Rude People on the Luas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Bambi wrote: »
    yesterday on the number 4 some dube wearing D4 type was taking up both double seats, feet up on the one facing him and his two bags on the other two seats. the bus was half empty but i still wanted to take a picture of him just to annoy him (and post it on boards).

I get the number 4 every day and at rush hour it does always be packed to the hilt! I get a seat in the mornings but in the evenings it's luck of the draw!

People are rude on busses most of the time, they don't bother movin if your tryin to get down those artic busses because the driver doesn't open the middle exit doors!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

The simple fact of the matter is the middle class are far ruder than the working/upper classes. Their insecurity means they cannot act spontaneously, which acts of kindness to strangers on public transport require. Proles and toffs act more on instinct. The reason this country is going down the toilet and grannies and the expectant cannot get a seat on the green line is due to the expansion of the middle classes.
    Just the way it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Varkov

MoominPapa wrote: »
    The simple fact of the matter is the middle class are far ruder than the working/upper classes.

Nah, anyone can be a d**k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

The simple fact of the matter is the middle class are far ruder than the working/upper classes. Their insecurity means they cannot act spontaneously, which acts of kindness to strangers on public transport require. Proles and toffs act more on instinct. The reason this country is going down the toilet and grannies and the expectant cannot get a seat on the green line is due to the expansion of the middle classes.
    Just the way it is

This very morn, on the green line no less, I saw a man immediately offer his seat to an elderly gentleman as he got on the Luas. The old man politely declined as he was getting off at the next stop.

It's the rush hour and common indecency that makes people rude, not some imaginary class, so put that in your pipe and smoke it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Reminds me of my last vist to dublin 2 years ago , not being familier with how to purchase a ticket for the Luas, i was inserting some euros in the machine opposite collins bks under the gaze of this 20 somthing female who had also inserted money for her ticket , on seeing me remove her ticket to hand to her she said in a very loud and aggressive tone of vioice ' No.... thats my ticket ' under the assumtion i was going to steal it and i thought ........' ah yes, i am definetly home now .:)

Quote Earthorse - It's the rush hour and common indecency that makes people rude, not some imaginary class, so put that in your pipe and smoke it!
    True , manners are somthing some people have to learn regardless of class .......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Do you not find the horrible discomfort of the Luas is alleviated by the opportunity groping of young wans though?

Were you in Sligo last night by any chance?

OP, I agree with you entirely. I recently got a bus in Bordeaux and was happily surprised to see people of all ages giving up seats for elderly and infirm people. It was a bit of a culture shock to be honest!

OP, I agree with you entirely. I recently got a bus in Bordeaux and was happily surprised to see people of all ages giving up seats for elderly and infirm people. It was a bit of a culture shock to be honest
    When i grew up in ireland during the 60s and 70s that was the norm so if its not like that know then that says a lot about the country .I am a Dubliner but even i am shocked by the lack of basic manners when i return home ,and it take a lot to shock me ...

=Hellm0;54178518]My manbag has more worth to me then the comfort of the slackjawed excuses for humanity who might take the oportunity to sit beside me if it wasnt placed neatly on the seat. Peasants should know their place!
    LOL, i had to laugh when i seen this because this only happend recently .I was sitting on a packed double decker bus late one afternoon when this coloured chap got on with 4 or 5 large shopping bags and proceeded to put his bags beside him .Lo and behold this large middle aged chap gets on ,obiosuly looking for a seat, see's yer man with his bags and politley asks him to remove them so he can sit.The black man looked back at him in astonishment as if to say..... '' are you talking to me ? ' (aka rob de niro) so our friend repeated his request only this time a little bit loudly this time ' move your bleeding bags will ya ? ,so reluctently yer man piles his bags on top .The short journy continues and the two have now locked horns .The elderly man gets up to get off as justs as he alights from the bus say to yer man '' my father didn't die at normandy so you could come over here and leave your bags on my seat '' laugh? yes the whole bus did ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm surprised that people would even bother cramming on to a Luas in Ranelagh. If it's not raining, why not walk into town?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I thought about this thread on my packed dart home this evening. i got on in Pearse and there was these two skanger guys. one was sitting on the floor with his legs spread out across the floor. Everyone was squished around him and looking at him but all he kept saying to his mate (in the strongest knacker accent I've ever heard, why does every second word need to be the f word?!) I'm not f-ing getting up, why f-ing should i, I'm not f-ing being crammed, all the arseholes can go f themselves. He, of course was shouting this at the top of his voice. So, because we'd all been so discourteous as to get on the dart when he was on it and make it crowded we're arseholes. I was so fuming, I'm squished every morning on the way in and on the way home so i can go to work and he's annoyed that the dart is too full for him to sit around on his arse and drink his can of lager in peace. There's been a lot of anti-scumbag threads recently and I haven't taken much notice but this seriously annoyed me today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭comongethappy

Something that really irritates me to no end on the luas... when people stand in the aisles - especially women - they won't move into the middle of the aisle, because they want to plant their arse between the two seats by the handrail! Nope, heaven forbide that they might have to stand properly and outstrech their arm to hold on to the rail!

I'll always get on and politely ask if I can get by, so I can stand in the centre and free up room for other passangers to get on. The dirty looks that women give me for inconveniencing them! I'm fairly tall and I have quite good balance, so it's no issue for me to stand in the centre and stretch out my arm to hold the railing if need be. I can understand shorter people not feeling comfortable doing so, but some people really need to cop on, because everyone needs to try to get into work on time!

Also, yes, it's a shame how some people do not give up seats. Granted, sometimes I'm lost in my own world reading, etc, and I don't notice, but when I do I'll always offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

all the decent members of society can afford taxis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Driver 8

Great contribution...at least you're not on the luas ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

bah.... stop yeer whining. if it bothers ye that much then cycle.

* grumble... lazy gits... grumble ... lucky to have a bleedin luas... grumble...*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭dumbyearbook

Just the way it is

I was going to make this point, a redliner earlier said that loads of guys give their seats up, the 'goys' on the Green line however would have less propensity to do so now call me bold for such an outburst but i reckon there is some truth in it.

The more WC the more manners. in certain situations now...not saying everyone on the red line is WC either btw

D18 resident here from the sticks btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

Sorry to get slightly off topic here but a few friends and I were using the Cork city bus service(which is a travesty!!!) today and it was CROWDED.Peoples faces were squashed up against the windows.My friend commented loudly that it was like those buses/trains you see in India with like a million people hanging off the side.Those who heard it were in fits of laughing.So funny......And whats worse is when someone at the back has to get off and everyone has to move and get their feet stamped on and their faces bashed with the person's bag.

LMAO peoples faces squashed up against the window ? now that is funny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,825 ✭✭✭Archeron

I like the Luas. I've only used it on my holidays to go from the bus station to the "MUSEUM" stop, and from tallaght to the pub. Its nice to have to have reliable light rail system that is some what efficent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

this post is two days late but the riggers post on page 1 made tea come out my nose .giggling and dribbling as we speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

micmclo wrote: »
    Whats worse is when you try to get off and people just start piling in.:mad:
    Jervis is a great example of this

People pratically throw themselves in the door in the hope of getting a seat but if they let the exiting passengers out first, they might have more chance

Bugs me too. The idea of people getting off the train first, and actually leaving room for them to get off, works in every other country I've been in. People don't seem to grasp the concept here.

Varkov wrote: »
    The morning trains from mynooth out are pretty bad. I get on at the stop after mynooth and the seats are usually allready full :mad: But by the time it gets to coolmine its like a rugby scrum when people try to get on.
    Had this arsehole standing beside me on the way in today, breathing very heavily into my face, making me feel physiclly sick.
    So I say to him rather loudly "If your not gonna brush your teeth, would you stop panting in my face" He chose to ignore me, but he started breathing through his nose :rolleyes:

I used to get that train, getting on in Coolmine. It's a horrible horrible journey. :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

johnp wrote: »
    Bugs me too. The idea of people getting off the train first, and actually leaving room for them to get off, works in every other country I've been in. People don't seem to grasp the concept here.

I hate it when people think bad stuff is only in Ireland. I've been in the US and Australia. On overcrowded trains there you have to battle to get off too.

It's not an Irish thing, it's a human thing. If trains are overcrowded the polite people who stand back to let everybody off end up getting on last or not at all. If the trains aren't overcrowded people everywhere are more polite. Stuff is so expensive here and bogged down with red tape so much that they have to squeeze every cent and cram as much onto each facility. I use Dublin Bus, the Luas & Bus Eireann. It's the same on all of them.

Singapore seem to have it right though. Everybody uses the trains and they're cheap and really frequent. It must have cost a fortune to put in that system though. I wouldn't imagine their unions (if they have any) threaten strike action too often either.

Edit: Fixed for typo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭johnp

I hate it when people think bad stuff is only in Ireland. I've been in the US and Australia. On overcrowded trains there you have to battle to get off too.

It's not an Irish thing, it's a human thing. If trains are overcrowded the polite people who stand back to let everybody off end up getting on last or not at all. If the trains are overcrowded people everywhere are more polite. Stuff is so expensive here and bogged down with red tape so much that they have to squeeze every cent and cram as much onto each facility. I use Dublin Bus, the Luas & Bus Eireann. It's the same on all of them.

Singapore seem to have it right though. Everybody uses the trains and they're cheap and really frequent. It must have cost a fortune to put in that system though. I wouldn't imagine their unions (if they have any) threaten strike action too often either.

Really?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

johnp wrote: »
    Really?

I should have said aren't overcrowded. Fixed now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Until Irish people start *planning ahead*, we're going to have all the same problems evinced in the overcrowded Luas.

* Our sewage system is making our drinking water unsafe because it's collapsing from being too small for the number using it.

* Our road system is clogging up because there are too few and too badly designed roads for the number of drivers using them.

* Our public transport system is crowded, dirty and unpleasant to use because demand is higher than supply.

* Our schools are so overcrowded that children can't be properly educated in huge classes, and in some places there are actually no schools for the children who've been born in unplanned estates.

* Our estates are turning into gang havens because they've been built without any centres for youth and adult play and education.

* Our prisons are becoming dangerous because there is no planning to prevent recidivism, and they've become containment boxes run by the most dangerous inmates (in between chats with radio shows).

* Our 'system' for minding the old and unwell is about to be hit by the baby boom generation, and will crumble totally from the huge numbers.

* Our hospitals are dirty, with huge waiting lists and people dying on trolleys.

All of these things stem from the same root: we don't plan ahead and follow the plan. Oh, the politicians blag on about the great plans they have, but they don't make a plan, finance it, stress-test it, put it in motion, check it, direct it, and tweak it.

But sure twill be grand in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

well i take both the bus and the luas to work!!! :mad:

but i have to say the luas is by far the worst!!

it does be quite packed and people do tend to push their way in but i suppose thats just the way people are and there aint anything we can do to change it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭Washout

well i take both the bus and the luas to work!!! :mad:

but i have to say the luas is by far the worst!!

it does be quite packed and people do tend to push their way in but i suppose thats just the way people are and there aint anything we can do to change it....

tbh i dont blame people pushing on...especially at peak times at jervis...i mean what are they supposed to do just wait and watch all the full trams go buy. got to be aggressive. Is there no solution to increase the size of the red line tram?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

I use the Luas from Sandyford to town on a regular basis. Can't say anything about it particularly bothers me except the folk who seem to forget that there will be a little jerk as the Luas takes off at each station.

They don't hold the hand rails and take one or two steps back, stepping on toes and such as they go.

I find people tend to give me my space on the Luas and will move when i need them too. Being 6'2 and 250+ will get you that though.

I'm also one of those guys who will always offer up his seat when someone needs it. It's simple manners.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I'm at the part of the bus journey that means i nearly always get a seat,i also find that for whatever reason people are loathe to sit beside me unless its absolutley necessary,i must change my aftershave:D

As for people acting the bollox,taking up seats and floor space i say tell them to move..they usually will do it especially if it during the day and the bus or whatever is full.Most of these scumbags are just windbags who rely on people being afraid of them to do whatever they please.Remember,you pay your fair and your taxes,if they dont want to play bythe rules,let them ****ing walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

latchyco wrote: »
    Reminds me of my last vist to dublin 2 years ago , not being familier with how to purchase a ticket for the Luas, i was inserting some euros in the machine opposite collins bks under the gaze of this 20 somthing female who had also inserted money for her ticket , on seeing me remove her ticket to hand to her she said in a very loud and aggressive tone of vioice ' No.... thats my ticket ' under the assumtion i was going to steal it and i thought ........' ah yes, i am definetly home now .:)

Some day im going to write a thread on the feminist, militant creatures which make up most irish females I have met between the ages of 12 and 30 in the last few years. It seems you have just experienced one.