Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NYC Megathread Archive 1 (to 13/03/08)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Hi everyone :)

Myself and my girlfriend are spending 3 days in NYC on the way home from Orlando from the 1st-4th April. We've everything booked for the holiday, apart from the hotel in NYC!

We're looking for something in Manhatten that is quiet (if there is such a thing!) but we've found it hard to find a hotel for under $1000 for the 3 nights.

We have also looked at the apartments that were discussed earlier in the thread, but would prefer a hotel.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!
    Tony

The hotel I stayed in in January, the Red Roof Inn, is 642$ for the dates you want, exclusive of 13% tax. Breakfast is also included. I'd recommend it to anyone. It's near Macy's, so the area is busy, but the hotel itself is very quiet.
    http://www.redroof.com/reservations/inn_details.asp?innNumber=0605

Have a look on Tripadvisor for better pics and reviews.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Just wondering how you guys work it out?.

Last time I was there, to be honest I thought most people were just too rude to be tipped, however I felt obliged to throw them something.

But I'll be heading back there shortly, and staying in a nicer hotel, ie bellboy, doorman, Concierge etc.

How much would I be expected to tip someone for bringing case's to my room, or other hotel services?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Noelie

Bags are usually 1/2 dollars a bag. room service is 10-20% of the bill

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I might be heading to NYC in April and just wondered about two things really..

The weather, I've been there last Febuary and it was damn cold but dry. Anyone any experience of April (the early part).

Also, children in bar's?.. Last time I was led to believe it was a NO-NO, but then had no problem with my son in a two bar's. But this time I'll have two kids with me and would like to get out for a few beer's at least one evening.

My son is 16 & my daughter is 12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭man1

PaulyB63 wrote: »
    Regarding Customs and purchasing clothing, DVDs and cameras etc.

Remove all tags and don't try to reclaim the NY sales tax until after you get home. Use the camera or camcorder equipment over there and remove it from the box. Same with DVDs... Just open them, then they're not new anymore...

:p:p:p:p

So do you mean that you can reclaim the tax when you are back in ireland. Do you do it online?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

firstly is it possible to reclaim sales tax from New York?

Second I am heading over on saturday for ten days. Was wondering if people wanted to give me the top ten things you must do while in new york. (Three lads headin over)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭unklerosco

Check the reviews forum...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055223643

Thats my one, there's a few other good ones with tips on things to do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

unklerosco wrote: »
    Check the reviews forum...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055223643

Thats my one, there's a few other good ones with tips on things to do

I had a read through a good few of them. Most of them indicate Woodbury Common/Jersey Gardens, Empire State(Early or Late), Rockafella, Hockey, and Broadway. I doubt we will be doing broadway. No real mention of nightlife or anything though.

We are heading to NYC on sunday for 5 days, have a few questions.

Is it better to carry cash or bring a CC (and how safe is it to use in restaurants etc when they might take it out of your sight).
    I have about 4500 dollars to spend but was considering putting the cash on the card and only bringing a few hundred dollars for tipping etc.

As regarding tipping, I know it is almost mandatory but what happens if you don't think they deserve it.
    What happens in a bar if you order a beer for $5 and give a $20 dollar bill, will the bartender take out his $1 tip out of the change??? Or do you give a big tip when you are leaving?
    Someone said a few posts back that for room service you will have to pay 10-20% of the final bill for a tip when you leave, thats a bit too much isnt it??

We are taking our baby girl with us so is it difficult to get around with a baby and are the streets really busy and overwhelming. Has anyone ever taken a baby with them and what was it like. Do taxis take babys and are they insured.

We are staying affinia dumont on 34th street, anyone ever been there?

Whats it like carrying around expensive camera equipment and taking photos, is it safe to do so?

Thanks guys

NYC is very safe.. I feel safer there than I do in Dublin, especially at night. Cops everywhere.

As for money. I brought €5k in cash and was grand, if ur gonna load it onto ur credit card check with ur bank that its covered incase of theft. Only some cards will pay out for money spent on a stolen card thats in credit...

With regards for tipping, most places add it in the bill.. The way I see it, if ur good you get a tip.. if not u don't. I tipped nearly everywhere I went cause the service is generally really good. In one restraunt I think we tipped $60 but then again, it is my fav restraunt and the staff are first class. I think you'll find that most places add 10-20% to the bill for gratituity...

As for taxi's and babies, i'm not sure... For the streets, they weren't to busy when I was there but that was during Jan. I'm sure it'd be grand tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

man1 wrote: »
    Do they still expect a tip after the 10-20% added on to the bill??

If they add tax and gratuity to the bill, then no.

I think you'll find that most places add 10-20% to the bill for gratituity...

Thanks for that great advice (and quick too).

Do they still expect a tip after the 10-20% added on to the bill??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

unklerosco wrote: »
    NYC is very safe.. I feel safer there than I do in Dublin, especially at night. Cops everywhere.

As for money. I brought €5k in cash and was grand, if ur gonna load it onto ur credit card check with ur bank that its covered incase of theft. Only some cards will pay out for money spent on a stolen card thats in credit...

With regards for tipping, most places add it in the bill.. The way I see it, if ur good you get a tip.. if not u don't. I tipped nearly everywhere I went cause the service is generally really good. In one restraunt I think we tipped $60 but then again, it is my fav restraunt and the staff are first class. I think you'll find that most places add 10-20% to the bill for gratituity...

As for taxi's and babies, i'm not sure... For the streets, they weren't to busy when I was there but that was during Jan. I'm sure it'd be grand tho.

+1 I've never had a problem being there.
    My first time I was walking everywhere carrying a camcorder, digital camera and mobile. You dont have to carry so much cash, use the ATM. We dont live in the 1920's!

Generally the service is good everywhere, The hooters girl got a very large tip!

thanks
    anyone take a child or baby, she is 1 year old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

man1 wrote: »
    Is it better to carry cash or bring a CC (and how safe is it to use in restaurants etc when they might take it out of your sight).
    I have about 4500 dollars to spend but was considering putting the cash on the card and only bringing a few hundred dollars for tipping etc.
    I'd say a little from column A, and a little from column B. Cash is much easier to deal with and as you say, you need cash to tip. I carried cash mostly (using an ATM when I needed more - there are ATMs everywhere) and only used the CC for big purchases.
    As regarding tipping, I know it is almost mandatory but what happens if you don't think they deserve it.
    What happens in a bar if you order a beer for $5 and give a $20 dollar bill, will the bartender take out his $1 tip out of the change??? Or do you give a big tip when you are leaving?
    Someone said a few posts back that for room service you will have to pay 10-20% of the final bill for a tip when you leave, thats a bit too much isnt it??
    Tipping in the US is so unlike what it is here, that it catches you by surprise. What you need to keep in mind is that staff rely on tips as part of their take-home. And businesses pay staff less because they know that they get tips. In Ireland, people get relatively well-paid, so all tips are a bonus. In Ireland, if you get bad service, you tend to not tip. In NYC, bad service gets a 10% tip. Sounds crazy? It is. "Normal" service gets a 15% tip and good service gets anything from 20% up. These are huge tips in Irish terms, but it's what's expected over there.

Unless a service charge is included in the bill, then staff will never take a tip out of your money. If you buy a $5 beer and give him a twenty, then have a one or two dollars ready to give him. If you get a bill at the end of the night e.g. in a restaurant, calculate the tip then add it to the bill and give them as close as you can to that amount. When they take your money, they won't come back with your change unless you ask them to.

Restaurants in the US have very few of the social graces that we use over here - they're interested in getting you in, stuffing you and getting your money, not giving you a dining experience. When you're finished your course, they will take your plate whether or not your party have finished eating. It's normal to order your starter, then hold onto your menu and order your main course when the starter arrives. You won't generally get water unless you ask for it and as I mention above, you won't get change after paying for the bill unless you ask for it.
    Just keep these things in mind - the waiter isn't being rude, he's being American :)
    Whats it like carrying around expensive camera equipment and taking photos, is it safe to do so?
    Very safe from what I saw. Plenty of tourists wandering around with cameras hanging out. And yes, the stereotypical old Japanese couple with their massive camera taking pictures of everything, does exist :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 800 ✭✭✭faigs

Has anyone been to the Energie store? Its on Broadway at 20th St. I'm hoping it will be a bit cheaper than over here! If anyone knows if it is or not let me know! Thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

Anybody familiar with the New York transport system? I have to get to La Guardia International from Newark International. I know I can get the NJ transit from Newark to Penn Station, but can I get a subway the rest of the way or will I have to take a bus? Thanks, any help is MUCH appreciated!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,470 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

CCCP^ wrote: »
    Anybody familiar with the New York transport system? I have to get to La Guardia International from Newark International. I know I can get the NJ transit from Newark to Penn Station, but can I get a subway the rest of the way or will I have to take a bus? Thanks, any help is MUCH appreciated!

http://www.panynj.gov/CommutingTravel/airports/html/lg_transportation.html

Bus looks like the only public transport option

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭CCCP^

I must be stupid, I cannot make any sense of their bus routes =/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭johnk123

Im heading over to New york on 20 march for 5 days. Have a really busy schedule and will be doing a little shopping on the high streets, but we're planning on going to an outlet mall. We only have a small bit of time left in our plan, so want to spend it wisely. Does anyone have any experience with these malls?(I know you have!) Which is better?? Are they worth while, or would we be better off spending our time and money in the high streets???

Thanks in advanced! JK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭big_moe

i was in jersey gardens, its huuuuge... lots of deadly savings to be had there. we spent the best part of a day there. then the other days, hit the high street stores.

haven't been to woodbury so cant compare!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭johnk123

ye, i'v heard some great things bout jersey gardens..... which is closer to JFK. Coz our flight home is at 7.30pm local time, so will hit either of these places just before the airport. A bit tight, but all our other time is taken!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭speedbird1

big_moe wrote: »
    i was in jersey gardens, its huuuuge... lots of deadly savings to be had there. we spent the best part of a day there. then the other days, hit the high street stores.

haven't been to woodbury so cant compare!

Jersey Gardens is great place for outlet shopping, biggest in NJ.
    Courtesy bus from Newark Airport about one mile away. Bus from mall
    to NY via Union City. Several hotels wioth couple hundred meters.
    Have a great time, going there ourselves in April.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭big_moe

dunno... jersey gardens was around a 45 min bus journey from port authority to the west, and the airport was about 45 minutes to the east... and at rush hour it would be much worse... could take a few hours.

try google maps and see the distance to each of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭SheRa

Phew, have just finished all 23 pages.
    Between the recommendations here and on tripadvisor I am thinking either of these 2 hotels.
    http://www.cosmohotel.com/default.aspx?pg=location
    http://www.heraldsquarehotel.com/map.htm

The first one is on Tribeca, in lower manhattan and the seond one is very near the empire state building in midtown.

My question is which one would be the handiest location for getting round New York?

I know the herald square is very near the shops, but I hear that the cosmo is near all the good restaurants and pubs. Are there shops in Tribeca as well?

Thanks guys:):).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,470 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

johnk123 wrote: »
    ye, i'v heard some great things bout jersey gardens..... which is closer to JFK. Coz our flight home is at 7.30pm local time, so will hit either of these places just before the airport. A bit tight, but all our other time is taken!!!!!
    Neither are anywhere close. Both are the opposit direction and you'll need to back into Manhattan first. Jersey Gardens is closer but you'd still plenty of travelling time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭fugee

We went to both jersey gardens and woodbury common last week. To be honest we prefered woodbury.

jersey gardens is indoor and woodbury common iis outdoor. probably more shops in jersey gardens but at leat half of them are rubbish. Cheap tack.

Comparing tommy hilfiger shop in jersey gardens to woodbury... well there was no difference. Same stock, same prices, same specials.

We would deffo go back to woodbury but not to jersey gardens.

We had a 2 year old, and rather than try and take her on the bus, we rented a car for the day. It worked out cheaper than the bus tickets and we could stop whenever we wanted. Really nice drive to woodbury, but horrible drive to jersey.

When we go back again, it will be a no brainer.... rent a car and off to woodbury.

Thats mad, I liked both of them... I found Jersey gardens to be cheaper. The Nike outlet was a good bit cheaper(most items where 50% cheaper) and at the time the Tommy Hilfiger shop was a bit cheaper....

In saying that I think if you have the time they're both worth the trip if its ur first time over. Ur right about the tack in Jersey gardens, there are some horrific shops in there but the big name shops make up for it and its only 20 mins by bus n cost $11.

I got six pairs of jeans in Old Navy(JG) for €120, same fit and cut as the jeans I've to pay €120 for over here. Then in the Sunglasses Hut(WC) I got two pairs of puma shades for $90, same glasses in the puma store I was in a day earlier where $280....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,483 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

Going to the Big Apple next week.
    Now I have been to New York a few times before but the art of tipping always interests me.

Now I know we are not great tippers in this country as it is not part of our culture but I am well aware that it is expected in the States (I don't want to get side tracked by comments on why we should/should not tip in Ireland!).

Anyway, my concern/issue is sometimes because we do not tip much in Ireland sometimes as a tourist in the states we might end up feeling inclined to tip too much or too often! I just feel sometimes that because I am not accustomed to tipping I mightn't have either the confidence or knowledge to tip or to know when to tell yer man to shag off!

Sorry if I am confusing ye but does anyone know what I'm saying?

Also I often end up not having the change in order to tip properly..you know what I mean if a bell boy carries bags for you etc..OK, some scenarios will mean you can use the change you get to tip but other scenarios mean you must have a few dollars in the pocket and I've often been caught there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Bartenders: tip them a dollar per drink (not per round) as a standard, or two bucks if you want to get a few more buybacks than normal (may not happen).

Waiting staff: 15-20% is the current norm. Although if you tip 15% your waitress will secretly be disappointed, and may even grumble mildly to the bartender, who may in turn remember you next time..

Not sure about bellhops but it's a good idea imo to keep singles in one pocket and 10s/20s in your other pocket for quick access, and you will also know how many you have left roughly. You tend to get loads of singles anyway, and if there is someone that you want to tip and you only have a 20note I'm sure the guy will have change!