Classic Irish Phrases No Longer in Use

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Banjoseph

Do Irish mothers still threaten their offspring with "a clip around the earhole" ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Or a "clip on the butt of the lug!" :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

The-Rigger wrote: »
    You are about the 4th person I've seen spell it like that on these here boards.
    What's going on?

There is a major difference between crack and craic lads.
    Get it together! :)

I had someone trying to correct me for spelling "craic" correctly and said it's crack. Madness, some people ay?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭fricatus

dlofnep wrote: »
    Nobody ever said shift in Waterford, you big liar.

"Stall", "Go off with" and "Ride" were the standard phrases.

Ehhh... yes we did! The Saturday after a night out in Breens, you'd catch the bus into town for about 3.00 and hang out in the little café in (the long since closed) Trinity Square, 10 of us around one coffee, and we'd ask all the lads as they arrived along... well, did ya shift?!

I recall though, that there was a lad called Wexy in our class in school who used to come in on the train (from guess where...), and he said something in about 1988 about "shiftin' a yungwan" and we all took the piss out of his strange ford'n sayings! But then two years later, we had started to use that expression ourselves, like true hypocrites.

As for the expressions you mention, yeah, the first two absolutely, but it took me a bit longer unfortunately to get to the third one! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

A couple of one's my Grandfather used to use:

Shuck'em Shock'em which means : ok ,not great but grand.
    Fair to middling : ok ,not great but grand.

He was a middle of the road kinda fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Ah man, I used to associate "shift" with the farmers in New Ross when I used to go up to my cousins.

"Here, will ya shift her?"
    "Will I what?"
    "Shift her!"
    "Where?"
    "I dunno, behind the shed"
    "Why, what ye gunna do to her?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,436 ✭✭✭Doodee

fricatus wrote: »

I recall though, that there was a lad called Wexy in our class in school who

short for Wexer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

I remember when I was about 10 or 11 or so the phrase "get outta that garden" did the rounds for a while. It was an expression of disbelief or disagreement I seem to recall.

"I'm going to buy me a pair of those new black nike air max's tomorow"
    "Get outta that garden, the're fukking horrible"

"I had trials for liverpool once"
    "Bollix, get outta that garden"

Your teacher tries to give you homework on a friday. "Ha, get outta that garden miss"

It had a pretty short shelf life that one, but it was rampant at one stage. Anyone else remember it or was it localised to my area?

Nah, I remember it too.. But only cos we said it immitating dubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

To be financially financially embarrassed:

to be down to your uppers
    to be on your uppers
    to be skint
    to be stoney broke
    not to have two pennies to rub together
    to not have a light

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Seeker

"You're a legend!" seemed to be used for a while. I dont hear it much anymore though.

Seeker wrote: »
    "You're a legend!" seemed to be used for a while. I dont hear it much anymore though.

Still very much in use here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

This was my favourite one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭floydmoon1

sound as a pound.It died out once the euro came in.Sound as a euro doesnt sound the same:D.
    I heard a few lads use savage cabbage meaning somethine was good.
    Also deadly was used alot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

bleedin rapi'

slip as in "sure she's only a slip of a thing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

fricatus wrote: »
    When I was a teenager (early '90s) we'd hit town on a Friday night, so the next day we'd all arrive into the café the next day around 3 for the post mortem, and the first question asked would be "d'ya shift?"
    Nobody ever said shift in Waterford, you big liar.

"Stall", "Go off with" and "Ride" were the standard phrases.

No no, he's right! Sounds just like my weekends "back in the day"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

"Funt" meaning "kick", as in "I gave him a funt up the hole."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Jim_Are_Great

Heavy dose of culchie needed here.

In relation to an overpriced article: "I'd like me job".

As a synonym for "it could be worse": " 'twould be worse if the ass died and the turf still in the bog".

Of a person with a stooping gait: "Here's me head, me arse is coming".

"I'm so hungry I could eat a farmer's arse through a ditch".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Here_Young_Wan

I remember after some ad whenever anyone would take a sup out of a drink they would follow it up with "Ahh, thats bass"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

Nobody outside of Dublin ever says bleedin'! Well, unless.. you know. It's that time.
    You Clot !

• Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 17,009 Mod ✭✭✭✭Toots

Hagar wrote: »
    To be financially financially embarrassed:

to be down to your uppers
    to be on your uppers
    to be skint
    to be stoney broke
    not to have two pennies to rub together
    to not have a light

or 'I haven't the price of ten!' back in the days when they still sold ten packs

• Site Banned Posts: 5,904 ✭✭✭parsi

"stad on a washer" used be popular - means similar to "hold your wisht".

"pullthrough" - skinny fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

Grand cake Nora.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Does anyone play marbles any more?
    I have a steelie booley.

"Stop that blagarding"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

Terry wrote: »
    I have a steelie booley.
    Arent you the lucky boy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

My uncle still says that! Bit of wisht! No idea where it comes from though?
    From (oddly enough! :D ) the Irish "Éist!" which I suppose translated directly just means "Listen!" but has a strong sense of "Hush up now and listen ..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Terry wrote: »
    I have a steelie booley.
    Wait! Didn't I get inflicted with a band of that name a while back up your neck of the woods?

What does it actually mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,291 ✭✭✭dresden8

There are people in Ireland who can pronounce their th's?

Yes, see my thread on the garthee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Wait! Didn't I get inflicted with a band of that name a while back up your neck of the woods?

What does it actually mean?
    I've no idea what you're talking aboot.
    A steelie booley is a large ball bearing that was used to destroy ordinary marbles.
    Those with friends in the motor/airplane mechanics industry always had loads of them.