Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Helmets - Post your helmets here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

s7300036yr0.th.jpg

French helmet recovered from field in the Marne area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

Nice pics degsy,

where did you find the German WWI helmet? Did you find the French helmet yourself?

As for the German WWII with the new SA Feldherren Halle decal on it I would need to see pics from the inside and particularly the stamps. It looks like it had been repainted.

Preusse wrote: »
    Nice pics degsy,

where did you find the German WWI helmet? Did you find the French helmet yourself?

As for the German WWII with the new SA Feldherren Halle decal on it I would need to see pics from the inside and particularly the stamps. It looks like it had been repainted.

Both the ww1 helmets were found by my brother-in-law (who's french) at a flea market in Troyes,apparantly they'd been dug up during ploughing work.I also have several other french helmets and "gamelles",a water bottle and a cup.Post pics wheni get a chance.The "ww2" helmet i bought in Millets several years ago,being told it was from the 1950's.There are no markings inside or out.

Interesting.

Yes, the helmet looks like the post-war Quist production for Western Germany at the time.

Hi degsy, nice collection. Have a look here at Military and police caps: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055176015

If you want post again there and I remove this from helmets. ;)

Hi degsy, nice collection. Have a look here at Military and police caps: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055176015

If you want post again there and I remove this from helmets. ;)

can you move it for me please?

Degsy wrote: »
    can you move it for me please?

I have to find out how. I know how to move whole threads but single posts...hmm...time to use these new awesome mod powers methinks ;)

feck it,leave em.If i've any more hat-related posts i'll post them in the other thread!

Degsy wrote: »
    feck it,leave em.If i've any more hat-related posts i'll post them in the other thread!

Nah, already done. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭FiSe

Just small note, tons of WWII "German" helmets were used all over the Europe after the war, as a stop-gap solution for firebrigades, police, civil defence....
    Many, maybe most, of them never saw the action and came out from the warehouses. And they were originaly painted in dark shades of grey-black, manufacturer pending ;).
    I had a discussion about it recently with my friends, one of them removed the linen from one such a helmet used by Czech civil defence forces after WWII and, surprise, surprise, stamped "chicken" underneath.

/But hey, who cares. I, personally, wouldn't be too pushed to have the one and only original on my wall, but one have to be very carefull when buying one of these/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭rabbit Stew

This is my Brodie as requested.
    Got it as a present from the brother in law.

helmet1ow4.th.jpghelmet2ek5.th.jpg
    helmet3lg2.th.jpghelmet4dk4.th.jpg
    helmet5jh5.th.jpg

What do ye think?

(Sorry the images are so large, one of the mods might be able to sort it if necessary)

Thanks for the pics rabbit stew!
    Nice helmet. Particularly the condition.

Changed your pics to thumbnails.

Best,
    Preusse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Wow, thats green alright, definately not a shade of green you're likely to find in the British army. Are you sure that isnt P&T issue too? :p

She seems in good nick!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭rabbit Stew

Cheers lads,
    The collection is small but growing i'll post some more pics as i'm sorting them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭arnhem44

ok everybody these are my helmets,unfortunately the batteries in my camera went dead before i could get any close ups

arnhem44 wrote: »
    ok everybody these are my helmets,unfortunately the batteries in my camera went dead before i could get any close ups

A fine and diverse collection! Tell me, do you find that after a while you run out of room? I have that problem with some items. Thankfully, most are small enough. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Wow, as Preusse said that some range of helmets there! Nice collection, tell us more, how long have you been collecting? Are these all purchases or some items given to you? Looking forward to seeing more pics of them.

I guess that No.4 is awaiting its guts :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭danpatjoe

Great looking collection of lids!

I have only one in my collection, a german M42, which, like FiSe stated above, was used post-war by the Danish Civil Defence. It is stamped size ET66 and batch 2225 with original factory feldgrau paint but refitted with a Danish CD liner, splitpins and chinstrap. I purchased it for a display and replaced the split pins with original ones, it was the closest to a genuine item that I could afford at the time. I'll post pictures as soon as I get my imageshack registration sorted out.

Sorry to go off topic for a moment, but regarding your railroad eagle, can you start a new thread to give us a look at it both front and back? I've been looking for one of those for quite a while :D

- Dan

hello everybody,to answer a few of ye're questions,well i started off collecting the helmets but i just ran out of space in the end,i have quite a large collection of models and the helmets adorne the top of these shelves and sadly there now full,my brother has promised to let me have six more that he has,an early ww2 german helmet,sadly repainted,what he thinks is a british ww2 para helmet and four more modern issue helmets,he's one of the soldiers gone to Chad at the moment so i won't get my hands on these for another couple of months,the enfield has more parts but just not complete:(,however i think i would only draw trouble on myself if i took it futher with the way the law is.the german para helmet in the photo is a reproduction and some of the others would need attension,i will do my best to post some of them up here soon,as for the railway or building sign,again i'm afraid bought with every good intension as original but the guy i bought it from has sold many since,i can only imagine there made with an original mould as there is a sign of a makers mark on the back,this guy has one for sale the last time i looked only in what looks like bronze(or paint),£300 sterling i think,i paid 80 or 90 which was probarly to much but it does add to a display,i'll post photos of this also once i get a chance,i have some medals also if anyone wants to have a look,again some repos mixed in but most are original,thats the trouble buying from the internet,you just cant tell sometimes what its really like.

here are a couple of the helmets for viewing,i must retake them in a lower resolution,there taking forever to load up,the ww1 helmet is repainted so i decided to leave well alone and it also has a crack around two inches long on the top

Heres another few for yere viewing,the neck shield on the m35 is a repo and as you can see its been de-nazified which is a shame:(,however it does retain its full liner including the horse hair pad at the top

ok here is something that someone may have some knowledge about,I got this during the week,at first glance it looks like a german fallschirmjager helmet but its not,I would be thinking its an m40 or 42,its been cut down and where the peak would of been has been hammered out possibley causing the damage that can be seen,as a guess maybe a helmet modified by a paratrooper??,it is in semi relic condition and appears to have been cut war time period,so anyone with any suggestions?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

you've got some first class stuff there arnhem44 :eek:

Awesome collection of model vehicles too in the background !

Well done for posting !

marcsignal wrote: »
    you've got some first class stuff there arnhem44 :eek:

Awesome collection of model vehicles too in the background !

Well done for posting !
    Thank you marcsignal,having a model shop close by doesn't help:D

Here is another selection of helmets that my brother has kindly given to me,was waiting for him to come back from his tour of duty to get these,they are as follows,a British kevlar helmet,a mark4 turtle helmet,a Belgian/American GI helmet,an Irish issue kevlar helmet,an old British helmet which was used by different units of the army this one sporting a para chin strap but not para???,a German M40,this one I actually found over ten years ago myself,it had been painted black with white lettering for the hells angels,its currently been painted with primer so this one will be a nice project,I'm thinking of doing this one into a Luftwaffe M40 and finally some extra helmet camo covers

Here are the other two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭danpatjoe

Here's another recent arrival, a DD Luftwaffe M35.

This one is well worn, it was originally painted Luftwaffe blue with a first pattern eagle and then re-issued with a combat green paint. The National shield decal had been scratched off as per regulations and the swastika removed from the eagle. Another small size 56.

1001087uh6.th.jpg

1001088eg0.th.jpg

1001089ex2.th.jpg

It is a pity about the decals,my own DD M35 is the same,got my one at the time from Estonia,it was used by the fire service there,I looked in to getting replacement decals at the time but thought better of it afterwards,might be worth mentioning in the fakes thread about decals,its becoming more difficult to tell them apart nowadays,still a fine solid helmet with plenty history attached to it by the looks of it,no doubt a chinstrap will be coming at some stage?,nice one Dan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 paddywhack262

well just joined and i collect all types of militaria!! well i guess i should post some of my lids so then!! ig got a lot but not much pics as there split between to PCs! but il post what i have! first is a m38 german fj para lid!this one was ground dug in normandy by a guy i know!(still bloody charged me for it!!) it was takin off hill 192 were there was vicious fighting! actually im going back there next year on a huge tour and amount other things we will be doing some digging!cant wait!any who the lid!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 paddywhack262

other side!