Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

6 men accused of 22 sexual assaults on a 12/13 year old girl...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

jaysus, poor girl. i really feel sorry for her to have had to experience that crap, they should castrate those 6 scumbags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,641 ✭✭✭kev_s88

well actually they never raped her.the judge had no doubt that the sex was consensual.the problem was that it was illegal because she was under-15. she was never actually raped by these men.hence the more lenient sentences.

its still absolutely sickening.whats worse is that she told them that she was only 13 and they went ahead anways.its not as if she lied about her age.one man even said that "she was far too pretty to only be 13". now thats just completely wrong and i hope they rot in jail and endure horrible lives when they eventually get out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭andyl222

yeah, read about this in the paper its mental... it made it sound like a gang that did it, but i'm not sure any of the men know eachother. its ridiculous that this happened 4 years ago and is only coming to light now. Think the girl was in a care home and was said to have gone off the rails etc. Man when i was twelve and went off the rails I drank a bottle of vervier champagne cider and puked it back up...How ireland has changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Not too sure about this one. You have to realise that everything you've heard so far is from her. She could be a complete nutjob and just wants attention. I'll wait till I hear more before I draw any conclusions.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

The girl also claims she distinctly remembers the night one man drove her in his car to a wooded area because on the way he played a tape of himself singing Westlife songs

Don't pretend you've never done it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

humanji wrote: »
    Not too sure about this one. You have to realise that everything you've heard so far is from her. She could be a complete nutjob and just wants attention. I'll wait till I hear more before I draw any conclusions.

One scumbag already pleaded guilty prior to this case going to trial so I don't think she made up this story.

Maybe not that part, but time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭SubjectSean

xzanti wrote: »
    The girl also claims she distinctly remembers the night one man drove her in his car to a wooded area because on the way he played a tape of himself singing Westlife songs

Surely this part can't have been consensual.

I'm editing this because I just read the article and it may be harsh to say but she sounds like a crazy little slapper who'd already long lost her virginity by the time these c*ck-enslaved eejits got to her and just couldn't say no. Doubtless lots of crazy older slappers get started like this without it ever going to court IMHO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Shock, horror..

..the singing of westlife songs that is. How dare he! That pig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

kev_s88 wrote: »
    well actually they never raped her.the judge had no doubt that the sex was consensual.the problem was that it was illegal because she was under-15. she was never actually raped by these men.hence the more lenient sentences.

WTF?? Did you even read the article? The trial has only started so no one has even been convicted yet, let alone sentenced.
    And how the **** does the fact that a 12-year-old girl "gave consent" make it ok, or deserve lesser sentences? Its statutory rape, plain and simple.
    "She was never actually raped by these men.

Do you actually believe this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Yep, unfortunately while I've no doubt that much of what she said happened actually did happen, with many severely disturbed young people it is sometiimes hard to separate the fact from the fiction. Even child psychologists have a hard time of it.

That said, those guys deserve very long prison sentences if they had sex with her believing she was only 13.

WTF?? Did you even read the article? The trial has only started so no one has even been convicted yet, let alone sentenced.
    And how the **** does the fact that a 12-year-old girl "gave consent" make it ok, or deserve lesser sentences? Its statutory rape, plain and simple.

if you can pinpoint the part of my comment where i said i thought it was ok, then well done.
    She said that although the prosecution did not maintain the girl was forced into sex acts
    . she was not forced into doing anything.therefore technically she was not raped.the men are only being charged with sexual assault and not rape.

Look at the definitions of rape here

She was not raped, she knew exactly what was going on and she allowed it to happen.

Funnily enough, its also a turnip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Its classed as statutory rape folks. No doubt these guys took clear advantage of a mentally incapable young girl. The age is 16, not 15 as already said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭seamy_orr

Don't pretend you've never done it!

I presume by this you mean singing Westlife songs while driving into a forest???:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

r3nu4l wrote: »
    Yep, unfortunately while I've no doubt that much of what she said happened actually did happen, with many severely disturbed young people it is sometiimes hard to separate the fact from the fiction. Even child psychologists have a hard time of it.

That said, those guys deserve very long prison sentences if they had sex with her believing she was only 13.

Agree!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

What v sad is the fact that this still goes on in certain parts of the country and that fathers use their daughters/sons like this

LouOB wrote: »
    What v sad is the fact that this still goes on in certain parts of the country and that fathers use their daughters/sons like this

I don't think that's the case in this particular case although it might possibly be the cause of the it, maybe not. I don't know what killed her self-esteem but it seems she can only feel good about herself when men want to f**k her. It goes on in all parts of the country I don't think it's ranked by county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Surely this part can't have been consensual.

I'm editing this because I just read the article and it may be harsh to say but she sounds like a crazy little slapper who'd already long lost her virginity by the time these c*ck-enslaved eejits got to her and just couldn't say no. Doubtless lots of crazy older slappers get started like this without it ever going to court IMHO
    Look at the definitions of rape here

She was not raped, she knew exactly what was going on and she allowed it to happen.
    These two quotes make me despair...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

jaysus, poor girl. i really feel sorry for her to have had to experience that crap, they should castrate those 6 scumbags

The trial continues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,639 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

you make it sound common place and also as if its out in the back arse of nowhere its just as likely to happen in a city as in the country.

also the girl wasnt raped she gave consent there is a big difference not saying what they did was any better or worse but their is a big difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

I could be lynched for saying this, but....

I have my doubts about this story. An innocent girl, happened to be assaulted by 6 men who didnt know each other. Thats very bad luck isnt it?

One took her from school and had sex with her at home? I cant see the school allowing that. I think its more likely she skipped school and went off with your man.

the girl was "particularly ashamed and embarrassed" by one encounter. Then why didnt she tell anyone until now?

"Ms McLaughlin said a soldier accused of six sex assaults was 28 at the time and knew the girl was only 13 because he asked her age after the first occasion. "

He asked her her age afterwards. She didnt offer it before hand. She didnt say but im only 13, and I dont want to do that.

" Ms McLaughlin said it was admitted that before the girl went into care she was behaving very badly, drinking, smoking, hanging around with older people and being sexually active. "

Drinking, smoking and being sexually active? I think this girl knew exactly what she was doing. And I think she knows what she is doing now. I think the subject of compensation is going to come up very soon, and the poor victim will be set up for life.

Sex with people under the age of consent is against the law. It is a case of statutory rape, it is not how ever a case of sexual abuse in the usual form.

I firmly believe some of these men did not believe she was that young, I think she was consenting to it, and in fairness, if a girl approaches you, with curves in all the right places and either suggests or agrees to sex, you would be tempted, wouldnt you?

I have no sympathy for her, I do have sympathy for the men though, because they will probably have to go on the sex offenders regesiter, for doing something which is not half as bad as some of the things that happen.

right, let the rock casting begin...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

syklops wrote: »
    Drinking, smoking and being sexually active? I think this girl knew exactly what she was doing. And I think she knows what she is doing now. I think the subject of compensation is going to come up very soon, and the poor victim will be set up for life.
    syklops wrote: »
    I have no sympathy for her, I do have sympathy for the men though, because they will probably have to go on the sex offenders regesiter, for doing something which is not half as bad as some of the things that happen.
    +1. Agreed that the little slapper will milk this, now, rather than when it happened.

pretty much agree with you man accept for the fact that if they knew she was 13 and continued anyway they deserve everything they get..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

kev_s88 wrote: »
    well actually they never raped her.the judge had no doubt that the sex was consensual.the problem was that it was illegal because she was under-15. she was never actually raped by these men.

A 13 year old cannot, by law, give consent irrespective of what she/he agreed to. It is statutory rape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,081 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Where are people getting this idea that the age of consent is sixteen?

It's seventeen, with other seventeen year olds, but if either party is eighteen or over, then both parties must be eighteen or over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

It's seventeen, with other seventeen year olds, but if either party is eighteen or over, then both parties must be eighteen or over.

did that change recently? And this took place 4 years ago?

Doesnt matter either way because she was 13. When I have more time and energy I will open a thread supporting the reduction of the age of consent to 13.

this is a direct quote from the article: She said that although the prosecution did not maintain the girl was forced into sex acts, the men involved had still broken the law because sex with a child under 15, even with her consent, was still an offence.

i was the first one to mention the 15 thing.i never said it was the age of consent.i was just quoting the article

I don't know what killed her self-esteem but it seems she can only feel good about herself when men want to f**k her.

How would a child of 12/13 know about sex or anything regarding ****ing unless she was abused or brought up in a very unhealthy environment?

I said it sad that it still happens in SOME parts of the country not ALL or every town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

ah so some of you are defending pedophiles? Nice!

Look at 24/25/26 you can easily spot someone who is in or about 18. The onus is on you as a adult to keep your c0ck in your pants, even if she was as sexed up as a nymph in heat.

They deserve to be on the sex offender list, with the rest of their kind.

How would a child of 12/13 know about sex or anything regarding ****ing unless she was abused or brought up in a very unhealthy environment?

In fairness, I'd say there are few enough 12 or 13 year olds these days who don't know about sex.

ah so some of you are defending pedophiles? Nice!

Look at 24/25/26 you can easily spot someone who is in or about 18. The onus is on you as a adult to keep your c0ck in your pants, even if she was as sexed up as a nymph in heat.

They deserve to be on the sex offender list, with the rest of their kind.

It's not so much defending pedophiles but complaining about the media's shock tactics of making it sound like the girl was viciously gang-raped instead of going off with these guys on her own free will.

As was said before, the girl sounds like she's got serious issues, so finding out what parts of her side of the story are true will be very difficult. One guy pleaded guilty and should be crucified for it. The others are innocent until proven guilty. As I said, time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

Trojan911 wrote: »
    A 13 year old cannot, by law, give consent irrespective of what she/he agreed to. It is statutory rape.

Agreed.

It doesn't matter if this girl lead them on and actually consented to the acts, she is still a child and until she reaches the age of 17 shall be treated as one in the eyes of the law. A child can never consent to sex. That is fundamental. I feel very sorry for her. These men would have to have known she was a minor. I mean one of them picked her up in primary school?? :confused:
    Whatever happened she is one disturbed child and it seems that whatever was going on in her mind had begun long before she met these men. They still took advantage of her in an absolutely dispicable manner.

she was taken advantage of yes

raped......no..........the act of rape and the charge of statutory rape are so far apart its ludicrous to suggest that people charged with statutory rape should be treated the same as actual rapists

whoever got her this ****ed up at thirteen is the one who should be given the biggest sentence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think this girl has problems and is playing a game here.

I don't really have any sympathy for the men though. There are allot of men that wouldn't think twice about sleeping with a minor if they thought they'd get away with it. They must have known she was at least borderline and from the list of men she has I wouldn't be surprised if she picked up a reputation and reveled in it until she realised she could get money out of it.

Either way she's a disturbed girl that needs help and those men took advantage of that.

In fairness, I'd say there are few enough 12 or 13 year olds these days who don't know about sex. .

My point was to other poster that what 12/13 engages in sex without being subjected to some abuse or a unhealthy upbringing?

From what you are saying that all 12/13 would be engaging in sexual activities just because the know about sex - dont believe that for one sec.
    True, I knew about sex at that age but didnt engage in it or actively seek it out.

Things are different these days. Kids that young and younger are having sex. It's a lack of proper education on the matter that I blame.

I'd agree with your point in regards to this girl. I do believe she came from an abusive background, but you don't have to be abused to have sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Doesnt matter either way because she was 13. When I have more time and energy I will open a thread supporting the reduction of the age of consent to 13.

That is sick. Children need to be protected. From themselves as much as anyone else.

I'm 24 and I think I can tell the difference between someone who is 13 and someone who is 20. If in doubt- don't go there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭RoyalMarine

do you think castration would be a good punishment for them?

I said it sad that it still happens in SOME parts of the country not ALL or every town.

I think it happens in every town to some degree and that there are girls like this one all over the world.

I have already indicated in an earlier post that one possible reason for behaviour such as this this girl exhibts is a history of sexual abuse. However there are very many reasons why a girl might have such low self esteem and behave accordingly. She may just have been an awful person and brought on her low self esteem by her own crappy behaviour. I really don't know what, but nor do you.

When I was just turned 15 I had sex with a 13 year old and I can assure you she had never been abused and I was not abusing her. Clearly we both thought we knew about sex. Who is anybody to say we didn't know our own minds or have the rights over our own bodies? All over the world and throughout human history 13 year old girls have been getting married so either we're all descended from a bunch of peadophiles or alternatively the age of 13 is about the age of sexual maturity for human females. (Note that in this day and age sexual maturity is not necessarily mental maturity. However in harsher climes than cosy modern Europe the human brain and body grow up together.) I remember one time the Sun newspaper, if it can be called such, did a countdown to when some young female singer was about to turn 16 and would be finally 'legal'. I was shocked to see this from a rag so rabid about peados but there was a reason for their eager anticipation I am sure and it's all about doing the nasty.

do you think castration would be a good punishment for them?

Yes as it would be for any man who degrades the rest of us by thinking with his penis :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

I've heard enough from you.

Off you go to a different thread then :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

When I was just turned 15 I had sex with a 13 year old and I can assure you she had never been abused and I was not abusing her.
    But you were only 15, not a grown man.
    Clearly we both thought we knew about sex. Who is anybody to say we didn't know our own minds or have the rights over our own bodies? All over the world and throughout human history 13 year old girls have been getting married so either we're all descended from a bunch of peadophiles or alternatively the age of 13 is about the age of sexual maturity for human females. (Note that in this day and age sexual maturity is not necessarily mental maturity. However in harsher climes than cosy modern Europe the human brain and body grow up together.)
    Good points in fairness.
    I remember one time the Sun newspaper, if it can be called such, did a countdown to when some young female singer was about to turn 16 and would be finally 'legal'. I was shocked to see this from a rag so rabid about peados but there was a reason for their eager anticipation I am sure and it's all about doing the nasty.
    Yep, it's grotesque. Samantha Fox was not yet 17 when the Sun featured her on page 3.

As for this current case: it's horrible to call the girl a "slapper" etc. Really horrible. I wouldn't be a bit surprised if the scenario was as follows: she was experiencing incest/abuse outside the home - stuff that caused her to be unable to recognise that it wasn't normal to behave the way she did. And only as she got older did she realise the horror of it.

I wish people would stop saying it wasn't rape. It WAS rape - statutory rape. She was several years underage and the men were twice her age. Even if she had the Lolita thing nailed, they shouldn't have had sex with her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

What is the age of consent now? It seems that people have conflicting numbers. These guys that did this need to be shot tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Lol at everyone in this thread assuming that they actually did it. Can someone link me the post in the thread which lists the evidence which proves these poor guys guilty? Too many idiotic responses for this thread to be actually taken as a serious discussion.

togster wrote: »
    What is the age of consent now? It seems that people have conflicting numbers. These guys that did this need to be shot tbh.
    It's 17. I'm not sure, but I think the age is lower (16) if it's 2 girls. Or I could be thinking about a different country.

Dudess wrote: »
    But you were only 15, not a grown man.

Good points in fairness.

Yep, it's grotesque. Samantha Fox was not yet 17 when the Sun featured her on page 3.

As for this current case: it's horrible to call the girl a "slapper" etc. Really horrible. I wouldn't be a bit surprised if the scenario was as follows: she was experiencing incest/abuse outside the home - stuff that caused her to be unable to recognise that it wasn't normal to behave the way she did. And only as she got older did she realise the horror of it.

I wish people would stop saying it wasn't rape. It WAS rape - statutory rape. She was several years underage and the men were twice her age. Even if she had the Lolita thing nailed, they shouldn't have had sex with her.

As for rape IMHO there should be a lesser crime of seduction in these cases but I wonder who was really doing the seducing in ths case. What was said by whom to who and when. Some poor hormonal gimp made a tape of himself singing westlife songs <snigger>, this does not sound like the action of a rapist but of a sick sad man in thrall to his penis and a teenage girl. It's surely a story as old as history.

I am sorry that you are offended by the word 'slapper'. The history you invent for this girl may turn out to be totally innacurate as there are lots of slappers in the world and they all have to get started somewhere. A spade is spade the first day off the production line IMHO. Before anybody accuses me of being sexist I subscribe to this particular hilarity and the site in general... (which is ok, btw) :D

http://www.btinternet.com/~virtuous/planetgrrlbabe/babearticles/slapper.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

As for rape IMHO there should be a lesser crime of seduction in these cases but I wonder who was really doing the seducing in ths case. What was said by whom to who and when. Some poor hormonal gimp made a tape of himself singing westlife songs <snigger>, this does not sound like the action of a rapist but of a sick sad man in thrall to his penis and a teenage girl. It's surely a story as old as history.

I am sorry that you are offended by the word 'slapper'. The history you invent for this girl may turn out to be totally innacurate as there are lots of slappers in the world and they all have to get started somewhere. A spade is spade the first day off the production line IMHO. Before anybody accuses me of being sexist I subscribe to this particular hilarity and the site in general... (which is ok, btw) :D

http://www.btinternet.com/~virtuous/planetgrrlbabe/babearticles/slapper.htm

Why does this remind me of Hill Billies with banjo tunes in the background and sense in the basement.

Your ideas on spades is hilarious and as for the mitigating circumstances, well pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

I find some peoples views here very scary. Not commenting on this particular case but the general idea of statutary rape. The idea is that it's rape because a child cannot consent to sex. For anyone in any doubt read some of the literature on sexual predators. So many of them convince themselves that it is okay because the child in some way consented.