Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nokia N95 on Vodafone (Price / Branding) [The *ONLY* place to post these topics]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭steelbar

Just got me one there at lunch time!! 189 bills,cant go wrong! And hopefully it will be better that the E65!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭jessconr

steelbar, if you want any recommendations on what software you should install just message me & i'll be happy to help out. Good buy, its a class phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭steelbar

jessconr wrote: »
    steelbar, if you want any recommendations on what software you should install just message me & i'll be happy to help out. Good buy, its a class phone

Cheers dude, that would be brillaint!! Much appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,355 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Just got one myself it's a lovely piece of kit and a bargain for €179, especially as it's unlocked and unbraded. Even has the new Spiderman film on it :) I might drop you a line too jessconr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭AlanD

I was going to consider a jailbroken iPhone but feck that. N95 will be winging it's way to this household!!

now, the usual vodafone questions (I'm on 3). Can I surf to any website with vodafone or is their internet ringfenced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭iggy

steelbar wrote: »
    Just got me one there at lunch time!! 189 bills,cant go wrong! And hopefully it will be better that the E65!

gonna switch from O2 to Voda and was looking at this phone.
    Do u have to go on the high tarriff to get the N95 cheap?
    Have to get this phone as I cant justify price of iphone and also you have to sign for 18 months to O2 for the iphone.

Does it come with cable to plug into pc?

I haven't had a problem accessing any websites although i've been using my home WIFI alot so i wouldnt 100% on that.

Iggy yes it comes with a USB cable & a cable to hook it up to your tv so you can play video files & look at photos on your tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭iggy

Iggy yes it comes with a USB cable & a cable to hook it up to your tv so you can play video files & look at photos on your tv[/QUOTE]

thanks

Is it better to go to Vodafone shop or Carphone warehouse or are they all the same?

I need a recent bill from O2 to change networks but i have been on paperless billing for a good while so wil have to wait for my next bill to be sent out.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Alfie1

iggy wrote: »
    gonna switch from O2 to Voda and was looking at this phone.
    Do u have to go on the high tarriff to get the N95 cheap?

You can get it for €229 on Perfect Choice 100 ( €29 per month ) not sure if you can get it on Perfect Choice 50

Vodafone offer a 12 month or 18 month contract. What would you enter an 18 month contract with no obvious benefits? i.e. the phone isn't cheaper on an 18 month contract.

What am I missing here?

Vodafone have the special offer for the phone, don't know about carphone warehouse.

you dont need your O2 bill to change networks, all you need is any utility bill i.e ESB, Bank Statement etc & drinving licence or passport.

hope this helps

happy shopping!!

your missing nothing alan. That just the way it is for some reason????

weird...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭v10

AlanD wrote: »
    Vodafone offer a 12 month or 18 month contract. What would you enter an 18 month contract with no obvious benefits? i.e. the phone isn't cheaper on an 18 month contract.

What am I missing here?
    Customers on a very low spend may choose the 18 month contract as Vodafone guarantee upgrade eligibility after 18 months for those on an 18 month contract .. otherwise low spenders may have to wait 2 years or more to be eligible for upgrade. Also they occasionally offers deals like free insurance for example with 18 month contracts.

thanks

Is it better to go to Vodafone shop or Carphone warehouse or are they all the same?

I need a recent bill from O2 to change networks but i have been on paperless billing for a good while so wil have to wait for my next bill to be sent out.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

You may not have to wait. I was in Carphone Warhouse in Grafton Street today and didn't have any Meteor bill (I was switching from them) but the guy just told me to go a few doors down to the Meteor shop and ask for a print out of my last bill. Just showed them some photo ID and it was grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭bush doctor

Looking at an N95 8GB too for an upgrade on Vodafone - is there anything restricted / locked down by Vodafone?
    Specifically thinking about VoIP usage.
    TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭rahenyguy

regarding carphone warehouse,they wont have the price updated on there system till next week,had to buy mine in vodafone pity because insurance from cw is much more straightforward when making a claim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Does anyone think that O2 will have the N95 8GB for a similar price to Vodafone anytime soon?

rahenyguy wrote: »
    regarding carphone warehouse,they wont have the price updated on there system till next week,had to buy mine in vodafone pity because insurance from cw is much more straightforward when making a claim

I bought mine in CPW Grafton Street this afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Does anyone think that O2 will have the N95 8GB for a similar price to Vodafone anytime soon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭rahenyguy

northside sc told me that they hadnt got the prices updated and wouldnt have till next week,smashing phone though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Alfie1

I ordered an E65 on Monday, it arrived today. Vodfone dropped price of N95 on Tuesday so I rang vodafone to return E65, it gets collected tomorrow. Hopefully I'll be ordering the N95 on Monday :D

Trotter wrote: »

I doubt they will since their just about to release the iPhone. The reason Vodafone cut their prices for the n95 8gb is to compete with o2's iPhone. Clever move on vodafone's behalf. I'm ragin though....bought my n95 8gb saturday for €399 & the price was slashed down to €229 tuesday. no one in the vodafone shop said a word about this upcoming offer to me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Random1

just wonderin what the screen is like on the n95 8gb. got one this week, is the screen scratch proof or anything?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭xanthor

Random1 wrote: »
    8gb. got one this week, is the screen scratch proof or anything?

I doubt it. Mine has been a clear plastic case since the start and i don't plan to change that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,027 ✭✭✭flywheel

is the Vodafone N95 8GB still unlocked / unbranded?

The one I bought yesterday was and I haven't heard of any that aren't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭mfield

I'm in New York here, should the Nokia Maps gps work here, as I can't seem to get it to lock to a satelite?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 cormac1982

I'm on 3 and they were offering me an upgrade to the N95 for €349 (bit much but I was willing to pay it). When I went back it was gone! They told me it was out of stock when I emailed them.
    Don't ye think it's a tad unusual to completely remove it from their web site? Especially with the iphone coming next week.
    I could switch to vodafone but we parted on bad terms a couple of years ago and I've heard O2 aren't the best as regards internet access.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,180 ✭✭✭1huge1

cormac1982 wrote: »
    I'm on 3 and they were offering me an upgrade to the N95 for €349 (bit much but I was willing to pay it). When I went back it was gone! They told me it was out of stock when I emailed them.
    Don't ye think it's a tad unusual to completely remove it from their web site? Especially with the iphone coming next week.
    I could switch to vodafone but we parted on bad terms a couple of years ago and I've heard O2 aren't the best as regards internet access.
    Are O2 even selling the N95?

ya the nokia 6500 slide went off the 3 website for a while when it ran out of stock but its back now

hopefully the N95 will be back soon aswel