should this be re-named the dublin after hours..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭JavaBear

AH = Humor + Funny pictures + Less Modding

The above should be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

We should all gang up on Sligo instead for inflicting Westlife and Aine Chambers on us. It's time we made them earn their keep by renting the county out to the North Koreans for nuclear testing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

nesf wrote: »
    Why fight amongst ourselves brother. We should unite and attack that least maligned of cities, Galway..

You're right! For too long has Galway got away by being quiet and saying nothing in the hope that the rest of the country will ignore it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

JavaBear wrote: »

The above should be true

Start a new thread!! Everyone loves contributing to threads giving out about AH in AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Collie D wrote: »
    Agreed, never quite saw the appeal of Galway. Too many crusties and sex offenders for my liking.
    Whatever story suits to keep the sprawl on the East coast ;) What's the name of that giant car park everyone pays to use up there? M50 isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Sherifu wrote: »
    Whatever story suits to keep the sprawl on the East coast ;) What's the name of that giant car park everyone pays to use up there? M50 isn't it?

What is it with Galway people and roads? Didn't the ****e Doctors sing about one?

Don't worry, once the Poles have gone home we'll start hiring culchies to build them again. There might be a problem with the language barrier at first but I'm sure you'll be fine

I didn't say anything about a road, it's a big car park yee have... Everyone sits in their cars for 4 hours everyday and pays Bertie for it cause he needs a dig out from his mates ;)

I didn't say anything about a road, it's a big car park yee have... Everyone sits in their cars in it for 4 hours everyday and pays Bertie for it cause he needs a dig out from his mates ;)

Everyone? The whole city? New one on me.

Anyway, leave the roads out of this. What have the roads done. Post reported :rolleyes:

Post reported :rolleyes:
    So much for ignoring the thread. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

JavaBear wrote: »

The above should be true
    Actually, AH requires more moderation than any other forum.

DUCY?

So much for ignoring the thread. :D

Once the Galwegians got involved there was no keeping me out of it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

rb_ie wrote: »

PI needs more tbh.

Once the Galwegians got involved there was no keeping me out of it ;)
    You seem to have issues with Galway alright. Tell me more about the sex offenders comment you made...

Ah, nothing concrete. Just something that I noticed from reading newspaper in the morning. Could be way off the mark but it just seems that Galway has a disproportionate level of court cases involving sex offences. Must point out that I'm not stating this as fact as I have no figures but that's just what I noticed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

i think you'll find that's mostly dublin men getting the train to galway to rape something that isn't wearing pyjamas and hasn't got a baby hanging from one of it's huge hoopy earings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Mordeth, you/the admins have just ruined After hours. Your name is so long that the columns are all messed up on the first page. I demand justice!

i think you'll find that's mostly dublin men getting the train to galway to rape something that isn't wearing pyjamas and hasn't got a baby hanging from one of it's huge hoopy earings.
    Very interesting theory.

Off Topic - That's your best nick yet. LMAO

I notice they bypass Carlow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 209 ✭✭JavaBear

DUCY?

ICY

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,554 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

well yes, on your way from dublin to galway you would tend to bypass carlow.

My point was that Carlow is closer to Dublin than Galway (hence the bad odour we get when the wind is blowing the wrong way) so it would in effect be easier to go there but obviously nothing too appealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Hagar wrote: »
    Bleedin' culchies taking our internetz.

/edit
    1916 Rising - Did only Dublin Rise? Thread started in History & Heritage
    Ah, sure we don't have much to worry about.

They can only get one person on at a time on the county computer so at worst we're facing 31 users having a tantrum.
    LOL! :p

Mind you it was an interesting discussion for a while, unfortunately is currently being flamed by a dyed-in-the-wool proto-retro-nationalist of some sort! :rolleyes:
    Hagar wrote: »
    I resemble that remark!!!
    In my own defence what seemed at the time to be a good bit of craic turned into a separate topic in it's own right. So I took my topic and buggered off. My apologies if I spoiled the discussion.
    WHAT????!!!!!!!

Hagar, you must have been half asleep typing that ... I wasn't talking about this thread or you ... I was referring to the thread you started in H&H as interesting, and you weren't the "dyed-in-the-wool proto-retro-nationalist" I was referring to.

Actually, I don't think that would be at all a fair description of you from what I've seen. Nor would I have described this thread as "interesting" ... light-hearted and silly and harmless, perhaps, but interesting would have been a bit OTT! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

flanum wrote: »
    are you from donegal?

You dont see the american banner underneath my post?

Wild.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

WHAT????!!!!!!!

Hagar, you must have been half asleep typing that ... I wasn't talking about this thread or you ... I was referring to the thread you started in H&H as interesting, and you weren't the "dyed-in-the-wool proto-retro-nationalist" I was referring to.

Actually, I don't think that would be at all a fair description of you from what I've seen. Nor would I have described this thread as "interesting" ... light-hearted and silly and harmless, perhaps, but interesting would have been a bit OTT! :D
    Half asleep - possibly:)
    Hungover - definitely:D

Carry on...

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Ah, leave him alone... if a little banter is going to annoy you like that, you're in the wrong forum!
    +11
    Slow coach wrote: »
    If that's all you see in Dublin then you are a blind man, my dear biko.

And everyone loves their own city, don't they?

But only Dubs get castigated for it.
    Well, in fairness, sometimes 'tis impossible to resist winding ye up given the comments some people come out with! And I quite enjoy going into wellie-wearing sheep-shagging persona, going deadpan and winding like hell ... can be good craic! :D

But in all honesty, I have no problem whatsoever with threads in AH about bits of Trinity falling into Pearse Street, or things which might be of general interest ... the only ones which make me roll my eyes are the "where would I get a cheap pair of jeans in town?" ones, which don't fit in AH really anyway, regardless of the "in town" bit. And there seem to be fewer of those these days, or else the mods are just expunging them faster.

Biko can go a bit OTT on it tbh, but sure we all have our own little idiosyncracies!
    nesf wrote: »
    Why fight amongst ourselves brother. We should unite and attack that least maligned of cities, Galway..
    Ah now, Cark bai, no need for that ... :p
    Agreed, never quite saw the appeal of Galway. Too many crusties and sex offenders for my liking.
    Wha'?! Crusties, maybe, but ...??? :confused: :eek: :rolleyes:
    Ah, nothing concrete. Just something that I noticed from reading newspaper in the morning. Could be way off the mark but it just seems that Galway has a disproportionate level of court cases involving sex offences. Must point out that I'm not stating this as fact as I have no figures but that's just what I noticed.
    In all seriousness, no ... must just be a blip in the stats.

[QUOTE=randylonghorn;55291502 In all seriousness, no ... must just be a blip in the stats.[/QUOTE]

As I said it might be just something I imagined, wouldn't mind seeing some figures now but I'm the lazy type who doesn't like looking stuff up but it is something that's struck me before when readin about court cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Bambi wrote: »
    ie: "So, I was walking down oconnell street there last night and I saw a great big bleedin flying saucer land"

cue biko throwing a mickey fit, "is dat oconnell street in glengooley BAI???"

Or de culchies hate to admit that unless otherwise stated we can safely assume that we're talking about dublin
    Yep, like people getting upset over the word "town". I hear "town" used as slang for dublin by many people from dublin or not. Most people I have met from outside dublin would call their own town or city "the town" or "the city", but many will call dublin "town", i.e. "I am going up to town this weekend, but going drinking in the town tonight."

I don't see what is wrong with being prejudiced, it is not a dirty word. If I see people in a church here I will presume most are catholics, big deal. If I am on international or US forums I will presume everybody thinks I am american, unless I state it, on UK forums they will presume I am in the UK. Big deal, doesnt bother me, it makes sense that they do. I would be more pissed off if everybody was overly PC and over-sensitive all the time. If I was living out of dublin and looking for something I would state it, seems some idiots are lying in wait to snap at people like pedants, all they are doing is wasting their own time.

The boy up in Dublin for a weekend who'll sit in a pub during Dublin game cheering on very loudly whoever the opposition is without having a breeze what's going on (at one point forgetting what county ist was he was cheering on). Thinking to himself how great am I surrounded by all these Jacks and cheering on Armagh/Kerry/whoever when in actuality he is just embarrassing himself and his obviously mortified quieter friend
    I know a guy like that, but born in dublin, raised in dublin, lived in dublin all his life, yet claims to despise dublin and supports every other team just like that (both parents are from outside dublin but lived here all his life). He also uses phrases used normally to slag people outside dublin, to slag people from dublin, very odd, people who do not know him well haven't got a clue what is going on. It would be like a white redneck going into a local hick bar and calling all the local rednecks n*****s.

Has there ever been a poll to see how many boards members are living in or from dublin?

rubadub wrote: »
    If I am on international or US forums I will presume everybody thinks I am american, unless I state it, on UK forums they will presume I am in the UK.
    And on an Irish forum, people will probably assume you're Irish ... I agree entirely!! ;)

:p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 m1do

sorry its my first time on this site does any one know what the o bar is like supposed to be going to a 30th there on friday:confused: