6 men accused of 22 sexual assaults on a 12/13 year old girl...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

jaysus, poor girl. i really feel sorry for her to have had to experience that crap, they should castrate those 6 scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,654 ✭✭✭kev_s88

well actually they never raped her.the judge had no doubt that the sex was consensual.the problem was that it was illegal because she was under-15. she was never actually raped by these men.hence the more lenient sentences.

its still absolutely sickening.whats worse is that she told them that she was only 13 and they went ahead anways.its not as if she lied about her age.one man even said that "she was far too pretty to only be 13". now thats just completely wrong and i hope they rot in jail and endure horrible lives when they eventually get out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭andyl222

yeah, read about this in the paper its mental... it made it sound like a gang that did it, but i'm not sure any of the men know eachother. its ridiculous that this happened 4 years ago and is only coming to light now. Think the girl was in a care home and was said to have gone off the rails etc. Man when i was twelve and went off the rails I drank a bottle of vervier champagne cider and puked it back up...How ireland has changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Not too sure about this one. You have to realise that everything you've heard so far is from her. She could be a complete nutjob and just wants attention. I'll wait till I hear more before I draw any conclusions.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

The girl also claims she distinctly remembers the night one man drove her in his car to a wooded area because on the way he played a tape of himself singing Westlife songs

Don't pretend you've never done it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

humanji wrote: »
    Not too sure about this one. You have to realise that everything you've heard so far is from her. She could be a complete nutjob and just wants attention. I'll wait till I hear more before I draw any conclusions.

One scumbag already pleaded guilty prior to this case going to trial so I don't think she made up this story.

Maybe not that part, but time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭SubjectSean

xzanti wrote: »
    The girl also claims she distinctly remembers the night one man drove her in his car to a wooded area because on the way he played a tape of himself singing Westlife songs

Surely this part can't have been consensual.

I'm editing this because I just read the article and it may be harsh to say but she sounds like a crazy little slapper who'd already long lost her virginity by the time these c*ck-enslaved eejits got to her and just couldn't say no. Doubtless lots of crazy older slappers get started like this without it ever going to court IMHO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Shock, horror..

..the singing of westlife songs that is. How dare he! That pig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

kev_s88 wrote: »
    well actually they never raped her.the judge had no doubt that the sex was consensual.the problem was that it was illegal because she was under-15. she was never actually raped by these men.hence the more lenient sentences.

WTF?? Did you even read the article? The trial has only started so no one has even been convicted yet, let alone sentenced.
    And how the **** does the fact that a 12-year-old girl "gave consent" make it ok, or deserve lesser sentences? Its statutory rape, plain and simple.
    "She was never actually raped by these men.

Do you actually believe this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Yep, unfortunately while I've no doubt that much of what she said happened actually did happen, with many severely disturbed young people it is sometiimes hard to separate the fact from the fiction. Even child psychologists have a hard time of it.

That said, those guys deserve very long prison sentences if they had sex with her believing she was only 13.

WTF?? Did you even read the article? The trial has only started so no one has even been convicted yet, let alone sentenced.
    And how the **** does the fact that a 12-year-old girl "gave consent" make it ok, or deserve lesser sentences? Its statutory rape, plain and simple.

if you can pinpoint the part of my comment where i said i thought it was ok, then well done.
    She said that although the prosecution did not maintain the girl was forced into sex acts
    . she was not forced into doing anything.therefore technically she was not raped.the men are only being charged with sexual assault and not rape.

Look at the definitions of rape here

She was not raped, she knew exactly what was going on and she allowed it to happen.

Funnily enough, its also a turnip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Its classed as statutory rape folks. No doubt these guys took clear advantage of a mentally incapable young girl. The age is 16, not 15 as already said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭seamy_orr

humanji wrote: »
    Don't pretend you've never done it!

I presume by this you mean singing Westlife songs while driving into a forest???:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Yep, unfortunately while I've no doubt that much of what she said happened actually did happen, with many severely disturbed young people it is sometiimes hard to separate the fact from the fiction. Even child psychologists have a hard time of it.

That said, those guys deserve very long prison sentences if they had sex with her believing she was only 13.

Agree!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

What v sad is the fact that this still goes on in certain parts of the country and that fathers use their daughters/sons like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭SubjectSean

LouOB wrote: »
    What v sad is the fact that this still goes on in certain parts of the country and that fathers use their daughters/sons like this

I don't think that's the case in this particular case although it might possibly be the cause of the it, maybe not. I don't know what killed her self-esteem but it seems she can only feel good about herself when men want to f**k her. It goes on in all parts of the country I don't think it's ranked by county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Surely this part can't have been consensual.

I'm editing this because I just read the article and it may be harsh to say but she sounds like a crazy little slapper who'd already long lost her virginity by the time these c*ck-enslaved eejits got to her and just couldn't say no. Doubtless lots of crazy older slappers get started like this without it ever going to court IMHO
    Look at the definitions of rape here

She was not raped, she knew exactly what was going on and she allowed it to happen.
    These two quotes make me despair...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

jaysus, poor girl. i really feel sorry for her to have had to experience that crap, they should castrate those 6 scumbags

The trial continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

LouOB wrote: »

you make it sound common place and also as if its out in the back arse of nowhere its just as likely to happen in a city as in the country.

also the girl wasnt raped she gave consent there is a big difference not saying what they did was any better or worse but their is a big difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I could be lynched for saying this, but....

I have my doubts about this story. An innocent girl, happened to be assaulted by 6 men who didnt know each other. Thats very bad luck isnt it?

One took her from school and had sex with her at home? I cant see the school allowing that. I think its more likely she skipped school and went off with your man.

the girl was "particularly ashamed and embarrassed" by one encounter. Then why didnt she tell anyone until now?

"Ms McLaughlin said a soldier accused of six sex assaults was 28 at the time and knew the girl was only 13 because he asked her age after the first occasion. "

He asked her her age afterwards. She didnt offer it before hand. She didnt say but im only 13, and I dont want to do that.

" Ms McLaughlin said it was admitted that before the girl went into care she was behaving very badly, drinking, smoking, hanging around with older people and being sexually active. "

Drinking, smoking and being sexually active? I think this girl knew exactly what she was doing. And I think she knows what she is doing now. I think the subject of compensation is going to come up very soon, and the poor victim will be set up for life.

Sex with people under the age of consent is against the law. It is a case of statutory rape, it is not how ever a case of sexual abuse in the usual form.

I firmly believe some of these men did not believe she was that young, I think she was consenting to it, and in fairness, if a girl approaches you, with curves in all the right places and either suggests or agrees to sex, you would be tempted, wouldnt you?

I have no sympathy for her, I do have sympathy for the men though, because they will probably have to go on the sex offenders regesiter, for doing something which is not half as bad as some of the things that happen.

right, let the rock casting begin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

syklops wrote: »
    Drinking, smoking and being sexually active? I think this girl knew exactly what she was doing. And I think she knows what she is doing now. I think the subject of compensation is going to come up very soon, and the poor victim will be set up for life.
    syklops wrote: »
    I have no sympathy for her, I do have sympathy for the men though, because they will probably have to go on the sex offenders regesiter, for doing something which is not half as bad as some of the things that happen.
    +1. Agreed that the little slapper will milk this, now, rather than when it happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

pretty much agree with you man accept for the fact that if they knew she was 13 and continued anyway they deserve everything they get..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

kev_s88 wrote: »
    well actually they never raped her.the judge had no doubt that the sex was consensual.the problem was that it was illegal because she was under-15. she was never actually raped by these men.

A 13 year old cannot, by law, give consent irrespective of what she/he agreed to. It is statutory rape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,143 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Where are people getting this idea that the age of consent is sixteen?

It's seventeen, with other seventeen year olds, but if either party is eighteen or over, then both parties must be eighteen or over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

It's seventeen, with other seventeen year olds, but if either party is eighteen or over, then both parties must be eighteen or over.

did that change recently? And this took place 4 years ago?

Doesnt matter either way because she was 13. When I have more time and energy I will open a thread supporting the reduction of the age of consent to 13.

this is a direct quote from the article: She said that although the prosecution did not maintain the girl was forced into sex acts, the men involved had still broken the law because sex with a child under 15, even with her consent, was still an offence.

i was the first one to mention the 15 thing.i never said it was the age of consent.i was just quoting the article

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

I don't know what killed her self-esteem but it seems she can only feel good about herself when men want to f**k her.

How would a child of 12/13 know about sex or anything regarding ****ing unless she was abused or brought up in a very unhealthy environment?

I said it sad that it still happens in SOME parts of the country not ALL or every town.