"Friendly Game" - United Fans V Liverpool fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Alas living in a different country, would be fun though. That said, I'm a **** footballer, more a tennis man :)

Still, I'd really pretty the every time you mess up you need to take a shot. I'm pretty sure I could out drink most of ya (being a student and all :)), so I'd have the advantage, mostly in the 2nd half though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Mr Alan wrote: »
    i'll have to shut up.
    des, piss off, i agree with most of your rantings about the EL, but this thread is of zero relevence.
    :eek::eek:

Yeah, I know.

Just a bit of mild ribbing tbh.

I forgot to add one of these at the end of my last post.

:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

well unfortunately to say, i'm sure a scouse team would be better off without me in the side, so in that case, i'll have to shut up.

but if this goes ahead, i'll be there on the sidelines.

and shouting abuse at Des.

Same attitude as Stevie G when Chelsea came calling - impressive! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,079 ✭✭✭✭Malice

DesF wrote: »
    I thought it would be held in a town halfway between Manchester and Liverpool.
    I would be up for a trip to Wigan ;).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

btw I'd much rather play a 5 a side game then 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,097 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

RasTa wrote: »

Same. Easier to organize as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,171 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I'm leaving on Monday morning to head to austria for a few months, but in the off-chance this drags on and doesn't get organised till July or August, id definately be up for playing.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

RasTa wrote: »

+1 - I haven't played football in about 7 years! (and i'm only 23!)

How about we play 5v5 on astro and have roll on roll off subs. So even if there was 8 or 9 on each team we could play for an hour or so and everyone would get a decent amount of game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Is there more UTD fans that pool fans here? It seems that way...

jameshayes wrote: »
    Is there more UTD fans that pool fans here? It seems that way...

Fairly sure the Liverpool thread gets far more traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I play twice a week on the Astro 5 a side pitches on UCD. We could play there if it suits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

i'd be up for a five or an eleven a side, most days but Sunday suit me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Tusky wrote: »
    Fairly sure the Liverpool thread gets far more traffic.

I would put that down to Alan to be honest:D: he posts far more in the liverpool thread that the united one, over 4000 posts, hmmm;)

as re dates and venues etc, we will leave this thread run for 3 or 4 days before deciding. 11 a side woud be ideal, but would be harder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

The one question that I want answered is:

WHO WILL WEAR RED :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

The one question that I want answered is:

WHO WILL WEAR RED :D:D:D

the home team of course....;)

united in white, liverpool in there away jersey could settle one argeument or a simple toss of a coin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

the home team of course....;)

united in white, liverpool in there away jersey could settle one argeument or a simple toss of a coin.

liverpool wear white away.

I'll play(Liverpool fan) - get Xavi or someone to ref it :D. Someone pm me if this goes ahead.

KaG1888 wrote: »
    get Xavi or someone to ref it :D.
    Er....I already said I'd ref it.

In anyways, Xavi lives in fricking Perth, Western Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

I thought it would be held in a town halfway between Manchester and Liverpool

I'll be there so. although with the chances that we would have more supporters there than Wigan usually have at a game maybe we should play it when Wigan are away to ensure that their supporters are not embarrassed.

And as for you reffing it, surely somebody impartial would be required. Ya know somebody who does not manage a bunch of players from one side or have a mild dislike for the players of the other team.

Who knows, if you played perhaps there could be a triangular tournament and the EL fans could prove for once and for all that they are the superior supporters.

Er....I already said I'd ref it.

In anyways, Xavi lives in fricking Perth, Western Australia.

pfft... he wouldn't come over for it...? ;)

Eh thats grand, let me know lads when, where etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭kev_s88

this sounds like a larf.

And as for you reffing it, surely somebody impartial would be required. Ya know somebody who does not manage a bunch of players from one side or have a mild dislike for the players of the other team.
    Er...what?

Ed plays for Boards, he is United.

Shock, horror, there are Liverpool fans on the team too.

And what "mild dislike" - for who?

I <3 Mr Alan, even though he won't be playing.

Who do I not like?

If anything, you are the one with a "mild dislike" for myself, and another poster already mentioned. ;)
    Who knows, if you played perhaps there could be a triangular tournament and the EL fans could prove for once and for all that they are the superior supporters.
    Bring it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

or a simple toss of a coin.
    Who'll be the Tosser?

To say mild dislike is to understate it massively.

Is there 5 -7 EL fans that could make a team on boards who have 300 or more posts ? I am sure that was one of homers criteria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

There was a lecturer in Trinity college who used to organise three way football matches so that people could attempt to understand game theory. Apparently it was great fun :)

To say mild dislike is to understate it massively.
    Well thanks for clearing that one up.
    Is there 5 -7 EL fans that could make a team on boards who have 300 or more posts ? I am sure that was one of homers criteria.
    Are there even 5-7 eL fans?

Well thanks for clearing that one up.

Well at least I am honest ;)

Even of there was could ye get them playing in a team, ye lads can be vicious to each other, would have to put these rivalries aside for the good of the game.

I'm quite good at getting lads to play in a team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Are there even 5-7 eL fans?

Most of the team i play for post on boards altho none in soccer.

We would whoop all your asses, but thats another thread.

This the pool utd thread :)

kdjac