Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pet Peeves at Gigs

• 16-06-2007 10:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭

So what'd be yours

Mine would include:

1. People shoving their way to the front 5 mins before the headline act come on, past people who've been there all day/evening

2. People shouting for obscure songs to make themselves look like more a hardcore fan

3. The opposite-people moaning that they don't know the songs being played

4. Drum solos

5. Overly violent crowds (as appropriate to the gig, once had to fend off a mosher at a Weezer gig :rolleyes: )

6. Any abuse of support bands besides verbal (i.e bottling etc)

7. Bands maintaining the exact same setlist for an entire tour (only applicable if you see them more than once on said tour, obviously)

8. Food prices

Yours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

The guy up at the front protecting his girlfriend who's up against the barrier and gets pissed off whenever anyone bumps into him, even if it's a heavy concert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

cheering and/or shouting during a quiet part in a song

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

People with elbows like daggers

The topless fat guy who seems to just stick to everyone

Security at a certain festival...

As$holes shoving into me from behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

#Elites wrote:
    Girls infront of you who's hair is in your face.

to add to this, sweaty girl infront who waves her hair into your eyes. zomfg it burns!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

JC 2K3 wrote:
    The guy up at the front protecting his girlfriend who's up against the barrier and gets pissed off whenever anyone bumps into him, even if it's a heavy concert.

Jaysus that happened to me at Hammerfall, this girl was screaming her head off at me while I laughed at her and stayed jumping around like a looper. Her boyfriend looked like he thought she was a fool!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

Driver 8 wrote:
    6. Any abuse of support bands besides verbal (i.e bottling etc)
    Hissing or booing (while obviously not as bad as throwing bottles at) support bands is not on imo. Standing up the front during them "saving" a spot and talking loudly too. People who don't want to watch the band should stand back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Wait, I hate...

People who think you're not "metal" because you don't wear band t-shirts and boots or cons. Why would anyone actually want to have the image of a metaller?

"Hey check it out, I look like an alcoholic who has no sense of hygiene. Wanna touch my beer belly?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭iamnothim

people who sing one line ahead of the song just to prove they know the lyrics.

also people who sing along out of tune.

also people clapping along who have no rhythm. this one in particular is very widespread, some people are unbelievable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

9. People who glare and/or complain at anyone who sings along (it happens, believe me)

10. Outdoor gigs with no pits

11. Fan-boys/girls ("i looooooooooooooove you *insert lead singers name here* shrieks between every song)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Nevermind girls with hair in your face, guys with long hair face are far worse, particularly because they are generally more sweaty, lashing it around a lot more and don't comb it as a girl would. Oh, and dreads, get the f**k away from me if you have dreads.

Oh and "hardcore" dancing. I was going to rant about this **** a while ago, but I let it slid. I went to the Dimmu + Devildriver concert here in NY a few months ago and the pit was a mess. Punches, round-house kicks, spinning back-fists. Who are you trying to impress you worthless piece of sh1t? Thankfully it's seems to be quickly stamped out back home. I saw one guy with a bust nose and another that couldn't see Dimmu through his black eye, how "hardcore"... :rolleyes:

I'm also not a fan of the topless fat guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Ro: maaan! wrote:
    Hissing or booing (while obviously not as bad as throwing bottles at) support bands is not on imo. Standing up the front during them "saving" a spot and talking loudly too. People who don't want to watch the band should stand back.
    You pay to go see the headlining band, not the support band and if you're not up front for the support, you won't be up front for the headliner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

You know the quiet gigs at the *******? I hate when people stand at the back and talk incessantly through slow moody songs.. You came to a frucking concert to talk to your mate!!!???

And people texting in small dark intimate gigs.. You can just see the glow from the phone, and are completely distracted..

Generally, I hate OTHER people at gigs.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

People who look so bored because they don't know the band/song and just spend their time looking around for a chat because they came for "a night out".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Driver 8 wrote:
    4. Drum solos

You lose :p

But yeah, long sweaty hair in the face is annoying, and people who deliberately push into crowds to start a pit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭DadaKopf

People standing in front of you who are constantly moving back into you. At the end of the gig, to save your personal space, you end up miles away from the stage. Pricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,658 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Yeah, the worst is people always pushing past you right before the headliner...backstards.

Depends on the person, but the drum solo may be decent( take a bow Matt Cameron).

Yeah, pretty much everything has been said here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

there's always some boll1x who farts incessantly I think he attends gigs just to do it usually in the most crowded part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Idiots with excessively large hair, 'fros in particular, who stand at the front.

Do you think that having hair like that makes you interesting? Are you hoping the band looks down, stops the song and says "woah, cool hair buuuuuddy, let's go party after k?"? Do you lack personality to such an extent that its your only conversation starter?

Twats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

JC 2K3 wrote:
    You pay to go see the headlining band, not the support band and if you're not up front for the support, you won't be up front for the headliner.
    I've gone to many gigs to see the support band. It's not a given that everyone there is there to see the headlining band. Also, at most gigs people leave the front after each band to get a drink. You'd usually be able to get up the front between bands. And if that isn't the case then fair enough, you have to wait up the front through a band you don't like. But no one's forcing you to stay up there. You're there because you've chosen to wait there. The least you could do is be quiet and let the other people enjoy the band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Garret

tall people who stand at the front

people who sing along when its really not appropriate

generally immature people

the farters

different gigs have different decorum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

- People who piss in the middle of the crowd because they're too lazy to go to the toilet [happened at The Fall in the Tivoli 1993]

- People clapping / cheering before a song finishes. They think it's over but it's actually not.

- People who will cheer whatever stage banter the lead singer comes out with. No matter how inane.

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    - People who piss in the middle of the crowd because they're too lazy to go to the toilet [happened at The Fall in the Tivoli 1993]
    Hehehe, Mark E. Smith's one craxy guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭goodfela

Alter-Ego wrote:

The topless fat guy who seems to just stick to everyone

Ha ha....agree with that one, 100%...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

People who talk loudly during quiet gigs in small venues.

People who shush people who are talking at the back during loud gigs in big venues. (You just can't win with me!)

The girls who jam their way to the side of the front barriers near the end of a gig in the hope that the band will notice them and invite them backstage.

The people who shout out song requests. (Unless the band ask for them)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭aurel

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    - People who will cheer whatever stage banter the lead singer comes out with. No matter how inane.

Exactly.

Singer : "Hey Everybody"

Crowd : *Woooooooooo*

In a perfect world the entire crowd would answer simultaneously Life of Brian Style, "Hey <band name>".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

Garret wrote:
    tall people who stand at the front

Ah come on thats not fair. I'm a pretty tall guy and what generally happens to me is somebody will come up and stand right in front of so close that they are literally leaning on top of me and so I have to move back, then another person comes along does the same and so forth until I'm standing at the back :(
    I generally look around me and will try wherever possible to not be blocking other peoples view.

What really bothers me is people who just mill through the crowd to get to the front or whatever, absolutely no consideration for their fellow concert goers :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

lol, I've often pushed my way to the front for the simple reason that being at the back of the crowd is crap. If you can get to the front then go to the front. When you're paying €100 odd for a ticket I want to enjoy the gig, not be asking people if they're on stage yet! F*ck people and their personal space. If you want space buy a seated ticket and stop sucking the fun out of the gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

I hate mobile phones. "Oh I can't possibly remember being at this gig unless I take 4000 photos on my camera phone which won't even come out properly because it's so dark and I can't keep a steady hand but I'll spend the whole gig doing it anyway because I can then brag to my mates standing beside me that I have a crappy picture of the gig and take another but oh wait I'll answer this incoming call with its really loud ringtone and Hey Joe... Yeah, I'm at a gig... No problem... Yeah... It's deadly... Listen to this... ... ... Yeah, I got some photos and a short video of the singer saying how he likes Guinness... I better go, I need to take more photos."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Too many people see themselves http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055108879 as photographers these days....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Papergirl 1

Anyone ever been to The Frames in Vicar St? Well people seem to spend the entire gig talking very loudly, as if they are just in a pub for a few pints and a chat!!!!? It really annoys me as more often than not the corwd is talking so loud you cant hear what glen hansard is saying......aaaaagggghhhh!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

It really annoys me as more often than not the corwd is talking so loud you cant hear what glen hansard is saying......aaaaagggghhhh!!!!!!

If I had the misfortune to be stuck at a Frames gig then I would count this as a blessing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Papergirl 1

If I had the misfortune to be stuck at a Frames gig then I would count this as a blessing.

Bite me :p

Has anyone mentioned when people start "ole ole ole" :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

People with digital cameras at gigs. Seriously, who bothers to go home and rewatch the gig? Much like John's post about phones, just enjoy the music and don't spend the entire gig with your hand in front of my face becuase you see yourself as the future saviour of rock documentaries.

Pet hate #257: Frames fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

People ringing you FROM gigs, pissed telling you to "listen to this", and all you here is indecipherable crackling distortion down the phone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

People shouting stupid ignorant stuff up at the band esp during a quiet bit, which makes our whole country look idiotic.

Example, someone shouting "DELIVERANCE!" when Bella Fleck was playing a slow accoustic piece on the banjo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Anyone ever been to The Frames in Vicar St? Well people seem to spend the entire gig talking very loudly, as if they are just in a pub for a few pints and a chat!!!!? It really annoys me as more often than not the corwd is talking so loud you cant hear what glen hansard is saying......aaaaagggghhhh!!!!!!

Now if only they'd talk loud enough so we wouldn't have to hear him sing also :D

My peeves at gigs?

The Frames
    Smokers
    Pissed people sloshing drink on your lower body so you can't catch any.
    Bands that are late ( went to the LA's last time they were in town. Waited over an hour after the support went off. It was a Tuesday night - I had work next day ffs, and it was ten to eleven when I got pissed off enough to approach the security guy on stage. Just as the band came out)

Bands that play their new stuff when everyone went for their old stuff (To refer to the LA's gig mentioned above, I was the one who, after they played two songs no-one knew, yelled "Play something we know") :D

Did I mention the Frames? Oh and Don Baker, and the Sawdoctors. My peeves, you understand - not having a go at anyone else's crappy tastes :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 311 ✭✭tracert

nipplenuts wrote:
    Bands that play their new stuff when everyone went for their old stuff (To refer to the LA's gig mentioned above, I was the one who, after they played two songs no-one knew, yelled "Play something we know") :D
    WTF??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

nipplenuts wrote:
    Did I mention the Sawdoctors

Irelands finest live act.

and yes i am serious :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

cormie wrote:
    Has anyone mentioned when people start "ole ole ole" :(
    bravo old chap, i was about to post this myself, man that sucks serious ass people singing "ole ole" during gigs, not even after or between songs but during, people italia 90 was 17 years ago and it wasnt even that good!!

oh and i hate people who when your at the back of a gig ( i had to recently because of a leg injury(sustained prior to the gig mind you!)) this guy stood behind me and my girlfriend for 3/4s of the gig, proping himself by a pillar, then in the last 20mins or so started getting real defensive that i was standing infront of him and blocking his view.........i carefully pointed out to him that there was about 1500 people standing infront of him for the last hour and a bit,including right now, so sod off and move if you want a better view, leaning up against a pillar is a price you have to pay for wanting to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Karlusss

nipplenuts wrote:
    My peeves at gigs?

The Frames

I have noticed how it ruins the atmosphere when you're at a gig and look up only to see The Frames playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭rannerap

topless sweaty fat guy that seems to be at EVERY gig

people throwing water/booze over my head,

bitchy people who give out when you get shoved into them

shruggy

people who beat you up for the stuff the bands throw into the crowd

was at good charlotte and was lucky enough to catch billys towel,a massive fight broke out and this knacker and i started fighting over it and he punched me in the stomach for it,i mean come on!i'm a girl and he was twice as big as i was,and security did f_uck all

Did nobody do anything? Jeez, hope you kicked him in the nuts?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,382 Mod ✭✭✭✭lordgoat

nipplenuts wrote:
    My peeves at gigs?

Did I mention the Frames? Oh and Don Baker, and the Sawdoctors. My peeves, you understand - not having a go at anyone else's crappy tastes :D

My my aren't you tolerant, a whole two songs? I suppose having to be up for work in the morning and it being a week night and all you were probably a very tired puppy... Personally i love it when i hear knew songs if i wanted the same old ones i'd listen to the record at home.

How can you bands you don't like be a pet peeve from gigs you go to? Do you forget that you dislike these bands and keep going? Or are you a little slow?

Not having a go at your intolerance or inconsistencies, just some things i noticed - ya know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Human pyramids

crowd surfers who can't understand why you're pissed off when they land on your head.

The Frames

The token terrible Irish band who tend to play first at outdoor gigs. eg Delorentos

People who throw pints over me

lordgoat wrote:
    How can you bands you don't like be a pet peeve from gigs you go to?

I must be a little slow then, because I do not understand what you said. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭rain on

Tall and not so tall people standing directly in front of me. I'm five two and attractive and all as your back is, I'd rather we knew each other better before getting so closely acquainted.

People who stand so close to you that they're touching you when you're standing far enough back that there's enough space not to.