PSNI Recruitment (Archived)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭conor123

have to agree with you there. I personally dont support the 50/50 rule but at the same time im more than willing to take advantage of it whilst its there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭redsurfer

hi all i not posted for a bit, thought i stay busy and not let thinking about starting eat me up.

i just did the med on friday, i think it went very well,:D and i just got my A/C results 60/70:D and i a R/C from the south, so i wondering when should i be thinking that i may be starting in the college:confused:.

if some one can give me an idea please

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

redsurfer wrote: »
    i a R/C from the south

A fellow Southerner. I love it.

Once your vetting and medical come back all clear, I'd say you're in with a very strong chance of being called. Be prepared for a long wait for the vetting because it has to be sent to Garda HQ. I'm from Dublin and mine took a year. I heard they are quicker than that these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭JVB

psni wrote: »
    Hi JVB.

You definitely have a place if you pass vetting. I have no doubt you will pass if you are currently serving.

Recruitment will honour any notice period you have to give to whoever your current employer might be. 3 months is nothing new, for example. Heads would roll if they couldn't accomodate you making the transition, especially given where you are currently employed.

The short answer is: Don't worry, you're in!

Thanks psni, great to hear that. As I'm new to this site, are you currently/recently been in the recruitment process and offering advice, or are you a serving officer with experience of the process? I read your info 'Starting in Garneville soon? Read this:' and found it very useful.

I'm confident of passing my vetting, because as you say, I'm currently serving (RAF) I guess I just have to wait for an offer of service from PSNI and deal with my release from the forces at such a time.

On a selfish point, I am due a gratuity lump sum from my job in June 09. Now I know it might be taking the mickey but do you think they would defer me until then?? I'm a joke I know but it must be worth a question.

With regard to the few posts I've seen with reference to religious identity. I am RC too, which from what I have read, the police will probably be more accomodating to that fact also. I don't like to use such an issue as a bargining tool but I guess the selection process has pigeon-holed me as such anyhow.

Thanks again for any advice.

mickey2186 wrote: »
    JVB,

First of all well done!! Subject to successful vetting you are definately in.

I scored 63/70 giving me a placing in the 'low teens' and was told that I will have a place subject to vetting and medical.

I did medical at end of Jan '08, but had to give them some further info, so hopefully will know soon.

If your vetting comes through in the next few weeks they may call you for the April intake, which AFAIK is on 20th, still 6 weeks away.

You probably can defer your date if necessary.

PSNI can probably confirm that they will hold you place more or less indefinately until your vetting is completed!

Hope this helps!!

Regards.

Mickey2186

Mickey, thank you for your advice. I just hope it all comes together in the end. Good luck with your medical decision, I'm sure it'll be grand.

JVB

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,893 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

Yes. Serving PSNI officer.

No. I don't think they'd let you defer until mid-June 2009.

I dare you to ask!
    JVB wrote: »
    Thanks psni, great to hear that. As I'm new to this site, are you currently/recently been in the recruitment process and offering advice, or are you a serving officer with experience of the process? I read your info 'Starting in Garneville soon? Read this:' and found it very useful.

I'm confident of passing my vetting, because as you say, I'm currently serving (RAF) I guess I just have to wait for an offer of service from PSNI and deal with my release from the forces at such a time.

On a selfish point, I am due a gratuity lump sum from my job in June 09. Now I know it might be taking the mickey but do you think they would defer me until then?? I'm a joke I know but it must be worth a question.

With regard to the few posts I've seen with reference to religious identity. I am RC too, which from what I have read, the police will probably be more accomodating to that fact also. I don't like to use such an issue as a bargining tool but I guess the selection process has pigeon-holed me as such anyhow.

Thanks again for any advice.

psni wrote: »
    Yes. Serving PSNI officer.

No. I don't think they'd let you defer until mid-June 2009.

I dare you to ask!

Aye, I thought maybe not, it was wishful thinking. Good that you give us all this feedback/info. I'll keep my eye on this board for updates and to track other peoples stories.

Good luck all that are awaiting results or vetting and I'll let you know how I get on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Ethan321

Redsurfer, with a score of 60/70 it wont matter what backgroung you are from you will still be offered a place IMO, good stuff and goo luck mate.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭Fiacmar

redsurfer wrote: »
    hi all i not posted for a bit, thought i stay busy and not let thinking about starting eat me up.

i just did the med on friday, i think it went very well,:D and i just got my A/C results 60/70:D and i a R/C from the south, so i wondering when should i be thinking that i may be starting in the college:confused:.

if some one can give me an idea please

Hi Red, am also an R/C and from the south, (Dublin) and also did my medical on Friday, (at 2pm) so same boat as you mate. I'll let you know when I get any word on vetting if you let me know when you do! :D

Hi again,

Do you know how my pension would be handled if I am successful? I have just short of 11 years service with the RAF.

I know the PSNI pension kicks in after 30 years service, but was advised by my own admin staffs that my RAF pension could be commuted ... However, I was also advised by another service person applying for the police in England that only part of his pension would count. Effectively, that if I serve 11 years with the RAF only a percentage (say 8 years) would count towards my PSNI pension. Do you know if this is true?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

JVB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭Ethan321

Thats a difficult question to answer fully mate, it is dependant on the percentages paid to your current pension, of what wage the percentage is of based versus the percentage you would pay in the psni and the wage there.
    Only real people who can answer it fully for you, figure by figure, is the psni.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭MartinC2006

JVB,

Take this with an extreme pinch of salt but I read somewhere (some police forum) that the RAF pension transferred to around 2/3 of the old police pension scheme. So your 11 years would be 7.3 years.

However the new police pension scheme is based on 35 year contributions at 9% as apposed to 30 years at 11%. The outgoing payments are also lowered from a 2/3 pension to ½ pension. You could assume by this your 11 year pension will transfer to more than 2/3 in the new scheme (assuming 2/3 is correct)

Hope that helps but as Ethan mentioned the only people able to give you a real answer is the PSNI.

Martin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 CooperCop

Does anyone know the contact no. for Vetting? Would like to contact them to enquire about my vetting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭GEMMAT1984

CooperCop

Its 02890650222 and ask to be put through to recruitment

Got that number? has anyone phone it recently? I was told to try vetting directly but no answer. Is it ok to phone Vetting?

Worried about that letter we all got re. not to phone appointments!

Thats the correct number, just ask to speak to recruitment.

They will be able to let you know if your vetting is complete or not.

Martin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 721 ✭✭✭goodcopbadcop

Generally How long after sending away vetting do you get medical and how long does the vetting take?

Just wondering so have an idea when to fly back home etc I cant imagine mine would take long since I'm young and havent done much apart from go to school

CooperCop

thats definately the number i phoned on Friday to get my vetting progress and i spoke to recruitment

I sent my vetting away in November and didnt get my medical until 25th Feburary, so it just really depends. I know i thought mine wouldnt take long as im only 22 and i havent any criminal record at all not even a speeding ticket but my vetting still isnt complete.

So you can still be waiting on comfirmation of vetting and in the meantime be called for a medical, is that right?

Yeah it doesnt mean that u have passed vetting if your called for medical, i thought it did and then found out last week my vetting wasnt complete!!!

CooperCop wrote: »
    Got that number? has anyone phone it recently? I was told to try vetting directly but no answer. Is it ok to phone Vetting.

Worried about that letter we all got re. not to phone appointments!

Hi CooperCop

I phoned recruitment branch last week on tel number provided above (Ext 24387). Not sure these are vetting but more just recruitment processing. They were helpful with as far as my merit rating and medical assessment outcome, but advised that the vetting is controlled by another department. When the vetting is complete the recruitment branch are advised of such and then we are notified.

Wouldn't stress too much about the letter. I received a letter confirming my pass at medical 2 Thursdays ago but then received a letter the next day advising that I may have to attend a medical assessment and security vetting (which I sent off last Nov!) I think there may be some wires crossed somewhere but I know that I am awaiting vetting clearance and that I just have to wait-out. Frustrating I know but hang in there!!!

Hope this helps, somehow.

JVB

Cheers JVB and Gemma,

Was just worried that we're not allowed to phone vetting. Going to try them later just to check status.

Thanks for the info guys. It seems you have along the same impression of the pension scheme as I thought. Wasn't aware of the extension to service (35 years) Looks like I'll not be retiring to the Caribbean early after all ...

I guess I'll wait for an offer of service and ask the question from PSNI then.

Cheers again.

JVB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭lisnsooz

Fiacmar wrote: »
    Hi Red, am also an R/C and from the south, (Dublin) and also did my medical on Friday, (at 2pm) so same boat as you mate. I'll let you know when I get any word on vetting if you let me know when you do! :D

Lads - am also from South, passed Med last year and am on the comfortable end of 300s and wasn't expecting to get a callup until May/June, so not sure of vetting status as haven't enquired. Am working for the reserves tho, which means my clearence should be ok - but cos I had a couple sisters living abroad, could slow things down.

Ah well!

Lis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭jim2008

Just a question for anyone who has done the medical, do they require your GP records from birth?? Been going to my current GP for the past nine years and he filled in the forms for me, but would i have to contact my old GP for records??? Also i broke my ankle a few years back,do i have to chase down records from the A and E where i attented?

As far as I know they only need them, if they need them! IE If you said you had a problem from 10 years ago they need to investigate, you have to be in a position to provide additional information. To be on the safe side I’d be trying to get in contact with your old GP to get your medical notes sent to your current GP, this should have been done anyway.

Anything you need about your broken ankle should be available to your GP. The hospital should have forwarded any relevant information to them including any outpatient care.

Martin.

I dont think something like a broken bone would need any extra info unless it was still causing problems. Could be wrong but hope im right cause i broke my collarbone a few years ago

jim2008 wrote: »
    Just a question for anyone who has done the medical, do they require your GP records from birth?? Been going to my current GP for the past nine years and he filled in the forms for me, but would i have to contact my old GP for records??? Also i broke my ankle a few years back,do i have to chase down records from the A and E where i attented?
    jim,

Had my med on 25/02/08. I only had GP records since 1997 due to my RAF service, plus I too have had various knocks and bumps along the way. i.e knee keyhole surgery in 2001. I didn't have to provide further info and passed my med. But to be honest, I wouldn't take this as gospel. The thing with medical history is that everyone's is different. The severity of injury and rehabilition can vary wildly from person to person. I would suggest you provide as much detail as you can to prevent any delay in your processing. The doc will carry out a mobility test with you (imagine an advanced YMCA dance!!!) and test reflexes etc.
    I know this may sound a bit vague but not being medically qulaified I wouldn't like to lead in any any direction.

The short answer is: Provide what you can.

JVB

If or when i have to do a medical I want to bring as much info as I can. For example I had a hernia fixed 2 years ago, what do I need from my GP to say this is now fine. just a short letter or an official medical record or what exactly do I need to show to the OH people?