Good Friday-Dont eat meat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

RodVelvet wrote: »
    So are you saying you are not a sinner. I suppose since you are without sin you can cast the first stone.

I observe the tradition of only having fish on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday and I dont have a problem with it

Well, Im not even religious... but if you are religious, surely you dont get to pick out which parts of your beliefs are worth obeying?
    Coz that would just be thinking for yourself, and we know how the church establishment feels about that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

surely you dont get to pick out which parts of your beliefs are worth obeying

+1.

This country needs fewer "occasional Catholics", ye all just serve to skew the figures and prevent change.

Steak(just steak, not eating veg today;)) and beer for dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,486 ✭✭✭Lazare

janeybabe wrote: »
    I always say I wont eat meat on Good Friday and Ash Wednesday but I always forget and then feel all guilty!

Ironically, you shouldn't worry too much, as the sole purpose of the catholic church is to make you feel guilty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭all the stars

enjoy your grub lads... jesus sacrificed so ye could have..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Lazare wrote: »
    Ironically, you shouldn't worry too much, as the sole purpose of the catholic church is to make you feel guilty.

Great, I feel much better now!

I think my guilt stems from the time I went out to lunch on Ash Wednesday and had chicken because I forgot and when my mum found out she gave the old evil eye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

3 rashers, 4 pieces of pudding(2 black 2 white) and three sausages on the pan right now. Later I'm having Fillet Steak in Black Pepper Sauce and a six pack. I also just fed my Piranhas some chicken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Sarn

Just finished my ham and cheese toastie. Steak for dinner, simply because I've no other food in the house and couldn't be bothered going out in that weather.

Thank you Jebus for the day off though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭Irish_Army01

Tuna Steaks with Chips and a side of veg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭My name is Todd

got a rasher sambo shoved in my mouth this morning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭bushy...

enjoy your grub lads... jesus sacrificed so ye could have..

Dunno what the big deal is , a carpenter with his 12 mates telling stories when he should be hanging doors wouldn't be unique

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Just had a brekkie roll. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

bushy... wrote: »
    Dunno what the big deal is , a carpenter with his 12 mates telling stories when he should be hanging doors wouldn't be unique

...and I bet they had a few glasses of wine during that last supper thing as well, wouldn't be much of a farwell dinner otherwise.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Nope, no meat today. ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭rediguana

I thought chicken was allowed?

Crazy rule anyway. No wonder nobody will sign up to be a priest these days. Guys need a bit of meat.

I'll float down to Tesco later and see what looks fresh (probably nothing) and then decide.

All I've had so far today is two glasses of Soya milk (hey, it's nice) so I'm off to a good start. I can't help thinking about the Amazonian rainforest that was levelled though to make space for the Soybean plantation. What a world, what a world :(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Got a fresh Sea Bass caught this morning that just can't wait to be popped into the oven this evening.

Good Friday is a great excuse to dig out my best fish recipies !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I went for the full Irish fry up this monring. Meat never tasted so good.

Funny story: Good Friday back in 1982, I was going on holiday with my mother and her sister...we arived in London on the 5.30am train from Holyhead, and we were all starving...the only place we could get anything hot to eat at that time of morning was Mc Donalds, so it's was hamburgers all round :D (this was back before anyone had the bright idea of doing abreakfast menu in Mc D's).
    I've never really paid any attention to catholic rules and guidelines since...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭Gillo

robinph wrote: »
    ...and I bet they had a few glasses of wine during that last supper thing as well, wouldn't be much of a farwell dinner otherwise.

Wasn't the last supper on the Thursday, he was arrested that night and crucified the followign day (Friday).

I went to Mcdonalds and got a 1/4 pounder so no meat for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Had breakfast at work today and it contained meat. To hell with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Nature Boy

This is the only religious tradition I keep. I'm so good that I do this every day ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Well, I like fish, so it's no biggie, but I've already had beef and chicken today. With fish for dinner, I'm going to have eaten quite a variety of animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

i know someone who isn't going to a party tonight as there will be meat and drink at it. lolololol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

i know someone who isn't going to a party tonight as there will be meat and drink at it. lolololol

Seems like a silly reason unless the person is REALLY religious. Can he/she not eat before it or avoid the meat and drink soft drinks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

I never eat meat on Good Firday or Ash Wednesday. And I don't like fish or vegetables, so breakfast dinner and lunch will most likely consist of Rice Krispies!! And maybe some cheese...separately!
    Although Ash Wednesday, without thinking, I had oxtail soup....does that count as meat??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭Drift

Sounds like what some ill informed person might think of me!!! I'm skipping a party tonight but it's not because there will be meat and drink there .... just the fact that because I'm fasting all I could do is drink water ..... yuck. Although I could just go late cos once 12 is gone I'm grand :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

RodVelvet wrote: »
    So are you saying you are not a sinner. I suppose since you are without sin you can cast the first stone.

I observe the tradition of only having fish on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday and I dont have a problem with it

Me? Heck, I sin like crazy.

So, why do you observe the tradition?

Is it just cos it's fun for a day - "Oh, my religion forbids me to eat meat today, ho ho"

Anyhow, is it not true that you are to abstain from meat EVERY Friday during Lent? And is it not also true that on Good Friday, you are allowed three meals, of which your two smaller meals are to be together, less or equal in size to your third meal. Nobody seems to do that either.

Why follow some parts of your religion and not others? You might as well say "Well, I like going to Mass and fasting on Fridays, but I don't really go for the believing in God aspect of it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

mukki wrote: »
    I got a text this morning reminding me not to eat meat today as its good friday

Was it from Jesus? Is it only good catholics who receive these texts, cos i didnt get one...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

I see nothing in the bible about not eating meat on fridays

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    I'm going to have Blue Steak and Beer for Dinner Today like I do every "Dry Friday".

OM NOM NOM NOM!
    Screw dry friday, thats a fine plan for any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

my mam is the same, i dont mind though, having salmon today which i love. is the official rule of the church all animals (incl fish) or just red meat and poultry??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

Drift wrote: »
    Sounds like what some ill informed person might think of me!!! I'm skipping a party tonight but it's not because there will be meat and drink there .... just the fact that because I'm fasting all I could do is drink water ..... yuck. Although I could just go late cos once 12 is gone I'm grand :D

Nope, sounds like they would have you pretty much spot on if your not going to a party due to what someone has told you the "Great Space Being" said you must do until midnight tonight.