Electric Picnic 2008 tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭jmcwobbles

Bacchus wrote: »
    That is a pathetic lineup. I'll all up for checking out new and upcoming bands (and bands I've not heard of before) when I go to a festival but I'd expect some sort of decent headliners. Not one band on that lineup stands out.

Especially when you're expected to pay €240 (€270 including online service charge) for the privelege

Won't be seeing me there that's for sure

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

Line up is deadly.

Sigur Ros, Wilco, Bright Eyes, if i had a job i'd be buying a ticket instantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Bacchus wrote: »
    That is a pathetic lineup. I'll all up for checking out new and upcoming bands (and bands I've not heard of before) when I go to a festival but I'd expect some sort of decent headliners. Not one band on that lineup stands out.

Each to his own but I'm delighted with the lineup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

awful lineup, but it was coming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Lineup's OK. Needs a good bit of beefing up though. Portishead would be nice and I thought they were a shoe in meself. And I'd love to see The Cure on there aswell, though an unlikely prospect. Probably cost shítloads to book.

Siouxsie, Devo, and Kraftwerk would be deadly.

I like:

Sex Pistols
    Sigur Ros
    George Clinton
    My Bloody Valentine
    Goldfrapp
    Underworld
    The Breeders
    Henry Rollins
    The Roots

That's good enough for now. And there's still the second batch of acts/Foggy Notions/Bodytonic lineup to be announced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Really appalling lineup, and they want nearly 250 euro for the privilege??

Maybe next year POD will get the finger out earlier and book some acts that are worth the price of a ticket for one of the most expensive 2 day festivals in Europe.

God knows they seem to have rightly f*cked up the Garden Party through lack of planning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Not a great line-up at all, the only act I'd REALLY like to see from that list are Underworld, but still I wouldn't pay anywhere near that price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Waxing the Gaza

That Petrol Emotion confirmed, anyone know if steve mack is still with them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

there's about 5 there that i'd like to see that i haven't seen before, and nothing that would make me shell out 240+ for the privilege.

awful, awful lineup all things considered.

maybe if POD would stop the OTT extra-curricular wankery then they might be able to pull in some more quality acts, but given the way the festival has been going over the past few years, i seriously doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Skobyonekenobi

I wouldn't bother with tickets for that.

There's always a fence that you can jump

maybe if POD would stop the OTT extra-curricular wankery then they might be able to pull in some more quality acts, but given the way the festival has been going over the past few years, i seriously doubt it.

no lost vagueness this year apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Sex Pistols, Sigur Ros, Franz Ferdinand, George Clinton & The P-Funk Allstars, My Bloody Valentine, Goldfrapp, Christy Moore, Wilco, The Gossip, Duffy, Underworld, CSS, New Young Pony Club, Josh Ritter, Lisa Hannigan, Cathy Davey, The Breeders, Henry Rollings, The Waterboys,Conor Oberst (Bright Eyes), Hayseed Dixie, Turin Brakes, Jape,

few there i'm liking so far but it's the whole experience not just the bands that i love

• Closed Accounts Posts: 765 ✭✭✭Smurfpiss

a whole pile of ****e, one or two amazing acts that i've already seen, and a bunch of stuff I wouldn't mind but not dying to see.
    *shrugs*
    not worth the price of admission, and not worth the plane ticket home.

oh well :(

unless they add tom waits.

then I'd give my balls as admission price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 377 ✭✭Irjudge1

Christy Moore, The Waterboys, Sinead O'Connor, My Bloody Valentine and That petrol emotion. Excellent, a festival time machine! Welcome to a Thurles Sports Venue in the early nineties.

Plenty of good stuff. Sigur Ros, George "We want the Funk" Clinton, Underworld, Candi Staton, The breeders and even the wrinkly old sex pistiols.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 dawalster

well im looking forward to it grinderman gona be great but id like to see the full line up.i hope they dont try the old YOU CANT TAKE YOUR DRINK IN trick that happened at the gates on the first day last year,its one of the few things the other festivals dont allow,something that sets the picnic apart from the rest,well apart from cool chilled out punters,deadly vibe,relaxed security and easy going cops(sounds strange i know but true i tells ya) ive got me ticket and kippin in me van sorted.pity about the sex(we used to have something to say but now just give us the cash) pistols though ,those lads are havin a laugh arent they,seen em a couple of times and the were crap.anyway roll on the summer see yiz there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Denalihighway

"awful lineup", "pathetic", "maybe if they stopped with the extra curricular stuff thye'd get some decent headline acts", "i'm not going" yada yada bloody yada....

give it a rest...everyone knows it'll be brilliant and there is enough good acts to keep people happy unless you've never been to EP before and want to just rush from stage to stage from noon until 2am each day with timetable in hand sweating buckets and gicing out to people ruining your schedule

its not cheap but its only down the road and if you;ve been before and like a good time its worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Toast

Helix your Wilco prediction finally came true! Only one year late.

Other insights from last year:

Not overly impressed with the line-up to be honest.

I dont see this selling out at all...
    worst EP line-up ever! Compare it to previous lineups - it's dull and unimaginiative!

It's a bit of a rip off at €220 IMO.

I cannot believe how weak that line up is

oh dear. leccy piccy is a big let down this year.

What a massive let down with this line-up,

it appears the EP seem to be not too bothered about getting many dance music acts this year, pathetic.

Yeh in case you all forgot... last years initial lineup was a shambles too. Just like the previous years its going to flesh out with all the smaller niche acts that make EP in the next couple of months and as I said already the main lineup is only a small part of what makes EP.

In the end if the high price and seamingly low quality lineup keeps people away then I can enjoy a queue free festival so Im not sure why Im trying to convince people here.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

I think the line up this year is initially miles ahead of last years one. Possibly the best since the second EP with nick cave and flaming lips.

Also i love how people complain that they have already seen the acts before. Do you think there is an inexhaustible number of good acts appearing from somewhere? Or giving out that they played EP already, seriously you have to be a bit realisitc about it too.

All in all a great line up for lordG, now to find that elusive job and buy a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

give it a rest...everyone knows it'll be brilliant and there is enough good acts to keep people happy unless you've never been to EP before and want to just rush from stage to stage from noon until 2am each day with timetable in hand sweating buckets and gicing out to people ruining your schedule

I think the point people are making is that the line-up released yesterday is a joke when you look at how much they are charging for tickets. You do realise you could go to a festival with better acts, much better facilities, for cheaper or not much more than the cost of EP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,943 ✭✭✭keith_d99

The booking fees applied are nowhere near 18.5%
    It's the standard €6.35 or something - not €30 as feared

keith_d99 wrote: »
    The booking fees applied are nowhere near 18.5%
    It's the standard €6.35 or something - not €30 as feared

presale are 6.35

the pods press release does say that its 12.5% booking fee on tickets, which youd imagine is non presale ones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭spiderdan

Anyone got any ideas on how quickly it sold out last year?? Rough estimate? Not sure how long to hold off as i need to sort out my finances!

On the lineup I have to say I'm very dissapointed, last years wasn't up to scratch but I did have an amazing time, a few positives like Sigur Ros, I guess! I hope the Bodytonic Tent is a good as last years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Waxing the Gaza

eth0_ wrote: »
    I think the point people are making is that the line-up released yesterday is a joke when you look at how much they are charging for tickets. You do realise you could go to a festival with better acts, much better facilities, for cheaper or not much more than the cost of EP?

Ive been at all of them and this is by far and away the worst line up, 20 euro extra for what? This is supposed to be a music festival after all + there has to be a trade off somewhere between the quality of the acts and the enjoyment levels.

confirmed by ticketmaster, general release tickets will be ~€272 because of a 12.5% booking fee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Bacchus

I understand the argument some people have of "to each their own" in terms of taste in music. I'm sure this lineup will suit about 5 people down to the ground ;) but the "it's the whole EP experience not the music" argument is a bit lame. I've been to EP (two years ago) and I really loved the atmosphere and the "whole experience" of EP but you know what else I loved... the music. It can't all be about the body and soul village, the comedy tent and the silent disco (though that is savage craic). At the end of the day €240 is a lot to dish out for such a weak lineup.

On the big upside of it though, that lineup won't attract a crowd anywhere near as messy as some other festivals.

For anyone that does go, I'm sure they'll have a great time. Who wouldn't have a great time camping with their buddies for a weekend out in a big field with thousand of others. I won't be one of them though and a lot of my friends are in the same boat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Lainabaina

The price inclusive of fees is pretty nasty, best to go buy them in person I think.

At first I was impressed with the line up for The Other Festival, but now that I look at it again, I've seen a lot of it before, so I'm not fussed. EP has much, much more going for it. And there's a foodie tent with chefs and cooking this year!

If a few more of the rumoured line up acts show up (Elbow, Mogwai--but if not at leat there's Sigur Ros) I'll be delira and excira.

Lainabaina wrote: »
    The price inclusive of fees is pretty nasty, best to go buy them in person I think.

the fee will be charged on ALL tickets according to ticketmaster, not just phone/internet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Potcher

please tell me someone that theres another way to see pistols without having to pay for a weekend ticket! anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭Scoops

They have only announced the line up so far, there will be more acts to follow, it is a three day festival afterall, they haven't announced enough acts to fill three days by a long shot! But of the ones they have announced there are definitely a few acts worth making the effort for - Grinderman will be a great show as will Sigur Ros, Goldfrapp and Tindersticks. And The Sex Pistols should be interesting at the very least. I'll be there with bells on!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Lainabaina

Oh! Ouch :(
    Helix wrote: »
    the fee will be charged on ALL tickets according to ticketmaster, not just phone/internet