Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭fricatus

basquille wrote: »
    "Your pizza from Dr. Oetker is readdddy!"

Pizza is Italian, and also sort of robbed by the Americans, so I can imagine buying a pizza from a guy called Gino Ginelli, or Goodfellas, with a Noo Yawk accent, but Doktor Oetker mit ze Cherman accent? You vant to eat mein pizza, ja? Zen take off your speedos, bik boy! I'd run a mile!

Some more, in no particular order:

- Eircom 11811 ads "if you want a pizza in north May-o, looking for an optician in Ri-al-tooo", GAAAAHHHH!

- TV Licence ads that try to make us think that being caught without a TV licence is like being caught pants-down with a goat. Do they honestly think we're that stupid?

- Tesco ads with that annoying xylophone-type music that's repeated over and over again in the background. Listen for it, and believe me, you will want to kill.

- The G hotel: "I am this, I am that...", well you are dead, because I am going to burn down the fúcking G hotel (or gee hotel, haha) if I ever hear that stupid ad again.

- Carbon monoxide ads with Duncan Stuart. He's so bloody Green goody-two-shoes that I'd do the opposite of what he says, every time. "Donsh drive an SUV, because it's not sus-tain-able", OK, then sign me up for the new X5 there, Mr BMW dealer. "Gesh a carbon monoxide alarm", OK now I'm dead of CO poisoning.

- Inner voice: 'nuff said.

- Seniors Money, with Mick Lally sounding like he's spent the morning hitting the poitín bottle, slurring his words and all, trying to be the cuddly, unthreatening face of an exploitative equity release company. And there are so many of those ads, those guys must have some backing... What's worse, every time Eddie Hobbs criticises them, or the subprime market practically brings the US economy down, these ads morph into a new form so as to sound less threatening. Stop lying to old people Miley! Termsh and condisshensh applaayyy...

But the honourable mention goes to the man who realises that on radio, less is more, only appearing every now and again, so that his wonderful randomness sounds fresh each time!

Of course...

It's...

The man who put "Turkish Travertine" into the popular vocabulary!

...DAFT DAVE!!!!

What a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

fricatus wrote: »
    Pizza is Italian, and also sort of robbed by the Americans, so I can imagine buying a pizza from a guy called Gino Ginelli, or Goodfellas, with a Noo Yawk accent, but Doktor Oetker mit ze Cherman accent? You vant to eat mein pizza, ja? Zen take off your speedos, bik boy! I'd run a mile!

Some more, in no particular order:

- Eircom 11811 ads "if you want a pizza in north May-o, looking for an optician in Ri-al-tooo", GAAAAHHHH!

- TV Licence ads that try to make us think that being caught without a TV licence is like being caught pants-down with a goat. Do they honestly think we're that stupid?

- Tesco ads with that annoying xylophone-type music that's repeated over and over again in the background. Listen for it, and believe me, you will want to kill.

- The G hotel: "I am this, I am that...", well you are dead, because I am going to burn down the fúcking G hotel (or gee hotel, haha) if I ever hear that stupid ad again.

- Carbon monoxide ads with Duncan Stuart. He's so bloody Green goody-two-shoes that I'd do the opposite of what he says, every time. "Donsh drive an SUV, because it's not sus-tain-able", OK, then sign me up for the new X5 there, Mr BMW dealer. "Gesh a carbon monoxide alarm", OK now I'm dead of CO poisoning.

- Inner voice: 'nuff said.

- Seniors Money, with Mick Lally sounding like he's spent the morning hitting the poitín bottle, slurring his words and all, trying to be the cuddly, unthreatening face of an exploitative equity release company. And there are so many of those ads, those guys must have some backing... What's worse, every time Eddie Hobbs criticises them, or the subprime market practically brings the US economy down, these ads morph into a new form so as to sound less threatening. Stop lying to old people Miley! Termsh and condisshensh applaayyy...

But the honourable mention goes to the man who realises that on radio, less is more, only appearing every now and again, so that his wonderful randomness sounds fresh each time!

Of course...

It's...

The man who put "Turkish Travertine" into the popular vocabulary!

...DAFT DAVE!!!!

What a legend

I also think that Daft Dave is the full legend and that those other ads are annoying as holy hell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Undercoverguy

Anyone heard the king crisps ad?
    I think it fluckin brilliant lol

it's a good one all right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

That IBM Climate Change advert - Wifey complaining about a change in the weather? Your kids worried about the polar bear?

WTF????????

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

The ad with the deleriously-happy-she-must-be-on-speed girl gushing over how she saved €300 by monopolising her insurance policies with quinn direct. And the music on the Eagle Star ads make me feel quite nauseous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Nightwish wrote: »
    And the music on the Eagle Star ads make me feel quite nauseous.

Get out of my head :D

That eagle star ad has made me see new shades of red...I'd love to shove the neck of that guitar down yer man's throat and chop off the hands of the offending guitarist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

Sorry about that...but someone needs to share my pain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,919 ✭✭✭fricatus

The ad with the deleriously-happy-she-must-be-on-speed girl gushing over how she saved €300 by monopolising her insurance policies with quinn direct.

It's annoying, but I have to admit I find it sexy how she says "yup!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

Can the mods sticky this thread please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭BeatNikDub

What stations are playing it?

It was sent to the station I work at but wasnt allowed to air.

Great ad though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

I LOVE the pub ad.

"going to the local is like having a nice warm bath, espicially if you get out of the bath, climb out of the window and head down to the pub; you cute hoor"

"what is lacks in excitment it makes up for.... in it's complete lack of excitment"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

123.ie, just log on and save money

if you don't give us your money you'd have to be a (donkey noise), or (dog barking) or just plain (cuckoo noise).

**** off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭tampopo

Well, I get a bit ...moist when I hear Caroline Morahan in that ad for whatever it is. God, she's a sexy voice.

I also like the one where the two lads are chatting, saying something like "you'll never guess what..." and "€100 something something" and the girl at the end shrieks. The editing is great. It runs very smoothly as an ad.

It was only till I listened carefully to that QuinnDirect ad that I realised what a pile of sh!te the terms and conditions were...sheesh, she makes it like the discovery of penicillin or something...

And there's no optician in Rialto btw.

As for the G hotel, is that ad paid for by other hotels? There is no way in hell I'd stay there after hearing it. It's so annoying. Change of station or OFF button required when I hear that one..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

tampopo wrote: »

I also like the one where the two lads are chatting, saying something like "you'll never guess what..." and "€100 something something" and the girl at the end shrieks. The editing is great. It runs very smoothly as an ad.

quote]

Halifax I think. Flippin brill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 kerrrory@gmail.

fair play to ben dunne. He conquered his demons. Thinks his adverts get straight to the point. Jackie Skelley and himself are great friends in real life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Their is an ad on mainly Today FM for David Gray's greatest hits album, and for a minute, it plays a selection of his finest depressing music. Nearly every ad break, they play that ad, and it does my head in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Someone in the Halifax ad department please fall on your sword now....that ad referred to above (the flippin' one) is utter sh*te, ESPECIALLY the scream on yer wan.
    I tolerated, hell even liked some of your other efforts on TV and radio, but this drivel is like something you scribbled down the pub on a friday evening after a long period of writer's cramp.

Oh yeah, rabobank series with Sean "I'm not really funny" Moncrieff, the boot camp for money ad is terrible. "But no drama sir!".
    Oh f*ck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Echelle

Agreed, that Halifax ad is pure rubbish, is it a Colum and Jimjim ( radio 2) creation? The male voices sound like them. What ages are they (Colum and Jimjim) by the way? Their stupid banter is reminiscent of 11 year old precocious schoolboys. Yesterday they went on and on about rats milk...at breakfast time...doing their best to get themselves off the air...hope it works.
    But back to the main topic. The worst ad at the monent has to be the dumb Mira shower ad....most annoying along with the halifax one , for a long time.

I like the new ad for a charity, the name of which I've just forgotten - its a silly song about donating rather than buying rubbish jumpers for Christmas.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Fozzie Bear

The ad with the deleriously-happy-she-must-be-on-speed girl gushing over how she saved €300 by monopolising her insurance policies with quinn direct.

God i HATE that ad. She sounds like a cat being strangled at the start (apparently it's meant to be her "laughing"). Funnily enough its the exact same sound she makes in my re occuring dreams where my fingers slowly tighten around her wind pipe until the last muffled "laugh" escapes her blue lips........

However i'm waiting with pent up rage, fury and bile for the mother and father of all annoying f*cking ads. That bastard xmas ad for Barry's tea where that tool goes on about the bloody train set. (Please refer to previous years rants below, xmas 2007 one to come). God help me but i'll go on that bloody murder spree yet if i hear it again this year.... AAAAARRRRGGGGGHHHHHHH

Christmas 2005's Rant......
    That fu*king Barrys tea ad that is on at xmas. Turn the moment golden!!
    Golden fu*kin shower more like it.

Jesus H Christ it makes me spit blood in a blind, all consuming, commit bloody murder, rage. I would like to take that train set and insert it side ways up that fu*kers hole followed quickly by the christmas tree and the kids head. Then i would make a cup of barrys tea (boiling scalding lava hot) and pour the lot of it down on top of his condescending, wise, smug twat head.

Thanks god it's only on at xmas, cos otherwise i would have taken out the shotgun and gone on a very messy, bloody rampage down shop street here in Galway...

Christmas 2006's Rant......
    O no, please God, Jesus NO!!!!!!! It's back. It's fu*king back, that fu*king Barry's tea advert about that cnut and his train set is back. Why God WHY?????? I now officially hate xmas and want it banned forever if means that advert will never again be played on any radio station. I swear i will commit a very bloody slaughter of my unsuspecting work colleagues with a rusty tea spoon if i hear it again. It is the must sickening, twee ****e advert that any advertising exec has ever managed to pull from their septic, puss filled dripping arse. I would like five minutes in a room with him/her, a train set and a christmas tree. At the end of 5 minutes the train set, tree and my right shoe would have disappeared and him/her would be walking funny and need to visit the bathroom urgently with a bottle of super horse strength laxatives....:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

There was an ad running last week for some show that was on on Saturday 17th Nov.

There were a few of them, one about a Trad Music festival that was on, and you'd rather be at the show the ad was for.

Another one of these had a poem in it.

"Am I the turnip, or the carrot
    Would you hit me with a mallet,
    Would I make it to the bowl,
    Or would you throw me in a hole"

I liked that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

That bastard xmas ad for Barry's tea where that tool goes on about the bloody train set.

You just know that fucking ad is going to be back next month, don't you? Some people actually like it, and look forward to it on the radio. Mad people I tell you.

That poem ad was for VW, something to do with having a special weekend to see a car in a garage, like there's only a special day you can see cars in a garage. Reminds me of the stupidity of PTSB's "Mortgage week", or AIB's current "Car Finance Fortnight". Quick, hurry, you can only get car finance till Friday, then you have to wait till next year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

There is a pr1ck doin an ad at the min. for some kind of car Daihatsu I think.

Fcuker has his teeth clenched for some reason, sounds like he is clamping on a frikken dental retainer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

The ad for Bord na Mona firelog. The guy brings home some bird and his thoughts are then read aloud, shes the same.

"Oh I hope hes not some kind of weirdo"

Then hey presto, he whips out a fire log...."oh this is actually quite nice.."

FFS ! What a LOB !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,758 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Ah the christmas ads start in earnest, and they're as bad this year as they were last year.

1. Any ad where someone is singing a christmas carol with updated lyrics (painful)
    2. Bothar's Christmas ads (great charity, crap ads). Are we there yet, are we there yet, are we there yet...
    3. The McDonalds ad with Santa caught nicking McD vouchers by a kid is pretty good, but since when were Santa's elves Mexican?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Holmer

For me it's those ones for the Mespil Hotel, they're always on around Xmas.
    "You're goin to Doooblin fer lipstiiiick? 'Scuse Me!"
    Considering they're aimed at us people from "down de country" who'll be heading into the big shmoke for de shoppin, why do they insist on making the target audience sound like gob****es from the Quiet Man?

Radio ads that piss me off (part 3):

Financial Regulator (I got my hair done for this...u twat)
    GetCover (literally singing the praises of Johnny\Kate for signing up to this crappy insurance company)
    Any ad with a child whose voice hasn't broken yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Muff_Daddy

Worst ad I've ever heard.....that littering ad with the 'hoilier that thou' youngfella with the angry tone shouts down some youngone for dropping a piece of chewing gum. It's not because I condone littering (It's fairly rotton), it's because no one in Dublin under the age of 60 acts like that.

The one for the financial regulatory body, which features two fellas conversing about AGMs etc while playing squash The bastards deserve no dividend for that alone! :p

Mike.