangers with guns says is all really

Bullet Proof Hoodies

it might stop a bullet but it wouldent stop the balistic force ie broken ribs cracked skull

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

whats needed is cops who give a fcuk, not cops who dont give a fcuk,

foinse wrote: »
    Legalising drugs is not a solution, all you get from that is drugs tourism, like in holland, where idiots come from all over the world to get high legally, it pretty much ruins the traditional tourism trade as the country becomes associated with drugs tourism and all the regular tourists decide not to come as they don't want to be associated with it.
    Just not true.
    Sure, it looks that way if you go to Amsterdam and never leave the red light district, but you only have to go half a mile to find one of the most beautifull & interesting medievil cities in europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

foinse wrote: »

i don't know what would be the best solution, but i definately think that legalisation will only bring more trouble than it'll stop

so we get tourism AND get rid of the gangs. i fail to see the bad side. and as gurgle said, it's only a few streets in amsterdam that are as you describe.

whereas currently the criminals don't shoot at them? do these scum bags have some sort of a sense of fair play that i don't know about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

We need Robocop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.jsp?PageNbr=1&MemberId=4091362500&PhotoAlbumId=4413108193&PhotoId=4414657477

check out these limerick rappers posing on bebo with there guns, cant the gardai do anything about this?