Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Aren't You A Knacker/Skanger/Scumbag?

• 04-03-2008 4:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,108 ✭✭✭

Honestly the amount of "I Just got robbed!, Spit at by a male, My Car Broke in ****e" Threads lately is absolutely both tiring and quite downhearting. And on Questions and Answers late night, The panel were looking as to what were the causes of these young people in the stabbing of the 2 polish men. So anyway I have the upmost respect for most people, like I believe most people on this boards.

So anyway, Why aren't you a scumbag? (Maybe you are) Your upbringing? Your Education? Would love to hear your 2cents!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

My mammy! Wasnt raised in the greatest area but she kept me on the straight and narrow! Thanks mam!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

upbringing and edu do play a part but there are scumbags from all walks of life.

Why aren't I? *shrug* Prolly my surroundings growing up. You are a product of them and all that.

[edit]
    Similar...but my dad! Jesus..the thought of having to go home and tell him i was in trouble was enough to scare the life out of me ever doin anythin "bold"!! Had the utmost respect for him..and still do!

Perhaps thats whats missing nowadays. Some good old discipline. I remember those days all too well :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

My mammy! Wasnt raised in the greatest area but she kept me on the straight and narrow! Thanks mam!
    Similar...but my dad! Jesus..the thought of having to go home and tell him i was in trouble was enough to scare the life out of me ever doin anythin "bold"!! Had the utmost respect for him..and still do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

I suppose I kind of should be, I certainly was brought up in the right area/time period to become one (blanchardstown mid 80's - 90's). My family had alot to do with it, I never developed the accent from my friends and I was intelligent/not of a mean spirit.

In short, luck I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

An innocent country upbringing and my parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Pigheads moustache growing abilities have always been way too powerful for him to have even considered joining the bumfluff scummer brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

Morals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

Have to agree with op. Makes you think the level of muppets really thathad never encountered anything like this till they went to certain areas etc...

Full of **** tbph.

I was a scum bag. I knocked on someone's door more than once and ran away, I was wild. I also loved fires. Many other little adventures I won't go into such as our various egas, dotted around the beautiful area I grew up in.

But was it just a basic outline at home of what is the correct route to take that always made me have a heart about things? I'd say so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

My parents, they never let me miss a day of school unless I was sick or had to go somewhere important. Was always scared of bringing home bad notes or whatever, mostly from my dad, but my mother didn't go easy on me either. Havbe to thank them though, in 3rd year of college now, and I'm still a bit nervous of what dad will say if I fail a year, even though I'm a bit taller than him now.

Utmost respect for my parents and grandparents, you should hear some of the stuff they went through to make a life for themselves.

I have it easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭30txsbzmcu2k9w

it's all about breeding. they all look the same, both Irish and English knacks. Awful genetic make-up because of inbreeding. They are decendents of the poorest of the poor- sub-human black-death pauper type people. They should all be hunted down the sewers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Common fucking sense

That, and the fact I have no need to be one as my family is quite wealthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

anniehoo wrote: »

yeah something along the same, but for some reason looking back i don't know why the hell i was so afraid of my dad, anytime i did anything that bad i wasn't overly punished but he usually gave me a decent enough chat and pointed out how stupid what i had done was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

dumb as it sounds probably a combination of my parents, catholic doctrine and super hero comic book morality (god bless ya marvel :) )

i mightve abandoned half of it but at least it was there in the first place to inspire me to be a better human being.

all things being equal i couldve ended up being an evil genius :)

i cant help thinking alot of the problems these days are down to the attacks on the family by gov who want everyone in the workplace, no one in my generation went to a creche, and single mothers are the fecking norm now so some of these poor scumbags wont have a male role model till secondry, if at all.

imagine how half of you guys wouldve turned out without your da's

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

My parents would vet all new friends i had and would decided whether i could hang out with them. if they are unacceptable that would be it, i would be grounded if i seen with them again.

Also, i had to be in a 8pm every night until i was 16. i was i late my parents would come looking for me. I was unable absolutely no circumstances whatsoever allowed to hang around on street corners. if i wanted to see my friends, they would have to come to my house

i fecking hated my parents growing up but i now i see some of those people my parents wouldnt allow me to hang around with, in the local paper for dealing drugs, robbing cars and being arrested for general scumgbaginess. Also most of the girls seem to have at least 4 kids by 4 different fathers.

so thanks mam and dad - i guess

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Mangy_Cat

Bad food when growing up will increase the chances of becoming a scumbag. Frozen meals, chips, fizzy drinks etc. will all promote low IQ levels.

There's nothing better than a good feed of bacon & cabbage to set a knacker on the right road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

Foxrock born,

Ballsbridge bred,

Everyone else is below me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 sneepmo

which is geographically misplaced on the northside some say.

The main reason that I didn't end up on the wrong side of the tracks is because I discovered soft drugs as I was walking across them. Few tokes later, I headed back to the right side of the tracks and made myself a nice sandwich.

Jobs a good 'un

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 WanderingJew

Because:

*I drink lattes,
    *say "Hi" a lot,
    *call everybody "guys",
    *pretend I'm rich even though I am in debt to my eye balls
    *tell everyone that I love my job although I hate it
    *I am a busy body that cannot leave my nose out of other peoples business
    *my life goal is to further my career, with the aim of having my own team, I'll be a team leader.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 WanderingJew

Archimedes wrote: »
    Common fucking sense

That, and the fact I have no need to be one as my family is quite wealthy.

Clearly wealthy children are not taught grammar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Just to add as an example, i remember i said the "F word" to my sister (first time ever just to be cool). She ran all the way home to "tell dad", well, the panic i felt knowing the wooden spoon was goin to make an appearance (how terrifying was that cooking implement :p) that it was years later before i dared say it again! I lied to him and said "nope i never said it" and felt sooo guilty for gettin my sister in trouble! The sight of the wooden spoon scared the bejaysus outta me..and it was probably only ever used once!:D

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Common sense, having respect for everything instilled in me at an early age and being punished when I did wrong.
    All this namby pambying of kids, giving them what they want when they want it gives them a sense of entitlement and leads to a lack of respect for everything.
    Case in point that father going to his solicitors over the childs phone being taken in school, all that father teaches the child is that his father doesn't respect the rules so why should he? instead of letting the child take the punishment he deserved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I was brought up in the country, rarely missed a day in school (or was let either) and was late in the whole going out drinking thing even though when I did, I never drank. My parents never stopped me from going out or the rest of my brothers and trusted me when I decided to give it a try. It just wasn't my thing in the end and I got bored of it after a few years. They were strict about school but didn't need to be with me as I would much rather get my work done so I could go out and play football or watch telly. I liked school as well. :)

I was thought to respect others, be polite, courteous and treat them they way you would like to be treated.
    That and we had to make up our own stuff to do being in the country with my neighbours dropping around to play. I'm not religious now but we went to mass every Saturday night and I guess that gave me time to relax and had some part in my upbringing thinking back on it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

Knackers are usually born underweight. Doctors say it causes mentalism and acting like a scumbag. So it's no wonder they quit school, get ****ed up on drugs and murder people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I don't have runners, a tracksuit, a cascada album, a hoodie, a pair of hooped earrings, a pair of pyjamas, a souped up micra, a baseball cap, a mobile with an inane ring tone or any of the other AH stereotypes that make one a scumbag.

Generally though, I would not consider myself to be a scumbag because I don't regularly break the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

im not a scumbag but i got a snigger out of your name and post count :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Clearly wealthy children are not taught grammar.

I'll give you €100 to grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

my upper-middle class up bringing, was tough not going down that path on the mean streets of the suburbs of Athlone(well i wouldn't really call them streets either)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

anniehoo wrote: »
    Just to add as an example, i remember i said the "F word" to my sister (first time ever just to be cool). She ran all the way home to "tell dad", well, the panic i felt knowing the wooden spoon was goin to make an appearance (how terrifying was that cooking implement :p) that it was years later before i dared say it again! I lied to him and said "nope i never said it" and felt sooo guilty for gettin my sister in trouble! The sight of the wooden spoon scared the bejaysus outta me..and it was probably only ever used once!:D

ah the wooden spoon !

do people still threaten kids with that anymore? i too was a survior of that and for the life of me i cant remember getting a whack of it either :)

it must be the preserve of irish mammies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Scumbag:

Horrible knackery friends.
    Horrible knackery family.
    Horrible skanky women.
    Horrible diet.
    Horrible dress sense.
    Horrible taste in music.
    Horrible ratty 'tache.
    Horrible problem of filling your day without working.
    Horrible diseased drug addiction.
    Horribly yet violent exchanges with random people to relieve them of their goods.
    Horrible trips to the Joy to be bummed senseless.
    Horribly embarrassing walk to the dole office.

Me:

Cushy job.
    Indoors.
    Well paid.

No contest really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Clearly, wealthy children are not taught grammar.

Fixed your grammar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

As said above Morals, plus I actually care about society and other people.

I'd say this is down to a good education and the fact that my parents didn't let me hang out on the street and taught me right from wrong. When I was a teenager we hung around in each others houses. Do people not do this anymore?

Plus, would being a scumbag not be hard work? All that tracksuit wearing and thinking of ways to be cool and wreck other people's lives. I'd rather be warm inside watching tv thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

DadaKopf wrote: »
    Knackers are usually born underweight. Doctors say it causes mentalism and acting like a scumbag.

Mentalism...
    Laughed my ****ing ar$e off.
    Thank you good sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

Upbringing. Upbringing. Upbringing.

Good parents who made sure I went to school, gave me grief when I got in trouble and respected me enough to allow me some freedoms when I got old enough.

Also I'm smashingly good-looking! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

upbringing

my parents speak properly, sent me to a good school and didn't let me hang out on the street

and they MADE me have respect for adults

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn!

Watching Murder she wrote and other crap on daytime TV.

Would make anyone angry enough to want to go out:
    • rob and beat a granny,
    • shoplift
    • have 12 kids with anything that puts out
    • a few tinnys
    • followed by a joyride.
    or am i generalising :confused:

I was never attracted to dressing in sports wear and hanging around street corners glaring at people. It just didn't seem a worthwhile way to spend my time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Why am I not a scumbag? I suppose I was raised correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭echter

because skangers have cooties.

echter wrote: »
    because skangers have cooties.

Who'd they steal them from?

Ireland's gone to the dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,264 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

they are??:eek:

i wasnt invited:mad:

Greyhound racing is fun:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

because I've an above avg iq? and parents that weren't morons?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

A combination of genetics, upbringing and peer group when young. Or put another way, "you can't beat breeding", "monkey see, monkey do" and "teenagers are idiots".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Because my accent is all wrong (or so I've been told).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Personal choice - too much is made of people's upbringing and background. At the end of the day if somebody chooses to knife somebody it's nothing to do with where they came from, how many parents they had etc. It's the individual who is at fault. Blaming society is a copout

• Closed Accounts Posts: 605 ✭✭✭ghouldaddy07

I think its due to my dad and his sister resisiting the temptation of inbreeding and Dublin city council welfare benifits

Im proud of the two of them.

Also the mother was a force of nature when ever I got into trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

ShagNastii wrote: »
    the amount of "I Just got robbed!, Spit at by a male, My Car Broke in ****e" Threads

Number. Number. NUMBER!

Amount, less, little, much with a singular noun.
    Number, fewer, few, many with a plural.

</RANT>

Sorry, I'm just having a really bad day. No offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Dublin city council welfare benifits

Expand on this please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

The opportunity never presented itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I'd say because of my parents.

I mean I used to hang around with people who are total scum now when I was younger.

I really don't get how they turned out to be total knackers when I'm fairly normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

My parents mainly. The fact that I spent a lot of my childhood before the age of 10 moving location (following my dad's promotions) helped me in my early years, but in my teens, I knew a lot of my parents friends and was always paranoid about anything I did for fear of it getting back to my parents (which it occasionally did)