First Gen iPhone Unlock / Sourcing (non subs) [Post these questions here *ONLY* !!!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,658 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

Thats the way mine is at the moment but with Meteor.
    so does anyone know for definite will 1.1.3 and a voda sim work after jailbreak?

i have 1.1.1 working and i dont want to risk wrecking my phone.

i also presume the recommended upgrade path is
    1.1.2 > jailbreak & anysim 1.1.2u
    ibrikr 1.1.3 upgrade

that should work right??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭cdebru

SoulRock wrote: »
    @Markgoggin
    how do i find out if it's US or UK i suspect its US as it came with an AT&T sim in the box..
    as regards unlocking it im stumped, have unlocked phones before through just software but the hardware mod route i've never tried..
    Thanx for reply

If it came with an AT&T sim then it should be US if you are still unsure look at the back if it has a CE logo it is european if not then it must be a US iphone

CD will you do me a favour have a look at the link i posted and try and figure out do i need to change the Irish Format in the txt file.

will do have to go out now will do it when i get back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 aidan.mcgowran

Can anybody give the names of a few places that sell the turbo sims in town. I went to a few places Thursday night and nobody had any idea of what I was talking about. I could order off ebay but basically Im too impatient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Tob13

Any1 know if theres a way to get delivery reports workin on iphones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭JAMM222

Can anybody give the names of a few places that sell the turbo sims in town. I went to a few places Thursday night and nobody had any idea of what I was talking about. I could order off ebay but basically Im too impatient.

i went to this place on parnell street he charges 60 for the sim or he will do it for you for 80! they are chinese guys and they are sound i have got 2 phones done from them and they are both working perfectly! its near fibbers pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 markgoggin

JAMM222 wrote: »
    i went to this place on parnell street he charges 60 for the sim or he will do it for you for 80! they are chinese guys and they are sound i have got 2 phones done from them and they are both working perfectly! its near fibbers pub

@SoulRock

Bring it into them. If you're totally stumped, €80 is well worth someone else doing it right for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭higster

markgoggin wrote: »
    @SoulRock

Bring it into them. If you're totally stumped, €80 is well worth someone else doing it right for you.

Lads can ye give more details..i made a complete bo**&x of mine so going this route but being the culchie i am need name of the place etc. Mucho appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭Enright

Right click on the videos in iTunes and click convert for iPod. After that u should be able to sync em.

using xilisoft video convertor, works a treat, u can specify the format you want, i-pod or i-phone etc, i have st trianians working perfectly on mine

CD will you do me a favour have a look at the link i posted and try and figure out do i need to change the Irish Format in the txt file.

Dan just did that on 2 phones and it works fine

you need to create a new folder called Support and pop the two files (PhoneNumber.dylib" and "PhoneNumberTemplates.txt) into the new Support folder before you do take the text file and cut the Ireland part and paste it at the top of the list then save the file just reopen it then to make sure Ireland is at the top of the list
    Alternatively you could just remove every other country from the list but try it the other way first.

move the the other two files (AppSupport" and "AppSupport.original") into the appsupport/framework directory thats it
    exit and then reboot the iphone and all should be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,449 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

when you're playing music on the iphone there's a little musical note symbol in the status bar up near the battery indicator, how do i get this to go away once i stopped playing music. incidently enough i can't find a stop button on the iphone.

anyone have any ideas? i assume the musical note symbol means the ipod is still running thus using battery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Cremo wrote: »
    when you're playing music on the iphone there's a little musical note symbol in the status bar up near the battery indicator, how do i get this to go away once i stopped playing music. incidently enough i can't find a stop button on the iphone.

anyone have any ideas? i assume the musical note symbol means the ipod is still running thus using battery?

I don't think this is the iPod but rather the music "service" - so if you have mobile scrobbler installed, this will always be running - on mine it never goes away.
    I'd imagine other 3rd party apps that use the music service also make this logo display. I'm not sure if it effects battery life, as I've had mobile scrobbler running since I got the phone - it's too cool to do without!

Also, hackint0sh are reporting that there is now a fix for the new features of google maps (locate and hybrid) in the 1.1.3 jailbreak, so it looks like 1.1.3 upgrade is now pretty much perfect! :)

Nope no go for me, leave the Irish format the way it is ya?
    cdebru wrote: »
    Dan just did that on 2 phones and it works fine

you need to create a new folder called Support and pop the two files (PhoneNumber.dylib" and "PhoneNumberTemplates.txt) into the new Support folder before you do take the text file and cut the Ireland part and paste it at the top of the list then save the file just reopen it then to make sure Ireland is at the top of the list
    Alternatively you could just remove every other country from the list but try it the other way first.

move the the other two files (AppSupport" and "AppSupport.original") into the appsupport/framework directory thats it
    exit and then reboot the iphone and all should be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,449 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

cianclarke wrote: »
    I don't think this is the iPod but rather the music "service" - so if you have mobile scrobbler installed, this will always be running - on mine it never goes away.
    I'd imagine other 3rd party apps that use the music service also make this logo display. I'm not sure if it effects battery life, as I've had mobile scrobbler running since I got the phone - it's too cool to do without!
    ahh that's what it is, thought it was the ipod :o

mobile scrobbler was the second app to install (after iworld of course) it's so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭SoulRock

@markgoggin
    cheers for that man, might just head in there tomorrow if their open?
    any chance you know the name of the place
    Thanx again

Nope no go for me, leave the Irish format the way it is ya?

yes just move the Irish one to the top of the list

Are you sure that you are putting the files in the correct directories?

/System/Library/Frameworks/AppSupport.framework copy the appsupport and appsupport orginal and make a new folder called support and put the other files in it.and this at top:

// Ireland [ie]
    ie 353 00 0
    + + + + 1 #######;########
    + + + + 40# #####;######;#######
    + + + + 50# #####;######;#######
    + + + + ## #####;######;#######

/System/Library/Frameworks/AppSupport.framework copy the appsupport and appsupport orginal and make a new folder called support and put the other files in it.and this at top:

// Ireland [ie]
    ie 353 00 0
    + + + + 1 #######;########
    + + + + 40# #####;######;#######
    + + + + 50# #####;######;#######
    + + + + ## #####;######;#######

its at the top still in the textfile yeah not outside the text file

And the new folder is Support not support

And you rebooted the phone afterwards

If that is not working delete all the other countries and leave Ireland just in the text file and see if that works

For those on 1.1.3

Add sleepers.net/iphonerepo to your sources gives you a tweak 1.1.3 folder with fixes for some of the problems in 1.1.3

And an update to locateme has been released as well which works much better for me anyway (on Meteor)

Didnt work CD but got it working a Completly diff way will post what i did tomorrow. I cant get locate me to work on meteor only o2 same with google maps locate me.That mean your back to 1.1.3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭tw0nk

heyas, http://rapidshare.com/files/86938563/Jailbreak-1.1.3.tar.gz.html has the new release of 1.1.3 upgrade (official release) just saw it on hackint0sh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Patrickof

unklerosco wrote: »
    meteor... Still not working. The odd time after trying to send txts it says there's no sim in it... Turning it on n off sorts that out...

Unklerosco, did you get this sorted?

I'm on vodafone, OTB 112 with iphonesimfreer and has worked fine for the last two weeks since I unlocked it. But just since yesterday I get the "error sending message" and sometimes "sim locked" or "no sim installed" when sending sms. I can receive SMS fine and make/receive calls.

Didnt work CD but got it working a Completly diff way will post what i did tomorrow. I cant get locate me to work on meteor only o2 same with google maps locate me.That mean your back to 1.1.3?

No Iam still on 1.1.2 for the moment but I could never get locateme to work on meteor but it does now with the update version not as good as vodsfone works but before it could not find any cell towers on meteor

Yeah Same with me but if i pop in a o2 sim it works straight off.

There ment to be the same but nates is better ie easier and faster.
    tw0nk wrote: »
    heyas, http://rapidshare.com/files/86938563/Jailbreak-1.1.3.tar.gz.html has the new release of 1.1.3 upgrade (official release) just saw it on hackint0sh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Given the politics involved I think I might go with the Dev Team release to give them some bit of support, and also Nates is technically illegal. How ethical of me, ehy... :D

Still waiting for my *sim from DealExtreme - they don't seem to have even shipped it yet, hopefully it'l go out on monday and with EMS it'l be here on Friday... Fingers crossed.

But do you not released Nate is a Dev Team so makes no Difference and illegal your iphone is illegal? And The Dev teams JB does the exact same thing as Nate so there both illegal i the same context. Nate's is more NOOB friendly.Have to remember only for nate there would not be a 1.1.3 jailbreak till the end of Feb.Also the Dev cant get there to update from 1.1.1 even though alot of people are having problems updating from 1.1.1 others have not and the Dev teams release cannot do that.
    cianclarke wrote: »
    Given the politics involved I think I might go with the Dev Team release to give them some bit of support, and also Nates is technically illegal. How ethical of me, ehy... :D

Still waiting for my *sim from DealExtreme - they don't seem to have even shipped it yet, hopefully it'l go out on monday and with EMS it'l be here on Friday... Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭davkav

edited the appropriate files in appsupport.framework... and worked first time. I just deleted all the other countries bar Ireland.

Im on metoer, having trouble with locate me in Google Maps also.

Everything seems to working grand now that ibrickr method works a treat you cant really go wrong.

One question, my GF has an otb1.1.1 using anysimu 1.1.2 on 1.1.2 firmware. Upgrading to 1.1.3 is only possible if your using a *sim correct???

Cant wait for summerboard now, I hate the iPhone stock theme.

No Software unlocks withstand the update, i am running anysim on my 1.1.3 at present.
    davkav wrote: »
    edited the appropriate files in appsupport.framework... and worked first time. I just deleted all the other countries bar Ireland.

Im on metoer, having trouble with locate me in Google Maps also.

Everything seems to working grand now that ibrickr method works a treat you cant really go wrong.

One question, my GF has an otb1.1.1 using anysimu 1.1.2 on 1.1.2 firmware. Upgrading to 1.1.3 is only possible if your using a *sim correct???

Cant wait for summerboard now, I hate the iPhone stock theme.

I reckon i must be the only person who couldnt get the appsupport working.