Country folk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

bleg wrote:
    something that's "cat" never heard it before i went to college
    Oh very common indeed. And the opposite of "cat" is "Savage". or "Mighty"

e.g. "How was the match?"
    "Ah, twas savage!" meaning, "It went rather well"

"Gattin'" is when one spends a weekend drinking spirits in Cork.

"Shur y'know yerself like" - this phrase can follow any sentence in Cork, city or county.

"would ya be well" again, popular in Cork!!

In my school, a 5th year English class (OL i think) had to write a letter of complaint to a hotel. One girl signed off her letter thus:

"With your bad hotel" (pronounced: "Wit yer baaaad ho tell) :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

longshanks wrote: »
    well is a waterford saying, so is cat and cat malojen

Eh, I say "Well" and "Cat" and i'm not from Waterford:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ive heard plenty of dubs say cat and refer to hash as draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

kerash wrote: »

wannabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

well is a waterford saying, so is cat and cat malojen, and if something is really really awful, then its malojen cat bad.
    however, in kilkenny something isn't placed against a wall, its up agin tha wall thar.
    in wexford something wouldn't be a bit dodgy, it'd be quare bad.
    in tipp all crisps are taytos.. i'll have a packet of taytos please... eh, they're perri... ok i'll have a packet of perri taytos

i say well and quare and i'm not from waterford or wexford

i think it's older people who say taytos for crisps! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

wannabe

ABW, tbh :rolleyes:

The usage is countrywide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

No no, I'm 18 and i love Walkers Thai Sweet Chilli TAYTOS:D:D

However, when an old person sees modern technology, or some new-fangled gadget, they'll invariably respond with:
    "Twas far from that I was raised!" :D:D
    My sister and me use it as many times as possible coz its such a great saying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Context, please - what does 'doubt ya boy' mean, and how is it used?

'God save the queen' - not familiar with that one, though I'm a Dub myself - is it rhyming slang for something rude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Longfield wrote: »
    I don't see "langer" there

Cork girls have the most sexy accent on earth - FACT.

Where in this story did a cork girl tickle my loins?

Lol someone needs to get out of the People's Republic a bit more. They most certainly don't have a sexy accent.

The phrase I hate most is "I was happy out". "Happy out"? What the f*ck does that mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,231 ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

When someone is telling a story about how bold their child is, the person they're talking to will say: "Well it's not from the stones he licked it!" In other words he takes after you.

I'm very fond of "How's tricks?" when I'm talking to someone looking for gossip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

luckat wrote: »

What other cute rural usages have people noticed?
    I wouldn't notice them that much because I'm from the country so it's normal to me.
    I would notice Dublin sayings and slang.
    Bleedin, Gee bag, Story Bud, Yizer (put yizer coats on), Me bollix, Skanger, Scarlet (more like scaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarle) Scoops (crap word for pints) Moth (girlfriend, wtf?, where did that come from?) And everyones name ends in an 'o'. Anto deco steveo tommo johno davo eugeno marmadukeo

God I hate Dublin slang and accent for that matter. I heard a stand up saying once that it won't be long before the dublin accent turns into a high pitched scream and they'll be screaching at each other like Dinosaurs, lol.

Much rather the "cute" country slang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

deisedevil wrote: »
    I wouldn't notice them that much because I'm from the country so it's normal to me.
    I would notice Dublin sayings and slang.
    Bleedin, Gee bag, Story Bud, Yizer (put yizer coats on), Me bollix, Skanger, Scarlet (more like scaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarle) Scoops (crap word for pints) Moth (girlfriend, wtf?, where did that come from?) And everyones name ends in an 'o'. Anto deco steveo tommo johno davo eugeno marmadukeo

God I hate Dublin slang and accent for that matter. I heard a stand up saying once that it won't be long before the dublin accent turns into a high pitched scream and they'll be screaching at each other like Dinosaurs, lol.

Much rather the "cute" country slang.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Bit selective there to say the least. It's a fairly select group that use that slang and who add 'o' to the end of everyones name, I don't know any of them.

Annnnnyhow, let's not turn it into a Dublin v country thread ffs.

It's 'mot' not 'moth' :p No idea where it comes from, and yes that term is as crap as your post.

I don't think 'yizer' counts as slang, it's just a sign of someone with a really poor grasp of the language.
    Das Kitty wrote: »
    When someone is telling a story about how bold their child is, the person they're talking to will say: "Well it's not from the stones he licked it!" In other words he takes after you.

Black cat, black kitten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

bleg wrote: »
    something that's "cat" never heard it before i went to college

Aye the oul man always uses that :)

I lived in the sthicks for years, I still like referring to severely drunk as balloblus :p And rowdy drunk is "bananas drunk" :pac:

And a Waterford friend confided to me that he liked to visit Galway. Why, I asked. "Mighty women in Galway," he said.

It may be a godforesaken windswept lonely hole on the edge of the earth, but jesus that is true, some fcukin beauts down there for some reason. Id never go back (seeing as its cheaper to go for a weekend abroad rather than a 50 yoyo train fare there) but alot of Galway women are animal.

Mot is an 18th-century term. Sorry that you don't like my accent :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭big_show

"ah Grand" "no bother" -to make an agreement

"divil a hate" -nothing (usualy in response to "any news?"

or to a lesser extent
    "hows she cutting?" - how are you keeping?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Brewer's dictionary of Irish phrase and fable says :
    A colloquial Dublin term for a girl or girlfriend ('the mot') often pronounced 'moth' or 'moh'. The derivation of the word is uncertain.

Though dictionary of Hiberno-English though says that its English dialect coming from Old English meaning "an atom" fig: suggesting something precious or "a small creature"

rb_ie wrote: »
    Something from south tipp afaik, "how bad", I've heard it countless times but still don't get it.

South-Tipp man here and while I use/understand "How bad!" I would have thought it was more of a Waterford/Cork expression.

Does it go back that far, I thought it would have been recent. Thanks.
    Ya just can't like it, anytime i'm with friends from Dublin it drives me mad, lol.

The-Rigger "and yes that term is as crap as your post."

Nothing wrong with my post, I don't like the accent and that's why you don't like my post maybe?
    What groups use the 'o' at the end of a name?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,231 ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

big_show wrote: »
    "divil a hate" -nothing (usualy in response to "any news?"

We say "divil a bit"

When someone likes something excessively we say they're "a hoor for it"
    "She's a hoor for the taytos"

Xavi6 wrote: »
    The phrase I hate most is "I was happy out". "Happy out"? What the f*ck does that mean?

Probably just shortened form of 'out-and-out' meaning complete...

Nothing wrong with my post, I don't like the accent and that's why you don't like my post maybe?

Nah I don't mind if you do or not, but there is a lot of variance in accents in any county - including Dublin, it depends on the person.
    Personally I wouldn't/couldn't say I 'dislike the Waterford/Sligo/Cork/Other accent' (those counties were randomly chosen :p) accent, it depends on the individual, some people have nice voices/accents/inflections, some sound dire.
    What groups use the 'o' at the end of a name?

Skangers? I know you love that word :p, I think that term is used country wide.

Almost all* of the things you listed are things I expect either:

A: Only skangers to say.
    B: To be said by someone tongue planted in cheek to impersonating a skanger.

*Except for:

Scoops
    : Non-skangers could say scoops, I rarely here anyone use it though, skanger or lay person.

Scarlet: (but not pronounced scarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrlehhhhhhhhhh!!!11!) As long as the term 'scarlet' is used 2 times or less per annum (by females only) - that's permitted and that won't gain someone 'skanger' status due to it.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Nah I don't mind if you do or not, but there is a lot of variance in accents in any county - including Dublin, it depends on the person.

Skangers? I know you love that word :p, I think that term is used country wide.

Almost all* of the things you listed are things I expect either:

A: Only skangers to say.
    B: To be said by someone tongue planted in cheek to impersonating a skanger.

*Except for:

Scoops
    : Non-skangers could say scoops, I rarely here anyone use it though, skanger or lay person.

Scarlet: (but not pronounced scarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrlehhhhhhhhhh!!!11!) As long as the term 'scarlet' is used 2 times or less per annum (by females only) - that's permitted and that won't gain someone 'skanger' status due to it.

:D thanks for clearing that up.

I have a few female friends in Dublin and they are constantly saying 'scarlet' but they are by no means scangers. (either that or they are very highly educated and currently in high paying jobs types of scangers :p) they are all from different areas too, finglas, coolock and tallaght. Could be because they were all hanging around together and started using it all the time.

Well 'I was scarlet' isn't quite the same as 'bleedin' scarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrlehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!111!!1' :D

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Well 'I was scarlet' isn't quite the same as 'bleedin' scarrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrlehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!111!!1' :D

Ya fair enough, i get your point then :D

I'm a non-skanger who enjoys his 'scoops'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

I heard a person form Galway use the term "no hassle in the caslte", I thought it was pretty cool, so I might start using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 zipy

Feel I should pass this on, it's something my dad used say about someone he was not on the best of terms with.....May you never take a clean hand from your arse. Classic I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I don't see "langer" there
    Cork city - not countryside.
    No sexeh cork girls , this tread fails imho.
    Here I am!
    ninty9er wrote: »
    "would ya be well"
    Very Cork - stupid tbh.
    Cadyboo wrote: »
    Give us a "toke" off ur fag, is another one!
    "Toke" is universal - but it's usually used to refer to a joint.
    Fast_Mover wrote: »
    Their use of 'Well' for hello.
    Grrr... hate that!
    "Older" as in actual elderly people, or just people who aren't teens?
    ABW, tbh :rolleyes:

The usage is countrywide.
    Yep, that really warrants the auld rolleyes smiley... Lighten up.
    big_show wrote: »
    "hows she cutting?" - how are you keeping?
    Oh god, another one I hate!
    Ponster wrote: »
    South-Tipp man here and while I use/understand "How bad!" I would have thought it was more of a Waterford/Cork expression.
    Very Cork.

Nah, I don't find boggerisms "charming" at all.

The explanation I heard for 'mot' is that it comes from the 18th-century term 'motte' meaning the Mount of Venus - the pubic area of a woman. So older people tend to find it rather embarrassing. Well, not *that* old that they're remembering the 18th century, but maybe the derivation is more familiar to old people.

How's she cuttin' should be replied to by 'she's trimmin' well' - both are sailing terms.

Divil a bit - there was a comedy routine with two comedians greeting each other with a series of typical Dublin/country/Irish phrases, which they varied from one to the other - 'Divil a bit' was one of the phrases. Very funny. I'd love to track it down again.

The explanation I heard for 'mot' is that it comes from the 18th-century term 'motte' meaning the Mount of Venus - the pubic area of a woman.

Hmmm...my dictionary doesn't make any link between mot and 'motte' (motte means 'mound' as in what you build Norman castles on).
    I have 2 dictionarys though that list mot as girl in common use during the 19thC but dates the origin of the word to between 9th and 12th C (if anyone cares...)