Guinness. I do. Idont?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

depending on the mood, either guinness or heinekin, the odd murphys depending on pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,346 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

kaimera wrote: »
    While on your rant you forgot to mention the BW&S forum to put the 'stupid and idiotic' poll.

Didn't know there was one. :eek: But option 3 would be superfluous in there, I'm guessing. So I'd say it's in the right place, just the options are, as you rightfully pointed out, stupid and idiotic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Guinness if it's good and I'm in the mood for it.

Probably Carslberg if it's not good.

Shorts. Vodka if I'm on lager, bourbon/whiskey if it's Guinness

Shots. Most things Jeiger, sambucha, tequila being the favs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I'll drink Guinness if produced in Ireland, but not if produced in the UK or Canada. It just doesn't taste as good for some reason.

All Guinness in the UK is now brewed in Dublin :) \o/

Guinness for me 95% of the time although if I see an interesting ale or bitter on tap that I've not tried before then I'll likely go for that for at least one pint!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭GrahamThomas

Always start with a few pints of Guinness, but inevitably will end up knocking back quite a few JDs before the night is out

Im off the booze at the moment temporally but before I'd love the odd few Guinness when having a quiet night out. Meaning have 3-4 pints watching a game or just having a quiet few with the lads. I would stick to the German stuff i used to always drink (Erdinger) when I am going on the lash though. When I exceed the 6 pint point with Guinness I am very unwell the next day & its not worth it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,146 ✭✭✭✭robinph

Guinness for me, but that is normally down to the lack of anything else to choose from in most pubs.
    kaimera wrote: »
    Guinness for the last while but thats depending on if the pub doesn't have Smithwicks [I'm looking at you Messers :mad:]
    You really should have tried their own brews which are way better than Smithwicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

robinph wrote: »
    Guinness for me, but that is normally down to the lack of anything else to choose from in most pubs.

You really should have tried their own brews which are way better than Smithwicks.
    I'll not have you speak foul of the ale!!

Prolly should have tried it tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Guinness is disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I drink Guiness the odd time, but I'd mainly drink Bulmers, Sambuca, Jaeger and JD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

I can only drink 1 pint. Too heavy,otherwise spirits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I like the black stuff... I actually find it easier to drink than Lager. Less chemical tasting. I think we still get some good Guinness out here in Westmeath :D

Then again i do not drink much beer these days. At home i will have a whiskey (Irish of course).
    Or pretty much any mix of drinks i like.. i have a fully stocked bar. No taps though.. too much effort and its not a big enough bar for that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

You can't beat a pint of the auld Guinness. I can drink far more of it than other draught beers/lagers as well so perfect for summer Saturday beer garden all day sessions. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Lawless_Samurai

Whiskey.... Mainly Jameson

Anything else is second place :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Real men drink Guinness, those who can't handle it claiming its 'too heavy', well they are just boys :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Beamish for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Rarely, a few times a year maybe. I usually just have Smithwicks or whiskey and/or scotch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭coyote6

I like a pint of Guinness with a glass of Jameson...a beer and a bump.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,346 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

gurramok wrote: »
    Real men drink Guinness, those who can't handle it claiming its 'too heavy', well they are just boys :D

Hey, it's not the only reason not to drink it; I don't because it's disgusting sh!te.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Guiness *Yuck*
    Pints = Whatever's cheap
    Shots = Tequila

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

depending on the pu i'm in i'd drink the stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

I drink Guinness... too bad it's invariably a sh*t pint almost anywhere you go in Dublin these days... so I usually change to something else once I've tested how crap it is.

dont agree with this.

i find there's more and more places around who do a good pint these days than even a couple of years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I'm a Guinness man and will drink it 99% of the time in pubs, and i have to say that recently i've been getting some gorgeous pints In Whelan's and the Village, some of the best i've ever had. Lovely stuff so it is, i hate cider and i dont mind beer at home but not in pubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Used to drink stout all the time, until about 8 years ago.

But stopped when I discovered most varieties, including Guinness and Murphy's, aren't suitable for vegetarians.

So drink beer now, mostly Heineken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭guinnessdrinker

I find myself drinking a lot of Smithwicks lately when I'm in the pub. Used to like Harp too but can't seem to find it on tap anymore. I also like a Jameson every now and again, nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭sharkDawg

Not a big drinker, but when i do, its the black stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭csk

Ugh Guinness is manky like soapy water mixed with diarrhea (or so I'd imagine).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I drink Guinness... too bad it's invariably a sh*t pint almost anywhere you go in Dublin these days... so I usually change to something else once I've tested how crap it is.
    Live anywhere near Lucan? The Eight Ball I think (forget the actual name) is meant to do a lovely pint.

Or, find a small quite pub, full of old people, and the Guinness is usually good.

Don't drink the stuff myself (it tasted "burnt" when I did), but know a few who do. Drink southern comfort and 7up myself, or cider. Depends on the mood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭hellbent

Since Guinness is an 'acquired' taste, meaning you have to suffer a bit before you like it, all ye young lads have to lose yeer sweet tooth before you 'get' the taste. After that, there's no going back.

Forget the cider, the well-named Harpic, the revolting chemical that is Smithwicks, and the alco-pop coctails. Guinness. Yes please!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭ec18

bottles of Corona then maybe move onto Jack and Coke