Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is the strangest thing that was stolen

• 24-02-2008 11:51am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭

I cant believe this but...............

Someone stole my wheelie bin!!! I put the bin out for collection last week, and it never returned.

Who the f**k in their right mind would steal a wheelie bin? (Not a clean / new one, this one was filthy).

So the question is, What is the wierdest thing that was stolen on you?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭wba88

mildews wrote: »

Someone stole my wheelie bin!!! I put the bin out for collection last week, and it never returned.

Who the f**k in their right mind would steal a wheelie bin? (Not a clean / new one, this one was filthy).

So the question is, What is the wierdest thing that was stolen on you?:confused:
    Happaned to us many a time.

My mates house was broken into few easy to grab jewelery items and cash taken, but the strange thing that wasnt taken was two creative zens were left on the floor by the front door next to each other almost in a taunting way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭buckfast4me

Some of your neighbours probably took it in by accident. Ive done that myself a few times, paint the number of your house on the bin and nobody will want it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Waste oil containers from the boot of my car after they failed to steal the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

I've had my wheelie bin nicked too.

The weirdest one was a kid nicked the fencing around my garden. Twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

Yea that happened to me when I was minding the house for my parents, we had to go around at night time and steal someone elses or we would have been shouted at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭mildews

Some of your neighbours probably took it in by accident. Ive done that myself a few times, paint the number of your house on the bin and nobody will want it.

The number was painted on four sides of the bin. Could'nt of been a case of mistaken identity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 213 ✭✭mildews

The worst thing is that I now have to fork out to SDCC for a new one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭buckfast4me

Just rob someone elses

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

wba88 wrote: »
    Happaned to us many a time.

My mates house was broken into few easy to grab jewelery items and cash taken, but the strange thing that wasnt taken was two creative zens were left on the floor by the front door next to each other almost in a taunting way
    Perhaps they were filming an iPod ad - "accept no substitutes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

I work ina five star hotel, and there a loads of those suits of armour lying around the place. Apparently, last summer, one of the guests stole one of the helmets off one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

I've got your wheelie bin, and there nothing you can do about it! HAHAHAHA!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Wigs. Dancing shoes. A bag containing food. A brown paper bag containing socks.

All stolen from the wife's car outside the NBA last night. They didn't bother stealing dancing costumes or expensive hiking boots, so the aim was actually to steal the paraphernalia to do with Irish dancing.

Correction: The brown paper bag with the socks was lifted from her seat in the arena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Someone broke into my house once, presumably for the car keys, as nothing was taken apart from a carton of milk from the fridge. That's just pure evil!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

dsmythy wrote: »
    Someone broke into my house once, presumably for the car keys, as nothing was taken apart from a carton of milk from the fridge. That's just pure evil!

So did ya use water for you porridge the next day then? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭sternn

my dad had a fish tank taken out of his car about 5 years ago. They left his laptop and mobile phone in the back seat....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

College students!! You nick anything when you're at college. I remember once stealing a bus stop. Completely useless, but I went to the trouble of going and waking a few mates up for reinforcements to carry the thing (they're really heavy). Such is your determination for pointless theft when you're at uni.

Totally useless, but it's not the issue. Some student will be waking up cuddling your wheeliebin in UCD's halls this moring. Guaranteed :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

One day last summer a drunk guy on a moped drove around the back of our hose and stole an old broken electric keyboard from our garage. The place was packed with power tools but the stupid fcuker took the keyboard. He then proceeded to drive his moped with the keyboard down the driveway. At the end of the drive the cops were waiting. He then fell off the moped and tried to run across a field witht the keyboard:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Keyboards were very valuable back in the summer of 2007!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭the GALL

Worked with this lad on a site in Dublin and the apartments were nearly finished he broke down the door to the kitchen and stole the ice tray and egg tray from the fridge. WTF is that all about. you'd have to pitty junkies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Menus, napkin dispensers and whatever else was on the table in Eddie Rockets. And a giant "Whopper" poster from Burger King

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Bob the Builder

Once robbed a "stud fitting" poster from the bottom of the road and crossed out "fitting" and wrote in an 's' Me and my friends had a great time hanging the sign off a tree while the Tour of Ireland went past last August, and constantly pointing the motorbikers to the sign implying that we were studs. Got a few hilarious reactions from a few sexy embarrased girls going by in cars with their parents...

I know of a person(bit of a skanger) who had a few boxes of condoms in his room, they were sloen along with his bottle of vodka in the cupboard and about €15. everyone knows who did it though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

someone broke into an apartment i was sharing with a few fellas and stole the rugs, bed sheets and pillow cases and the cushions off the couches. There were 2 laptops on the kitchen table, another 2 in the bedrooms, a few mp3 players, a handgun under one of the pillows that were stolen and also a 20 grand cheque on a table that had to be moved to take the rug from underneath it. It was in America so probably explains the weirdness of it.

The gun belonged to this conservative gun nut from Arkansas and the cheque was for college fees. Although probably useless to cash in, i thought if you were stupid enough to take rediculous items from an apartment after going through the trouble of breaking in, surely you'd be stupid enough to take and try cash the check

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

I stole a bollard cone.
    In my last residence, some bloke put a bollard cone outside my house so he could park, w/o asking me. He had a van, which blocked the sunlight into my sitting room.
    The bollard cone became a nice garden ornament

I have heard of plenty of people who get their bins nicked. Trust me, 99% of the time its stoned/Drunk students

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

http://www.metro.co.uk/weird/article.html?in_article_id=100140&in_page_id=2
    Czech police wonder where bridge has gone
    Tuesday, February 19, 2008
    Bridge
    A bridge: just the sort of thing likely to be targetted by bridge thieves.

Police in the Czech republic are trying to find out who stole a 4 tonne railway bridge from the border town of Cheb.

The company which was responsible for looking after the bridge raised the alarm when, ever alert, they noticed that the bridge wasn't there any more.

The bridge was on a disused stretch of line just outside Cheb.

Martina Hruskova, a spokeswoman for the Czech police, commented to AFP: 'We are not sure if it was taken for personal use or for its scrap value.' Exactly what that 'personal use' might be was left unsaid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Someone emptied the garden pond at my parents house and stole the plastic liner.

We got up and there was juts a big hole where it was lol.

They took the gnomes as well..but that was alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

When I worked in a Homewares shop, we got a letter from a lady apologising for stealing the top of a salt and pepper set (the cheap screw on type) years previously. She enclosed a fiver.

Couldn't handle the guilt I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭lost marbles

my wallet on free hugs day in dublin
    only joking :D:D

I knew someone a few years ago who has a Skoda (back in the days when they were a joke), he used to leave the keys in it "no one's going to nick it!"
    One day the key fob was stolen!! - nothing else :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

Strangest thing stolen? Over there in Prague some lads nicked a four-tonne railway bridge.

Maybe not so much strange as just down-right impressive...

Thaedydal wrote: »
    mang87 wrote: »
    Strangest thing stolen? Over there in Prague some lads nicked a four-tonne railway bridge.

Maybe not so much strange as just down-right impressive...
    **cough** **cough** ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Asbad wrote: »
    I stole a bollard cone.
    In my last residence, some bloke put a bollard cone outside my house so he could park, w/o asking me. He had a van, which blocked the sunlight into my sitting room.
    The bollard cone became a nice garden ornament

I have heard of plenty of people who get their bins nicked. Trust me, 99% of the time its stoned/Drunk students

If it was non-student tracksuits who stole them they would be scum. But them cheeky students :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

**cough** **cough** ;)

Get outta my head, Charles! Get outta my head!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Ist amazing what will show up on a game of Yoink
    Yoink: Typical stag party game where the the most spontainious and unusual item Yoinked at the end of the night wins the pot,
    How two lads got a moped to the 4th floor of our hotel without the porter noticing:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Jeez, I knew UT players tended to be slow off the mark, but honestly!! :eek:

OT: Back in college, one of the lads came back one evening to find the half-dozen pairs of boxers he had hung out on the line that morning were missing. What was stranger was that he was a great believer in knocking his money's worth out of clothes, and most of these were more daylight than boxer!

We actually suspected his gf of having sneaked by and dumped them deliberately, but it turned out she wasn't even in town that day, so the mystery remains unsolved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

my old bike was robbed a few weeks ago. the front derailer was held on with sellotape, the front wheels axle was snapped, the gears didnt work, the brakes were crap, the saddle was terrible and it was covered in rust.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

A few years ago I was at a 21st in a GAA club, me and a group of mates drunkenly decided that it would be a good idea to put our handbags in a locker in the changing rooms so they wouldn't hamper us while we were out busting a move on the dance floor. We came back two hours later to find all our makeup was nicked out of the bags, but our wallets, cash and bank cards were still there?? :confused:

And I might add that it wasn't any of this designer make up, MAC and what have you. We were students at the time so it was really cheap stuff too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Dregon

Thaedydal wrote: »

A great line under the picture in that article::D:D:D:D:D
    A bridge: just the sort of thing likely to be targetted by bridge thieves.

Just rob someone elses

Haha, It's a vicious cycle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

JIZZLORD wrote: »
    my old bike was robbed a few weeks ago. the front derailer was held on with sellotape, the front wheels axle was snapped, the gears didnt work, the brakes were crap, the saddle was terrible and it was covered in rust.
    Pfft! That thing wasn't stolen, the binmen thought you were throwing it out finally!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

Dregon wrote: »
    A great line under the picture in that article::D:D:D:D:D

look at the captions on their other bridge related articles
    A bridge. Which isn't even made out of stone. I wish we had more pictures in our archive.

a few more good ones as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

If you are near Baggot st I can give you one for free, seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

Jay D wrote: »
    If you are near Baggot st I can give you one for free, seriously.

ha!OP's mission accomplished!there ye thief!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Well a bit of a strange thing to be stolen by one person, a supertanker.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Pfft! That thing wasn't stolen, the binmen thought you were throwing it out finally!!

Maybe that's what happened to the OP's bin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,262 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

Maybe that's what happened to the OP's bin!

thats funny!

I wish i had more to say in this post, but i dont, lol cats aren't allowed here right? shame really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Well a bit of a strange thing to be stolen by one person, a supertanker.

wtf, more info on this please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Chat Mauvais

My Mum's car was broken into a few years back, while we were shopping in Dublin City Centre.............
    When we got back to the car, the side, rear window was smashed, and the ONLY thing that was missing was A 3 foot long Stuffed Snake!!!! you know....one of those 'Draught Excluder' Thingys....that had been lying in the back window.....She was so Pissed off!!....while us kids were Pissing ourselves Laughing..!!!!

On another note, my 'Clueless' younger Brother....(Back Then!!)...wanted to get my Mum sumt for her Birthday....so he went to the local Chemist..(This was the 1970's, btw)...and proceeded to steal a Packet of 'Sanitary Towels'.!!!!!!!!.............He then gave them to my Mum, with a homemade card!!!!!...

Needless to say, she marched him right back to return them!!!!....CRINGE!!!

That wasn't all....the following Christmas, the 'Towels' gift to Mum was followed by, get this.....A Packet of 'Cocktail Sticks',!!!!....... stolen from the Local Supermarket..!!!!!....

SHE returned these herself!!!!....

But all's well that ends well..........My 'Klepto' Bro, now works for the Department of Justice..!!!!!!!!!!!.....lol...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭DanGerMus

But all's well that ends well..........My 'Klepto' Bro, now works for the Department of Justice..!!!!!!!!!!!.....lol...

well i guess that explains a lot :rolleyes:

What age was he when these incdents occoured. it really really matters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Chat Mauvais

DanGerMus wrote: »
    well i guess that explains a lot :rolleyes:

What age was he when these incdents occoured. it really really matters.

He was about 6 years old........but Yes, how prophetic.........he had the right building blocks required for his pen-ultimate profession.!!!!!!....:)

Oh, and I did I forget to mention the 'Lipsticks' too....Yes, he appeared home one day with 3 Brightly Coloured Lipsticks.......methinks, also from the local Apothocary.....now quite what he wanted with these, I do not know...as I was about 7, and did not wear lipstick, I hope!!....and neither did my Mum........so either my Dad was a 'Closet' Tranny.......and they were for him.....or my Bro has a dirty Little ("Victoria's") Secret......... hmmmmmmmmmm......

I'd Better have a little 'snoop' around his Apartment next time........;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

My mum and dad were camping one year and someone broke into their tent one night and stole their Neil Diamond LP. They didn't really mind.