Irish thread on polish forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,068 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I don't think so man utd 07/08

We do not generalise and we don't say about all irish and polish. we are both giving some examples of bad behaviour.

since 2004 I met plenty of irish and polish in Ireland. and mostly they are very good friendly, helpfull people. but the thing is that we remember only irish and polish scumbags. am I right?

personally nothing wrong except one car dealer met me in Ireland, but I was bystander of many bad situations created by polish , lithuanians and irish.
    tomster wrote: »
    I wouldn't create this thread if I knew what direction it goes. Unfortunately it wasn't my point to read exactly the same crap I read on polish forum but posted in a different language - the point was to figure out how many of yous would be interested in discussion that could help us understand each other. As far as I see there's still more people interested in complaining just for complaining itself. Indeed, great background for famous "integration". Good stuff!

Could someone close this thread please, as it becomes pathetic...?

I banned that man utd 07/08 guy.

I'm going to ban Cheeky_Gal too if she doesn't stop acting the bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

eo980 wrote: »
    Where did I say that they couldn't serve food in any outlet? I asked you which you'd prefer to have serve you. Think before you type.
    I assume you wouldn't seriously rather a scumbag served you your food?

No I do, but it wasn't fully clear if you were joking or serious. I'd assume you were joking.

Proof.

Ok Terry, seriously I will stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Terry wrote: »
    There I was, hoping that my last ban would be a funny one.
    Ahh well.

Hang on, what do you mean last ban? Last ban of what? I know WWM is looking for a new AH mod but I thought that was just to complement you. Your not giving up being an AH mod are you Terry?

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    Proof.

Ok Terry, seriously I will stop.

That's not feckin' proof. I did not say they couldn't serve you food, I in fact never even hinted at that. I just asked which you would prefer. Go back and read over what we were saying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

That's not feckin' proof. I did not say they couldn't serve you food, I in fact never even hinted at that. I just asked which you would prefer. Go back and read over what we were saying.

aaaaaaaaaaaah please lock this thread my heads wrecked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭teetotaller

ok I finished as well - so all my Irish forum friends - I already mentioned about few differences in our culture

is there something more u would like to ask about ?

I know my english is not best but hope it is good enough give u an idea why something works this and something other way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭tomster

Terry wrote: »
    I banned that man utd 07/08 guy.

I'm going to ban Cheeky_Gal too if she doesn't stop acting the bollix.

Well, can't blame some of the people if they had bad experiences... But I still don't know: should I create this thread on polish forum or not? As far as I see there's quite few people interested, but I bet when it comes to post on my thread it won't be a single irish person posting! Obviously I understand that it's much easier to complain to your own mates than come forward, discuss, describe problem, explain, ask and listen. That seems to be far too much. Am I wrong?

teetotaller - please, stop. I appreciate your input but I have enough fights. Chill out. This is not about to prove who's better, who's worse. We're all the same.

we are not the same - that's why this thread was created - to find differences in our cultures explain and find the way how to live together , integrate and to answer some questions. from now I won't read racist's posts.

and don't close this thread - I'm pretty sure that tomorrow we will have more discutants !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,350 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

There should be a thread, as you suggest. Not all people on these forums are as ignorant as some of the primitive posters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭tomster

we are not the same - that's why this thread was created
    Well, this thread had to be a test (like pre-thread) if there's anyone interested to discuss with polish (in the name of "integration" - as some of people here shout: polish don't integrate!!! - sure not if no one gives them a chance).

I won't agree with you: we ARE the same. Good, bad, nice and scumbags. The fact that Padraig prefers to have egg and bacon for breakfast (when I would enjoy salami with a bit of tabasco and cheese) doesn't mean we are different for Christ's sake! We all love, hate, talk, drink and eat. We are humans.

The reason I asked you to stop was I would prefer not to see this thread as a battlefield. What's the point to post "there are some scumbags in Ireland and they come over to Poland for a bit of mess", when we have a lot of our (polish) scumbags in Poland - coming to Ireland, doing exactly the same (or sometimes worse) sh..t? Wise people know the difference between normal ones and knackers, fools won't understand it anyway... Don't be like "them", don't use their weapon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

You're guests
    No, they're not.
    Also, I don't like this whole polish women thinking Irish women are tramps thing, ridiculous! You Polish women need some copping on to yourselves.
    I know quite a few Polish people of both genders, and have socialised with them, as have several of my Irish friends (again, of both genders). Can't say I have ever noticed any such attitudes ... is there any particular reason why you are encountering such attitudes, I wonder?
    Secondly, I'd have to agree with the contruction worker on page 2 :D with his comment about his Polish co-workers, arrogance, I've yet to come across a friendly "smiley" Polish guy.
    I've encountered quite a few. Again, I would wonder what it is which causes you to have such universally negative experiences?
    I speakly clearly and smile at them and I get what I ordered. I've never experienced anything like the hassle you seem to be having.
    Hmmm ... another person besides myself who doesn't seem to encounter such negative reactions. I wonder why?
    As far as I see there's still more people interested in complaining just for complaining itself.
    No, it's just that a certain fairly vocal element jumps in on top of threads that relate in any way to this issue, to the extent that the vast majority of boardsies can't be bothered to read their bigoted tripe any more, and at this stage just pass the threads by (myself included, usually).

That's a very good point and one I wanted to mention earlier except I wasn't able to put it so well so I didn't bother. But you really have hit the nail on the head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

In my 3 years of being around different Polish ladies I've only encountered one that I didn't particuarly like.

Why are you still with her? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

They pay taxes and are a part of society ad Irish life.

Actually the majority of people in minimum wage jobs don't pay any tax.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

I want to know about Christmas in Poland. Is it a big festival? Does Santa Claus bring gifts to children? Our main meal is usually turkey. What is the traditional Polish meal? Do families gather together?

Its a good thread, even if some people use it to complain. Thanks.

kincsem wrote: »
    I want to know about Christmas in Poland. Is it a big festival? Does Santa Claus bring gifts to children? Our main meal is usually turkey. What is the traditional Polish meal? Do families gather together?

Its a good thread, even if some people use it to complain. Thanks.

So as u already know polish people are Roman Catholics and we are celebrating in almost the same way as irish people. few differences are below

It is special time we spend only with family ( the same as u ) ( if we stay in Ireland or UK - with our friends if we don't have family with us)

So most important day for us is evening of 24th of December - We have our late dinner about half an hour before first star on the sky. We don't have a turkey - we don't eat any meat at all on 24th. for our dinner we eat soup - it is named "red barszcz"(borsch) with small pieces of pasta with cabbage and mushrooms, Then mushroom soup. After that we usually eat fried Carp , potatoes and cooked sauerkraut (kind of cabbage) with herbs and mushrooms ( U can't get these mushrooms in irish shops ) - it is main dish of the day
    then we have different kinds of fish (herrings etc), salads. Tradition says that we should have 12 different kind of food but if u don't have huge family it is impossible to eat everything :) after dinner Santa is coming to us thru the chimney and we are unpacking all gifts and presents- kids are waiting for this moment and are very unpatient. after gifts we have cake , tea and coffey ( Usually we don't drink alcohol on 24th of December but some people doesn't respect tradition) we must have our traditional cake named "makowiec "(poppy seed cake)

at the midnight of 24th we meet in church for mass.

people who didn't attend this mass are going to church on the 25th during the day.

On the 25th and 26th we meet with rest of our family and celebrate eating good food ( different kinds of meats , cakes etc)

and that's basically it

how does it sound for u ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭Aseth

Teetotaller - you're forgetting about 'kutia' which is a mix of wheat, raisins, poppy seeds and honey.

And 'small pieces of pasta with cabbage and mushrooms' Tee mentioned is similar to Italian ravioli just has different filling.

Personally I don't understand why the only cheese you can get in shops in Ireland is cheddar?! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Aseth wrote: »

Personally I don't understand why the only cheese you can get in shops in Ireland is cheddar?! :eek:

when did this happen are they taking the other cheese off the shelf because it contains cocaine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,350 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Because most people here aren't offered much of a choice by the manufacturers. In my opinion, most of the cheeses here are tasteless and over-priced. They are even more expensive when you can taste them.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Tez

Personally I don't understand why the only cheese you can get in shops in Ireland is cheddar?!

Maybe you should try a different shop, there are a huge selection of cheeses other than delicious Cheddars:p in most supermarkets and Delis all over the country

Rob_l wrote: »
    when did this happen are they taking the other cheese off the shelf because it contains cocaine?

LOL. No, honestly 99% of shops you go to you can get cheddar in all shapes and colours[if you're extremely lucky mozarella] but that's about it.

I think the biggest problem when you arrive to Ireland is food - there's not much choice and most of it tastes terrible. Good example are sausages[altough I'm quite reluctant to name them so] - I don't want to know what are they made of and they taste exactly as they look like ;)

Anyone who thinks polish food is cr@p or is wondering how it tastes - there are several polish restaurants in Dublin, hope it will either make you change your mind or allow you to try something new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Rob_l

hope it will either make you change your mind or allow you to try something new.

I will never change my mind or try something new its trying new things and changing our minds that has got us into this trouble already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 Tez

Rob_l wrote: »
    I will never change my mind or try something new its trying new things and changing our minds that has got us into this trouble already

that sounds so sad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

I

I can say the same about lithuanians - in my previous place and now I'm surrounded by "foreigners" - polish and lithuanians and lithuanians are having loud party few times per week. I called gards once, but after they heard that I'm foreigner as well they left me alone with my problem.

[/QUOTE]

How do you know they left you alone with your problem because you are a foreigner? Di they tell you that, or are you just assuming?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Whats the one thing (tradition, food, newspapers) apart from family and friends that you miss most about Poland?

What one law from Poland would you like to see implemented here?

What one law from Ireland would you like to see implemented in Poland (in other words, what practical things can/have we learned from each other?)

How do Polish people in general view Ireland? As a place to go and settle, or as a place to stay a few years before going home?

Are the activities of the Polish people here reported a lot in the press in Poland? Is Ireland seen as a welcoming place, or a place to be avoided?

tbh wrote: »
    Whats the one thing (tradition, food, newspapers) apart from family and friends that you miss most about Poland??

Weather. Proper 4 seasons like. It was food at first, but I got over it.

I'd like to see "Sobering houses" introduced here (i'm not really sure how to translate it, it's pretty close i think.

We have these places in Poland where police put drunk people in. I mean only when you are a nuisance or danger for youself or others, but not really breaking any laws. Every town would have few of them, drunks found on the street are being brought there and allowed to sleep. They also get a bill for that, equivalent of a stay in a nice hotel. I think it's a better option tha A&E

Also, people shouldn't be allowed to drive without proper training and a driving test. Lack of training really shows. In poland you have to have at least 20 lessons before the test. Without that you are not allowed to drive.
    What one law from Ireland would you like to see implemented in Poland (in other words, what practical things can/have we learned from each other?)

Bank Holiday system. We have our days off whatever day of the week they fall on. Which leads to ridiculusly long weekends, if the holiday is on Wednesday for example.
    How do Polish people in general view Ireland? As a place to go and settle, or as a place to stay a few years before going home??)

Majority of Polish people feels very welcomed here. Also a majority plans to go back home at some stage. Mind you, I came here for a year originally, it was 6 years ago, to the day actually..
    Are the activities of the Polish people here reported a lot in the press in Poland? Is Ireland seen as a welcoming place, or a place to be avoided?

Yes quite a lot. Ireland is seen as one of the best places to go actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

ojewriej wrote: »
    Weather. Proper 4 seasons like. It was food at first, but got over it.
    ha! 33 years here, and I'm still getting used to the weather :) Is it cold in winters and hot in summers in Poland?
    I'd like to se "Sobering houses" introduced here (i'm not really sure how to translate it, it's pretty close i think.

We have this places in Poland where police put drunk people in. I mean only when you are a nuisance or danger for youself or others, but not really breaking any laws. Every town would have few of them, drunks found on the street are being brought there and allowed to sleep. They also get a bill for
    that, equivalent of a stay in a nice hotel. I think it's a better option tha A&E

that's a pretty good idea, actually.

Bank Holiday system. We have outrr days off whatever day of the week they fall on. Which leads to a ridiculus long weekend, if the holiday is on Wednesday for example.

How many bank holidays do you get in Poland? What is the working week like?
    Majority of Polish people feels very welcomed here. Also a majority plans to go back home at some stage. Mind you, I came here for a year originally, and today is exactly 6 years since I came here.

happy aniversary! may you be happy and welcome as long as you're here.

Yes quite a lot. Ireland is seen as one of the best places to go actually.

why is that - best standard of living, nicest people, softest touch? :)

Whats the one thing (tradition, food, newspapers) apart from family and friends that you miss most about Poland?

Winter :) Cause food I can get in a polish shop

None. this is another reason why I'm here
    How do Polish people in general view Ireland? As a place to go and settle, or as a place to stay a few years before going home?

Most people that are coming here don't think they will stay and than they realize that it's nice place to settle. Also Ireland/Irish people are seen as friendly and sharing a lot of similarities with us.
    Are the activities of the Polish people here reported a lot in the press in Poland?

Yes - mostly when it comes to money or politics ;)

ojewriej - I miss our holiday system ;)

about cheese and sousages - my irish friends (couple visited my family home in poland few months ago - they said that we have much more bigger choice of cheese and sousages ( friend took 3 kilos of polish sousage to Ireland and he is still buing it in polish/russians shops)

so maybe that is why some polish here are missing food which is different than irish ( notice that I didn't mention if it is worse or better - it is different)

How do you know they left you alone with your problem because you are a foreigner? Di they tell you that, or are you just assuming?[/quote]

I'm assuming cos of my friend's experience whom I helped with his problem - somebody tried to steal his car all interior including steering wheel was demolished. thieft left his blood and finger prints on broken glass. Gards arrived after 5 calls and 12 hours saying that they are too busy to do anything ( after I mentioned that they could check data base ( fingerprints and blood) they sad no - nothing can be done and they left the scene.

1) we have choice of polish newspapers in polish shops, if we are missing any magazine we can always use delivery option - a little bit more expensive but u get it every month by post. the only problem for is I can't get daily papers. but I always read online papers.

In polish/russian shops I can get most of ingredients to prepare christmas dinner ( I don' say about meat in jars from Dunnes ( it taste the same as irish ready to eat food- I mean it is not too good

so if I need something I can't get in DS I can usually get it in polish shop. ( like white cheese for example)

we have polish tv - same like sky tv(satellite dish) (cyfra+, cyfrowy polsat) but with all polish channels

So what I miss ? I miss choice of fresh not packed food, and fish - they are very expensive here and poor choice.

2) law implemented from Poland

drivers in Ireland should use their head lights( night lights) 24h/ day
    I'm getting mad while it is dark and I see incoming traffic with no lights or day lights ( In Poland u can't use day lights to drive - they are used only when u park your car on the side of street where is dark to make your car visible for others)

3) law implementend to Poland

taxes, taxes and taxes. - u have clear system, if u want to open business it takes u 20 minutes and costs 20 euro

In Poland it costs small fortune and takes few weeks and u need to walk from office to office.

4) how do polish people view Ireland

it is very difficult question to answer cos there are few groups of polish people here and I can't answer in name of all of us - below answer is only my opinion
    1st group - people who came here without english with no money, with loans from Poland - if they got job here they are happy, they are trying to learn english they want to stay here for a long time. they are complaining about small things like different food etc. they enjoy their stay , want to travel want to speak to irish to learn language. ( now 3,5 years after Poland joined EU plenty of tham can speak good english)

2nd group - people who came here without english, they don't want to learn english they want to earn as much money as possible , build house in Poland and go back to own country - some of them are ok , some of them are complaining about everything ( driving on wrong side of road, crap food, strange language, problems to understand boss, expensive vodka, beer, different type of houses ( in Poland houses are usually solid, with no timber inside walls what makes them more comfortable about noise level ( kind of joke about this is - I can fart in toilet on 1st floor and u will hear it in kitchen. ) these people don't care about viewing ireland or integrating with irish. u can usually meet them in lidl as other shops are too expensive

3rd group - people who usually can speak english came here to have fun enjoy their stay, spend all money before pay time, they have plenty of polish and irish friends. if they save something they want to go for a good holidays or buy any gadgets. - they travel across ireland and they like Ireland cos it gave them freedom ( money)

4th group - I think that I can include myself to this group are people who can speak english ( if I can say that I can speak your language :) )
    they want to spend here more than 1 or 2 yearsin ireland , they want to save some money but they like good food, holidays etc. there are people who want to get a house in Poland or Ireland but they know that life is flying and there is no time to waste it eating crap food, not buing and going anywhere. Myself I think that I already saw more places around Ireland than some of Irish. and what I think - Ireland is beautifull it has plenty of lovely places that are worth to stop and take a picture. I enjoy my stay here thanks to fact that almost all irish are friendly here and even when they hear that I'm foreigner I don't feel like somebody from 3rd world. I like that in Ireland company director ( as person ) is the same as toilet cleaner and I never met situation here that some people are better and some are worse just becouse of their place of work.

what I don't like here ? - timber houses (noise level inside house) ,ireland is rich, but in small villages there are plenty of wasted houses and nobody takes care to refresh them. I miss forests ( my irish friends when they saw Poland asked me why ireland is called green Island cos of number of forests in Poland ) I don't like all kind of food u can get here, and I don't like " don't worry it will be done shortly ( two weeks or never)" I don't like "take it easy it is Friday, Monday "
    I don't like that gards don't have guns - plenty of people don't care of "guards"

but the most important thing that Ireland gave to me is job.
    In Poland it is not so easy to get a job that is correct with your occupation - there is always somebody more experienced , or friends friend etc. or u are lucky, or u are really good proffesionalist.
    Here I got possibility to get straight after university ( at the beginning ) entry position in It and now after 2 years working in It I can't complain about my work. and I know that when I will have more experience I will get better job , better money without any problem. I like it.

Is it cold in winters and hot in summers in Poland?

Yeah, summers are 20 - 30 degrees, winters anything up to -30. It sounds harsh, but it's not that bad when you have proper clothes. I for one love winter, looking forward to some skiing when I'm home for Christmas :-)

How many bank holidays do you get in Poland? What is the working week like?

Not sure what the exact number is. It wouldn't be much different then yours i'd imagine. But it's the way we take them. For example. 1st of May (Workers Day) and 3rd of May (Constitution Day) are both holidays. So if let's say they fall on Tuesday and Thursday, whole country comes to the standstill for this whole week.
    happy aniversary! may you be happy and welcome as long as you're here.

Thank you very much

why is that - best standard of living, nicest people, softest touch? :)

I think it's mostly to do with people, as I said before, you made us feel very welcomed. It's safe too, you never really hear about any anti-immigrant violence for instance, and there is good bit of that in the UK or Germany.
    Standard of living is very good as well, i know it's expensive here, and often plain rip-off, but it's still worth it.

Softest touch doesn't really apply to us, as we are legal.