Pet Peeves at Gigs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,302 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

People who charge into the arena as the main band is coming on and then claim you're sitting in their seat, where you have been in plenty of time, disrupting your enjoyment of the grand entrance as you each pull out your tickets to find that although we each have the same block and seat numbers, the pillock who came late is in the wrong stand.

Happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

People who charge into the arena as the main band is coming on and then claim you're sitting in their seat, where you have been in plenty of time, disrupting your enjoyment of the grand entrance as you each pull out your tickets to find that although we each have the same block and seat numbers, the pillock who came late is in the wrong stand.

Happens.
    Ah now, it can't happen that often that it has become that much of a problem for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

People flinging beer around, c*nts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭opinionated

Loved reading each of your rants and said to myself that I had to reply...

Was recently at my first standing concert which was in the Marquee, good concert but with a few little peeves...
    • People Smoking - really sickening, am sure this one guy had a cigar...
    • The really drunk people - One of the lads near me at this gig was locked and just fallin round the place, eventually he moved (well fell) away...
    The biggest problem though that I had was that I am about 6`1 which isn't awfully tall but supposedly because I am taller than some people I should stand at the back away from the stage even though I am there earlier than others. I mean for feck sake...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭Icarian

(1) Girls who say (sorry, can i get by?)

you step back to let them past, and they just stop there and stand in front of you for the whole gig

(2) when your almost at the front, and then the guy/girl in front of you sees their friend behind you and pulls them to the front pushing you further back as they try to move you from your space (i usually put my bony elbows to work to make sure it doesnt happen!! mother****ers deserve it)

(3) really drunk people pushing to the front, throwing drinks etc... if you want to get hammered, go to a bar, im there to see my favourite bands/musical heros

basically anyone who trys to weasel their way to the front when youve been waiting for hours for your space

if someone has waited hours to get to the front, not drinking/going to the toilet, then they deserve to be there, they wanted it more than you, DONT barge to the front halfway through a gig because you sort of like the main band

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Bren_M.Records

Travelling for about five hours in the back of a windowless van then spending hours setting up the gear and soundchecking only for no one to turn up! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,194 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Travelling for about five hours in the back of a windowless van then spending hours setting up the gear and soundchecking only for no one to turn up! :D

I think that takes the bakery! Thats lousy, tough break man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Soundman

Léan wrote: »

People that think it's a great laugh to throw beer/water on peoples heads/into the crowd: "OMG HAHA FUNNNNEY". No, just, no.

Being a Sound Engineer that works in the middle of a crowd, this is one of my main peeves. Especially since now using a digital desk. Beer and electronics equals end of show, everyone out, no refunds, GOOD NIGHT!

Also people who wolf whistle at gigs or bring whistles. I am trying to make things sound as good as possible. Not going to happen if you destroy my hearing and my livelihood.

Soundman wrote: »
    Also people who wolf whistle at gigs or bring whistles.
    Ah now c'mon, I was with you up until you said that. What next? No cheering or singing along?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

The no shirt thing is the worst. I was working in Milan this summer and I went to a Queens of the stone Age gig and with in 5 minutes it was full of disgusting sweaty Italian men bumping into me with shirtless.

There is nothing worse then wearing something thats covered in sweat that's not yours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 575 ✭✭✭JustCoz

People who get p!ssed off if your arm brushes against theirs in the crowd. The crowd at Arcade Fire were so crap. A girl basically started on me and my friend saying "we were invading her space". Ffs it's a concert, if thats the buzz you're after listen to the cd in your bedroom

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Ah now c'mon, I was with you up until you said that. What next? No cheering or singing along?

Hey. You gotta understand my point of view on it though. It is detrimental to my hearing which is my livelihood.

Soundman wrote: »
    Hey. You gotta understand my point of view on it though. It is detrimental to my hearing which is my livelihood.
    Ah In know, I was just taking the p1ss! Although saying that, I don't think you'll much sympathy for the average punter that's paid to see their favourite band. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭- bo -

|Cookies wrote: »
    the overprotective boyfriend. probally the one i hate the most. so many times ive had to shout, stop moaning, its a gig not a picnic!

Jesus yeah. Was up front row at a Stone Sour gig, right at teh barrier, and so there was the expected crush every now and again, and everytime I even brushed off yer one, her fella got thick with me. Youre in the front row of a gig for feck sake, like you said not at a picnic :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Redegg

People that bring back packs to gigs. They are annoying and bulky. grr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭IronWolf

Whistles, and scalpers selling whistles.

IronWolf wrote: »
    Whistles, and scalpers selling whistles.

Thank you. At least someone agrees with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Whistling naturally is fine with me but whistling with a whistle is just silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,194 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Redegg wrote: »
    People that bring back packs to gigs. They are annoying and bulky. grr.

I'm really trying to cut down on that. Even though I've only dont it three times at most I'd say, it still annoys the hell out of me when I have one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

1. Smoking at gigs - although it doesnt happen here anymore, it made a couple of the UK gigs I went to, pretty uncomfortable.
    2. Sweaty drunk topless guy - his smelly armpit hair is usually always at my face.
    3. Teenage couples who just make out with each other.
    4. Queue jumpers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 584 ✭✭✭hallelujah

Girls trying to pull me during the gig. FFS I'm here for the music!

This has never happened me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭trellheim

I've tried hard to remember a gig in the last 25-26 years where none of the above complaints have happened. And I did. It was 10 years ago at the National Concert hall ... Brahms I think .

Hottest sweatiest armpits and most fun in recent years ? Bloodhound gang in the temple music centre. All the above, topless people, sweaty armpits, people smoking at the back , pushing shoving...

Water being thrown [ by the band too ! ] over everyone.

I do believe whistles were blown from time to time....

but hey everyone attending had a reasonable suspicion it would be like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 hobochick

the guy who has a big bag at their feet up the front, taking up the space of another person -did ya buy a tkt for the bag????? grrrrrr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,803 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

My #1 peeve is ignorant f**kers who constantly stand up on the barriers on the disabled viewing platforms to "get a better view" of the stage.

If you have problems viewing the stage from the floor, why didn't you buy a f**king balcony seat ticket!!!!!??????

:mad:

EDIT: I once started to feel up a guy's hand because he was p***ing me off by constantly standing up on the barrier, and after the 3rd time(!?) he didn't come back!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭nicolaonfire

Omg imagine if everyone here went to a gig together.
    It would be the best gig EVER.
    There would be:
    No pushing infront of people who were there before you.
    No throwing water or booze on the crowd.
    No shirtless sweaty guy
    No talking while the band are on.
    etc....

Haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

i must confess that sometimes that is a must,
    take mcr next saturday i wont have time to queue all day, and i still want actually see the band

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Omg imagine if everyone here went to a gig together.
    It would be the best gig EVER.
    There would be:
    No throwing water or booze on the crowd.
    No shirtless sweaty guy
    No talking while the band are on.
    etc....

Haha

I went to a fan club gig (for Einstuerzende Neubauten) in Berlin two years ago and it was exactly like that, no one made any noise during the quiet parts (apart from the band), no one got drunk and acted obnoxiously and everyone lined up politely around the band. It WAS the best gig ever and I don't think it will ever be topped because people underestimate how much a good crowd matters to a gig to make it special.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,439 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

People who whinge about how annoying other people are being.

Even worse than talkers ssshhhers etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,075 ✭✭✭fenris

How about the knobs and knobettes who think it is funny to push people into the mosh pit.

Some friends and I came up with a novel solution at a gig a couple of years ago, - boost the little sods up on top of the crowd and try not to snigger too obviously as they are thrown out by security :D

we got four before security started to suspect that their crowd surfers were not entirely unaided!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭robo

When you go to a gig with someone and you know the words and so do they to some of the songs and you start to sing along and they won't join in...is it an "I am too cool to sing at this gig?" :mad: