What is the strangest thing that was stolen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,593 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Asbad wrote: »
    I stole a bollard cone.
    In my last residence, some bloke put a bollard cone outside my house so he could park, w/o asking me. He had a van, which blocked the sunlight into my sitting room.
    The bollard cone became a nice garden ornament

I have heard of plenty of people who get their bins nicked. Trust me, 99% of the time its stoned/Drunk students

If it was non-student tracksuits who stole them they would be scum. But them cheeky students :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

**cough** **cough** ;)

Get outta my head, Charles! Get outta my head!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Ist amazing what will show up on a game of Yoink
    Yoink: Typical stag party game where the the most spontainious and unusual item Yoinked at the end of the night wins the pot,
    How two lads got a moped to the 4th floor of our hotel without the porter noticing:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Jeez, I knew UT players tended to be slow off the mark, but honestly!! :eek:

OT: Back in college, one of the lads came back one evening to find the half-dozen pairs of boxers he had hung out on the line that morning were missing. What was stranger was that he was a great believer in knocking his money's worth out of clothes, and most of these were more daylight than boxer!

We actually suspected his gf of having sneaked by and dumped them deliberately, but it turned out she wasn't even in town that day, so the mystery remains unsolved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

my old bike was robbed a few weeks ago. the front derailer was held on with sellotape, the front wheels axle was snapped, the gears didnt work, the brakes were crap, the saddle was terrible and it was covered in rust.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

A few years ago I was at a 21st in a GAA club, me and a group of mates drunkenly decided that it would be a good idea to put our handbags in a locker in the changing rooms so they wouldn't hamper us while we were out busting a move on the dance floor. We came back two hours later to find all our makeup was nicked out of the bags, but our wallets, cash and bank cards were still there?? :confused:

And I might add that it wasn't any of this designer make up, MAC and what have you. We were students at the time so it was really cheap stuff too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Dregon

Thaedydal wrote: »

A great line under the picture in that article::D:D:D:D:D
    A bridge: just the sort of thing likely to be targetted by bridge thieves.

Just rob someone elses

Haha, It's a vicious cycle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

JIZZLORD wrote: »
    my old bike was robbed a few weeks ago. the front derailer was held on with sellotape, the front wheels axle was snapped, the gears didnt work, the brakes were crap, the saddle was terrible and it was covered in rust.
    Pfft! That thing wasn't stolen, the binmen thought you were throwing it out finally!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

Dregon wrote: »
    A great line under the picture in that article::D:D:D:D:D

look at the captions on their other bridge related articles
    A bridge. Which isn't even made out of stone. I wish we had more pictures in our archive.

a few more good ones as well

mildews wrote: »
    I cant believe this but...............

Someone stole my wheelie bin!!! I put the bin out for collection last week, and it never returned.

Who the f**k in their right mind would steal a wheelie bin? (Not a clean / new one, this one was filthy).

So the question is, What is the wierdest thing that was stolen on you?:confused:

If you are near Baggot st I can give you one for free, seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

Jay D wrote: »
    If you are near Baggot st I can give you one for free, seriously.

ha!OP's mission accomplished!there ye thief!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Well a bit of a strange thing to be stolen by one person, a supertanker.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 12,673 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Pfft! That thing wasn't stolen, the binmen thought you were throwing it out finally!!

Maybe that's what happened to the OP's bin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,585 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Maybe that's what happened to the OP's bin!

thats funny!

I wish i had more to say in this post, but i dont, lol cats aren't allowed here right? shame really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Well a bit of a strange thing to be stolen by one person, a supertanker.

wtf, more info on this please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Chat Mauvais

My Mum's car was broken into a few years back, while we were shopping in Dublin City Centre.............
    When we got back to the car, the side, rear window was smashed, and the ONLY thing that was missing was A 3 foot long Stuffed Snake!!!! you know....one of those 'Draught Excluder' Thingys....that had been lying in the back window.....She was so Pissed off!!....while us kids were Pissing ourselves Laughing..!!!!

On another note, my 'Clueless' younger Brother....(Back Then!!)...wanted to get my Mum sumt for her Birthday....so he went to the local Chemist..(This was the 1970's, btw)...and proceeded to steal a Packet of 'Sanitary Towels'.!!!!!!!!.............He then gave them to my Mum, with a homemade card!!!!!...

Needless to say, she marched him right back to return them!!!!....CRINGE!!!

That wasn't all....the following Christmas, the 'Towels' gift to Mum was followed by, get this.....A Packet of 'Cocktail Sticks',!!!!....... stolen from the Local Supermarket..!!!!!....

SHE returned these herself!!!!....

But all's well that ends well..........My 'Klepto' Bro, now works for the Department of Justice..!!!!!!!!!!!.....lol...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

But all's well that ends well..........My 'Klepto' Bro, now works for the Department of Justice..!!!!!!!!!!!.....lol...

well i guess that explains a lot :rolleyes:

What age was he when these incdents occoured. it really really matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Chat Mauvais

DanGerMus wrote: »
    well i guess that explains a lot :rolleyes:

What age was he when these incdents occoured. it really really matters.

He was about 6 years old........but Yes, how prophetic.........he had the right building blocks required for his pen-ultimate profession.!!!!!!....:)

Oh, and I did I forget to mention the 'Lipsticks' too....Yes, he appeared home one day with 3 Brightly Coloured Lipsticks.......methinks, also from the local Apothocary.....now quite what he wanted with these, I do not know...as I was about 7, and did not wear lipstick, I hope!!....and neither did my Mum........so either my Dad was a 'Closet' Tranny.......and they were for him.....or my Bro has a dirty Little ("Victoria's") Secret......... hmmmmmmmmmm......

I'd Better have a little 'snoop' around his Apartment next time........;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

My mum and dad were camping one year and someone broke into their tent one night and stole their Neil Diamond LP. They didn't really mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭boy_wonder

Car was broken into a few years back and my cd's were stolen from glove compartment.

What annoyed me more than the cd's being nicked was that they also took a new air freshner that was hanging from the rear view mirror...knackers!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

About 2 summers ago in Spain, a friend was held up and they took his wallet and his toothbrush. The toothbrush thing pissed him off later on when he realised he had nothing to brush his teeth with and the local shop was closed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

the dee wrote: »
    My mum and dad were camping one year and someone broke into their tent one night and stole their Neil Diamond LP. They didn't really mind.

hahahahaha:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

JIZZLORD wrote: »
    Haha, It's a vicious cycle

Couldn't resist. :D

Someones into recycling (in every sense of the word) :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭Crazy Catlady

My house was broken ino a couple of weeks ago. Aside from taking any jewellery I had and wreckin the place, the feckers took little "snack" pots of ham, and tubs of sugar free jelly that I get for my daughters lunch!
    No wonder the skinny fookers could slide in the small window :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭Defenestrate

I feel your pain OP, someone just stole my green recycling bin last week and the things are buggers to replace. Was out looking for it over the weekend checking round the field and bushes incase some kids dumped it there but no sign. God knows what the neighbours thought I was looking for...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭Dinter

I think in Dublin there's a chip in those bins that is scanned when they're emptied so you can be billed.

Don't know if there's any point in stealing someone elses although maybe they'll end up paying your bin charges. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭MOH

mildews wrote: »
    The number was painted on four sides of the bin. Could'nt of been a case of mistaken identity.

Despite that, I somehow managed to take the neighbours bin a few weeks ago. Even checked the number before I took it. Was only when I was coming back from the shop later on that I saw our bin still outside. Luckily it was dark so I sheepishly took our bin in and put the other one back outside the neighbours house.

In my defence, I was extremely hungover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭RubyXI

Someone stole a candlestick from my local church (just one, they didnt even bother to take the pair) and a microphone.