Mary Harney and The Fat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

rubadub wrote: »
    She probably does though, since I imagine by the state of her, that she is her own dietician, and doesn't have a fuking clue.

Good point although i can only imagine the extent of her dietary knowledge is Goes on Fork->Goes in Mouth ->Chew (optional) ->Mary is Happy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Best thing about a blowjob from Mary Harney:

You know she's gonna swallow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Gridlock wrote: »
    I heard that Pavarotti left her all his clothes!!:D

You misheard, it was Duffy's Circus that donated their old big top to her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

She's bringing sexy back.
    Yeah, but only because it got caught in her gravity field.

Terry wrote: »
    Yeah, but only because it got caught in her gravity field.

Quote of the week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

I think it's worse that she's Minister for Health yet at no point of her career prior to that held a managerial position of any kind in any hospital. She did "Modern Studies" (modernism?) at uni and then became a professional politician, so she can't really be expected to know anything about healthcare. Doesn't she pay a team of advisors €3m a year to tell her what to do? In my view, the current system of doling out ministries and junior ministries as favours to incompetent TDs whose only real skill is vote-getting has resulted in the complete failure of all those departments where deep knowledge and comprehensive planning is required i.e. transport, health. Why not elect cabinet members directly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I don't really care, but can you imagine the stick she'd get if she had Victoria Beckham's body.

And Harney will be facing a lot more health complications due to weight. It's a funny old world/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Dragan wrote: »
    The reason they are in a tatters is because Mary is a **** Minister. Not because she is in poor health.

I reckon Harney is probably the only capable minister in the Dail. She'd find things a lot easier if she wasn't hamstrung by Bertie "I bend over for unions" Ahern at every opportunity. The health service is in tatters beacuse of lazy overpaid nurses, doctors, managers, physios, pharmacists, administrators and pretty everyone else involved - none of whom will budge an inch on change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

You heard it here first folks.

The health service is fooked 'cos Harney is overweight :rolleyes:

LOL

She looks after the health of a population, not the health of individuals.

She's a dire health minister, but it ain't coz she's a chubber.

I don't imagine the CEO of aer lingus or british airways or whatever can fly a plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭larko

Would we be having this discussion if we had a slim minister for Health who was a smoker? Or maybe liked a drink? Both a burden on the health service too.

I'm not so sure we would.

In saying that, I do agree that her weight isn't ideal given the sector she is representing. It doesn't do her any favours with her critics and the job is hard enough as it is without adding to it.

I disagree with the idea she's a competent minister.

Health service is a shambles and her ideology of privatisation wouldn't be my idea of how to fix it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

tallaght01 wrote: »
    She looks after the health of a population, not the health of individuals.

Exactly.

I really don't get how people don't understand this in the first place though.

Eh, someones own physical condition has **** all to do with the role.

She is paid and employed to run the Health Services. Not be healthy.

The reason they are in a tatters is because Mary is a **** Minister. Not because she is in poor health.

Yeah but its the very least she could do is look after herself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

The very least ANYONE could do is look after themselves! She's employed to manage the health service, not to be the model healthy citizen. Her weight it irrelevent, her job is not to give you medical advice, that's the job of a doctor. She just has to make sure that you have efficient and fair access to that doctor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Beerlao

put the fork down, b!tch !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

My mum's a nurse and thinks she's a very good health minister - a lot better than e.g. Cowan.

It's as if she turned a decent health service into a crap one. Wasn't the health service in sh1t before she arrived on board?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭John_Mc

Dudess wrote: »
    My mum's a nurse and thinks she's a very good health minister - a lot better than e.g. Cowan.

It's as if she turned a decent health service into a crap one. Wasn't the health service in sh1t before she arrived on board?

Exactly!

Like when the misdiagnosis of all those women was happening, everyone was calling for Harney's resignation. As if she was the one making the actual diagnosis and should be held accountable for it :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Try to stay on topic folks, we're discussing how fat she is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭tallaght01

Yea, but she's had years to make improvements.

Instead, her latests campaign which she's wasted the taxpayers cash on....An add campaign telling patients to ask health professionals if they've washed their hands. I know I've ranted about this before, but it must be costing a fortune, witht he TV ads and whatnot. All this after her own audit showed healthcare staff in Ireland are very good at washing their ahnds, and when all the research tells us that overcrowding is the biggest contributor to MRSA.

So basically she's spending millions to shift blame and protect herself. Millions that could be spent on more docs and nurses. Milllions spent on this crap when there's a recruitment freeze.Those ads are basically saying to the public that docs and nurses cause MRSA outbreaks. And the public believe it.

That's just the latest example. She's got a myriad of others, but I'd be here all day :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭cheekita

dat woman is a walkin advertisement 4 evey health problem imaginable 2 man-i mean diabetes, heart failure, osteoporosis, kidney failure, thyroid problems, etc. i dont tink d woman is a good advertisement 4 health n dis country nd i tink shes doin a **** job wit d health service as it is. i mean wat kind of an eejit moves all our cancer centres to wher d big cities r?my gran has cancer, it wont b easier 4 her 2 get 2 a city or wherever she puts dese centres. she really sickens me, cuttin budgets of hospitals wen dey cant afford 2 b cut. havin less nursin staff dan shes supposed 2 on a shift-nd who suffers?sure d nurses do but wat bout d patients?its enough 2 make u sick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,845 ✭✭✭2Scoops

Eh, someones own physical condition has **** all to do with the role.

She is paid and employed to run the Health Services. Not be healthy.

QFT - with the addendum that it's not just because she's no good at her job - lots of other contributing factors. Her weight problem not being one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

cheekita wrote: »
    dat woman is a walkin advertisement 4 evey health problem imaginable 2 man-i mean diabetes, heart failure, osteoporosis, kidney failure, thyroid problems, etc. i dont tink d woman is a good advertisement 4 health n dis country nd i tink shes doin a **** job wit d health service as it is. i mean wat kind of an eejit moves all our cancer centres to wher d big cities r?my gran has cancer, it wont b easier 4 her 2 get 2 a city or wherever she puts dese centres. she really sickens me, cuttin budgets of hospitals wen dey cant afford 2 b cut. havin less nursin staff dan shes supposed 2 on a shift-nd who suffers?sure d nurses do but wat bout d patients?its enough 2 make u sick
    um, what?

R u usn brds frm ur fone r sumtin?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

cheekita wrote: »

Is Harney eating the keys off your keyboard, starting with the vowels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

Well she managed to beat anorexia!

Also, the Minister for Defence should be in the army
    and the Minister for Foreign Arrairs should be foreign

Meh, for reasons beyond my understanding I have a fair few nurses in my family.
    They hate HArney like poison.

One heard Harney's spokesperson on the radio and seethed "that woman spends more money on her PR than the health"
    Exageration I know but some good could be done with all Harney's PR money.

I think that like in 1984, we should all have to rise at 5 am and do stretches and workouts to the TV screen with Mary Harney putting us through our paces. THe idea of her huffing and puffing on the tv screen makes me happy:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭daveharnett

The health service is a poison chalice
    True. Another fine example of FF landing it's 'partners' in the s***.
    ....the top 10 businessmen in the world could not sort it out...
    Not so sure about this. I'd imagine most of those businessmen would have no problem putting a rocket up any unions who are hurting their businesses.

True. Another fine example of FF landing it's 'partners' in the s***.

Didn't MAry Harney choose to take the Health Service?

AFAIK she chooses the Health Service as free markets are a central aspect of the PD rhetoric. Health Service is their place to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭mc23

I was watching Bertie give a speech in the Dail on last nights news and it looked like Jabba the hut from star wars sitting next to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I remember years ago when we had an actual MD as Minister for Health, Dr, John O'Connell. That'd be a good thing, wouldn't it? You'd nearly think so. He was interviewed on the News one night and questioned about patients being on trolleys in corridors and his response was "There's nothing wrong with patients on trolleys, sure aren't trolleys just beds with wheels". I suspect he never spent any time on a trolley himself.

Big Mary might be well-upholstered but at least she is not a total hypocrite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Papillon87

humberklog wrote: »
    Indeed it's not just management. The irish nurses are stuck in time warp of systems of best practice,ward sisters are inept (neary case makes point here)and cleaning staff are cruelly beligerant.

What a gross generalisation.