Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Classic Irish Phrases No Longer in Use

• 02-02-2008 5:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭

Whats words or phrases do you remember as a kid that no-one ever really uses anymore?

Some I can remember are ...

When something was good it was gift

When I met a person from the country they sometimes said is it yerself?

When asked if you had sex with your g/f it was .. did you get your hole?

When someone was a total numbskull they were a bleedin' tick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

My mother used to say "the pictures" instead of the cinema..actually come to think of it,i think she still does :)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

dSTAR wrote: »
    Whats words or phrases do you remember as a kid that no-one ever really uses anymore?

Some I can remember are ...

When something was good it was gift

When I met a person from the country they sometimes said is it yerself?

When asked if you had sex with your g/f it was .. did you get your hole?

When someone was a total numbskull they were a bleedin' tick

You probably don't hear people using those phrases because you are in Melbourne. Apart from the last one I still hear the rest at least occasionally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Possibly. I'm sure theres lots of others though ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

them ones are still in use.... though there being phased out dSTAR... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

going to the shops to get the messages

going to spend a penny

getting the train from Kingsbridge. years after the name had changed.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭gollyitsolly

Did you get your ware?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I still say 'the pictures' for the cinema.
    I think I must be 103.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

dSTAR wrote: »
    did you get your hole?[/I]

Still being used today!

Although, instead of saying "She's deadly!" - it's being replaced with "She's fresh!" by all these neo-dweeb skateboard-emo teen types. Fresh? What is she? A ham sandwich?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

The fourth one is wrong, people weren't being called " a bleedin' tick" as in the small insect (or whatever) that sucks blood, but "bleedin' thick" as being an idiot, I still regularly hear people being called "thick".

There are people in Ireland who can pronounce their th's?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

In Dublin it used to be "Bleed's boggers'', now thats gone and changed to "Bleed'n foreigners".

Nobody outside of Dublin ever says bleedin'! Well, unless.. you know. It's that time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

dlofnep wrote: »
    There are people in Ireland who can pronounce their th's?

Yes, but like using the withdrawal method, it's dying out. Soon both will be a lost art.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

When I was a teenager (early '90s) we'd hit town on a Friday night, so the next day we'd all arrive into the café the next day around 3 for the post mortem, and the first question asked would be "d'ya shift?"

fricatus wrote: »
    When I was a teenager (early '90s) we'd hit town on a Friday night, so the next day we'd all arrive into the café the next day around 3 for the post mortem, and the first question asked would be "d'ya shift?"

Nobody ever said shift in Waterford, you big liar.

"Stall", "Go off with" and "Ride" were the standard phrases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Whischt

rubadub wrote: »
    Whischt

My uncle still says that! Bit of wisht! No idea where it comes from though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

rubadub wrote: »
    Whischt

A great one, my Dad still uses it. :D

Me: "United are brutal!"
    Him: "Ahhh will ya wisht!"

That fella hasnt got an arse in his trousers! I think it meant he was poor.

Another one. Fur coat and no knickers. Ha ha ha ,I love that one. My ma would be peeping out the window looking at a "posh" neighbour going up the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Mairt wrote: »
    In Dublin it used to be "Bleed's boggers'', now thats gone and changed to "Bleed'n foreigners".

Pronounced "fordiners"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Ruu wrote: »
    A great one, my Dad still uses it. :D

Me: "United are brutal!"
    Him: "Ahhh will ya wisht!"

also a boards user
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/member.php?u=74164

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

silverharp wrote: »
    going to the shops to get the messages..

Yeah .. now thats what I am taking about!

Messages? What the hell is that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I use all the phrases you've mentioned and I'm only 16 :(

I think not enough people call things "bleedin rappih" any more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 lilann

My ma used to call the kitchen the scullery

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I still say what's the crack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

My oul fella uses "Mudder ah Jay" to express shock:

Me: "Did you hear Billy Byrnes is dead?"

Oul Fella: "Is he? Ah Mudder ah Jay"

I think it means Mother of Jesus

Sometimes he adds in "Tonight" at the end to express further shock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

I thought the utility room not the kitchen was known as the scullery..

Gerrup the yard,will ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

FunkZ wrote: »
    I still say what's the crack.

You are about the 4th person I've seen spell it like that on these here boards.
    What's going on?

There is a major difference between crack and craic lads.
    Get it together! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Banjoseph

Do Irish mothers still threaten their offspring with "a clip around the earhole" ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Or a "clip on the butt of the lug!" :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

The-Rigger wrote: »
    You are about the 4th person I've seen spell it like that on these here boards.
    What's going on?

There is a major difference between crack and craic lads.
    Get it together! :)

I had someone trying to correct me for spelling "craic" correctly and said it's crack. Madness, some people ay?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

Ehhh... yes we did! The Saturday after a night out in Breens, you'd catch the bus into town for about 3.00 and hang out in the little café in (the long since closed) Trinity Square, 10 of us around one coffee, and we'd ask all the lads as they arrived along... well, did ya shift?!

I recall though, that there was a lad called Wexy in our class in school who used to come in on the train (from guess where...), and he said something in about 1988 about "shiftin' a yungwan" and we all took the piss out of his strange ford'n sayings! But then two years later, we had started to use that expression ourselves, like true hypocrites.

As for the expressions you mention, yeah, the first two absolutely, but it took me a bit longer unfortunately to get to the third one! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭briantwin

A couple of one's my Grandfather used to use:

Shuck'em Shock'em which means : ok ,not great but grand.
    Fair to middling : ok ,not great but grand.

He was a middle of the road kinda fella.

Ah man, I used to associate "shift" with the farmers in New Ross when I used to go up to my cousins.

"Here, will ya shift her?"
    "Will I what?"
    "Shift her!"
    "Where?"
    "I dunno, behind the shed"
    "Why, what ye gunna do to her?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

I recall though, that there was a lad called Wexy in our class in school who

short for Wexer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

I remember when I was about 10 or 11 or so the phrase "get outta that garden" did the rounds for a while. It was an expression of disbelief or disagreement I seem to recall.

"I'm going to buy me a pair of those new black nike air max's tomorow"
    "Get outta that garden, the're fukking horrible"

"I had trials for liverpool once"
    "Bollix, get outta that garden"

Your teacher tries to give you homework on a friday. "Ha, get outta that garden miss"

It had a pretty short shelf life that one, but it was rampant at one stage. Anyone else remember it or was it localised to my area?

Nah, I remember it too.. But only cos we said it immitating dubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

To be financially financially embarrassed:

to be down to your uppers
    to be on your uppers
    to be skint
    to be stoney broke
    not to have two pennies to rub together
    to not have a light

• Closed Accounts Posts: 178 ✭✭Seeker

"You're a legend!" seemed to be used for a while. I dont hear it much anymore though.

Seeker wrote: »
    "You're a legend!" seemed to be used for a while. I dont hear it much anymore though.

Still very much in use here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

This was my favourite one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭floydmoon1

sound as a pound.It died out once the euro came in.Sound as a euro doesnt sound the same:D.
    I heard a few lads use savage cabbage meaning somethine was good.
    Also deadly was used alot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

bleedin rapi'

slip as in "sure she's only a slip of a thing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭fozzle

No no, he's right! Sounds just like my weekends "back in the day"!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

"Funt" meaning "kick", as in "I gave him a funt up the hole."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 652 ✭✭✭Jim_Are_Great

Heavy dose of culchie needed here.

In relation to an overpriced article: "I'd like me job".

As a synonym for "it could be worse": " 'twould be worse if the ass died and the turf still in the bog".

Of a person with a stooping gait: "Here's me head, me arse is coming".

"I'm so hungry I could eat a farmer's arse through a ditch".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Here_Young_Wan

I remember after some ad whenever anyone would take a sup out of a drink they would follow it up with "Ahh, thats bass"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

Nobody outside of Dublin ever says bleedin'! Well, unless.. you know. It's that time.
    You Clot !