The Dermot Morgan Appreciation Thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Estella

Aldebaran wrote: »
    Ted exposing the scam involving Chris the Sheep

F*ckin' Hell!

Ahh, thats a classic alright, at 1.17

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anzn5u--AZ4

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

or the one in the crypt where Fr. Jack dies, Ted gives the big emotional poem only to be told "shut the feck up"!

i cried laughing for a long time after that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,159 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Ruu wrote: »
    Golden cleric award with the big speech at the end. :)

:D "And now we move on to liars....."

This is a classic too....
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aHh3ykPQEl4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

this thread alone is making me lol. "and now we move on to liars" - classic indeed. Also, "Father, Pat was wondering if he could put his massive tool in my box".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I tell you what, I'll make the tea and you take off your bra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

I can't believe that no one has mentioned the episode with Brendan Grace, where Jack gets sent to a home, or the episode where they give their vices, (smokes, drink and rollerblading) up for lent.

Very funny guy. Sadly missed.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Sherifu wrote: »
    There's a Ted one here

I could read that thread over and over

Dougal: The aul rollerblading would be my personal vice

Dougal's Advent Calendar:

Ted: What did you think it would be yesterday Dougal - oh yes, Ruud Gullit sitting on a shed

Ted: What do you think will be on the Advent Calendar tommorow, Father Jack?
    Jack: A pair of Women's Knickers!
    Ted: Well you never know..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Holy hell that was 10 years ago?

Scary.

He was a incredible funny man, the kind of rare breed of comedian who managed to be very clever, very funny and very caring all at the same time.

Miss his work immensely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

My favourite Ted Crilly moment was in the Eurovision episode when himself and Dougal are getting down to penning the song: I laugh hysterically every bleedin' time:D:D...
    Dougal: Ready Ted? Let's do it!

Ted: Dougal, don't take it so seriously, it's just a bit of fun.

I]Scene jumps forward to some time later. Room is filled with smoke and there is a cigarette hanging out of a stressed out Ted's mouth[/I

Ted: Just play the ****ing note!

Dougal: The first one?

Ted: No not the ****ing first one! The ****ing first one's already ****ing down! Just play the ****ing note you were ****ing playing earlier! I've been playing the ****ing first one! We have the ****ing first one!

Dougal: So i'll just...

Ted: Just play the ****ing note you where ****ing playing there! ****ing what you where just ****ing doing! Play the ****ing note!

A little known fact from that episode is that Steve Coogan was intended to play the eurovision presenter Fred Rickwood, but couldn't make it so Jon Kenny stepped in.
    ...as much as I love Steve Coogan I don't think anyone could have done as great a job as Jon Kenny in that role:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

The episode with the stolen whistle was one of my favourites. Such a funny, unreplacable guy.

Would never have thought it was 10 years though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭bantee

The one where they went on holidays in the caravan was one of my favourites.
    Graham Norton and and his buddies dancing around in the caravan was gas altogether!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

bantee wrote: »
    Graham Norton and and his buddies dancing around in the caravan was gas altogether!

*naked chap bursts tires with broken bottle*
    Ah I can see your impressing no one with that kind of attitude! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

"I won't be happy until the last rabbit round here is the one inside your head, working the controls!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

bantee wrote: »

That was legend...Norton in the caves was classic too....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭Brendygg

I've no willy.

What a legend of a man, up their with the best. Father Ted classic comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

+1. Best Irish comedian ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭gucci

Xavi6 wrote: »
    :D "And now we move on to liars....."

This is a classic too....
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aHh3ykPQEl4

a really contrary german guy used to work with me, and he left and before he left he gave me a stand up speech on how disgusted he was with every layer of the company, top to bottom, the other guys in my office weren't quite grasping what it was like until i quoted ted and his "and now on to be-grudgers!" and that is quoted every time we mention lars' name since!!

I personally love the speech he makes when he thinks he is framed for stealing the whistle, and ted makes up a big elaborate story about a deaf and dumb girl wanting to train a horse....how she could only communicate by wriggling her eye-brows, once for yes and twice for no!!!

I dont know if it was written for him or not, but it was so off the wall that only he could deliver it!

"Hello, is that the Yin dynasty? Family, sorry, the Yin family."

"The Chinese. A great bunch of lads!"

"COME ON DIVORCE REFERENDUM!"

"I'm not a fascist. I'm a priest. Fascists dress up in black and tell people what to do. Whereas priests......More drink!"

Just so many moments!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

Many moons ago, I worked for a big American company in Limerick and we had just been awarded a quality accreditation. Seeing as how getting the bloody thing required a big input from everyone in the place, the management rewarded us with a big dinner dance all for free and the cabaret was none other than Dermot Morgan.
    I thought he was awesome. A complete and utter genius at stand up

But he following Monday, some of the moaning minnies in the place were giving out about how he was so scandalous and blasphemous and blahdy blahdy blah.
    That made me laugh all the more. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 TheEx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭alanceltic

Ah cmon lads, nobody has mentioned the Nazi scene where he is standing at the window doing "hail hitler" arm waving movements.

At the time it was oh so funny but its only after his death did people (me included) actually appreciate how damn funny he was, a legend and im sure he if he was around today he would be pushing the envelope even further, he was way ahead of the pack in every area.

Ted, god bless your cotton socks for all them belly laughs

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Scratch Saturday was my childhood. Never missed it if I could.

It was Gift Grub of my generation.

Momma mia, what a beautiful team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

I love the massive bull**** story he gives to the nuns when he wants to skip mass and be with the author.

"now Jim, you never told me you were dying"
    "well I had a little cold a while back..."
    "Ted said you were dying!"
    "oh... well I was just talking to Dr. Synitt, he said you might be dying, but he wasn't quite sure"
    "I see, well I better give him a call"
    "I wouldn't go calling him Jim"
    "and why not?"
    "he... he's gone deaf"
    "deaf? really? oh wait there he is DR. SYNITT, DR... he heard that alright, Ted"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

The Bollox wrote: »
    I love the massive bull**** story he gives to the nuns when he wants to skip mass and be with the author.

"now Jim, you never told me you were dying"
    "well I had a little cold a while back..."
    "Ted said you were dying!"
    "oh... well I was just talking to Dr. Synitt, he said you might be dying, but he wasn't quite sure"
    "I see, well I better give him a call"
    "I wouldn't go calling him Jim"
    "and why not?"
    "he... he's gone deaf"
    "deaf? really? oh wait there he is DR. SYNITT, DR... he heard that alright, Ted"

Oh wait, I was thinking of two completely different people!

Every line in that show makes me laugh, sometimes the ones that aren't particularly funny just get me. If I could only watch one TV show for the rest of my life... it'd be Ted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

another line I love is when they get out of the new car and find the dent

"maybe it's from when you hit yer man on the bike"
    "ssssh! don't say that to ANYONE, Dougal, anyway he was alright, I saw him getting up"

I love that because they didn't pause for the canned laughter, it was hilarious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭eoghan h

Dougal: "but Ted, people listen to you in your sermon"

Ted: "no Dougal, I mean people I respect"

and also Fr. Tod Umpcious

When Ted is on a high after a good mass (the whole Father Buzz Cagney/goin to America thing) -

"I could convert gays!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭2Scoops

You have to give most of the credit for Father Ted to the writers rather than the actors, IMO.

2Scoops wrote: »
    You have to give most of the credit for Father Ted to the writers rather than the actors, IMO.

It was all about the delivery though. Dermot Morgan's portrayal of Ted was outstanding and I doubt it could have been bettered.