Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Diary of A Beauty Queen: Are beautiful Irish Women Really This Shallow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭LaVidaLoca

"The problem with attractive women (all over, not just here) is that the more attractive they are, they more shallow they are as well"

Not neccessarily true. Its simply a question of rarity.

In most countries in the world, a far greater percentage of women between the age of 18-45 are attractive than in Ireland. In Ireland good looks are a relative rarity, and Irish women tend to lose their good looks by the time they're in their late twenties.

Thus a far greater value is placed on what other countries would consider merely average looking women. This leads the ones who have good looks to be quite conceited about it.

For an example of what I mean: Have you ever in your life seen or met an Irishwoman that had anywhere close to this level of sexiness?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g-A65gVY5cE

Thought not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭DetectivFoxtrot

Hey all.
    I was one of the beautyqueens from the Simply Be show! I am too mortified to actually look at the programme!
    Some of the girls in the plus size show were hired models!!! So us amatures were a bit out of our league!
    They interviewed me several times... most of the other girls were a bit shy. ..I wonder if I made a show of myself!!?! I got three calls from people telling me I was on tv... I am not sure I can even show my face tomorrow!

You should watch it! I though the plus size models came across very well ;)- i.e. they had brains and were supporting each other - the bebo lark was all knife-in-back stuff - very cringey and shallow imo.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭seaner

LaVidaLoca wrote: »

This girl needs to be introduced to a little part of life I like to call PUBERTY.
    Its pretty sick IMO.

"Are beautiful Irish women really this shallow?"

Here's my reply to that:

"Bloke posts sweeping generalisation thread on boards.ie regarding Irish women. Are Irish men who post on the internet really this stupid?"

meh.

Eh first of all i'm female:rolleyes:

second, that punctuation mark at the end of the thread title is a question mark posing the question (not generalising) 'Are beautiful Irish Women Really this shallow?"

As you can see from posters views there doesn't seem to be a genralised opinion out there......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

I know some beautiful women who are truly amazing, in all areas of their selves. One in particular is the most down to earth, intlligent people i know. Then again they are not irish so really i have no business posting this.

seaner wrote: »
    This girl needs to be introduced to a little part of life I like to call PUBERTY.
    Its pretty sick IMO.

Was thinking this meself!

LaVidaLoca you sicko!! lol :p;)

togster wrote: »
    I know some beautiful women who are truly amazing, in all areas of their selves. One in particular is the most down to earth, intlligent people i know. Then again they are not irish so really i have no business posting this.

Do you know any beautiful Irish women?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

"The problem with attractive women (all over, not just here) is that the more attractive they are, they more shallow they are as well"

In most countries in the world, a far greater percentage of women between the age of 18-45 are attractive than in Ireland. In Ireland good looks are a relative rarity, and Irish women tend to lose their good looks by the time they're in their late twenties.

Thus a far greater value is placed on what other countries would consider merely average looking women. This leads the ones who have good looks to be quite conceited about it.

For an example of what I mean: Have you ever in your life seen or met an Irishwoman that had anywhere close to this level of sexiness?

Thought not.

She's a child - you need help.

When are we having a Miss Boards competition?

IanCurtis wrote: »
    She's a child - you need help.

When are we having a Miss Boards competition?

After we have a Mr. Boards Competition ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

miss bebo lol. How could she not be shallow/self-obsessed/fake tits'n'tan, coming from that?

As regards pleasurable looking females being shallow in general, I think it comes down to how much of a brain they have to go along with the looks...if that brain is bit small, then they become self obsessed as they slowly realise that looks may be all they have and everything starts to revolve aroud that. They have attention paid to them because of the looks and they learn to feed on that attention. It's a downward spiral from there on.
    If they have a bit of a brain then they realise that those looks aren't everything and that it's pointless being a self obsessed bimbo...but there's nothing wrong with looking good at the same time, however it's not the be all and end all...these women get on with life, doing other things and form a more rounded personality.

These days it's somewhat easy to be good looking...you can fake just about anything, particularly in a medium like social networking....however it's pretty difficult to fake a decent personality and an adept mind...
    She's what I'd consider a vacation. You'd go there once or twice, but you wouldn't stay there.
    That about sums it up...
    Hit and run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

Yeah and she's up her arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Eglinton

The Walsho wrote: »
    Girlfriend material? Nah.
    She's what I'd consider a vacation. You'd go there once or twice, but you wouldn't stay there.
    If you're looking for beauty and brains, look no further than Claire Tully, 600 points in her leaving, a degree from Trinity, and off to Oxford for her PhD. Was also on page 3 of the sun last week. I kid you not. Go figure.

Edit - http://bebo.com/claire-tully

Yuck - What a horrible scanger accent she's got in her video. Very rough skin too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 corkie7

hey guys i kno dee, not very well, and i think was they showed on tv was very un fair, of course tv3 edited the programme for entertainment purposes, and didnt ye all find the programme very entertaining!!!:) so thats all they wanted!! dee is a witty girl! she came across wrong i think.

Thought not.

No I don't know any Irish person with moves like that......
    I do know an American though......

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=jKlxjbhB9HE&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

the Paris Hilton quote shrieked insecuity - 'It's better to be talked about that not being talked aboout'
    She actually attributed that quote to Paris Hilton??!! - LOL :D

Here is the original source of said quote (and a damn sight more eloquent it is too):
    "There is only one thing in the world worse than being talked about, and that is not being talked about" - Oscar Wilde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

rb_ie wrote: »
    Miss Bebo? Lol, that site gets more retarded by the day.
    Must bite tongue.

"Are beautiful Irish women really this shallow?"

Here's my reply to that:

"Bloke posts sweeping generalisation thread on boards.ie regarding Irish women. Are Irish men who post on the internet really this stupid?"
    Pretty much. Yes.

Hey all.
    I was one of the beautyqueens from the Simply Be show! I am too mortified to actually look at the programme!
    Some of the girls in the plus size show were hired models!!! So us amatures were a bit out of our league!
    They interviewed me several times... most of the other girls were a bit shy. ..I wonder if I made a show of myself!!?! I got three calls from people telling me I was on tv... I am not sure I can even show my face tomorrow!
    Pics or you are lying.

Lots.
    The fact that they are unwilling to blow me does not make them shallow.
    They just have good taste in men. Or bad taste. Just not 'Hey, it's Terry. He's fairly average. I should go out with him' taste in men.
    After we have a Mr. Boards Competition ;)

We had one last year.
    I came second to the corpse of John Merrick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Wow a program about 3 very diverse women and you then assume that is enough of a sample to make sweeping generalisations about most irish women ?

You fail at statistical anaylses and life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

Wow, they all have lovely bottoms

genuine LOL... getting funny looks in work lol. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 KT!

Thaedydal wrote: »
    Wow a program about 3 very diverse women and you then assume that is enough of a sample to make sweeping generalisations about most irish women ?

You fail at statistical anaylses and life.

Hmmm...do any of the moderators actually know what this topic is even about???

Anyway, I'm just watching the programme in question here on Sky+ and my jaw is on the floor at the behaviour of that Deirdre Conroy girl. She has actually just said, and I quote exactly:
    "All girls are bitchy, it's in their nature. It's just natural selection (giggle)" "A girls attitude is that if I can put someone down to a level that they won't have the confidence to go dancing, or wear that, or approach him, then that's how their minds work. That's how MY mind works (giggle)"
    "Male attention is good, what girl doesn't like male attention. It's the reason we get up, and dress nicely and put on makeup in the morning and anyone who says that they don't is a liar"
    Then her friends go on to flatter her about how "jazzed" they are to out with her cos of all the male attention she gets and how you "definitely don't wanna get in a fight with this girl" at which Deirdre mistakenly thinks her friends means a physical fight and poses a sickening fists up kinda pose, until her friend corrects her that she means a "verbal fight" at which Deirdre nods in solemn agreement.

Are you listening feminists!!!? I mean, I just cannot believe my ears and eyes!! and I'm only ten minutes into the prgramme!
    I guess at least now the country knows exactly what kind of a vacuous b*@ch this girl really is.

BEBO BABE Awards...I've seen it all now (mutter mutter....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Affable wrote: »
    I'm the opposite really. Sometimes people have such mental power that they can make me drawn to them, nothing to do with beauty.

why don't i come across people like you on a regular basis?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

The Walsho wrote: »
    Girlfriend material? Nah.
    If you're looking for beauty and brains, look no further than Claire Tully, 600 points in her leaving, a degree from Trinity, and off to Oxford for her PhD. Was also on page 3 of the sun last week. I kid you not. Go figure.

Edit - http://bebo.com/claire-tully

Oh My God, but doesn't the fact that she has a bebo page like *that* just go to show you how shallow she is??!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

the Paris Hilton quote shrieked insecuity - 'It's better to be talked about that not being talked aboout' :eek:

Well I'm pretty sure that Paris Hilton didn't coin that phrase or sentiment. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Terry wrote: »
    Must bite tongue.

?

KT! wrote: »
    Hmmm...do any of the moderators actually know what this topic is even about???

Anyway, I'm just watching the programme in question here on Sky+ and my jaw is on the floor at the behaviour of that Deirdre Conroy girl. She has actually just said, and I quote exactly:
    "All girls are bitchy, it's in their nature. It's just natural selection (giggle)" "A girls attitude is that if I can put someone down to a level that they won't have the confidence to go dancing, or wear that, or approach him, then that's how their minds work. That's how MY mind works (giggle)"
    "Male attention is good, what girl doesn't like male attention. It's the reason we get up, and dress nicely and put on makeup in the morning and anyone who says that they don't is a liar"
    Then her friends go on to flatter her about how "jazzed" they are to out with her cos of all the male attention she gets and how you "definitely don't wanna get in a fight with this girl" at which Deirdre mistakenly thinks her friends means a physical fight and poses a sickening fists up kinda pose, until her friend corrects her that she means a "verbal fight" at which Deirdre nods in solemn agreement.

Are you listening feminists!!!? I mean, I just cannot believe my ears and eyes!! and I'm only ten minutes into the prgramme!
    I guess at least now the country knows exactly what kind of a vacuous b*@ch this girl really is.

I have met lots of non-attractive people who behave like this though.
    Admittedly she is getting on a bit for that carrying on....most people have more cop on at 24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭Mrs_Doyle

I haven't read through the entire thread, so this may have already been said,but here goes............

Most women are shallow. (Shock:eek: )
    No matter what they have, they want more. No matter how good they say they feel about themselves, they will, at some level, begrudge another woman her good looks/life style etc.

Most women need constant confirmation that they are wonderful/beautiful/attractive/amazing, however, the majority of us wont go to such obvious extremes (entering a Beauty competition) to get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 586 ✭✭✭The Mighty Ken

"A girls attitude is that if I can put someone down to a level that they won't have the confidence to go dancing, or wear that, or approach him, then that's how their minds work. That's how MY mind works (giggle)"

It's called insecurity taking advantage of insecurity, love.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

rb_ie wrote: »
    ?
    Look a bit closer to home. :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

OK now this is IMHO and having seen this stuff up close That's an extreme example of a subset of women that do act and think like that. This is particularly the case if their perceived social value is based almost entirely on their looks. I would say that the OP's question are beautiful Irish women really this shallow could be answered with a qualified yes, in certain circumstance and situations. It goes for any group where one quality is valued above others. That quality defines them and will be bolstered and defended to keep up in the pecking order. Her comment about natural selection has some validity, again in that particular milieu. It's as much to do with how she competes with her peers as it is with how she competes for male attention.

The highly qualified lassie plugs into that even more. Her qualifications stand for naught in her mind and those of her peers, because what's valued by the group is her looks so she plays the brains down to fit in and keep her status.

As pointed out before beauty is valued in our society. Of course it is it signifies at a very basic level reproductive fitness. Beautiful people have a generally easier time of it in society. It can be a burden too as it is by it's nature fleeting. This is even more the case with women who are judged for their beauty. There is a small enough window for them to be on top when compared to men. Men also have more freedom, time and opportunity to increase their value.

Is it shallow? Hard to say. It's a different value system and in that system what sounds daft to you or me, is what works. If the value was judged on intelligence and academic prowess the competition would be near enough the same, just less obvious, or more acceptable. That value system may be equally "shallow" or of little import to the women referenced. Clearly it is as the "brainy" one plays it down.

We all make value judgements based on looks, intelligence, emotional intelligence, success, social power, age, class etc. The more balanced people realise it's not just one thing and the "package" is what's important. they're just like everyone else but all their focus is on one thing not the range of things the rest of us may aspire to. That's what grates I reckon.

Again only my humble..

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

'Thank God I'm Pretty' by Emilie Autumn
    Thank God I'm pretty
    The occasional free drink I never asked for
    The occasional admission to a seedy little bar
    Invitation to a stranger's car
    I'm blessed
    With the ability to rend a grown man tongue-tied
    Which only means that when it's dark outside
    I have to run and hide can't look behind me
    Thank God I'm pretty