Irish thread on polish forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,147 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

What's the deal with always wearing black? Black leather jackets, black jeans, black Nike runners. As bad as the feckin emos.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 27,467 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

They should all learn to generalise like us, all the same, bloody Poles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

polish people tend not to integrate too much with the irish, they mainly socialise within their own groups and thats it!

but that always happens when you have such a large number of immigrants of the same origin coming in anywhere, not that i have any problem with it at all, mind. They perhaps don't integrate, because they don't have to, their own immigrant group is so large and widespread.

I'm irish, in Germany, and despite the fact most Germans speak good English, I had to learn German, because there are not so many Irish or English here to socialise with. I also wanted to understand what the krauts were saying to each other in my social group, in the pub.
    I couldn't expect them to all speak in English for my sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭tomster

polish people tend not to integrate too much with the irish, they mainly socialise within their own groups and thats it!
    I'd love to change it. In any of Irish-Polish threads on polish forum I always fight your corner, but I'm a bit tired of explaining why, what, where. Starting this thread I hope that some of questions may be finally anwered by both sides. Any personal experiences are more than welcomed, as well as your real opinions about Polish! If you'd like to read what Polish think of yous that'd be a good opportunity too... We have to TALK if we wanna live together!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Some people dont maybe understand how oppressive aregime polish and other eastern european peoples lived under.
    Communism probably drained the life clean out of alot of these people.
    Tom i dont think we have to talk to live together
    Maybe to get on well together we do.
    How many Polish people do you know that know anything about they country?
    There interest level is zero,
    i want ze money thats all they want fair enough i guess,
    I lived in holland for 3 years i read about the country learned the language and even if i worked for an irish company i learned Dutch which helped me integrate, even if Dutch people speak great english and aslo helped my employment oppurtunities.
    Personally icant think of one positive experience ive had with a polish person.
    The huge benefactors of this horde from the east are big business.
    Cheap labour for all sorts of contract cleaning labouring work,they work in conditions that irish people wouldnt.
    And please dont say thats tough ive seen them working for a full day in heavy rain without proper wet gear on building sites,
    whilst irish guys naturally take shelter and they wonder why they are resented.
    They are causing a race to the bottom with wages and working conditions a like and not one politican will say there is a need for a quota of emmigrants.
    The pc brigade would hound them out of office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Ekancone

sickpuppy wrote: »
    Some people dont maybe understand how oppressive aregime polish and other eastern european peoples lived under.
    I lived in holland for 3 years i read about the country learned the language and even if i worked for an irish company i learned Dutch which helped me integrate, even if Dutch people speak great english and aslo helped my employment oppurtunities.
    Personally icant think of one positive experience ive had with a polish person.
    The huge benefactors of this horde from the east are big business.
    Cheap labour for all sorts of contract cleaning labouring work,they work in conditions that irish people wouldnt.
    And please dont say thats tough ive seen them working for a full day in heavy rain without proper wet gear on building sites,
    whilst irish guys naturally take shelter and they wonder why they are resented.
    They are causing a race to the bottom with wages and working conditions a like and not one politican will say there is a need for a quota of emmigrants.
    The pc brigade would hound them out of office.

Is this a poem?

tomster wrote: »
    I'd love to change it. In any of Irish-Polish threads on polish forum I always fight your corner, but I'm a bit tired of explaining why, what, where. Starting this thread I hope that some of questions may be finally anwered by both sides. Any personal experiences are more than welcomed, as well as your real opinions about Polish! If you'd like to read what Polish think of yous that'd be a good opportunity too... We have to TALK if we wanna live together!

Bravo tomster !! :) your last line says it all, Fairy Play to you ;)

Some people dont maybe understand.....
    Fair play to you. You've got your opinion, and I guess you will post it on my thread if it opens?

I'm not gonna fight and argue now, as this is not about "what Poles are" or "what Irish are" - the idea is to create a thread that allows you to post your opinion and to hit the target (Polish). If you have a problem with Poles living in your country, would be great if you post your perspective. Here on "boards" it would be another "polish" thread...

PS: If you had no positive experiences with any Polish tell me, for God's sake, what people you meet and where do you meet them!? It's the same answer I give to Poles who complain about scumbags, shiny tracksuites and stolen, burned cars around Dublin: "If these are your only experiences you've had in Ireland I feel really sorry for where you're living and what sort of people you meet".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Tom id be delighted to post on your thread when it opens.
    Ill give you an honest opinion if nothing else.

Me too tom, good luck with it :)

Tom id be delighted to post on your thread when it opens.
    Ill give you an honest opinion if nothing else.
    Well, that's its purpose...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Why do they speak polish to each other when there are non polish speaking people in their company, I think this is very ignorant !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭teetotaller

Id love to ask them how thay can live on 12 euro a week?
    How can they eat same bland food everyday?

I'd like to ask u why u can eat mc donalds and fast food everyday ?

Some tough intellectual questions here.

Why don't some of them bother to learn english when they have to deal with people who only speak english?

cos thanks to irish managers we can speak polish in banks courts, hospitals ( translators) , we can speak polish in polish shops and restaurants, we can get law advice in polish language ( irish legal offices employee polish law advisors)

we can buy a car in place where polish saleperson is working, we are going to dunnes, tesco spar, and polish employee is selling goods to us.

And some of us don't want to learn if they have job and in 90% of cases they don't need english

Why do so many of them drive without insurance?

so far I saw more irish driving without insurance, nct and road tax than polish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

I would like to ask them to stop taking fish from our rivers/lakes/canals , there is laws in place now that polish and other non nationals need to adhere to.

Practice catch and release!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

Also there safety record on building sites is appalling maybe they fear theyll get fired if they dont do acertain job.
    QUOTE]

wouldnt a bad safety record actually stop them getting work.i dont understand the second point about only doing a certain job because of a fear of getting fired and what does that that have to do with a safty record ?

Are you kidding? 90% of it consists of turnips and cabbage!

do u know what are u talking about? or yours friends friend told u something when u were drinking ?
    Polish food tastes like the Iron Curtain.
    ???????

Three and half years ago irish people asked me if Poland is in Asia , close to east boarder of Russia and if we speak russian and have funny letters in alphabet ( cyrylica )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,132 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

I can understand the mentality of some of the migrants. They want to earn and save lots of money and go back home. Some of them may not be very well-educated anyway and may not have any foreign language. What's more language learning costs money and some may see no advantage whatsoever in spending hard-earned money learning.

I can also understand the targetting of the Polish community by businesses. In Irish terms they are a very large community at this stage. I personally don't agree with it but it is cheaper and quicker to get it translated, employ a few Poles rather than assume people can speak English.

This all reminds me of the Irish I met in Germany many moons back. They were little different. They were there for the money and the beer in the Irish pubs. I spoke more German in 6 months than some of them bothered to learn in 3 years.
    Why do they speak polish to each other when there are non polish speaking people in their company, I think this is very ignorant !

I agree but we would do and probably have done exactly the same. It is hard to "include people" unless one is competent enough in another language .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭greatgoal

i would love these people to go back where they came from:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Karoma wrote: »
    With moving from country to country being so easy, and nationalism dead... there's really not that much difference. **** OFF TO ANOTHER HOME, PADDIES!!1!

Yeah, imagine being like Germans, think they're perfect and complain about everyone else. Great being with English when the Germans are around, shuts them up real fecking quick. Kraut Quatschers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,350 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Ireland hasn't always been such an exotic place to live. When I arrived from the UK 20 years ago, you could only buy bacon and cabbage, Guinness, Smithwicks and Carrolls cigarettes. That was it, so no-one here can criticise anyone else's culinary delights.

And for you porn lovers, the only top-shelf magazine available then, was Ireland's Own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Ekancone

do u know what are u talking about? or yours friends friend told u something when u were drinking ?

I dont drink, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

greatgoal wrote: »
    i would love these people to go back where they came from:mad:

Careful now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

What I have noticed about Polish people, they love tinned fish, bananas and dairy deserts.

Beetroot not bad but not every second day, same for pickle cabage. Some great dishes, and some not so good, same as everywhere else.

On the whole, some Polish food can be a great arse burner!:D

Heh folks, please don't fight here, help me get info how many of yous would participate in the discussion on my thread before I push it further.

Karoma wrote: »
    Careful now.
    That's his opinion - I'd be looking for all opinions, not only these good ones! If he thinks this way that'd be great chance to write why. Maybe he has a reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

ned78 wrote: »
    Polish food is far from bland.

LOL those jars of polish food I've seen in Dunnes look like they were filled from the piles of puke left on Grafton street :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,350 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

DonJose wrote: »
    LOL those jars of polish food I've seen in Dunnes look like they were filled from the piles of puke left on Grafton street :eek:

Nice to see that we're making headway in the world of tolerance, mutual respect and understanding:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Nice to see that we're making headway in the world of tolerance, mutual respect and understanding:rolleyes:

Don't tell me you never stepped over a pile similar to this on a Saturday night out in Dublin

http://picasaweb.google.com/lilboychip/LittlePoland/photo#5128832657739036258