Menstural cups?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

Honestly, No!

I wasn't an ideal candidate for the pill...most of them sent me psycho(seriously!)..and the nuvaring is lower dose, so theres less chance of you experiencing the hormone side effects of taking a pill, but because its not administered orally the contraceptive protection level offered is equal if not better than the pill.

Added to which i was crap at taking the pill, so the nuvaring eliminates that hassle also, i would just put reminder in my phone as to when to take it ou/put it in. AND Nuvaring isn't affected by stomach upsets or most antibiotics... apart from the tetracyclines and penicillin... but these wouldnt be that commonly used anyway.

Its very easy to put in and take out, and men dont mind it... tho they are a bit suspicious of it! You cant feel it when its inside either. I didnt put up any weight with it, and "periods" were fine with it.

A lot of doctors don't even bother mentioning it as an option because most women don't go for it in Ireland, but I can honestly say that I found it really good and would recommend it to any woman.

THe ONLY negative is that its a bit more expensive....you're looking at a bout 20yoyos a month.

Apologies for veering off topic!

ZToical, PM me if you want to know any more about it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

Apologies for continuing with off topic conversation but I really felt I should post about the below.

I hope the following won't be taken as scare mongery. I seriously concidered changing to the NuvaRing but after a quick google I was seriously put off it. There are some very serious side effects associated with using the NuvaRing.

Links:
    http://www.fightingforyou.com/SiteMap/ShowTopic,2,130.html
    http://www.nuvaringsideeffects.com/index.html
    (Another boards like forum) http://www.topix.com/forum/drug/TSEMEFN6EBEM3OE64

Just for yeer information.
    A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

There are lots of serious side effects associated with every medication, pharmaceutical companies are obliged as part of compiling their clinical data to mention every possible side effect that was encountered throughout their lengthy clinical trials.

Websites are well and good, but who compiled them?. I have read the summary of product characteristics for nuvaring, this is the FDA required official legal documention that must be provided in order for the drug to have obtained its licence.

There are no side effects in this that are not listed with any other contraceptive medication.

No medication is 100% safe, particularly the pill, that is why check-ups regularly are so important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

the side effects don't look that much different to the oral pill to be honest. I'm seeing my doctor tuesday so will ask her opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭b3t4

NuvaRing uses desogestral making it a third generation contraceptive.

From http://www.umm.edu/patiented/articles/what_oral_contraceptives_000091_2.htm
    "Third generation (desogestrel, gestodene, norgestimate, drospirenone). The third-generation progestins tend to have fewer male-like side effects. Some studies suggest, however, they may pose a higher risk for blood clots than the older progestins, although the risk is still small."

From http://www.medsafe.govt.nz/Profs/PUarticles/contraceptivesJuly96.htm
    "The conclusions of the MARC (Medicines Adverse Reactions Committee):

* the finding of a higher relative risk of venous thromboembolism in users of desogestrel or gestodene containing oral contraceptives appears to be real and cannot adequately be explained by selection bias or confounding factors;"

From http://www.medsafe.govt.nz/Consumers/leaflets/oralcontraceptives.asp
    "Taking a combined oral contraceptive increases this very small risk of developing a clot by 3-4 times if you are on a second generation pill, 6-8 times if you are taking a third generation pill, and possibly over 8 times for those on pills containing cyproterone. Women using progestogen-only pills are at little or no increased risk of blood clots."

I was not happy to further increase my risk of blood clots, even if it's thought to be minimal, by using the NuvaRing. That was the decision I made based on the information I found. I thought I'd just pass on the information I found while researching the NuvaRing.

A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

b3t4 wrote: »
    NuvaRing uses desogestral making it a third generation contraceptive.

From http://www.umm.edu/patiented/articles/what_oral_contraceptives_000091_2.htm
    "Third generation (desogestrel, gestodene, norgestimate, drospirenone). The third-generation progestins tend to have fewer male-like side effects. Some studies suggest, however, they may pose a higher risk for blood clots than the older progestins, although the risk is still small."

From http://www.medsafe.govt.nz/Profs/PUarticles/contraceptivesJuly96.htm
    "The conclusions of the MARC (Medicines Adverse Reactions Committee):

* the finding of a higher relative risk of venous thromboembolism in users of desogestrel or gestodene containing oral contraceptives appears to be real and cannot adequately be explained by selection bias or confounding factors;"

I was not happy to further increase my risk of blood clots, even if it's thought to be minimal, by using the NuvaRing. That was the decision I made based on the information I found. I thought I'd just pass on the information I found while researching the NuvaRing.

A

alot more information is needed to really access your risk factors - your weight, your current activity levels, your family history, wither you smoke or not etc etc Thats why you should always ask your GP for all the information and have them go over it with your - cold facts can be read a bunch of different ways depending on whose doing the writing and the reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭SeekUp

ztoical wrote: »
    do you know I'd actually never heard of the Nuvaring before this. Looked it up online and sounds interesting - did you find any negatives while using it?

I'm not a huge fan of the Nuvaring; I tried it for a while, but I was dancing extensively at the time and for me, it was far from unnoticeable!! Perhaps it's the way my body is shaped, who knows.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

Huzzah the thread is back so I can now post on it!

I bought a mooncup (from their site) just over a year ago and after a bit of getting used to I am happy to report that it was the best thing I ever did.

I love it, no leaks, no changing things during the day, no string, no odour, no bins full of gick, no wads of cotton stuffed up me cluff, no mousey-mouseys in my handbag. Fab all round!

I actually find it easier to use than a tampon now that I have the nack of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

Das Kitty wrote: »
    Huzzah the thread is back so I can now post on it!

I bought a mooncup (from their site) just over a year ago and after a bit of getting used to I am happy to report that it was the best thing I ever did.

I love it, no leaks, no changing things during the day, no string, no odour, no bins full of gick, no wads of cotton stuffed up me cluff, no mousey-mouseys in my handbag. Fab all round!

I actually find it easier to use than a tampon now that I have the nack of it.
    Mousey-mouseys :D Never heard that before! Only have done two cycles with my cup, freaking out the first day, but got the hang of it pretty quickly, could never go back now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

What happens if you're in a shared bathroom like at work or in a restaurant, do you just take it out and wash it at the sink?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

You shouldn't need to empty it during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Ooooh it can stay in from morning til evening? That sounds pretty amazing. I assumed yuou had to empty it and wash it once or twice a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Wotzit

this didn't appeal to me at the beginning but the more i read ... you may be convincing me ladies.

the wonders of the web eh. anybody remember the ads for this a couple of years ago? i didn't really get how it worked and was quite sceptical about the whole no-leakage claim. just shows you really have to read about people's experiences with it before passing judgement. So far haven't read anybody say 'yep tried it, found it useless and fecked it the bin'.

people seem to be focusing on the whole emptying it in a public toilet scenario. by all accounts this device requires less attention than your average tampon/towel change so lasts a whole lot longer so you may not find yourself in this situation as often as you think and if you think about it (and I could be wrong here!) it's just emptied and inserted it back in?? so no going outside the cubicle and washing it in the sink in front of your co-workers :eek:

Anyway i think i'll give it a go... saves a few quid on lady equipment every month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 bean-bags

i can't believe there are so many negative and closed minded comments coming up here.. i only heard about the mooncup a few days ago when reading another thread with my bf, i was like what the hells a mooncup, so we googled it and found the mooncup webpage... I thought it sounded a bit odd, but i would definately try if before deciding it's disgusting or it's not for me, and my bf thought it was interesting too!
    I guess I can understand why someone who doesnt use tampons might be a little concerned about giving it ago, but when I am on the pill I find tampons very uncomfortable, especially to remove, as my period is light and from all accounts this discomfort is not experienced with the moon cup. I'm definately going to look for one tomorrow in boots and give it a go, it is worth trying anyway. Otherwise we will all end up like some of todays "older" generation who wont even try tampons:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,945 ✭✭✭cuckoo

Wotzit wrote: »
    people seem to be focusing on the whole emptying it in a public toilet scenario. by all accounts this device requires less attention than your average tampon/towel change so lasts a whole lot longer so you may not find yourself in this situation as often as you think and if you think about it (and I could be wrong here!) it's just emptied and inserted it back in?? so no going outside the cubicle and washing it in the sink in front of your co-workers :eek:

It's very rare that i've had to check it in a public loo - would only be on days where i'd leave home at 8am and would be still out and about at 8pm.

Tampons and towels give the impression that there's a lot more liquid as it soaks onto the surface - using the mooncup has surprised me how little liquid there actually is.

In public loos i just give it a quick wipe with toilet paper and pop it back in. I won't lie, the first 2 or 3 times i was emptying it i was happy it was at home - so i could take my time and curse freely as i figured it out.

The only thing that people might find odd (if they even notice!) is that i'd wash my hands before going into the cubicle. It's really handy to not have to bring a handbag into the loos. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Wotzit

yet another plus re the handbag thing !

I have been asked twice by unsuspecting work colleagues (blokes but it wouldn't exactly be the first thing on their mind would it?) 'where you going with your bag? leavin early are ye?' - me 'eh eh eh....' - I can't use the excuse of fixing my hair/make up cause i do that in front of them.

wouldn't bat an eyelid about the washing hands before going in cubicle...sure we're supposed to do that for a tampon anyway.

Cups like these are just the next new thing. I bet years ago when tampons first came out people were all ':eek: no way, disgusting' but not anymore. The more choice the better I say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

if it supposedly lasts all day, is it a "one size fits all" kinda yoke, and if so i'd assume it's on the large side of this,, given that nobody has complained about leakage.

to me, that sounds like it has the potential to be uncomfortable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

I don't feel it at all, and I was completely unable to wear tampons when I started using a cup.

There are two sizes: http://www.mooncup.co.uk/menstrual_cup_model.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭taram

cuckoo wrote: »
    Tampons and towels give the impression that there's a lot more liquid as it soaks onto the surface - using the mooncup has surprised me how little liquid there actually is.
    Definitly agree with this! I have very heavy periods, it's never actually full even after about 6-8 hours, showing me that all the super tampons and giant pads just show the problem and annoy me :P but the cup sorts that problem until I want to deal with it.
    sam34 wrote: »
    if it supposedly lasts all day, is it a "one size fits all" kinda yoke, and if so i'd assume it's on the large side of this,, given that nobody has complained about leakage.
    It creates a sort of seal to stop leaks, it's more bell shaped than cup shaped really. It's really, really squishy medical grade silicone, so you just fold the top, pop it in and it unfolds to fit you and create a seal so it stays in place til you want it out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭allabouteve

sam34 wrote: »

to me, that sounds like it has the potential to be uncomfortable.

Very soft silicone, not uncomfortable at all.

The femmecup (same thing) comes in two sizes, one for under 30/pre childbirth and one for older women over 30/post birth.

Its not that big, you just 'leak' a lot less than you'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Birdsong

I got a mooncup last summer, as a result of this thread first time round and love it, however for the first 2 days it leaks - I need to wear a pad or liner also, which kinda goes against the point!
    Anybody have any suggestions, I don't think its got a hole -tried testing with water & it feels secure - wouldn't know its there. Only thing i can think of is i am not inserting correctly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭July

Birdsong, I get some leakage if I put it in too far, maybe that's what's happening you too.

LOVE my Mooncup. Left it at my parents house so had to go out and buy tampons today. Thought I'd never use them again. I had leakage from an oversaturated tampon and the next one was practically dry when I removed it - both in for about 5 hours. Mooncup all the way...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭YT

Just came across this thread from another one. Hope no minds it being bumped up?

I've never heard of a mooncup before.

At first reading the thread I was "ewww no f*cking way!" but now having read the whole thread I'm curious.
    I really really do not like getting my period,I feel disgusting and I hate using pads, I use tampons but find them uncomfortable. I would like to think about trying the mooncup, but I don't know..

Are they expensive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭Morgase

YT wrote: »
    Just came across this thread from another one. Hope no minds it being bumped up?

I've never heard of a mooncup before.

At first reading the thread I was "ewww no f*cking way!" but now having read the whole thread I'm curious.
    I really really do not like getting my period,I feel disgusting and I hate using pads, I use tampons but find them uncomfortable. I would like to think about trying the mooncup, but I don't know..

Are they expensive?

They're about €30. You can buy them from Boots (ring them to check they are in stock before you go!) or online.

30 quid might seem pricey but I know I would easily spend that on a few packets of tampons in a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭Skapoot

So how do you know when you're supposed to empty the cup? With tampons you know when you're supposed to change them. But the mooncup has no tell-tale helpful string ..

Is it just, see how it goes when you get the mooncup first or is there a guideline?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭winking weber

Twice a day is enough for me personally. If its full it will leak slightly... but it takes a lot to fill it. I might wear a pad on heavy day just to be sure, but rarely need it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

It looks HUGE on the website :eek:

At first I ws sort of grossed out, I think it's mostly because subconsciously I just associate the word "cup" with drinking or something...

I am definitely going to try this out after all these glowing reviews though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭dosed

>>> So how do you know when you're supposed to empty the cup? <<<

personally i can usually last the 12 hours w/o it being full. but if you are heavy then maybe try taking it out after 6 hours and see how full it is. if it gts full it will leak.

>> It looks HUGE on the website <<<

yeah i thought so too. its actually not that big and you fold it up real small to insert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭shelly6

I have one and I find it pretty good. Its good for sport and good against leakages.
    I got mine on bodykind.ie
    It really is nowhere near as gross as you would expect.
    In public toilets it can be just emptied and put back in again. I would see this as no different to not changing your st everytime you go to the toilet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 green dolphin

i used a mooncup for a while but gave up after a few months when it came time to boil/sterilize it. they recommend you do this in a pan of water on the hob, but i live in a shared house and i don't exactly want to be boiling my mooncup in the same saucepan people cook their pasta in. how does everyone else get around this?

i tried putting it in the microwave in a microwavable bowl, but after a few seconds i could hear crackling and the room smelled like melted plastic, so thats obviously not possible. i put it in a bowl with hot water from the kettle too, but that doesn't seem like it would kill many germs. any tips?