Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nokia N95 on Vodafone (Price / Branding) [The *ONLY* place to post these topics]

• 09-02-2008 11:27am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭

well guys

Is it worth upgrading from a nokia n95 to a n95 8gb. I have an upgrade due and this seems like the best phone on the market right now. Any opinions will be greatly appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 675 ✭✭✭ant043

anyone ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭xanthor

Assuming you installed a firmware upgrade i don't think you're going to see a huge difference moving to the 8GB version. Granted the firmware upgrade doesn't give you a bigger screen or more sturdy slider, but i think it solves pretty much everything else (?)
    ant043 wrote: »
    I have an upgrade due and this seems like the best phone on the market right now.

Right now, possibly. The way Nokia crank new models out that may not be the case a few months from now. Unless you're going to change your phone again a few months down the line, i'd suggest waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭dmn

Meteor are now showing this phone in their Spring In Store Brochure... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭great

u better be jokin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭dubal

Just got mine . . . Ya gotta have one :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭xanthor

dmn wrote: »
    Meteor are now showing this phone in their Spring In Store Brochure... :)

Considering that it didn't materialise on O2 last month as they claimed it would... some of us are going to be rather sceptical about their brochure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

xanthor wrote: »
    Considering that it didn't materialise on O2 last month as they claimed it would... some of us are going to be rather sceptical about their brochure.

it's planned for march (how more specific can you get?!), i sha'nt be holding my breath

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Alfie1

Quick question if anyone can help me.
    I ordered a Nokia E65 yesterday from the vodafone site for €179, i was considerating the N95 but I couldn't justify the €399 price ( I'm on Perfect Choice 100 )
    I've just seen their site today & the price of the N95 is advertised from €199, now obviously I can't qualify for an upgrade at the moment but if I could get it for €229 (this is the price they are selling it to anyone changing to perfect choice 100 from prepay ) i'd send back the E65 & get the N95.

Could anyone on perfect choice 100 who is eligable for an upgrade please check what price the N95 is being offered to them at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭v10

Alfie1 wrote: »
    Quick question if anyone can help me.
    I ordered a Nokia E65 yesterday from the vodafone site for €179, i was considerating the N95 but I couldn't justify the €399 price ( I'm on Perfect Choice 100 )
    I've just seen their site today & the price of the N95 is advertised from €199, now obviously I can't qualify for an upgrade at the moment but if I could get it for €229 (this is the price they are selling it to anyone changing to perfect choice 100 from prepay ) i'd send back the E65 & get the N95.

Could anyone on perfect choice 100 who is eligable for an upgrade please check what price the N95 is being offered to them at.

Vodafone have dropped the price of the N95 (8GB) to between €169 and €229(on Pay Monthly) .. in all stores and online, to compete with iPhone Launch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Easy Rider

That's annoying, I just upgraded 2 weeks ago and had to pay 300 euro, so that is what I get for being a loyal customer for the last 7 years, they never even mentioned it and I am on the 400 plan.....Do you think they would give some money back or even some of my next bill.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

Any update on when you can get this from o2?

Easy Rider wrote: »
    That's annoying, I just upgraded 2 weeks ago and had to pay 300 euro, so that is what I get for being a loyal customer for the last 7 years, they never even mentioned it and I am on the 400 plan.....Do you think they would give some money back or even some of my next bill.....
    They never mentioned it because the decision was only made after the iphone was announced by O2 last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Sorry to hijack this thread a bit but does anyone know if its due out soon on Three? They took the original N95 off the website about 2-3 weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mfield

Just got one of these as I was due an upgrade. €189 on Vodafone, not too shabby. It was unlocked out of the box aswell, which was nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

mfield wrote: »
    €189 on Vodafone, not too shabby. It was unlocked out of the box aswell, which was nice.

Wow. Might get the da to buy an upgrade and yoink it. 189 is brillo!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭spooner_src

Hey all

I have been due an upgrade on vodafone for a while, N95 8Gb was 365 euro but yes its now down to 189 for me, I am going to jump all over that now.

Happy Days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

Got it today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mfield

Another thing, I was going to unbrand the phone too, but it seems that there is no need as it is already unbranded and unlocked. Well, the one I got was anyway! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Blackdragon

mfield wrote: »
    Another thing, I was going to unbrand the phone too, but it seems that there is no need as it is already unbranded and unlocked. Well, the one I got was anyway! :)

Same - got mine from Carphone warehouse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭strecker

Yeah, walked past C&C Cellular in C'Bar today - they were just putting up a sign: N95 Half Price... Didn't check on conditions, though!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Blackdragon

Easy Rider wrote: »

I paid Eur 329 - sickened :mad:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Chin up lads. Tech gets cheaper as it gets older. If you keep feeling gutted everytime something gets cheaper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Woot! That's made up my mind which phone and network to go for now.

To get back to the question: I disagree with some of you - the n95 got a lot faster with recent fw upgrade, but I find the 8gb-version a big improvement: screen-size may be just slightly increased, but it shows, and the fw upgrade for n95 doesn't double the ram, or did I miss that? So no more need to close those pesky ram-sucking apps... Keypad is much much better for heavy texting/emailing/posting...the browser is better in subtle ways!
    so, if I were strapped for money, I'd stick with n95 and get latest fw, BUT if there were a good offer: upgrade to the 8gb! Imho :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Unbranded and unlocked? This defos the case?

If so I reckon I'll get the old man to get it as an upgrade and I'll throw him the cash for it and use it myself on Meteor.

Unbranded and unlocked? This defos the case?

If so I reckon I'll get the old man to get it as an upgrade and I'll throw him the cash for it and use it myself on Meteor.

yeah, both my n95 and n95 8gb were generic unbranded un-locked nokia versions(boxes and manuals all unbranded as well); both bought as voda ready to go handsets in vodafone shops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭jessconr

i bought my n95 8gb for €399 last sat & they never said a word about this upcoming off. RRRRrrrrrrrraginnn!!!

besides that its a class phone

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 7,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭delly

Don't be fretting folks, i bought my N95 for €700 sim free when they first came out before any network took it up. Its captured so much of my nine month old baby girls life, i don't regret paying big money at the time. If I bought the phone and thought it was crap, then i'd be pissed, but I'm very happy with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭jimmychin

watch out for the n96 launch later this year too

might have been a reason for the drop aswell as the impending iphone launch

i have the iphone and its great except i wish i had the camera of the n95 !

jimmychin wrote: »
    watch out for the n96 launch later this year too

might have been a reason for the drop aswell as the impending iphone launch

i have the iphone and its great except i wish i had the camera of the n95 !
    This price drop is nothing to do with Nokia .. It's subsidised by Vodafone on pay monthly only .. hence the price is still €599 on prepay and so a real bargain on bill phone.

I have the iPhone also, its very good but its missing too many standard phone features. Its an iPod that can make phone calls and send texts .. but its a iPod first and a phone second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭steelbar

Just got me one there at lunch time!! 189 bills,cant go wrong! And hopefully it will be better that the E65!

steelbar, if you want any recommendations on what software you should install just message me & i'll be happy to help out. Good buy, its a class phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭steelbar

jessconr wrote: »
    steelbar, if you want any recommendations on what software you should install just message me & i'll be happy to help out. Good buy, its a class phone

Cheers dude, that would be brillaint!! Much appreciated.

Just got one myself it's a lovely piece of kit and a bargain for €179, especially as it's unlocked and unbraded. Even has the new Spiderman film on it :) I might drop you a line too jessconr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭AlanD

I was going to consider a jailbroken iPhone but feck that. N95 will be winging it's way to this household!!

now, the usual vodafone questions (I'm on 3). Can I surf to any website with vodafone or is their internet ringfenced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭iggy

steelbar wrote: »
    Just got me one there at lunch time!! 189 bills,cant go wrong! And hopefully it will be better that the E65!

gonna switch from O2 to Voda and was looking at this phone.
    Do u have to go on the high tarriff to get the N95 cheap?
    Have to get this phone as I cant justify price of iphone and also you have to sign for 18 months to O2 for the iphone.

Does it come with cable to plug into pc?

I haven't had a problem accessing any websites although i've been using my home WIFI alot so i wouldnt 100% on that.

Iggy yes it comes with a USB cable & a cable to hook it up to your tv so you can play video files & look at photos on your tv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭iggy

Iggy yes it comes with a USB cable & a cable to hook it up to your tv so you can play video files & look at photos on your tv[/QUOTE]

thanks

Is it better to go to Vodafone shop or Carphone warehouse or are they all the same?

I need a recent bill from O2 to change networks but i have been on paperless billing for a good while so wil have to wait for my next bill to be sent out.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Alfie1

iggy wrote: »
    gonna switch from O2 to Voda and was looking at this phone.
    Do u have to go on the high tarriff to get the N95 cheap?

You can get it for €229 on Perfect Choice 100 ( €29 per month ) not sure if you can get it on Perfect Choice 50

Vodafone offer a 12 month or 18 month contract. What would you enter an 18 month contract with no obvious benefits? i.e. the phone isn't cheaper on an 18 month contract.

What am I missing here?

Vodafone have the special offer for the phone, don't know about carphone warehouse.

you dont need your O2 bill to change networks, all you need is any utility bill i.e ESB, Bank Statement etc & drinving licence or passport.

hope this helps

happy shopping!!

your missing nothing alan. That just the way it is for some reason????

weird...

AlanD wrote: »
    Vodafone offer a 12 month or 18 month contract. What would you enter an 18 month contract with no obvious benefits? i.e. the phone isn't cheaper on an 18 month contract.

What am I missing here?
    Customers on a very low spend may choose the 18 month contract as Vodafone guarantee upgrade eligibility after 18 months for those on an 18 month contract .. otherwise low spenders may have to wait 2 years or more to be eligible for upgrade. Also they occasionally offers deals like free insurance for example with 18 month contracts.

thanks

Is it better to go to Vodafone shop or Carphone warehouse or are they all the same?

I need a recent bill from O2 to change networks but i have been on paperless billing for a good while so wil have to wait for my next bill to be sent out.

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

You may not have to wait. I was in Carphone Warhouse in Grafton Street today and didn't have any Meteor bill (I was switching from them) but the guy just told me to go a few doors down to the Meteor shop and ask for a print out of my last bill. Just showed them some photo ID and it was grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭bush doctor

Looking at an N95 8GB too for an upgrade on Vodafone - is there anything restricted / locked down by Vodafone?
    Specifically thinking about VoIP usage.
    TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭rahenyguy

regarding carphone warehouse,they wont have the price updated on there system till next week,had to buy mine in vodafone pity because insurance from cw is much more straightforward when making a claim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Does anyone think that O2 will have the N95 8GB for a similar price to Vodafone anytime soon?

rahenyguy wrote: »
    regarding carphone warehouse,they wont have the price updated on there system till next week,had to buy mine in vodafone pity because insurance from cw is much more straightforward when making a claim

I bought mine in CPW Grafton Street this afternoon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Does anyone think that O2 will have the N95 8GB for a similar price to Vodafone anytime soon?