Showboating or why we go ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

jank wrote: »
    But what was the point of this showboating? Nobody has answered that yet.
    Yes they have
    eirebhoy wrote: »
    I don't think Nani did it for the fun of it though. He controlled the ball the best way possible. He was trying to head the ball down but was getting chased from behind so had to up his pace and therefore run into the ball again with his head. Maybe the last 1 or 2 volleys were unnecessary. :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dm4unXaoih0

It was a perfectly legitimate way of keeping control of the ball when you're moving at a high speed and the ball is at that height, and there's an Arsenal player up your arse.

As was shown, by virtue of the fact that he DID manage to keep it from the Arsenal player. If he had taken it down would it have been easier or more difficult for him to be dispossessed? It worked quite well, even if it did upset some players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,644 ✭✭✭✭cson

I've nothing against it. In all fairness it was quite a decent bit of skill from Nani. But when you do do stuff like that you've also got to accept that you make yourself a target. It doesn't matter whether its Old Trafford or a Sunday league pitch, if you start showing off like that opposition players are going to notice and you'll have a few tackles like Flamini's flying in at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    WTF
    If your talking about the Adebayor dive then the fans cheered because it was hilarious and such a poor attempt to con the ref was laughable.

i loved that. it was so funny! but he didnt dive, watch it again, the invisible man pulls his hair which drags him down!

and as far as nani goes, he was havin fun with the opposition who were kickin him all game, if arsenal wanna whine about it let them but i think the majority of arsenal fans would have laughed at it too!! when henry used to do those showboating tricks it was great aswell! so it happens!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,097 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

I really dont see the problem with what Nani did. It wasnt like he was soloing the ball in the corner of the pitch, he was controlling the ball while avoiding a tackle. Very skillful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

i wouldnt be fond of it to be honest.

remember Ronaldo doing it against Wigan in the CC final a few years ago, and Giggs bollicked him for it.

I do think it is disrespectful. Just my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,644 ✭✭✭✭cson

It wasn't that bad anyway, it was very skilful. Do it, but don't expect your opponents to sit back and admire you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,149 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

If you have the ability then do it. If a player gets caught out or chopped down then it's all part and parcel. If, however, they pull it off like Nani did then brilliant. Simple as that for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

thnk what everyone is missing here, is that the "showboating" of nanis was actually the best way to keep possession, and thats his job as a footballer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

^Yup, totally agree. Wasn't showboating at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,914 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Deliberate taunting of the opposition is unprofessional behavior that should not be condoned by those within the game. Just as diving, high two footed tackles, taunting of opposition fans are all considered unprofessional. There would be uproar in the US if he did the equivalent in an NFL / NHL game.

Fans are stupid for the most part, what they want or consider acceptable is kinda irrelevant.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Deliberate taunting of the opposition is unprofessional behavior that should not be condoned by those within the game. Just as diving, high two footed tackles, taunting of opposition fans are all considered unprofessional. There would be uproar in the US if he did the equivalent in an NFL / NHL game.

Fans are stupid for the most part, what they want or consider acceptable is kinda irrelevant.

Sure lets ban 60 yard passes, shots from over 25 yards, overheads and back heels while we're at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,567 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Sure lets ban 60 yard passes, shots from over 25 yards, overheads and back heels while we're at it.

and goal celebrations

Unearthly wrote: »
    and goal celebrations

And nutmegs....

Deliberate taunting of the opposition is unprofessional behavior that should not be condoned by those within the game.

how was nani keeping control of the ball under pressure from 2 players in what was probably the best way to do it considering where the ball was deliberate taunting of the opposition?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,681 ✭✭✭Chong

I am stunned at some of the reactions today about Nani's so called "Showboating" especially from Ferguson and Wenger. Who bloody cares if he is show boating, what he is doing is showing off his talent, why should it be repressed.

We as fans go to games to see exciting football, new things and at the end of the day be entertained. What do some people want, would they prefer boring, mind numbing games where no skill was shown and every little thing outlawed.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Unearthly wrote: »
    and goal celebrations

Are you lads simple enough to believe that:

- Diving
    - High two footed tackles
    - taunting of the opposition / opposition fans

Are the same things as:

- 60 yard passes
    - shots from over 25 yards
    - overheads / backheels
    - goal celebrations

Really? :confused:

being skillful isnt taunting the opposition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Nani wasn't taunting Arsenal though, he was using his skill to retain possession.

Should that be banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

How about when NFL players dance on their way into the endzone?

How about when certain players do the spin-o-rama in an NHL shootout?

What about when Dekembe Mutumbo used to say "NOT IN MY HOUSE" when he blocked a dunk?

LuckyLloyd your saying there would be uproar in the US, but the equivilent is there every single game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭fortuneg

DesF wrote: »
    Nani wasn't taunting Arsenal though, he was using his skill to retain possession.

Should that be banned?

Most definitly

Then maybe i'd be able to get a £120,000/year contract with Utd

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,407 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I have to say I love that craic as it will always end up with either some opposition player having a girly strop or the player making an utter twat of himself (e.g. Pires' penalty a couple of years back).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

eirebhoy wrote: »
    I don't think Nani did it for the fun of it though. He controlled the ball the best way possible. He was trying to head the ball down but was getting chased from behind so had to up his pace and therefore run into the ball again with his head. Maybe the last 1 or 2 volleys were unnecessary. :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dm4unXaoih0

that's it???
    I don't see what the big deal is.

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    How about when NFL players dance on their way into the endzone?

How about when certain players do the spin-o-rama in an NHL shootout?

What about when Dekembe Mutumbo used to say "NOT IN MY HOUSE" when he blocked a dunk?

LuckyLloyd your saying there would be uproar in the US, but the equivilent is there every single game.
    Elaborate or inflammatory celebrations after touchdowns in the NFL carry a cash fine.

All this year the Patriots received intense criticism for continuing to try and score touchdowns in the final four minutes of the game where the contest was decided beyond doubt.

A few seasons ago in the NFL there was a 49 - 0 victory (essentially 7 - 0 in football). The final touchdown was scored half way through the 4th quarter and broke a record for the biggest franchise home defeat for the losing team. The winning coach began his press conference by apologising to the losing team.

wtf :D

What a crap attitude they have towards the sport they play/watch

Do you want to put a cap on how many goals a team are allowed to score now before it is frowned upon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭fortuneg

All this year the Patriots received intense criticism for continuing to try and score touchdowns in the final four minutes of the game where the contest was decided beyond doubt.

A few seasons ago in the NFL there was a 49 - 0 victory (essentially 7 - 0 in football). The final touchdown was scored half way through the 4th quarter and broke a record for the biggest franchise home defeat for the losing team. The winning coach began his press conference by apologising to the losing team.

I'm having a very hard time understanding why any team would recieve criticism for continuing to try to score when a match is effectively over.
    Italian teams (& the national team) have been crticised for years for scoring a goal & killing the game off, surely fans want as many goals/points scored as possible.

& why would a winning manager apologise for a heavy defeat of an opponent, is that not what they're hired to do?

Maybe i'm missing something here but I want my sport to be as entertaining as possible & that means as many goals/points as possible & lots of skill on show, this includes moderate showboating (eg. C.Ronaldo).

What Nani did was moderate showboating (at worst! & thats only because of the volleys at the end), nothing to get your knickers in a knot about, & anyone who thinks it was more than that needs to pull the Gunner specks off. Surely Wenger has far more serious things to concentrate on than a bit of opposition "showboating" after that performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭scruff321

theres nothing wrong with show boating although the players that do it pretty much have to expect for the opposition to react with fire and extra determination to win the ball because at the end of the day weather you agree with it or not if your playing against a player doing that you feel there being cocky and taking the piss

Close competitive sport is entertaining. Ridiculously one sided no contests or meaningless final periods to matches where the score is ran up is dull and boring imo.

yeah but in footie where goal difference can be a deciding factor, teams owe it to fans to keep going and trying to score as many as possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

I love it and wenger has some nerve bringing this up, Henry and his lot did it to Spurs for years :D

28ahzs2.jpg

It would be even more dull and boring if the team winning just decided to not play anymore and played out the remaining part of the game doing nothing.

There should be no sympathy towards other teams, if they aren't up to it then tough sh-it