Odd I think, but racist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Hobbes wrote: »
    Currency isn't a language, even if money does talk.

<faux deep american accent>

and the award for the most obvious statement of the century goes too...

</faux deep american accent>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Overheal wrote: »
    would want to have to work in Paris but not get accepted into say, McDonalds, even though 7/10 people that go into a McDonalds in Paris are more than likely english speaking tourists?

They have competency in english - most of us just cant see past the accents (on either side)

Well I'm not goin' working in Paris because I don't speak french...but it's a fair point on accents, grammar and turn of phrase being other factors which it is harder for someone who doesn't have english as their first language to get to grips with...
    Well ignoring the fact there are more Irish then Polish, and that doing discount all the time generally isn't good business sense, it is illegal to not have prices displayed in the shop. But you could be onto something as it is very common for countries to do this. Why sure I am guaranteed being Irish going to any Irish shop outside Ireland guarantees me a 20% discount.

Of course what I heard is that Polish are secretly transformers and need special lube to cut their hair. I think that has about as much proof as your story does.

We have gone from refusing to serve to serving but making us pay more then non-Irish. Whats next? Free hair?

Ooh, I'm going to need stitches after that one.
    I'm just trying to open up other avenues of possibility into why the OP's g/f couldn't get her ears lowered.
    My theory's been nuked so they must just be racist c*nts...occams razor and all that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Of course what I heard is that Polish are secretly transformers and need special lube to cut their hair. I think that has about as much proof as your story does.
    There truly is more to these poles than meets the eye :D

Excellent video Rigger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Terry wrote: »
    That's complete and utter bollox.

If they want to live here, then they need to speak the language of the majority.
    Attitudes like yours just lead to ghettoism and the inherent racism that it brings.

Polish quarter my arse.

Have we learned nothing from our European neighbors?
    Woohoo, hear hear! I've been trying to keep my oar out of these "racist" threads as much as possible the last while, they leave a bad aftertaste, but well said sir! A hit, a palpable hit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

To one or two posters: Can you please re-read your posts and ensure that they are in English before hitting Submit?

mmmm, ironing...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

meglome wrote: »
    The girlfriend was in a hurry to get a hair cut/colour about a week ago. So she popped into the new Polish place on Capel Street. Just happened to be the closest place at the time. The signs on the outside are in English so she didn't think there was any reason not to go in. So in she goes and asks the girls for what she wants. Firstly they don't speak much English but fair enough not really an issue for her as she's not asking for brain surgery. They have no interest in cutting her hair whatsoever and it's not because they have lots of customers, they don't have any. All the signs in the shop are in Polish and as far the gf can say they don't want to cut her hair as she's not Polish. I run a business myself so within reason anyone's money is as good as anyone else’s.

So yesterday we're talking to a friend of ours who's just been in London. She was staying in Brixton. She had a few hours to kill so she decided to get a hair cut. No problem she thinks, there’s a load of hairdressers around there. So she goes into the first place along and asks for a wash/cut. They don't want to cut her hair. So she goes into the next place and they don't want to cut her hair either. So she asks them to tell her where to go to get a haircut. They send her round the corner to another place which ends up costing quite a bit. For anyone who knows Brixton it's pretty black, as in the people, and so are the shops. These shops didn't have any customers but they don't want to cut her hair, she's white is that a factor?

So twice in the space of a week I've heard the same story. I find this strange because a business is successful or not based on its cash flow and nothing else. If you have no customers I would have thought you'd almost take anyone but seemingly not.

Is this racist or what is it?

Sue them. Its discrimination. Youll make a ****ing FORTUNE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

syklops wrote: »
    You go into a cafe/bar/restaurant in ballsbridge, or ranelagh, or somewhere else, order some food, and the order is wrong, and the person serving you talks little english, and there is a bit of an argument and the manager gets involved, and everyone goes away unhappy. Fair enough. The manager should have made sure his/her staff had the lingo, though, not many Irish people will accept those wages.

AAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!! AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!
    For the love of GOD! if i hear one more person say this i swear to god...so what, before mass immigration, noone in Ireland worked in a restaurant, or mcdonalds, or cleaning toilets right? We all just left those jobs vacant in the hopes that one day, our saviours from overseas would come weilding mops and buckets to clean out our crappers?? Of COURSE irish people accepted those wages, they have done for decades before we had immigrants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

i was in getting a hair cut a few years ago in a central barber type place in templebar and an asian couple came in as i was on the chair. The bloke didnt speak english but the girl did, and she asked if he could dry cut her fellas hair. The barber said he only did wet cuts, then the second the door closed he mumbled under his breath "ill never cut a gooks head, sure have you seen their hair when its short?"

he then went on to explain how he couldnt 'work' with it.

stupid imo, but i suppose these people expect the same pallet everytime they paint. So a change in hairstyle is too much for their simple minds.

With regards to your situation gary, thats a bit extreme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

0ubliette wrote: »
    AAAAAAAAAAAH!!!!!! AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!
    For the love of GOD! if i hear one more person say this i swear to god...so what, before mass immigration, noone in Ireland worked in a restaurant, or mcdonalds, or cleaning toilets right? We all just left those jobs vacant in the hopes that one day, our saviours from overseas would come weilding mops and buckets to clean out our crappers?? Of COURSE irish people accepted those wages, they have done for decades before we had immigrants.

I didnt say no one ever did these jobs, I am saying most Irish people not will do the work for the amount of money they get now adays. inflation has risen and the pay in this sectors and others has stayed the same, so most Irish people will not work for it.

Everyone keeps saying immigrants need to speak the language when they come over here, and I agree, but maybe working in a salon, such as the one the OP mentioned is a starting ground for people to get a grasp of the language when they get off the plane before they get a regular job. I never said they shouldn't have english, I am saying, if they didnt, its better they didnt serve the OP's girlfriend, because it would be alot worse if they get it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭digitally-yours

hmm polish barber shops are HOT ! :D

i never saw them discriminating

the following the the proof

NOT SAFE FOR WORK
    Mature content 18+
    barber shop

the following the the proof

NOT SAFE FOR WORK
    Mature content 18+
    barber shop
    Two questions: Why is there a curtain on the barber booth and will they shave anything? :D
    syklops wrote:
    I didnt say no one ever did these jobs, I am saying no Irish person will do the work for the amount of money they get now adays. inflation has risen and the pay in this sectors and others has stayed the same, so most Irish people will not work for it.
    Actually public sector wages have been rising significantly above inflation, private sector just below. Has it occurred to you that a massive supply of cheap labour might be responsible for low wages? If every second person was a qualified surgeon, you bet your arse I could get surgery for minimum wage.

Plenty of Irish people can and do work for minimum wage. If they are lucky enough to get 40 hours a week (most employers now are hiring on a surplus of staff and giving them 12 to 20 hours a week each) they can make maybe 40% more than if they were on the dole.

Plenty of Irish people have no option but to work in these conditions, including students during the summer, poorly educated people, those fallen on hard times, and those where there are no openings in their chosen careers.

What has happened is that they have been largely pushed out of these low to semi skilled jobs and are struggling to make ends meet against large immigrant populations who only want to save up for a few years then ship themselves and their cash home, wherever that is. In other words, immigrants do not have the same financial pressures as native Irish.

Saying that no Irish person will work for those wages is flat out wrong, as is the impression of the paddy too good to sweep floors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 UpcomingStudent

oh how its funny how white people used to be the main racists of the world, now we are getting our asses whipped :P

all examples or cases of racism should be reported to authorities immediatly. dont be lazy, do it! :P

Saying that no Irish person will work for those wages is flat out wrong, as is the impression of the paddy too good to sweep floors.

Yes you are right. Saying no irish person would work for these wages is flat out wrong. Just like saying you cant read at all would be wrong just because you mis read my post. I said most Irish people will not work for those wages. My girlfriend(incidently she is an immigrant) works in Tech Support for a large irish company, and on her floor, where she earns slightly more than minimum wage, there is about 10% Irish workers and the rest are non-irish. I worked on that wage for a long time, and can tell you very few irish people lasted very long. I stayed because I wanted to get ahead in the industry.

You can't just walk into a hairdressers and expect service without an appointment, there might have been nobody there at that moment, but it takes at least 90 minutes for a colour and cut.
    Who is to say that that the place wasn't fully booked by appointment for the rest of the evening. :rolleyes:

I said most Irish people will not work for those wages.
    No, you didn't.
    I am saying no Irish person will do the work for the amount of money they get now adays.
    You were making out that the Irish won't work minimum wages or poorly waged jobs. I'm telling you that many have absoloutely no choice, regardless of your own experiences and anecdotes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭bobbyjoe

Black people certainly have different hair not sure about Asians. Maybe the hairdressers just aren't trained or don't feel they could do a good job on Irish hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I've worked minimum wage in a few companies, and some of them payed the Chinese less than minimum wage, and got away with it. The Chinese knew that it was below what they were entitled to, but told me that they have no option but to do so. Said companies weren't racist, they just could, so they did. Heck, when I was 16, they only paid me £2 an hour, cos they knew I'd work for that.

No, you didn't.

YES I DID. I did say most in my previous post. I will edit the post and put the most in bold if you need it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭oneeyedsnake

meglome wrote: »
    The girlfriend was in a hurry to get a hair cut/colour about a week ago. So she popped into the new Polish place on Capel Street. Just happened to be the closest place at the time. The signs on the outside are in English so she didn't think there was any reason not to go in. So in she goes and asks the girls for what she wants. Firstly they don't speak much English but fair enough not really an issue for her as she's not asking for brain surgery. They have no interest in cutting her hair whatsoever and it's not because they have lots of customers, they don't have any. All the signs in the shop are in Polish and as far the gf can say they don't want to cut her hair as she's not Polish. I run a business myself so within reason anyone's money is as good as anyone else’s.

So yesterday we're talking to a friend of ours who's just been in London. She was staying in Brixton. She had a few hours to kill so she decided to get a hair cut. No problem she thinks, there’s a load of hairdressers around there. So she goes into the first place along and asks for a wash/cut. They don't want to cut her hair. So she goes into the next place and they don't want to cut her hair either. So she asks them to tell her where to go to get a haircut. They send her round the corner to another place which ends up costing quite a bit. For anyone who knows Brixton it's pretty black, as in the people, and so are the shops. These shops didn't have any customers but they don't want to cut her hair, she's white is that a factor?

So twice in the space of a week I've heard the same story. I find this strange because a business is successful or not based on its cash flow and nothing else. If you have no customers I would have thought you'd almost take anyone but seemingly not.

Is this racist or what is it?

This calls for another Kristallnacht!!!

YES I DID. I did say most in my previous post. I will edit the post and put the most in bold if you need it.

lol Just read your edit....so "not many" = "most" now?
    Is english your first language?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

Back home a Polish guy came over a few years ago. Since then he's started up a construction business. He brings over all Polish people and treats them like sh1t. Gives them feck all wages and has 12 of them living in a house together.

There was even a rumour going around that he brought over a woman to be a sex slave/prostitute, she stayed in the house all day and people only saw her when he bundled her into a car and brought her "on a drive". The guards were investigating last I heard.

Its not only some Irish people that treat foreigners badly, there's bad eggs in every country.

Wertz wrote: »
    lol Just read your edit....so "not many" = "most" now?
    Is english your first language?

Are you trying to wind me up? Read(and quote) the full sentence will you? FFS.

My edit:
    not many irish people will accept those wages = Most Irish people will not accept those wages.

Notice the most and the not, therefore making the most negative.

Okay fair enough, the text size in the edit note tripped me up and I failed to see the second "not". Sorry for the jibe.

You might not be aware of this, but if you edit your post, the quotes other people take from it are not altered.

Your original post:

I am saying no Irish person will do the work for the amount of money they get now adays.

Got changed to:

I am saying most Irish people not will do the work for the amount of money they get now adays.

Thats a different scéal entirely, and what I originally raised an issue with. You do know its bad form to edit your posts to change your story after the fact, don't you?

Interestingly, only 3.1% of the Irish workforce was on minimum wage in 2004, as a bit of fact checking found out. That doesn't seem right, but then again it excludes workers operating just above or around minimum wage. I'd assume it includes migrant workers as well, since it is based on the entire workforce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

I was living in Stratford in London and went into a hairdressers, not realising it was really only for afro hair until I was settled in the seat and when more customers came in I realised I was the only white person. They were polite and cut my hair but really seemed like they didn't know what to do with me. I have long, straight hair which they washed, then roughly dried, then cut dry, smeared with a greasy substance and put it in a ponytail!!

Needless to say it's not what I wanted or expected so I think in the case of afro hair salons anyway, they have such different styles and methond of doing hair that they should stick to afro hair.

I can't think why the polish hairdressers would have turned the girlf away, unless they weren't confident enough in their understanding of english to do it the way she wanted. I'd say they rarely have Irish people coming in to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,288 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Wertz wrote: »
    IMO a decent competency in spoken english should be a pre-requisite to being allowed employment in this country, at least if it's intended that the immigrant is to work in the services sector...

Actually, I'm pretty sure I heard Conor Lenihan proposing exactly that recently?

Something that I actually agree with the man on then....I didn't like his ruling on turbans in the Gardaí, though. Really showed the country up, that one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

0ubliette wrote: »
    Sue them. Its discrimination. Youll make a ****ing FORTUNE.
    And if it does work this time get her to go into a barbers, I imagine most of them will also refuse to cut some womens hair.

It is discrimination, probably not racist, most polish I have met are caucasian just like me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Maybe it's because hairdressers seem like the laziest people on earth.