Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should the fire brigade be allowed to defend themselves?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Of course they should be allowed to defend themself. It's rather stupid not being allowed to. I mean, what good reason is there for them not being allowed defend themself?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭SuperSean11

Of course they should be allowed to defend themself. It's rather stupid not being allowed to. I mean, what good reason is there for them not being allowed defend themself?

Thats what im wondering i cant find or think of any reason why they shouldnt be allowed to defend themselves

• Registered Users Posts: 14,559 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

a good lash of the hose would sort them out

:cool::cool::cool:

blay1 wrote: »
    a good lash of the hose would sort them out

Thats what i was thinking This guys idea isnt bad
    http://twentymajor.net/2006/06/page/2/
    "the very least they should be issued with is tazers"

tazers.. plus a hose.. hahaha, deep fried scumbag, anyone? :D

Forget about K.F.C. I.F.S. I can see it now

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

em, its some little legal thing afaik, if they spray the hose, if someone gets injured, they can claim from the state as they can claim they didnt do anything, but alot of the fire brigades are fitted with cctv now, its awkward. Infact in some dublin areas, the gardai wont enter without armed assistance and the fire briagde wont enter without armed assitance either!

there are a lot of spurious ambulance calls in some areas of dublin to, so as that article mentioned stab vests, will they just make it more proactive and violent?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,559 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

they shouldnt be able to claim usual irish bull****,

little scumbags, throw them in the fire i say

timmywex wrote: »
    if someone gets injured, they can claim from the state as they can claim they didnt do anything

I see that but in the case of the bottle to the face the firebrigade should certainly be able to defend themselves in a situation such as this

• Registered Users Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

I see that but in the case of the bottle to the face the firebrigade should certainly be able to defend themselves in a situation such as this

i totally agree, but they cant, i say send bertie out on the front line some night!! that'll fix our problems, i reckon supply glue in the hoses, let the gards go pick em all up in the morning!

timmywex wrote: »
    i totally agree, but they cant, i say send bertie out on the front line some night!! that'll fix our problems, i reckon supply glue in the hoses, let the gards go pick em all up in the morning!

There should be one riot guard or specialy trained guard with all fire crews

one riot guard? lol. sorry mate, but what good is one riot guard to anyone.

That's like giving someone one piece of a jigsaw. they usually work as a team(or riot squad) - it's a good idea for them to have some kind of protection, but it's also kind of sad to think that they should need it :(

one riot guard? lol. sorry mate, but what good is one riot guard to anyone.

That's like giving someone one piece of a jigsaw. they usually work as a team(or riot squad) - it's a good idea for them to have some kind of protection, but it's also kind of sad to think that they should need it :(

Your right that wouldnt work i was thinking he would have a riot shield and could block fireworks but the firefighters are hardly going to be in one group. Are the riot police allowed use rubber bullets?

I'm not too sure about that one..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

They should be (and probably are) allowed to defend themselves to the same extent that anyone can defend themselves when attacked. I'm not sure what parameters there are on that, I'm assuming as long as it's proportional, etc., it's grand.

I don't think they should be given any self-defense equipment (tazers, etc) nor use the fire hose on attackers. It's not their job, they're not trained to do it, nor should they be expected to have to do it. They're there to stop fires, if they're attacked, that's a matter for the Gardaí.

So that leads me to say that -- yes I think a Garda escort (at least 1 squad car) should be required when the FS are called to certain areas, where there have been instances of them being attacked before. I'm not sure riot cops are necessary, for the most part the FS are only attacked because the scumbags know they can't do anything about it. If there's Gardaí there the attacks will be greatly diminished IMO, because they can be arrested if caught. There will of course be exceptions, but in those instances backup may be called; I don't think the odd out of control incident would justify a riot police escort.

It would also be an idea to compile a list of the c*nts who attack firemen, and if their house catches fire, let it burn (once everyone's out of course :rolleyes: ). Unfortunately I imagine that would leave the council vulnerable to being sued...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Unfortunately I imagine that would leave the council vulnerable to being sued...

Surprisingly not, the fire authority has a legal obligation to provide a fire service, but not to actually extinguish any fire. For that matter, the fire authority could quite legally put the fire out by demolishing the house with a dozer. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭ex_infantry man

they should be trained in unarmed combat just like the army i think anyway or be left turn the hose on people if needs be

It's scary that this is even thought of, but yes they should be allowed defend themselves.

As already pointed out, they are allowed defend themselves, as is any other person. Doesn't this make the thread a bit redundant?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

civdef wrote: »
    As already pointed out, they are allowed defend themselves, as is any other person. Doesn't this make the thread a bit redundant?

Of course Firefighters can defend themselves using "reasonable force".
    Unfortunatley someone will see it as unreasonable and make a complaint and believe me when a complaint is made against a DFB Firefighter he/she is guilty until proven innocent.

Its very simple nowadays.
    If there is a fire or another emergency in particular areas mosDFB crews will not enter unless there is Garda assistance. I have seeen cases where the Gardai themselves won't enter !!:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

Would agree that firefighters should be allowed to defend themselves.

The outfit like the jacket, trousers and helmet would afford the guys more protection than the standard garda uniform

• Registered Users Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Yep, Anyone stupid enough to attack a fireman on the job, should be beaten until they realise how stupid they are, For fcuks sake, so many of them are volunteers.
    Actually on second thoughts, beating is too good, Set them on fire for a bit, Who are the little smarthole ****ehawks gonna call then ???

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

I Think they should have at least have stab proof vests ok the Gards have them & some hospital security a while now but the HSE & DFB Personnel are still waiting and at risk

Stab vests for ambulance crews can make sense, but they wouldn't be a practical option for firefighters, nor are they probably very necessary.

On the point of FF's getting hassle for defending themselves - has this ever happened? I can't see a judge/jury coming down against a firefighter for self-defence somehow.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

civdef wrote: »
    Stab vests for ambulance crews can make sense, but they wouldn't be a practical option for firefighters, nor are they probably very necessary.

On the point of FF's getting hassle for defending themselves - has this ever happened? I can't see a judge/jury coming down against a firefighter for self-defence somehow.

Agreed, my point was for DFB Paramedics

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭NeverSayDie

Coincidentally, re firefighters having to defend themselves, this popped up in this morning's news:
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1214/dundalk.html

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,466 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Coincidentally, re firefighters having to defend themselves, this popped up in this morning's news:
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1214/dundalk.html

Yes I saw that - fair play to the firemen.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Yeah heard that on the radio this mornin! Turning the hose on him, nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Fair play to them, what else can you do?

I wouldn't fancy a standpipe key across the back of the legs, or a hooligan tool for that matter...