Are you happy to see Bertie go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

Fianna Fail's bull**** has always annoyed me, but bertie was an efficient little fúcker with a good public face for the country. He deserves what he gets, and Fianna Fail should have had it's comeupance long ago.

But the real negative of it all is that regardless of how much you hated bertie the oppositions offerings were allways pathetic.

One more silly fúcker who couldn't keep his nose clean :rolleyes:

On the other hand you have the likes of Micheal Martin who wants to stuff everyones nose with cotton wool......Damned either way :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

It’s about time he did; this is just modern day corruption… all double standards… I really don’t understand how and why he is still in power… and we say we don’t support corruption!
    He has lied under oath, he can’t verify his transactions anyone that isn’t happy to see him go is ignorant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I'm over the moon to be honest :D

I hope all the dirt comes out now and he gets sent away for a couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,935 ✭✭✭✭Victor

stevoman wrote: »
    fianna fail dont seem to think so and he's very well educated and a great talker
    Hang on this is the guy with the faked CV claiming he attended UCD and LSE but neither has a record of him attending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

Victor wrote: »
    Hang on this is the guy with the faked CV claiming he attended UCD and LSE but neither has a record of him attending.
    Thats him! Good old Cowner! I think its great to see the position come out of dublin! PS he did attend though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭PullMyFinger!

Victor wrote: »

Really?! :eek:

That cant be good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

As happy as I am to see him go for the good of the country, I felt a little pang of sadness at the passing of an era when I listened to his speech this morning. That's just evidence of how good a politician he is/was; that he can do so much wrong in the eyes of a person but yet you still feel bad for him. No-one can say that a lot of good things didn't happen during his tenure...but the dodgy crap he (may have) got up to before he became Taoiseach tarnished him and made it unworkable.
    I hope Mahon comes up with something solid and irrefutable on him, just so we know for certain that his leadership was tainted....him being semi-vindicated in years to come would damage the electorate WRT who to believe; media, judiciary or politicians.
    I also hope that with this aside from next month that the rest of the incumbents can get on with actually running the country and fixing some of the sh*t that Bertie never got around to...I'm not sure I'm comfortable with Cowan holding the reigns either...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭folan

bye bye bertie! actually, due to my lovely innocent age, i can only remember 1 other Taoiseach! sniff. I miss being young!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Bertie for President!!

I am a little sad to see him go but all the stuff that was uncovered through the tribunal was totally unacceptable for a leader. His legacy will be his part in the peace in the north and how great the economy was under his leadership.

Bye bye Bertie!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

Had to go and that was obvious from a distance out.
    John Waters was unbelievably correct when he said that you dont send out a woman to defend your actions.
    Grainne Carruth could only do her job and no matter what she wanted to do she was forced to tell the truth. The truth that was the straw that broke the Camels back. Sad today and a difficult time for the Nation but we will be stronger for it and hopefully this is the last time that money and payments from groups or private citizens will ever be an issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

stevoman wrote: »
    True, but the celebrity status was getting to me. How many people got rich off his back for the wrong reasons?

Alot of people got rich off his back for the right reasons too.

The celebrity status is just a crazy reason to be glad he is gone. I dont get the celebrity thing either, he goes to a few sporting events and he is a celebrity. Not his fault his daughters have a celebrity lifestyle, whats he supposed to do turn his back on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

A day after my birthday too. A good present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

KTRIC wrote: »
    I'm over the moon to be honest :D

I hope all the dirt comes out now and he gets sent away for a couple of years.

nail.head. :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

right to go now. he has limited damage to his historical legacy. he'll go out on a high as the first irish leader to address the us congress. his dodgy dealings will only be a footnote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

ordinarily i would. except that none of those who will potential replace him inspire full confidence either. What worries me further however, is that the rest of his cabinet have been defending the indefensible so much of late that they clearly are not able to stand up for themselves, they are too used to living under Bertie's shadow. They've been led by him for so long, and gotten so institutionalized by this that i dont see anyone of leadership quality in the current cabinet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

brian cowan for taoiseach now, luck us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 The D.C Swan

Bertie has done alot for this country and is respected throughout Europe. So I wouldn't be as quick to jump on the 'Bertie out band Wagon!'. All the same when the tax payer has to foot the bill for The 'Bertiegate Tribunal' it's time to hang up your hat. I'll sit firmly on the fence on this one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

No.

2 million unemployed before he took office. 2 million employed now. The Good Friday Agreement. The Celtic Tiger (admittedly it was on its way when he took over).

Yes, he possibly took some brown envelopes, but Id rather a leader who did this and got the results he has over the past ten years than a gobsh!te like Enda Kenny.

It'll be interesting to see what people think of his departure in 5 years time when half the country will be emigrating for jobs again.

That line alone made me laugh out loud. I never understand why people just pluck a figure out of the air and try to claim it is true. If you think it was possible or true that this country, with it's overall population of a bit over four million, could have two million of a workforce out of work, then I can see why you think Bertie was so great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭mathias

Just to get this into perspective , and what I would dearly love to see ,

Is an organisation set up , something like CAB , but to scrutinise the finances of all of our TD's , and to systematically verify that they are all above board in this respect , it should be a condition of the job.

And I'd love to see how many of the current mudslingers would come out of this clean , I doubt there'd be any.

Its sickening when you hear of this type of thing from a Politician , especially the Taoiseach , but its even more sickening when you hear the righteous indignation of others whom you strongly suspect of doing exactly the same thing ,

Lets propose the above CAB type organisation for members of the Dail and restore confidence in the political system in this country !

If theyve nothing to hide , then theyve nothing to lose , right ?

I'm raging that he won't be there to face up to mess that he and his goons have created.
    He should sink with the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭stevedublin

bleg wrote: »
    right to go now. he has limited damage to his historical legacy. he'll go out on a high as the first irish leader to address the us congress. his dodgy dealings will only be a footnote.

"Ahern will become only the fifth leader to ever address both a joint session of Congress and the British Parliament in Westminster, where he spoke on May 15 of last year.

Other Irish leaders who have addressed a joint session of Congress are President Sean T O Ceallaigh (1959), President Eamon de Valera (1964), Taoiseach Liam Cosgrave (1976), Taoiseach Garrett FitzGerald (1984), and Taoiseach John Bruton (1996)."
    from http://www.irishabroad.com/Home/Articles/Ahern-for-Congress-in-April230208.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

Glad to see the back of him. Not a moment too soon, and several hundred million in tribunal fees too late, tbh.

What irritates me is that historically, people are going to see an economic boom during Bertie's time in power, and a slump just as he leaves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭doubtfir3

Quality wrote: »
    Bertie for President!!

I would actually think that's not too far off.. Bertie would make a great President.

Even though I completely disagree with his (unconfirmed) dodgy dealings, I can wholeheartedly say that Bertie has been a refreshing leader for this country and has excellent charisma and presence which will certainly see him go far in Europe or other retaining a position of prestige and/or presence.

I think its almost impossible that Bertie hasn't done something wrong, its highly likely that he accepted a range of gifts/bribes/whatever in his earlier political career and there are certainly some irregularities in his financial affairs but lets not stone the guy.. he has (with plenty of help from others) helped to lead this country and build it through the early years of the Celtic Tiger.

OK, so things aren't as good right now and the government in my opinion have made some pretty poor decisions over the last while but on the whole, I feel his time has Taoiseach has been positive for this country.

But, it is time for him to go.

Enda
    --

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

I'm ecstatic. He was a liar, plain and simple. He had to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭stooge

No.

2 million unemployed before he took office. 2 million employed now. The Good Friday Agreement. The Celtic Tiger (admittedly it was on its way when he took over).

Yes, he possibly took some brown envelopes, but Id rather a leader who did this and got the results he has over the past ten years than a gobsh!te like Enda Kenny.

It'll be interesting to see what people think of his departure in 5 years time when half the country will be emigrating for jobs again.

Some people are so naive.....

1) The Celtic Tiger ecomony which you have admitted was well under way before Bertie took over was the reason for the low unemployment. The work of development boards in the past set the foundations for the economic growth.

2) The Good Friday agreement had a lot more influential and hard working people involved in it than Bertie. I'd say that his bumbling about and meanigless actions actually prolonged the peace process.

The thing is, Bertie struck it lucky by coming into power when Ireland was going through the most successful era in its history. He didnt take advantage of this and has gauranteed the future of the country/economy is bleak. He has achieved this by looking out for himself and his rich mates. The rich get richer, the builders/estate agents etc are happy but the health system/ transport network and the average Joe is fcuked.

It's the biggest missed opportunity and in future years we will live to regret voting him in when someone else may have looked toward the good of the country and not the builders pockets.

Good riddance , I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭lennox1

No but I'm not surprised as the real government of this country i.e the media were not going to concentrate on any other business of this country until he was gone.

How very convenient (see red underlined bits).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

Bertie Aherne was the face of the government at a time when the country was doing better for itself. This prosperity was inevitable, and not, as some so idiotically claim, down to Bertie Aherne. Now, I've never been a fan of the guy, and I think he's a lying little **** who's shown arrogance that borders on contempt for the Irish people. The current government are a useless shower of wasters and he was and is, until May, their leader. Am I glad he's going? I wouldn't say glad. What I would hope though is that justice will be served and he'll be held accountable for his shady dealings. But then, that's akin to hoping world peace will be achieved in the next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Silent Partner

ordinarily i would. except that none of those who will potential replace him inspire full confidence either. What worries me further however, is that the rest of his cabinet have been defending the indefensible so much of late that they clearly are not able to stand up for themselves, they are too used to living under Bertie's shadow. They've been led by him for so long, and gotten so institutionalized by this that i dont see anyone of leadership quality in the current cabinet.

Well, what I think you have to look at is that in order to minimise instability in the country at what is already a turbulent time, present a united front and remove the risk of undermining both Fianna Fail and their junior partners in Government, the rest of the cabinet and the party had no choice but to stand behind Bertie Ahern.
    Now that he's out of the picture, it's a chance for Fianna Fail and, more particularly, Brian Cowen to prove what they're made of and how they can take the country forward.