Why Aren't You A Knacker/Skanger/Scumbag?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

As said above Morals, plus I actually care about society and other people.

I'd say this is down to a good education and the fact that my parents didn't let me hang out on the street and taught me right from wrong. When I was a teenager we hung around in each others houses. Do people not do this anymore?

Plus, would being a scumbag not be hard work? All that tracksuit wearing and thinking of ways to be cool and wreck other people's lives. I'd rather be warm inside watching tv thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

DadaKopf wrote: »
    Knackers are usually born underweight. Doctors say it causes mentalism and acting like a scumbag.

Mentalism...
    Laughed my ****ing ar$e off.
    Thank you good sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Upbringing. Upbringing. Upbringing.

Good parents who made sure I went to school, gave me grief when I got in trouble and respected me enough to allow me some freedoms when I got old enough.

Also I'm smashingly good-looking! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

upbringing

my parents speak properly, sent me to a good school and didn't let me hang out on the street

and they MADE me have respect for adults

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

Watching Murder she wrote and other crap on daytime TV.

Would make anyone angry enough to want to go out:
    • rob and beat a granny,
    • shoplift
    • have 12 kids with anything that puts out
    • a few tinnys
    • followed by a joyride.
    or am i generalising :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

I was never attracted to dressing in sports wear and hanging around street corners glaring at people. It just didn't seem a worthwhile way to spend my time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Why am I not a scumbag? I suppose I was raised correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭echter

because skangers have cooties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

echter wrote: »
    because skangers have cooties.

Who'd they steal them from?

Ireland's gone to the dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,585 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

they are??:eek:

i wasnt invited:mad:

Greyhound racing is fun:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

because I've an above avg iq? and parents that weren't morons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

A combination of genetics, upbringing and peer group when young. Or put another way, "you can't beat breeding", "monkey see, monkey do" and "teenagers are idiots".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Because my accent is all wrong (or so I've been told).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Personal choice - too much is made of people's upbringing and background. At the end of the day if somebody chooses to knife somebody it's nothing to do with where they came from, how many parents they had etc. It's the individual who is at fault. Blaming society is a copout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

I think its due to my dad and his sister resisiting the temptation of inbreeding and Dublin city council welfare benifits

Im proud of the two of them.

Also the mother was a force of nature when ever I got into trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

ShagNastii wrote: »
    the amount of "I Just got robbed!, Spit at by a male, My Car Broke in ****e" Threads

Number. Number. NUMBER!

Amount, less, little, much with a singular noun.
    Number, fewer, few, many with a plural.

</RANT>

Sorry, I'm just having a really bad day. No offence.

Dublin city council welfare benifits

Expand on this please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

The opportunity never presented itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I'd say because of my parents.

I mean I used to hang around with people who are total scum now when I was younger.

I really don't get how they turned out to be total knackers when I'm fairly normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,062 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

My parents mainly. The fact that I spent a lot of my childhood before the age of 10 moving location (following my dad's promotions) helped me in my early years, but in my teens, I knew a lot of my parents friends and was always paranoid about anything I did for fear of it getting back to my parents (which it occasionally did)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

My parents thought me to be polite, well mannered and respectable to people and my surroundings, even though I hung around with the knackery group as a kid, I never took part in anything scumbag-ish and always hung back or walked away when something was about to happen (11-12 year old stuff here I mean). Decided to have a bit of cop on and ditch those people. I never picked up the Ballymun or northside accent which I find odd, leaving here all my life etc But I guess it's a good thing :p

I feel it all comes down to what your parents teach you as a child and your own decisions, morals and your ability to respect people and their property.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Combination of things with me - where I grew up was a very quiet urban area. There were no skangers around then. I also had a very strict upbringing. I was in off the streets early and my dad scared the bejaysus out of me. If I had done anything wrong, I may as well have left home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭aliqueenb

Andy-Pandy wrote: »
    Foxrock born,

Ballsbridge bred,

Everyone else is below me.

are you serious? lol
    well what school did you go to ha?

aliqueenb wrote: »
    are you serious? lol
    well what school did you go to ha?

Don't feed the troll

Collie D wrote: »
    Don't feed the troll

hmmm i was just wondering cos if he didn't say blackrock or gonzaga well then like....:cool:

aliqueenb wrote: »
    hmmm i was just wondering cos if he didn't say blackrock or gonzaga well then like....:cool:

I toooootalllly so agree with you...such a pleb if he's not in the Rock like:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

ShagNastii wrote: »
    Your Education?
    Hardly.
    I remember when I was in school at about the age of 5 or 6 there were stand-out cases of a few antisocial troublemaker headcases... I've no doubt in my mind that they're fully bonafide skangbangers now.

An ~8 year old tried to mug myself and a friend one time when we were around 16... squaring up to us, demanding money, God it would have been funny if it wasn't so pathetic and disillusioning.
    Was it because he didn't read enough Anne and Barry books?

I'm convinced this type of behaviour starts earlier in life and a persons education is only missed because of it... of course later on it probably makes the situation worse and feeds the sense of anger / alienation / chip-on-shoulder... and makes it harder to change the shítty path your life has taken.

My own arm-chair psychology theory of it (in a nutshell) is that it's about the unfulfilled need for acceptance/validation and falling in with the wrong crowd. (how many skangers are bus-shelter-shattering "hard-men" when they're alone?)
    Also parents who send their young kids out to "play" for the whole day, hooking up with all the other kids whose similarly jaded parents don't give a shít where they are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 montyballs

Personal choice - too much is made of people's upbringing and background. At the end of the day if somebody chooses to knife somebody it's nothing to do with where they came from, how many parents they had etc. It's the individual who is at fault. Blaming society is a copout

i grew up in a drug and crime hell hole althought i was no angle it was all about choice if you want to get a rep.be a hard man and get locked up or try and make a good life for yourself.I CHOOSE LIFE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭daisy123

It definitely has something to do with education, starting at home with your parents (which also goes on through your life), and continuing in school (turning up to school, working hard, seeing what you can make of yourself with an education behind you). I mean, you don't generally find scumbags in university, they have opted for a different form of life, settled for it I suppose because maybe they think they aren't worth more as they were not educated to see that they could be.Maybe society does'nt do enough to help this?? Most people look down on them all their lives and that reinforces the feelings of 'not good enough.'

I also think that having a stable, steady background has a lot to do with it, in most cases, a sense of security etc., although many people with disruption in their lives, death, divorce, drugs etc DO go on to live well-adjusted lives, I reckon that most knackers DO have a disrupted background. Maybe society does'nt do enough to help this?? Most people look down on them all their lives and they be

I guess, in the end, there is no one reason, rather an emalgamation of many, complex reasons!! It's a toughie!

I toooootalllly so agree with you...such a pleb if he's not in the Rock like:cool:

heehee lol do you go there or are you actually being like sarcastic and mocking me?...yes i am very slow ha