the two Polish guy's that got stabbed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭ashisback

latchyco wrote: »
    Listening to the Liveline programme on radio over the last week it is saddening to hear about the two murders of the polish boys and also other people tales of murder burglary, and assaults which seems to be on the increase. As one man who's daughters boyfriend was murdered in horrific circumstances pointed out ' the judges who pass out these tap on the hand sentences are living in their ivory tours and still far removed from the reality which the familys of these victims of very serious crimes are left to deal with ' .

The man went on to say that it was his and the victims family who got the life sentence and not the killers .Thousends /millions more like him up and down the country and in the uk ( like the familys who saw 3 life sentences handed down in the uk this week ) will agree with this man .

Bertie Ahearn said today in a radio interview in poland '' this was a terrible attack on two hardworking polish men but thankfully a rare occurence in ireland '' were is he at ?

People are being burgled and molested in their homes and attacked on the streets every day of the week in ireland .

where the hell does bertie get off its a rare occurence does he even read the papers for god sake my boyfriend was beaten up badly and he know wh did it he nearly died and the person who did it didnt even go to jail for it just was told not to do it again what the hells wrong with ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Coffea

I'm also horrified by what has happened and I'm utterly ashamed to be Irish.

I don't think Irish society is going to change very much in the next few years. There will always be scumbags and parents who can't control their kids. There's no sign that drink or drug-related violence is going to disappear.

We need a government that's tough on crime to tackle these problems. We need early intervention when it comes to juvenile crime and strong crime-prevention measures.

Of course, our criminals are treated in a ridiculously lax way but we will still re-elect the same government over and over again...

they should name the 16th year old and shame hes family

i heard that a 17 year old is in for questioning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

Like most other people posting here I'm disgusted by what's happened but not in anyway surprised.

The judicial system in this country needs a radical overhaul or it's going to get worse.

People are quick to blame the Gardai but it's the judges fault for the shamefully lax sentencing.

it will get worse and more and more people will be killed i don't think anyone would blame polish people if they would go back to Poland i know some polish who are very scared about what happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

ashisback wrote: »
    where the hell does bertie get off its a rare occurence does he even read the papers for god sake my boyfriend was beaten up badly and he know wh did it he nearly died and the person who did it didnt even go to jail for it just was told not to do it again what the hells wrong with ireland

Yes , your expierence is like so many thousends of others. The uk and ireland seem to be going (or already gone ) down the tube as far as punishment fitting the crime is concerned .Radical changes throughout society in general must happen .How many times have we heard wanne be poiliticians say '' we will be tough on crime if elected '' words words words .

i just got the news paper there and it teenager high fived hes friend just after the killing and then handed himself in to the garda with hes father and solicitor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,990 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Now hopefully this fecking government wakes up. Life sentences need to be LIFE sentences, no matter how old the little scumbag is. Any human being who feels the need to stab someone with a screwdriver after something so minor should rot in a prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

If they get convicted and sentanced to life, will the two setances run concurently? WIll that mean that there out in 12 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭heathersonline

gazzer wrote: »

The brother of one of the guys who was arrested (19 year old one) was on Adrian Kennedy the other night saying even though his brother didnt kill the guys and even though they both know who did it they will not 'rat' on him cos thats not how you do things out there. FCKWITS..

Someone needs to go down there, arrest this little b*llix and charge him with obstruction. Find some loophole that have him rotting with the other scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!

:(
    omg, those americans are so stupid being allowed to carry guns. I think we can all be incredibly grateful those two murdered poles weren't allowed carry weapons to defend themselves, and thank jesus we live in a free country.

freedom!

Mordy, of all the threads you could troll, this is the worst.....GTFO a bit more. Were there humour in you trolling, I could see a side to it, but this? Wtf?
    Cop on, grow up.

Shít, Ireland's on the ropes in some way's. It's in living memory where the event's of the last few years were unthinkable. I now live in an athoritarian society (Korea) and wouldn't trade the Irish way of dealing with things in a million years for what they got here, but none the less, in regards to the situation within Ireland, we do need to become more effective in dealing with our social and legal problems. The justice system is ****ed for want of greedy ****in solicitors and judges removed from reality. More importantly we still have to reconsiliate how an ultra wealthy society deals with poverty.

There will always be scumbags, just how do we make sure it's a decreasing number?
    Only rational actions will turn the tide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Jackus

A vigil is being organised for 6.30pm on Saturday evening by members of the local community in Drimnagh, exactly a week after the attacks.

and in polish language:
    29 lutego o godzinie 18:30 z inicjatywy lokalnej społeczności oraz tutejszej parafii odbędzie się czuwanie na ulicy, na której doszło do tragedii.

(but 29 lutego means 29 february - it's Friday! Which news is wrong?)

Anyway everybody is very welcome.
    Stand against violence!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

If I was the judge and jury of the little fcuking scumbag bastard, I'd torture him using my patented "Sac-masher" device.

It's really quite a simple idea. All you need is some rope, a hurley/baseball bat, and some type of frame/scaffold to tie the scumbag to. Naked. Preferably in the city centre.

Then ready your hurley, and beat the absolute shit out of his balls until there is nothing left of them.

This can also be used for rapists and child molesters/priests.

Please refer to the following diagram for further information on how the device works.

scumsac.jpg

Hi all.
    Me and my girlfriend are poles. She was afraid of leaving home and go to work today. Sometimes we think to go back to our country, and I'm sure that many Poles want go back to Poland after this incident. But no! We can't show that we are afraid.
    Let's all , Irish, Polish, Nigerian, Chinese and others fight against violence.
    There is info about vigil in murder place in Drimnagh
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055245746&highlight=vigil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Not naming the suspects because of their age is ludicrous.

As is trying to shift the blame onto the parents.

If a 16 year old stabs somebody then the 16 year old is reponsible. Nobody else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

it's a very sad tale indeed.
    these workers come to ireland to work and have a better life than they have back home. They work so hard, contribute greatly to our economy and make Ireland a better place for everyone.
    The scumbags who murdered these guys offer nothing to Ireland. They bring nothing positive to the world in their lives.

I regularly get annoyed by sensationalist stories and public outcries for tough justice. In this case, I think it is appropriate and the courts should nail the culprits to the full extent of the law. The media should name and shame the families, and there should be a clear message sent out that these horrible people (the scumbags) are not wanted in this country. And that we value the thousands of hardworking immigrants that choose to live here for everyone's benefit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I'm too far away to attend, i hope there's a a good turn out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Ive been closely following this story also and it has really saddened and angered me. There is no punishment too harsh for these scumbag thugs. They knew exactly what they were doing and they really should be put away for the rest of their lives. Not going to happen unfortunately though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

i do hope as many irish people go to this, as a statement that we have more of an affinity for innocent hardworking poles than we do for scumbag thuggery.

There is kind of tradition in Poland - sometimes after brutal murders we organize "March Against Violence". (The biggest was after attack on Pope John Paul II)

I saw on polish forums that few people want to do something like this in Dublin - stand together with not only Poles but all nationalities (It's not only polish tragedy) But i don't think is possible because it would cause a traffic chaos....

Rest In Peace!
    Spoczywajcie w Pokoju!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,240 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

I can not fathom what madness drove them to this evil. I mean... brutally slaughtering two people or even being complicit in their murders. How could you live with that?

It would be satisfying if these monsters awoke every morning in their cells screaming in torment for their crimes. But you would imagine that anyone willing to stab someone in the head or cheer the monster on wouldn't be troubled by such a thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 180 ✭✭raemie21

I bet if someone went through the boy's file, high probability he's from a complex family background, learning difficulties/low IQ, behaviour, dropped out of school after sixth class, low self esteem, nothing to do all day/night, no support.....etc.
    Not defending him but fundamentally he probably should have been picked up by his parents/school/ the system years ago and wasn't - then this is what can happen. For juvenile defenders, there's a fairly typical pattern of events that leads kids to end up like that. Obviously they should be able to maintain a sense of right/wrong (and this is a murder case) but we are all born into our families and general background & I'd imagine it can be hard to drag yourself out of it & change, and some people can get a really crap deal.

I remember reading an article a while ago about a group of teens in Limerick who had been refused secondary school placements and five years after being refused, most of them were either dead or in prison.

And even if we take the point about his parents that a lot of people have raised here, isn't that a bit late now? People don't become 'bad parents' overnight. Where were the social supports/services when this kid was 6/7years old? And for his parents at this time? I'm not saying necessarily that this could have been avoided & getting on my high horse, but this is what the lack of appropriate child mental health services in Ireland means. This kid probably has a long history of emotional/behavioural difficulties & unfortunately it's taken the murder of two innocent men to bring it to the forefront.

I suppose what I'm trying to say if that if you call this boy a 'scumbag' and all that, and say that he's got an evil mind or whatever, then what the hell did we/our services do to help before now? Nothing. Just waited for it to happen and sure throw him into prison where he'll surely blossom.

I've just read about Bertie extending his condolences to the families of the Polish murder victims.

Bertie's condolences won't stop more lives being lost in similar circumstances. The Government needs to come down heavy on these young thugs.

I really don't understand why The Opposition is not tearing the Government and the Minister for Justice to shreds over the criminal justice system and the way young delinquents are turning from young disruptive kids, to murderous teenagers without any intervention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 860 ✭✭✭Muff_Daddy

5starpool wrote: »
    I am not usually an eye for an eye type, but pricks like these are the reason that there are arguments in favour of capital punishment (which I am generally against)

I have to pull you up on this. It's not what the little scumbags do that make me favour capital punishment, it's the sentencing (or lack thereof!), and obvious lack of deterrant in ths country that have turned me pro Death Penalty. I feel most supporters of Capital Punishment feel the same.

I don't know about you, but it turns my stomach that these poor excuses for humans in Drimnagh, if charged, may be let out in their twenties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,215 ✭✭✭FX Meister

mike65 wrote: »
    I love the reactions from the locals - "a its a lovely area no trouble round here its terrible that this has happened" etc. How many of these locals would stand up and be counted I wonder?

Mike.

I agree

raemie21 wrote: »
    I'm not saying necessarily that this could have been avoided & getting on my high horse, but this is what the lack of appropriate child mental health services in Ireland means. This kid probably has a long history of emotional/behavioural difficulties & unfortunately it's taken the murder of two innocent men to bring it to the forefront.

I agree with what you're saying. From what I hear, there are virtually no mental health services to deal with these emotional/behavioural difficulties at an early stage. Politicians can all too easily grab headlines by offering their condolences but taking preventative action is another story...

mike65 wrote: »
    I love the reactions from the locals - "a its a lovely area no trouble round here its terrible that this has happened" etc. How many of these locals would stand up and be counted I wonder?

Mike.

Thats it. The fact that theyre scared of 17 year olds says it all. Little scumbags deserve to rot in hell. I hope they try the 17 year old as an adult.

Muff_Daddy wrote: »
    I have to pull you up on this. It's not what the little scumbags do that make me favour capital punishment, it's the sentencing (or lack thereof!), and obvious lack of deterrant in ths country that have turned me pro Death Penalty. I feel most supporters of Capital Punishment feel the same.

I don't know about you, but it turns my stomach that these poor excuses for humans in Drimnagh, if charged, may be let out in their twenties.

Thats it. U could argue leniency if the Polish guys had raped or murdered their famiuly but they said no to buying minors drink. Murdered for being law abiding.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭bartholomewbinn

Muff_Daddy wrote: »

There is no question about it. If they are charged and found guilty they will be out before they are thirty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

they'll be out on license, if they are bold again they go back inside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭fortuneg

Complete & utter scum deserve to rot in prison for the rest of their miserable lives