Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Dermot Morgan Appreciation Thread.

• 28-02-2008 10:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭

10 years ago today, Dermot Morgan died.... (Feb 28th 1998)

In his short 45 years, he left a legacy that most would be proud of, and no doubt he was taken from us before his time.

What are your favourite Dermot Morgan moments? From Father Trendy, to Scrap Saturday, to Father Ted.... post your memories here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Eurovision episode ftw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I won't pick out a moment - what was important was that he existed! He ended up being a valuable conduit for young talent.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

The money was just resting in is account

Listen ti ian dempsey this morn had a great piece on him

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

The episode in the lingerie store will forever be one of my favourite comedy moments. Comedy at its best.
    First priest: (speaking into intercom, boring voice) Ladies and gentlemen, could you please bring your purchases to the checkout as the store is about to close. Hurry up. Come on, hurry up, will ye...

(customers begin to walk towards the gathered priests)

Father Ted: (grabbing the microphone) Not that way, for feck's sake, the other way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Perfume, it's the ideal woman present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

These cows are small, but the ones out there are far away...

So many great moments. Such a talented guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

The episode with Dougal on the milk float, comedy gold.
    The priests are trying to come up with ideas when one says:

"Is there anything to be said for another mass?" :D

Great guy, great program. The Pat Mustard episode FTW. Some of the lads used to say that Pat Mustard was the guy that played Georgie Burgess in the Snapper. Is that true(Would make it all the funnier)!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

My favourite DERMOT moment (not Father Ted) is his facial expression when Dougal bursts the crisps all over his head.

"How do ya open these Ted?"

< Bang! >

Always makes me laugh! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

"Clit Power? What does that mean? I knew a Father Clint Power, maybe she's having a go at him".

Absolute genius. Everything he touched was gold. Father Ted is the greatest show ever bar none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Legend in every way, so much of he's talent was wasted here in Ireland and cut short on the international stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,764 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

"But, of course... they ALL have lovely bottoms...!"

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭beerbaron

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

He was great. The show, Father Ted, was fantastic. It worked so well because none of the characters, dougle, jack, mrs.doyle, would be that funny by themselves. It was Dermot that cemented the whole thing together.

"These are FAKE hands :eek:! "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

KaG1888 wrote: »
    Great guy, great program. The Pat Mustard episode FTW. Some of the lads used to say that Pat Mustard was the guy that played Georgie Burgess in the Snapper. Is that true(Would make it all the funnier)!?

Its true, Pat Laffan is his name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

The Father Stone episode :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

KaG1888 wrote: »
    It is indeed, Pat Laffan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

tribulus wrote: »
    The Father Stone episode :).

I nearly choked laughing at the bathroom scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

10 years wow...legend...the best bit is when he's trying to tap out the dents in the cortina with the hammer....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I couldn't believe it when I heard it was 10 years. I would've said 5 at most. Biggest shame about him dying so young was that he finally getting the International recognition that he deserved. Pity he didn't get to enjoy it longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Father Ted rules! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

"if God was going to give Ireland an enema, he'd feed the tube into Ardee".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Aldebaran

Ted exposing the scam involving Chris the Sheep

F*ckin' Hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Req. that Dermot Morgan be submitted into "Legends of boards"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Asbad wrote: »
    Req. that Dermot Morgan be submitted into "Legends of boards"
    There's a Ted one here, don't see any on Dermot Morgan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Aldebaran wrote: »

F*ckin' Hell!

Brilliant episode. Lots of great moments, with a shadow of a doubt one of the finest entertainers I've seen.

Golden cleric award with the big speech at the end. :)

The great thing about it was there was not one bad episode imo. Thats shocking that Pat Mustard is the same fella. Dirty old man :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

My cousin works in the music industry and he knew that fella from the Bee Gees (the dead one). It turns out that the Bee Gee fella was a huge father ted fan. My cousin couldn't believe it until he overheard him saying "go on, go on, go on, go on!" to somebody that was refusing a drink at a bar. So they end up having a big conversation about Father Ted and my cousin told him that he would get a script for one of the episodes for him. However the Bee Gee fella kicked the bucket before he could give him the script. However he did give it to his family who supposedly put it into his coffin because it was his favourite tv show. Theres one for ya!

RonMexico wrote: »
    My cousin works in the music industry and he knew that fella from the Bee Gees (the dead one). It turns out that the Bee Gee fella was a huge father ted fan. My cousin couldn't believe it until he overheard him saying "go on, go on, go on, go on!" to somebody that was refusing a drink at a bar. So they end up having a big conversation about Father Ted and my cousin told him that he would get a script for one of the episodes for him. However the Bee Gee fella kicked the bucket before he could give him the script. However he did give it to his family who supposedly put it into his coffin because it was his favourite tv show. Theres one for ya!

that's mad Ted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Estella

Aldebaran wrote: »

F*ckin' Hell!

Ahh, thats a classic alright, at 1.17

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anzn5u--AZ4

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

or the one in the crypt where Fr. Jack dies, Ted gives the big emotional poem only to be told "shut the feck up"!

i cried laughing for a long time after that...

Ruu wrote: »
    Golden cleric award with the big speech at the end. :)

:D "And now we move on to liars....."

This is a classic too....
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aHh3ykPQEl4

this thread alone is making me lol. "and now we move on to liars" - classic indeed. Also, "Father, Pat was wondering if he could put his massive tool in my box".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

I tell you what, I'll make the tea and you take off your bra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

I can't believe that no one has mentioned the episode with Brendan Grace, where Jack gets sent to a home, or the episode where they give their vices, (smokes, drink and rollerblading) up for lent.

Very funny guy. Sadly missed.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

Sherifu wrote: »
    There's a Ted one here

I could read that thread over and over

Dougal: The aul rollerblading would be my personal vice

Dougal's Advent Calendar:

Ted: What did you think it would be yesterday Dougal - oh yes, Ruud Gullit sitting on a shed

Ted: What do you think will be on the Advent Calendar tommorow, Father Jack?
    Jack: A pair of Women's Knickers!
    Ted: Well you never know..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Holy hell that was 10 years ago?

Scary.

He was a incredible funny man, the kind of rare breed of comedian who managed to be very clever, very funny and very caring all at the same time.

Miss his work immensely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

My favourite Ted Crilly moment was in the Eurovision episode when himself and Dougal are getting down to penning the song: I laugh hysterically every bleedin' time:D:D...
    Dougal: Ready Ted? Let's do it!

Ted: Dougal, don't take it so seriously, it's just a bit of fun.

I]Scene jumps forward to some time later. Room is filled with smoke and there is a cigarette hanging out of a stressed out Ted's mouth[/I

Ted: Just play the ****ing note!

Dougal: The first one?

Ted: No not the ****ing first one! The ****ing first one's already ****ing down! Just play the ****ing note you were ****ing playing earlier! I've been playing the ****ing first one! We have the ****ing first one!

Dougal: So i'll just...

Ted: Just play the ****ing note you where ****ing playing there! ****ing what you where just ****ing doing! Play the ****ing note!

A little known fact from that episode is that Steve Coogan was intended to play the eurovision presenter Fred Rickwood, but couldn't make it so Jon Kenny stepped in.
    ...as much as I love Steve Coogan I don't think anyone could have done as great a job as Jon Kenny in that role:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

The episode with the stolen whistle was one of my favourites. Such a funny, unreplacable guy.

Would never have thought it was 10 years though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭bantee

The one where they went on holidays in the caravan was one of my favourites.
    Graham Norton and and his buddies dancing around in the caravan was gas altogether!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

bantee wrote: »
    Graham Norton and and his buddies dancing around in the caravan was gas altogether!

*naked chap bursts tires with broken bottle*
    Ah I can see your impressing no one with that kind of attitude! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

"I won't be happy until the last rabbit round here is the one inside your head, working the controls!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

bantee wrote: »

That was legend...Norton in the caves was classic too....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 409 ✭✭Brendygg

I've no willy.

What a legend of a man, up their with the best. Father Ted classic comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

+1. Best Irish comedian ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

Xavi6 wrote: »
    :D "And now we move on to liars....."

This is a classic too....
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aHh3ykPQEl4

a really contrary german guy used to work with me, and he left and before he left he gave me a stand up speech on how disgusted he was with every layer of the company, top to bottom, the other guys in my office weren't quite grasping what it was like until i quoted ted and his "and now on to be-grudgers!" and that is quoted every time we mention lars' name since!!

I personally love the speech he makes when he thinks he is framed for stealing the whistle, and ted makes up a big elaborate story about a deaf and dumb girl wanting to train a horse....how she could only communicate by wriggling her eye-brows, once for yes and twice for no!!!

I dont know if it was written for him or not, but it was so off the wall that only he could deliver it!

"Hello, is that the Yin dynasty? Family, sorry, the Yin family."

"The Chinese. A great bunch of lads!"

"COME ON DIVORCE REFERENDUM!"

"I'm not a fascist. I'm a priest. Fascists dress up in black and tell people what to do. Whereas priests......More drink!"

Just so many moments!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

Many moons ago, I worked for a big American company in Limerick and we had just been awarded a quality accreditation. Seeing as how getting the bloody thing required a big input from everyone in the place, the management rewarded us with a big dinner dance all for free and the cabaret was none other than Dermot Morgan.
    I thought he was awesome. A complete and utter genius at stand up

But he following Monday, some of the moaning minnies in the place were giving out about how he was so scandalous and blasphemous and blahdy blahdy blah.
    That made me laugh all the more. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 TheEx