Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Country folk

• 29-03-2008 10:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭

Was on the bus with Galway people the other day, and a little girl, adored by all her family (and me, to be honest) was on her phone. What she heard pleased her.

"Sound out," she said.

Another kid of my acquaintance was told that her grandfather might not be able to manage if his family weren't there to help him plant his veggies, and might get into trouble.

"Fear of him," she said.

And a Waterford friend confided to me that he liked to visit Galway. Why, I asked. "Mighty women in Galway," he said.

What other cute rural usages have people noticed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Bmark

"Put a hauld on your whisht" -Be quiet !! nearly pissed myself when i heard this !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Whisht is a highly versatile word. I see nothing cute about its usage. This topic offends me. And I'm very hungry. VERY hungry. I'm going now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,616 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I don't see "langer" there

Cork girls have the most sexy accent on earth - FACT.

Where in this story did a cork girl tickle my loins?

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

bleedin rapid,
    loike, a total roide
    god save the queen

all from a few joined up villages on the east coast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

"Go away with the head on you like a schticky bun".

Said to a knacker by a friends friend - and not in jest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

When my friend gets angry she starts ranting and says the funniest things. One day in our old job, some of the other women we worked with let some equipment in the middle of a narrow hallway. My friend started ranting and getting hilariously annoyed with them, saying about the "feckin polish girls leavin stuff all over the place" and then when I laughed at her she says ; "seriously, they shouldn't be leavin' things in the middle of the way"

I'm from the country too (though I've lived in Dublin for ages) but I just find that very cute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

luckat wrote: »
    And a Waterford friend confided to me that he liked to visit Galway. Why, I asked. "Mighty women in Galway," he said.

I am from Waterford and never hear that. Must have been a city boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Cadyboo

"Doubt ya boy" Cork thing, its hilarious when a fella from the country says it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

MizzLolly wrote: »
    When my friend gets angry she starts ranting and says the funniest things. One day in our old job, some of the other women we worked with let some equipment in the middle of a narrow hallway. My friend started ranting and getting hilariously annoyed with them, saying about the "feckin polish girls leavin stuff all over the place" and then when I laughed at her she says ; "seriously, they shouldn't be leavin' things in the middle of the way"

I'm from the country too (though I've lived in Dublin for ages) but I just find that very cute.

i thought everybody says in the middle of the way :eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

lol noooo...

If something is in the hallway in you're trying to get by, then you say that "_____ is in the middle of the hallway", OR "______ is in the way"

middle of the way is adorable.
    Awww ... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Gossin (not sure how to spell)
    friend of mine from Althone used it a lot, and a friend from Cavan.
    I think it's awful cute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,616 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

No sexeh cork girls , this tread fails imho.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

something that's "cat" never heard it before i went to college

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

bleg wrote: »
    lol..yeah, I only heard it when I went to college aswell.
    My friends from Roscommon and kerry use it all the time.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

If it's really bad it's Cat Melodian (pronounced mel-o-gin).

That one makes me giggle because of the image is brings to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

"well feck me pink" is one my granny uses on occasion....something along the lines of feck sake.

"yis sound like a baga cats" was a (none too complimentary) phrase of a teacher from Cavan in choir practice.

"would ya be well" same individual as above...derived from why the **** would you do....

star-pants wrote: »
    friend of mine from Althone used it a lot, and a friend from Cavan.
    I think it's awful cute
    Yeh! that's common around here, the missus uses it all the time!

A common expression from where I grew up in the east of england, must be widespread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Lizzykins

Das Kitty wrote: »
    If it's really bad it's Cat Melodian (pronounced mel-o-gin).

That one makes me giggle because of the image is brings to mind.

I havent heard that in an age! My mother used that phrase and her mother was from Wexford. I absolutely love those Irish sayings!

When someone says something that bullsh1t - "packets!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Something from south tipp afaik, "how bad", I've heard it countless times but still don't get it.

I've heard Cork people calling drink "gat" and hash "draw", I think they got the "gat" thing from rap but the "draw" thing I've never heard outside of Cork.
    Longfield wrote:
    No sexeh cork girls , this tread fails imho.

Needle in a haystack tbh, and that needle sure isn't going to be surfing the internet at 12pm on a saturday night again, tbh.
    star-pants wrote:

Agreed. Don't fully understand it but I've heard it a fair few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭Cadyboo

Not sure where gait comes from either, but always went gaiting at the weekends, that, or bushin!
    Give us a "toke" off ur fag, is another one!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

longshanks wrote: »
    bleedin rapid,
    loike, a total roide
    god save the queen

all from a few joined up villages on the east coast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

Few of the lads im friendly with in college are from tipp and I luv their accent:

Their use of 'Well' for hello.
    or their use of the word 'fair': Eg: He's fair good at the hurling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

star-pants wrote: »

Do ya mean, a small boy i.e - "This is my young Gossen (is how i'd spell it)

"A rake of childer" (a lot of children)

"cat" is one i use often "Pat Kenny is pure cat"
    my dad says cats meraddle (cats shít)? (spelling not sure!)

"your in the middle a me way" i say that too.

"its far from your arse, you wont sit on it"! (to be used when someone is complaing)!

Fast_Mover wrote: »
    'Well' for hello.
    quote]

I jus realised I say that all the time, particularly answerin the phone, the response i get from those not from home is "well what?"

Of course the correct reply is to say well back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭johnmahon010186

Fast_Mover wrote: »
    Few of the lads im friendly with in college are from tipp and I luv their accent:

Their use of 'Well' for hello.
    or their use of the word 'fair': Eg: He's fair good at the hurling!

Some fella I work with is always saying 'Well'. I thought he wasa just a bit of a wierdo but I realise now its a culchie thing!

Thank God for that

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Truer words were never spoken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 885 ✭✭✭Spyral

well !

well is indeed a culchie thing !!

well is a waterford saying, so is cat and cat malojen, and if something is really really awful, then its malojen cat bad.
    however, in kilkenny something isn't placed against a wall, its up agin tha wall thar.
    in wexford something wouldn't be a bit dodgy, it'd be quare bad.
    in tipp all crisps are taytos.. i'll have a packet of taytos please... eh, they're perri... ok i'll have a packet of perri taytos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

bleg wrote:
    Oh very common indeed. And the opposite of "cat" is "Savage". or "Mighty"

e.g. "How was the match?"
    "Ah, twas savage!" meaning, "It went rather well"

"Gattin'" is when one spends a weekend drinking spirits in Cork.

"Shur y'know yerself like" - this phrase can follow any sentence in Cork, city or county.

"would ya be well" again, popular in Cork!!

In my school, a 5th year English class (OL i think) had to write a letter of complaint to a hotel. One girl signed off her letter thus:

"With your bad hotel" (pronounced: "Wit yer baaaad ho tell) :D:D:D

well is a waterford saying, so is cat and cat malojen

Eh, I say "Well" and "Cat" and i'm not from Waterford:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ive heard plenty of dubs say cat and refer to hash as draw

kerash wrote: »
    Eh, I say "Well" and "Cat" and i'm not from Waterford:rolleyes:

wannabe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭xOxSinéadxOx

well is a waterford saying, so is cat and cat malojen, and if something is really really awful, then its malojen cat bad.
    however, in kilkenny something isn't placed against a wall, its up agin tha wall thar.
    in wexford something wouldn't be a bit dodgy, it'd be quare bad.
    in tipp all crisps are taytos.. i'll have a packet of taytos please... eh, they're perri... ok i'll have a packet of perri taytos

i say well and quare and i'm not from waterford or wexford

i think it's older people who say taytos for crisps! :D

wannabe

ABW, tbh :rolleyes:

The usage is countrywide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

i think it's older people who say taytos for crisps! :D

No no, I'm 18 and i love Walkers Thai Sweet Chilli TAYTOS:D:D

However, when an old person sees modern technology, or some new-fangled gadget, they'll invariably respond with:
    "Twas far from that I was raised!" :D:D
    My sister and me use it as many times as possible coz its such a great saying!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Context, please - what does 'doubt ya boy' mean, and how is it used?

'God save the queen' - not familiar with that one, though I'm a Dub myself - is it rhyming slang for something rude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,972 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Longfield wrote: »
    I don't see "langer" there

Cork girls have the most sexy accent on earth - FACT.

Where in this story did a cork girl tickle my loins?

Lol someone needs to get out of the People's Republic a bit more. They most certainly don't have a sexy accent.

The phrase I hate most is "I was happy out". "Happy out"? What the f*ck does that mean?

When someone is telling a story about how bold their child is, the person they're talking to will say: "Well it's not from the stones he licked it!" In other words he takes after you.

I'm very fond of "How's tricks?" when I'm talking to someone looking for gossip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

What other cute rural usages have people noticed?
    I wouldn't notice them that much because I'm from the country so it's normal to me.
    I would notice Dublin sayings and slang.
    Bleedin, Gee bag, Story Bud, Yizer (put yizer coats on), Me bollix, Skanger, Scarlet (more like scaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarle) Scoops (crap word for pints) Moth (girlfriend, wtf?, where did that come from?) And everyones name ends in an 'o'. Anto deco steveo tommo johno davo eugeno marmadukeo

God I hate Dublin slang and accent for that matter. I heard a stand up saying once that it won't be long before the dublin accent turns into a high pitched scream and they'll be screaching at each other like Dinosaurs, lol.

Much rather the "cute" country slang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

deisedevil wrote: »
    I wouldn't notice them that much because I'm from the country so it's normal to me.
    I would notice Dublin sayings and slang.
    Bleedin, Gee bag, Story Bud, Yizer (put yizer coats on), Me bollix, Skanger, Scarlet (more like scaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarle) Scoops (crap word for pints) Moth (girlfriend, wtf?, where did that come from?) And everyones name ends in an 'o'. Anto deco steveo tommo johno davo eugeno marmadukeo

God I hate Dublin slang and accent for that matter. I heard a stand up saying once that it won't be long before the dublin accent turns into a high pitched scream and they'll be screaching at each other like Dinosaurs, lol.

Much rather the "cute" country slang.

:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Bit selective there to say the least. It's a fairly select group that use that slang and who add 'o' to the end of everyones name, I don't know any of them.

Annnnnyhow, let's not turn it into a Dublin v country thread ffs.

It's 'mot' not 'moth' :p No idea where it comes from, and yes that term is as crap as your post.

I don't think 'yizer' counts as slang, it's just a sign of someone with a really poor grasp of the language.
    Das Kitty wrote: »
    When someone is telling a story about how bold their child is, the person they're talking to will say: "Well it's not from the stones he licked it!" In other words he takes after you.

Black cat, black kitten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Aye the oul man always uses that :)

I lived in the sthicks for years, I still like referring to severely drunk as balloblus :p And rowdy drunk is "bananas drunk" :pac:

It may be a godforesaken windswept lonely hole on the edge of the earth, but jesus that is true, some fcukin beauts down there for some reason. Id never go back (seeing as its cheaper to go for a weekend abroad rather than a 50 yoyo train fare there) but alot of Galway women are animal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Mot is an 18th-century term. Sorry that you don't like my accent :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭big_show

"ah Grand" "no bother" -to make an agreement

"divil a hate" -nothing (usualy in response to "any news?"

or to a lesser extent
    "hows she cutting?" - how are you keeping?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Brewer's dictionary of Irish phrase and fable says :
    A colloquial Dublin term for a girl or girlfriend ('the mot') often pronounced 'moth' or 'moh'. The derivation of the word is uncertain.

Though dictionary of Hiberno-English though says that its English dialect coming from Old English meaning "an atom" fig: suggesting something precious or "a small creature"

rb_ie wrote: »
    Something from south tipp afaik, "how bad", I've heard it countless times but still don't get it.

South-Tipp man here and while I use/understand "How bad!" I would have thought it was more of a Waterford/Cork expression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Does it go back that far, I thought it would have been recent. Thanks.
    Ya just can't like it, anytime i'm with friends from Dublin it drives me mad, lol.

The-Rigger "and yes that term is as crap as your post."

Nothing wrong with my post, I don't like the accent and that's why you don't like my post maybe?
    What groups use the 'o' at the end of a name?

big_show wrote: »
    "divil a hate" -nothing (usualy in response to "any news?"

We say "divil a bit"

When someone likes something excessively we say they're "a hoor for it"
    "She's a hoor for the taytos"

Xavi6 wrote: »
    The phrase I hate most is "I was happy out". "Happy out"? What the f*ck does that mean?

Probably just shortened form of 'out-and-out' meaning complete...