Sunday 10th feb, midday - 62/63 middle abbey street, Scientology Dublin - Who's in?

• 28-01-2008 07:29PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭

Since the other thread is moreso debating whether there IS an 11am on sunday, this is for anyone who's actually interested in making a protest against the Scientology center on Abbey Street. Gotton a few PM's so far, hope to see those faces repost here ;)

Starting at Midday as some who have shown interest would need to get the train etc etc, and 11am is too early a mobilisation time.

The basic gist is a protest outside the building - Pickets, flyers, etc etc. The point of it all is for public and media awareness. Tying in with the London protests should get us more attention. Protest should go on until about 5/6pm. Youre obviously free to break for food etc at any time.

Wear a mask of your choosing. V masks are available on Amazon.com for about $9.99 USD.

And just to be clear, Protest is considered fail if;
    A) Someone gets violent
    B) Gardaí are called in to move us along
    (lots of reasons this could happen, especially blocking pedestrian traffic).
    C) People get disorganised and start wandering around aimlessly.

Also, David O'Doherty is on at 8:30 that night, if anyone's interested in that either :D

Post up here if you're interested, and let me know what country youre coming from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

There isn't a Sunday 2nd. I thought it was the 10th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Can we have a scientology forum? A subsection of The Thunderdome perhaps.
    Why not stick it in religion?

It's taking over AH.

Why scientology is the thing that motivate you to take to the streets?
    I will never understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

Is the 2nd not a saturday:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

Edited now, 10th of feb - my apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Everyone should wear Tom Cruise masks. :)

I enjoy the odd protest, but I have this sneaking suspicion that protesting about Scientology will give them publicity, thus they would win. It's like the Westboro Baptist Church or bears, just ignore them and someday they'll go away.

Hopefully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Why on earth would you wear a mask to a protest..? And what on earth has V for Vendetta got to do with Scientology? :confused:

Just to clarify - Is this an actual protest, or an excuse for nerdy comic-book types to get out of the house, re-enact scenes from their favourite movies and chant immature 'We are legion' type slogans...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

The OP suggested masks etc whatever turns you on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Its just an awareness campaign for people to become aware of what Scientology is and how dangerous the cult is.

If people want to know more they will no doubt come across the crimes, torture and illegal activity of the cult through a quick google. Without knowledge more people will become idiots like Tom Cruise.

With high profile celebs supporting the cult it gives the impression that they are something good and legitimite when infact they are nothing more than a dangers pyramid scheme that will stop at nothing to silence anyone that speaks out against it.

Why on earth would you wear a mask to a protest..? And what on earth has V for Vendetta got to do with Scientology? :confused:

V is the associated mask, you can wear whichever one you want.
    And because you dont want your face/profile associated with scientology. Never good to be on their bad side.

Also: Thread is for anyone who is interested in attending, not for
    Just to clarify - Is this an actual protest, or an excuse for nerdy comic-book types to get out of the house, re-enact scenes from their favourite movies and chant immature 'We are legion' type slogans...?

In any case, no, I've already stated the purpose of the protest. Please re-read my original post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Superfluous

I'm in.

If you don't know what the hubbub is, look up wikipedia, xenu.net and whyaretheydead.net. It's more serious than you realise - maybe not here at the moment, but some day if it's gone unnoticed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭martin84

watched a good doc called The Bridge. ya can get in the usual places.

Wiki Entry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Isn't the mask from V a Guy Fawkes mask? I don't get the connection.

Will you be protesting all the other crackpot religions as future events? Those Magdalene laundries weren't too long ago, and probably much worse than anything the church of Scientology has ever done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

When are we going after all the other religions? Can we do Lutherans next and then maybe shia muslims?

Wreck wrote: »
    When are we going after all the other religions? Can we do Lutherans next and then maybe shia muslims?

Sorry, we have no interest in targetting religions, the protest is against a tax-exempt business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Wait.....they have rented property on abbey street?

Who the fook paid for this? :confused:

Im not religious but as long as they dont take it to the street protesting curb everyone elses freedoms level I can respect anyone having faith in catholicism, Islam, any christianity, Judaism (as long as they arent Zionist i.e. racist and anti Palestinian)

But seriously, Scientologists are retards.

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Wait.....they have rented property on abbey street?

Who the fook paid for this? :confused:

Im not religious but as long as they dont take it to the street protesting curb everyone elses freedoms level I can respect anyone having faith in catholicism, Islam, any christianity, Judaism (as long as they arent Zionist i.e. racist and anti Palestinian)

But seriously, Scientologists are retards.

Actually, they do quite often take to the streets to offer you a "free personality test". The personality test will ALWAYS identify you with some sort of problem, be it communication issues/depression/bottled emotions etc etc, and they then offer you to take part in a "psychiatry alternative", for a nominal fee. Usually Scientology isn't mentioned until you've entered your first session.

One of my friends in Dublin often has to walk across middle abbey street on the way to work, he's been approached countless times by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Tellox wrote: »
    Actually, they do quite often take to the streets to offer you a "free personality test". The personality test will ALWAYS identify you with some sort of problem, be it communication issues/depression/bottled emotions etc etc, and they then offer you to take part in a "psychiatry alternative", for a nominal fee. Usually Scientology isn't mentioned until you've entered your first session.

One of my friends in Dublin often has to walk across middle abbey street on the way to work, he's been approached countless times by them.

As have I. Thats how I know about the huge black guy on staff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

They've offered me a whole lot of stress tests.

Of course I'm f*cking stressed, I'm talking to a Scientologist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

As have I. Thats how I know about the huge black guy on staff...

It isnt Isacc Hayes is it?

Wow, what a (former) legend!

Till he fell in with these pricks. Fcuk sake he must be in his 60s now, yid think he would know better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    It isnt Isacc Hayes is it?

Wow, what a (former) legend!

Till he fell in with these pricks. Fcuk sake he must be in his 60s now, yid think he would know better.

Nah, I would laugh at him. But this guy looks like hes killed people :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

A) Someone gets violent

You should be prepared for that one in particular, Especially if there is less than 10/5 of ye. Im betting some **** garda will tell you to move along, even if you are abiding the law and conducting the protest in a peaceful manor, he will still threaten you with "Da boys will be comin down wit da Van"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

I'm in

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Since the other thread is moreso debating whether there IS an 11am on sunday, this is for anyone who's actually interested in making a protest against the Scientology center on Abbey Street. Gotton a few PM's so far, hope to see those faces repost here ;)

Starting at Midday as some who have shown interest would need to get the train etc etc, and 11am is too early a mobilisation time.

The basic gist is a protest outside the building - Pickets, flyers, etc etc. The point of it all is for public and media awareness. Tying in with the London protests should get us more attention. Protest should go on until about 5/6pm. Youre obviously free to break for food etc at any time.

Wear a mask of your choosing. V masks are available on Amazon.com for about $9.99 USD.

A) Someone gets violent

Also, David O'Doherty is on at 8:30 that night, if anyone's interested in that either :D

Post up here if you're interested, and let me know what country youre coming from.

You know it would be far smarter to just ignore them tbh. They want this sort of attention and there is no point providing a platform for thugs and scumbags to riot either. This is the type of publicity they crave. BTW I think I have been living in a bubble but what is Scientology anyway?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

darkman2 wrote: »
    BTW I think I have been living in a bubble but what is Scientology anyway?:confused:

Most famous link, and be warned, extremely disturbing images within, would be:

http://theunfunnytruth.ytmnd.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

Sorry, we have no interest in targetting religions, the protest is against a tax-exempt business.

Oh, right. Well i'm not really interested then if that's the reason.

Wasn't the whole idea behind this and the masks to remain anonymous ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Isn't the mask from V a Guy Fawkes mask? I don't get the connection.

Will you be protesting all the other crackpot religions as future events? Those Magdalene laundries weren't too long ago, and probably much worse than anything the church of Scientology has ever done.

Guy fawkes mask is used by epic fail guy, a 4chan meme involving a stick figure wearing a guy fawkes mask who fails epically at everything. Guy fawkes himself had an epic fail when he failed to blow up parliament, hence the connection.
    Anoymous wants to remain anonymous, hence why theyre planning onw earing masks, and the most appropriate is to use one worn by a 4chan meme, epic fail guy.
    so now ya know