Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Highs and Lows of 2007

• 31-12-2007 10:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭

Well what were your highs and lows of 2007?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

Quality wrote: »

My dad died, that was pretty sh!t............can't really think of a high that counters that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,948 ✭✭✭patrickc

highs, I don't know easier to think of lows isn't it

lows, too many deaths this year of people I knew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

Ahh Bless him...

That is a low...

I had a pretty **** year too.

I got married...... While I had the vomiting bug
    I got pregnant.....Then Miscarried
    I started a new job.... got made redundant but wasnt there long enough for redundancy.

Jaysus I hope 08 is better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Bob in Belfast

High-Kathy French
    Low-Kathy French.
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Highs - When I was asleep
    Lows - When I was awake

Emo ftl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭Huggles

High - Lost 3 stone
    Low - hate my job hate my job :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,558 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I hated my job,
    I quit my job,
    Now i don't have to work new years.

I'm now sitting at a computer on new years eve, it's 11:11pm, theres no drink left and i'm bored out of my skull.

The grass is always greener..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Lows = Being left to look after 3 kids as a single parent :mad: Cracking my ribs playing soccer:mad: My daughter in hospital for 3 weeks with sepsis :mad: Having no money for xmas:mad:
    Highs = My Family :D My team winning the championship :D my season as a keeper best in the county esp last game!! :D:D My Daughter walking for the first time she has a lot of problems with her hip :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I didn't have any highs or lows this year. It's right on the axis all the way really.

Actually I just can't think of any.

EDIT:
    Oh yeah the cat we had since I was 3 died. Great, now I'm sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Not much here either! A very low variance year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

High - buying my house, getting my new car, getting my dog.

Low - My little bro dying puts '07 as my Annus horribilis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Gekko

High - I guess it'd have to be my brother and sister being on the mend (see below). Oh and I raised €2,750 for charity.

Low - Last Xmas my younger bro was suicidal and several months back my sister was committed...(as you can see above, they're on the mend now thankfully). Oh and one of the family dogs dying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 constipatinator

High - When I met Gay Byrne in an Irish bar in New York.

Low - Losing my 14 year old friend to suicide.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,940 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

High: Got my puppy, lost 3 1/2 stone, got a great new job.

Lows: My Grandma died, had breakdown from being bullied in my old job and was out of work for 2 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

highs:
    * getting a job for work placement for college, was begining to think i wouldn't get one.
    * getting through one of the thoughest years of my college course (2nd year) quite well.
    * seeing the joy in my nephew playing the wii that santa got him.
    * seeing those new rules for learner drivers and thinking i'm glad i don't have to go through that.
    * seeing my brother being enrolled into the Boston police force.
    * sure there are others can't really think about them now.

lows:
    * a breakup which i took pretty badly.
    * when i threw a complete mental fit at boston airport because my bags were taken off at shannon when i was flying dublin->shannon->boston on the same plane :s, looking back at it in hindsight i was pretty stupid and i think i damaged that desk girl for life, i'm pretty ashamed at that.
    * having a **** summer where all i did was work and all the weather did was rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

Highs: Graduating from college and getting a job.

Lows: The **** summer while I waited around to start said job while it rained pretty much constantly (it wasn't entirely **** there was the odd little ray of sun light).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Hmm. Highs:
    Finishing in UCD, big high. Traveling a lot and having some very good times. Looks like I've finally gotten the job thing sorted out and found something I'm looking forward to doing. Met a nice girl.

Lows: Being stuck in Dundalk living at home for way too long. Commuting to college before and during finals.

Weighing everything up it's been a pretty good year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Highs: Losing weight then packed on loads of muscle.
    Learnt the guitar and bodhran
    Passed exams easily
    Won the lotto
    Bought new house/car
    Great girlfriend

Lows: None really

Oh 2007 you said?? Sorry, the above is 2008.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

high: accepted to college.

low: grandmother's 3 stroke's. diagnosed with alsizimers (spelling as drunk) and also diagnoses with epilipsey.
    bad year for her. love her to bits tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭dogg_r_69

Ahh Bless him...

That is a low...

I had a pretty **** year too.

I got married...... While I had the vomiting bug
    I got pregnant.....Then Miscarried
    I started a new job.... got made redundant but wasnt there long enough for redundancy.

Jaysus I hope 08 is better.
    My god, after reading that I hope for the same

As for me
    Highs:
    Falling for someone in particular, my job, building a new house,
    Lows:
    Breaking up with someone in particular

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Highs : got tickets to Springsteen for May
    Lows : wet summer was a bummer

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Lows: Can't really think of any

Highs: Left Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭sullivk

Highs:
    Passed my 3rd year of college,
    Started getting paid for college work placement,
    My little babba started school,:D
    My banger passed the NCT,:eek:
    My sister & sister-in-law had beautiful babies

Lows:
    A particularly bad relationship with a psycho,
    My grandad very sick in hospital at the moment,
    Stupid crappy summer with no holiday :(

Thats more highs than lows! :)

My lows are too numerous to air in polite conversation.
    2007 was such a bad year, that eventually the anticipation of the next disaster became my principle source of amusement.

On the plus while youse were being washed out I was basking on the continent, and when a nip came in the air there, I returned to a glorious autumn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Highs - lots.
    Lows - not so many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Low - Committed my first murder

High - Got away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Highs - Went to NYC
    Went to loads of gigs
    Met 2 of my favourite bands
    Bought both my 1st and 2nd car
    Finally moved out of my parents house

Lows - Financial situation is fairly bleak
    My OH moving to Dublin to be a Prison Officer
    My job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Highs: 2007 in general bar the lows
    Lows: Nana died, and other things like the murder of Manuela Riedo and death of Katy French.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,578 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Hmm..

Highs, going to Budapest as a guest of Ferrari to watch the Grand Prix, qualifying on the Bradley.

Lows... Don't really have any, other than losing out after a couple of job interviews so I'm stuck in the same job. Can't complain about 2007 at all. Roll on 2008. I've got just under two hours to go.

NTM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭pid()

Highs: Leaving a job, and a town that were sucking the life out of me. I have my dream job now, however the hours could be better but that's a small thing to complain about really.

Lows: You know.... nothing comes to mind. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Highs:New job
    Low: My cousin committing suicide.

2008 is going to be a big one for my wife and I, fun times. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Highs: ?

Lows:
    too many people I know getting sick or dying

going back to school and being completely lost, failing all my tests and getting constantly shouted at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

Highs:
    -Went to Paris with a bunch of school mates in March, amazing trip.
    -Went to Rome and Sorrento in October, another great holiday.
    -Got my first job for 6 weeks and earned €2,000 :)

Lows:
    -My Grandad died yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,685 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Highs :
    • Doing well in my christmas exams.
    • Getting a high paying job for the summer.
    • Buying a car.

Lows:
    • Doing rubbish in my summer college exams (still passed them).
    • Totally mismanaging my earned money and becoming broke.
    • Car constantly breaking down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

highs: weed

lows: lack of weed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Highs: Lots of beer.

Lows: The hangovers.

Other than that, it's been the same as any other year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭pid()

Jello wrote: »
    Lows:
    -My Grandad died yesterday.

Sorry to hear that Jello. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭ellenmelon

highs:
    finishing my first year of my degree. it was fricking hard work.
    making some great new friends
    getting work that i like, even if its not the best pay.

lows:
    not having high enough expectations for myself.
    not getting as fit as i wanted

a few others in both lists, but not worth mentioning! sorry to all those who have lost people this year, and especially those in the last few weeks/days :(

happy new year everyone, bring on 2008!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Highs - Paris in January and November, Portugal in April and May, Shane in general, Christmas, swimming in January, the car, being declared NED (no evidence of cancer).

Lows - Sai (Scenic911) dying, almost dying myself in February, the surgery to remove my oesophagus, extreme fatigue, not being able to eat properly again ever, waiting to recover from the surgery (and still am), my job.

Not a year that I would ever want to go through again, I cried with relief when it was over. I would not have got through this year had it not been for my husband who was literally my lifeline and saved me from death as he gave me a reason to live when I did not want to. Thanks to everyone on Boards too for chearing me up through the worst year of my life so far, reading all your comments really helped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Highs- having the best weekend of my life in Glasgow in the summer. Goin to Prague on a mad one in September

Lows- thankfully no deaths, lowest feeling had to be the night of my 21st birthday when Slovakia scored that equaliser in the dying minutes of the game and all but sent us out of Euro 08. Im not one for attention and so I was going to treat my 21st like any other birthday, few with the lads in the pub, nightclub, home, same old, but I was so sickened by what happened that night I went home, got more drunk and traded drink fuelled opinion on the Soccer forum. Seeing the Scots (a team Ive nearly as much affinity to Ireland with after the craic I had with undisputably the most bang on/ most mentally ill race of people on Gods green earth on my trip there) knocked out so cruelly by Italy after such a hard fought campaign was also a heartbreaker.

And oh yeah, the first 7 hours of 2008 went pretty sweet too :) Right now Im still quarter drunk and surprisingly unaffected by having slept a total of 3 hours since midday yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Shirty

Highs
    Lots and lots of lovely travel

Lows
    Having to leave my fantastic job
    Falling for someone I realy shouldn't
    Being in a really bad accident
    My best friend moving away

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,593 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Highs
    Birth of my firstborn
    Getting my driving license
    Passing the 200 page mark in my novel
    Job Promotion

Lows
    Still not having made any friends
    Grandmother dying
    Job sucking majorly and wanting to get demoted again (I'll keep the raise though)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Jeapy

highs- smoke free for a year as of today!!! :D, NYC and France with my man ;)
    lows- put on a stone and a half for my non smoking trouble! moving to dublin on my own and being completely miserable!

Happy New Year esp to everyone who posted before me whose 2007 wasnt too kind. Here's to 2008 guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

HIGHS: Birth of my second child, making it 1 girl and 1 boy.

LOWS: Getting a smack of a car and breaking my wrist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

High - buying an expensive car at 21

Lows:
    Payments for said car
    Still stuck in a boring job that I can't just leave because of said payments
    My Nana died :(

A pretty sh*tty year all told. I expect 2008 to be exactly the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭shipwreck

highs: getting to croker for the England game
    getting my masters

Lows: getting veritgo, a stomach ulcer, having my wisdom tooth extraction and the four bouts of flu (all thanks to said masters..stress)
    finally dumping my stupid ex, trying to work full time and do a thesis!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭RAFC

Highs:
    Sister beat cancer :D:D:D
    Won a holiday voucher and went to France (foreign hols are a no no when you have four kids) - drove to Barcelona and went to match in Camp Nou WOW.
    Spent rest of summer in a caravan with kids - rain, rain, rain - had a ball (I swear:))
    Kids healthy all year.
    Learning to play Mandolin - late in life I know, but loving it :D:D:D

Lows:
    Buried my uncle.
    The highs far outweigh any other lows.

Roll on 2008

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,739 ✭✭✭Jello

pid() wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that Jello. :(

Thanks pid. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

Highs: Going to New Zealand for the first time, then going back twice, meeting my boyfriend for the first time after knowing him almost two years, making peace with my parents, getting an awesome reference from my old job, starting a new life in New Zealand, meeting some really cool people, taking up camogie again just to prove to myself I still could, spending almost a week in Germany for a rock festival, one of the best times of my life, overcoming some old fears, seeing my b/f's sister's new baby less than 5 hours after she was born.

Lows: not knowing what I wanted for a while, acting rashly, moving out from my old house, moving back into my parents' house, getting stupendously drunk too often, and having to leave Ireland.

hmm, I quite like the Sinatra line 'Regrets, I've had a few, but then again, too few to mention' :)